Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Lazy Dog Escape, Most requested pet friendly Pointe West cottage home

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Space 1,700 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights


About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 12)

For a vacation full of good old fashioned fun, Lazy Dog Escape is exactly the home you are looking for. A cheerful, bright, and airy space with sweeping views of the water and beaches welcomes you. A large backyard, with outdoor shower and two picnic tables, is great for games or an afternoon picnic style lunch.

Prepare a delicious meal in the kitchen—complete with granite countertops, stainless steel appliances, and even a separate beverage refrigerator for your convenience! Take your pick of inside or outside dining—both come with a view! The inside table seats six people with room for two more at the breakfast bar. The second balcony, complete with lounge chairs, has a table which seats four people.

Relax in front of a movie in the family room or watch your favorite show on the large flat screen smart TV. The master bedroom with king sized bed, fireplace, and flat screen TV, is the picture of luxury. Enjoy either a sunrise or sunset on the balcony with lounge chairs, or a soak in the oversized tub with views of the water. This home is well appointed featuring hardwood floors and refined yet cozy furnishings.

The home has a full size pool table, Wii and Xbox gaming sytems - Don't forget your own bring games with you if you want to play as they are not provided.

Enjoy unimaginably easy beach access with the walkover in close proximity. Wireless internet, and outside storage closet full of beach and pool toys complete the package. Book your stay and let the fun begin!

Please take note that smoking is prohibited indoors and on outside balconies. Small dogs will be considered with pet fee and prior understanding.

If this is booked for your requested dates, please visit for a listing of our other properties.

Pointe West Beach Club

Spend a wonderful day at the pool or beach at the luxurious Pointe West Beach Club. Pointe West offers numerous amenities including, infinity pool, children’s pool, lazy river, fitness center, gift shop and restaurant. The Resort is independently run and charges a $10 per person, (3 years or older) access fee from March 1, 2016 to September 31st, 2016. Use of the Beach Club is optional. The access fee is paid by credit card or cash directly to the Beach Club and is not included in rental rates.

More Details

Property Manager
Coastal Waves Vacations
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english, spanish, Hindi
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 21, 2018

About Coastal Waves Vacations

Here at Coastal Waves Vacations we understand what makes a vacation home right for our guests. We make it our business to find vacation rentals of the highest standard that go above and beyond our guest's expectations. By providing the finest in vacation rentals we can ensure that our guest's vacation is a success no matter which property they decide to stay in.

Guestbook comments from the manager

My family enjoyed this fabulous home over Thanksgiving week-- truly a little slice of heaven on the beach. Everything in this home was perfect and we were comfortable beyond the usual rental. We are already planning when to return!!! (original posting may be view on Lazy Dog Escape's Facebook page;
Nov 2011
  • 1 of 1


Galveston House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1700 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 10:30 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Resort
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master - toilet , tub , shower , Oversized tub over looking ocean
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet
    Bathroom 5 - shower , outdoor shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Master - 1 king , 1 king sleeps 2
    Bedroom 3 - 2 double , 2 twin/ single , 2 Twin over Full Bunk beds (sleeps 6)
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 2 double , 2 twin/ single , 1 Queen (sleeps 2) & 1 Twin/ Full Bunk beds (each sleeps 3)
  • One King size beds, One Queen size Beds, 3 Bunk Beds featuring a Twin mattress on top (150 lbs weight limit) and a Full mattress on bottom (200 lbs. weight limit).
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
10% Complete
Lazy Dog Escape, Most requested pet friendly Pointe West cottage home
average rating of 4.4 based on 21 reviews
Broussard, LA

Fun Family Galveston Gathering

  • 5 of 5

Loved it! The house is in a nice neighborhood and is very clean. Furnishings were all there. We stayed a week, cooked all meals except one lunch, and there was not one thing that we needed that was not there. Balconies are a dream, really....someone slept on one of the balconies at least four of the seven nights. The dune crossover next to the house is a plus, and the beach is clean and not washed away like in downtown Galveston. It was cleaned twice while we were there. Don't miss chasing crabs on the beach at night (there is a flashlight there). The kids loved this activity as well as finding shells on the beach. Neerja was extremely nice and accommodating, even when we called at 9:00 on Friday night with a faucet problem. It was fixed within two hours! The game and book selection was also good, finished two books that I had not yet read.

The beach club and sunset lazy river area are also nice and really not crowded. We never had a problem getting chairs, tables or shade. Speaking of the beach club, the staff is wonderful. We had a young lady in a wheelchair and they arranged for a 'beach wheel chair' that rolls across the soft sand. This enabled us to bring her to the beach to enjoy the waves. Would not have been possible otherwise. (Note: The house is not accessible - but we made do. There are many stairs so be prepared to climb - we knew this ahead of time though.)

Overall, it was a great place to be and had everything we needed. Did I mention that Neerja was Super to work with! She really knows how to run a rental (thank you so much!).

We would definitely return here for another Galveston Getaway!!!!

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2013
  • Stayed: July 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for renting with Coastal Waves Vacations. It’s great to hear you had a fabulous time and plan to return. We realize it takes time and effort to write a review and appreciate the feedback as we take great customer service very seriously. We are happy you were prepared for the stairs ahead of time and thank you for pointing it out in the review for future guests! The beach wheelchair sounds fantastic and it must have been wonderful for the young lady to hear the waves close up. I am personally very appreciative of the kind words expressed about me. We are looking forward to having you back soon. ~Neerja
Did you find this review helpful?
13 3

Beachfront and perfect location

  • 2 of 5

Upon walking in the front door on arrival we were met with the very stron smell of dog pee...Dog hair covered the house... there were dead bugs all over the place upon arrival... dealt with it because it was he beach and awesome location... enjoyed our stay until we started itching in the car on the way home and discovered we were covered in bed bugs... upon arriving home all of our clothes we had washed at the property were covered in bed bugs as well as everything we had brought to the house including toiletries, shoes, kids clean diapers, etc. very disappointed and made coming home a lot more of a hassle than we had planned... we had cleaned everything so we wouldn't have the once we got home... ended up having to spend over 3 hours sanitizing everything and re washing everything in warm water as well as spray down and fumigate the car to keep them from spreading and getting in our house. We will not rent this property again and may not from the company again. Loved the location not impressed with the house

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: No bed bugs (or any other pests) at this home –professional pest control report available upon request! Dear Kristen Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback and are happy to hear you enjoyed the location. We are however disappointed to hear the rest. Our guests are requested to let us know upon arrival to the property if anything needs attention. We were never notified upon arrival, during the 7 night stay, or at departure of any odor, hair, dead bugs, bed bugs or any other issues. We only received a phone call from you after you reached home. We were in disbelief but immediately dispatched a state licensed pest control company to investigate. They found no bed bugs, fleas or pests of any sort at the home and documented this with a letter to us. We recommended you seek medical attention for the itching and get a diagnosis for the cause. We have not heard back for you and assume everyone is okay. We have the professional pest control report available for any future guest who may have a concern. Just contact a Coastal Waves Vacations representative and we will be happy to email it.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Great Week at Lazy Dog Escape

  • 5 of 5

Our family spent a great week at Lazy Dog Escape. Perfect location on water and next to walk over. Plenty of room for grandparents, grown kids and grand kids. Clean and well-maintained.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2015
  • Stayed: August 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Dallas, texas

Great summer getaway!

  • 5 of 5

We just returned from a week at the lazy dog escape and we highly recommend it! The location is absolutely fantastic and the house very comfortable. Incredible views of the ocean. The beach club and pools were a definite bonus. We hope to return in the near future.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Princeton, New Jersey

Exactly as advertised, exceptional service - Highly recommend!!!

  • 5 of 5

The house is perfect! It was exceptionally clean, beautifully decorated and well stocked with everything we needed for a beach vacation. The beds were cozy with nice sheets and the towels were nice and thick! The little personal size toiletries were a nice touch.

While it was nice to have the Beach Club amenities, we just enjoyed being together at the house. We cooked, played games like Uno, Wii, and puzzles, and watched DVDs (all provided). We also watched Netflix movies on the TV cuddled up by the fireplace. It was perfect on the cool nights!

With our check-in instructions, we got an emergency/off-hours phone number to call if we had problems. One night, the internet went out around 9:30pm during a Netflix movie. We called the number; Neerja answered right away and was very helpful. We were back to watching the move in 20 minutes!

The house is located right next the dune crossover. It was easy for us to go back and forth plus we could easily watch the grandkids from the balcony. We loved that driving on the beach is not allowed. The beach was gorgeous – it was deep with NO seaweed in sight! The sunrises are just spectacular!!! They are definitely worth getting up for. If you prefer sunsets, just sit out on the front porch and watch the beautiful colors.

The grill was new and the 3 picnic benches were great to spread out on. The bathroom was so convenient – we didn't need to go up and down! The house also has a chiminea for staying warm outside - the grandkids made smores!

There is a storage area with chairs, beach toys and boogie board – the kids loved it! Unfortunately the water was a bit cold to enjoy for long periods.

I can’t recommend this place and company enough! If you want to have a great time, definitely consider this house. We will definitely be coming back again.

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2015
  • Stayed: October 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are happy your family had a nice visit. Thank you for your patience as we worked to restore the internet. We look forward to your return.
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0
Where do you live?

unpleasnt experience

  • 1 of 5

By far, my worst rental experience ever. And I rent houses quite often, especially in Galveston.


- The house is a good size and well stocked with amenities

- Located right next to the beach walkover

- Has many beds to accommodate a large group

Cons (about the house):

- THE HOUSE WAS NOT CLEANED WHEN WE ARRIVED - a foul/unpleasant smell welcomed us, the house was a mess, there was sand everywhere, and all the area rugs were rolled up (???)

- After calling Neerja (our Coastal Waves Vacations agent) to report the oversight, we waited outside in the rain for the house to be cleaned (took less than 3 hours, perhaps the reason for the cons mentioned below?)

- While waiting for the cleaning crew, we had to clean the fridge ourselves to use so our food wouldn’t spoil

- Downstairs shower curtain was covered in BLACK MOLD and a few inches too short so water spewed everywhere

- Downstairs bedroom smelled terrible the entire weekend (we’re guessing pet/child urine, YUCK)

- The closet that contained the extra sheets for the pull-out couch in the living room was locked with no key(we were planning on using that bed, but couldn’t with no sheets)

- dryer is out of order

Cons (about management):

- Neerja wouldn’t refund us ANY of our nightly rate for not getting what we paid for

- She only offered to comp our cleaning fee – which, to me, makes no sense because the cleaning fee is to clean up AFTER our stay, not BEFORE our stay

- I sent 2 follow-up emails asking her to reconsider – ALL OF WHICH WERE IGNORED (Seriously? Not only is this improper business behavior, but it’s improper social behavior)

Finally, the contract states: “Late check-outs after 11:30 am and prior to 2:00pm will assessed half nights rental rate; late check-out after 2:00pm will be assessed a full nights rent.” Why isn’t the same rule applicable for delayed check-in due to an egregious management oversight?

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2014
  • Stayed: August 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We sincerely apologize for the home not being ready upon arrival. For our oversight we voluntarily offered a FULL refund towards another property or compensation for allowing us time to correct the issue. ------> We appreciate you chose to give us an opportunity to rectify the oversight.  Our housekeeping crew was especially thankful for your kind offer of water and drinks as you watched them prepare the inside of the home. -----> While we make our best effort to provide excellent service and have a 24/7 emergency hotline for existing guests, we are not able to correct concerns that have not been reported until the review such as a locked closet, shower curtains, odor, etc. -----> In this instance, we feel we offered multiple options, corrected the reported issue promptly and voluntarily provided fair compensation.  After check-out, when more compensation was requested, we expressed we were not in the position to refund 50% or 24 hours of the stay for of 3 hours of inconvenience. -----> We are sorry the home nor the compensation meet your needs.   Lazy Dog Escape is a favorite with many of our repeat guest; we hope to have an opportunity to have you back at this home or any one of our other homes.
Did you find this review helpful?
13 9





Additional information about rental rates

Processing $50 + Tax
Cleaning and Linens $180 + Tax
Damage Insurace $39
Pet Fee $100 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 15.0%

1) Must be 25 years of age or older to rent
2) You may not rent on someone else`s behalf
3) No prom, graduation, or parties of any sort
4) Upon acceptance of the reservation, we email you a rental agreement which MUST be completed and returned with a copy of an ID is order before any check-in information can be emailed or access to the property is granted (even if paid in full).
5) CANCELLATION POLICY: All notice of cancellation must be in writing. Cancellation within 30 days of arrival results in the forfeiture of your entire
payment. Cancellations outside of 30 days prior to the original check-in date will receive a refund minus in order if a 10% administrative fee of total
rental rate, minus the non-refundable processing fees plus tax and minus any travel and/or damage insurance premiums.

Please be sure to complete the agreement as quickly as possible.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties