check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Jenna and Jonathan Byers, Gwen Buscher

Member since: 2001
Speaks: english

3BR Chalet 2 Mi. to Purgatory/DMR w/Private Sauna, Lake Views,Recently Remodeled

2 Reviews
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

Southwestern Colorado Chalet Rental Photos and Description

Chalet, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

BOOK WITH US AND RECEIVE DISCOUNTS ON SKI AND SNOWBOARD EQUIPMENT RENTALS!*

3 Bedroom/2 Bath

2,150 Square Feet

Sleeps 8-10

Elevation 8,872 Feet

Welcome to the Purgatory Lake Chalet. This home is exactly what you picture when you think Colorado ski chalet. Located just 2 miles from Purgatory/Durango Mountain Resort, this home is a great place to stay for your next Durango vacation. The chalet was just beautifully remodeled to include a new kitchen and updated bathrooms.

The main floor features a large, fully stocked kitchen with bar seating for 2 as well as a dining area with seating for 8. The spacious living room has plenty of space for the entire family to curl up by the large fireplace or play a game of cards at the game table. There is a queen sofa sleeper available. The downstairs bath features a wonderful sauna. A private bedroom with queen bed is also on the main floor.

Upstairs you will find the loft with futon. The master bedroom features a queen bed, tv in room, private balcony access, and a private bath. The front bedroom features a queen bed and also has its own private balcony.

There is a bbq and outdoor dining on the back deck where you can take in the beautiful mountain views. Enjoy great lake fishing, swimming and tubing at Lake of the Pines, just a short walk through the meadow right behind the home.

Please note this home DOES NOT have internet access.

Keywords: chalet, ski chalet, a-frame,house, private house, cabin, purgatory, durango mountain resort, acreage, home, 3 bedroom, three bedroom, sleeps 10

*Excludes Christmas/New Years/Spring Break

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Jenna and Jonathan Byers, Gwen Buscher (Property Manager)
Member since: 2001
Speaks: english

Reviews

2 traveler reviews

3BR Chalet 2 Mi. to Purgatory/DMR w/Private Sauna, Lake Views,Recently Remodeled
average rating of 3.0 based on 2 reviews
5

Excellent

  • 5 of 5

We went for Thanksgiving and it was the best! The cabin had everything we need it! We had such an amazing time!

  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Littleton, CO USA
1

Not as advertised

  • 1 of 5

My wife and I stayed at this property from July 14-18 2014. We were drawn to this listing because of the advertised access to the private lake. We were unpleasantly surprised to find that there really isn't lake access since the water is so low behind the house that about all you can access is weeds and muck. In addition, do not let the photos fool you. They show a property where the grounds around the home are neatly mowed and trimmed. This is not the case. The grass around the home had not been mowed for some time and in some areas was waist high on me (I'm 6 feet tall). Only a small strip that leads from the parking area to the deck was trimmed. This probably wouldn't have been a big deal but we had our dog with us and the small trimmed area wasn't really enough for walking our German Shepard. When we complained about the grass/lake they said this was a "rustic property" and the area around it was a "wild meadow" (an understatement) but that doesn't explain the photos showing it being mowed. They did give us recommendations for some other lakes to visit which were very nice but we were planning on walking to a lake...we could have stayed anywhere and driven to these other lakes. The interior of the home is OK, and it was relatively clean although there may be a rodent problem (as evidenced by the traps in the living room and the droppings we found in some of the pots and pans). The water for the property is apparently very hard and many of the fixtures are badly corroded/rusted. The bedframe in the master bedroom was so loose we were afraid to use it, and the sliding glass doors that lead to the upstairs deck were so dirty you could hardly see out of them. On a positive note, this property would probably be a good place to stay during ski season. It is located very close to DMR and the large fireplace in the massive living room would be really nice to sit in front of after a long day of skiing. Unfortunately that wasn't an option for us in July. To be fair, we were given a 10% refund after voicing our complaints but given what they promise relative to what they deliver, 10% was hardly adequate as far as we were concerned.

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are again sorry that you found the cabin surroundings not to your satisfaction. This is a very rustic cabin in the mountains and one of our older properties. We do not try to hide that fact and do not feel that our advertising of the property is unjust. If you read the listings description we do not mention that a trail to the lake is provided from the home, just that the there is a lake located behind the home. The area surrounding the cabin is a meadow not a yard and it changes throughout the seasons. It is not for us to maintain an open meadow. At times the owners have done some minimal mowing during high fire seasons around the house however, this home is in a natural meadow that reaches all the way to the lake. Even if the area around the house had been cut it still would have had high grass to the lake. We have had many guests fish and swim in the lake. Some took tubes down and floated as they had shared that with us. We have walked to the lake several times and yes it can be spongy and muddy at times. It does change and we do not regularly walk to the lake to report conditions nor do we retake photos each season to show the different conditions. We have managed this property for several years and not had anyone until now find that the conditions were unmanageable. We felt that since the issue was something we are not in control of a 10% discount was very fair.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1

Map

Nearest Airport
41 Miles
Durango La Plata County Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Sow's Ear
Nearest Golf
18 Miles
Public Course - Dalton Ranch
Nearest Train
27 Miles
Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad
Nearest Motorway
0.1 Miles
US Highway 550
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Sow's Ear
Nearest Ski
2 Miles
Purgatory/Durango Mountain Resort
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Durango Chalet Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer - 7th Night Free!
Jul 12 2016 - Sep 5 2016
3 night minimum stay
$225
$1,350
 
 
Fall
Sep 6 2016 - Oct 3 2016
3 night minimum stay
$225
$1,575
 
 
Off Season
Oct 4 2016 - Nov 20 2016
3 night minimum stay
$175
$1,225
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 21 2016 - Dec 15 2016
3 night minimum stay
$225
$1,575
 
 
Christmas
Dec 16 2016 - Dec 25 2016
5 night minimum stay
$400
$2,800
 
 
New Years
Dec 26 2016 - Jan 1 2017
5 night minimum stay
$500
$3,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Exit Cleaning Fee $125
Tax Rate 6.8%

We accept checks and Visa, Mastercard or Discover. We offer secure credit card processing.
Our prices reflect a cash discount. There is a 3% fee on all cc transactions.
Until confirmed, all rates and date ranges are subject to change.
Please contact us about special offers and free night offers not listed.
Ask us about our Military Discount - we appreciate your service!

We require 50% of the total amount due upon booking.
Final balance is due 30 days prior to arrival (60 days holidays).
Reservations booked within 30 days of arrival (60 days holidays) full balance is due upon booking.
Reservations booked within 7 days of arrival must pay by credit card.

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Southwestern Colorado Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
Floor Area:
  • 2150 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bath - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Sauna in Bath
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Other (See Description) - 2 sleep sofa /futon , 1 Queen Sofa Sleeper, 1 Futon
    Master - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Sauna ...
Onsite Services:
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Partner Offers

Travelers who viewed this property, also viewed...