check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Patsy Weille

Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Nantucket, Cliff Area Nr Beach,(#406560) Sleeps 6, $2000-$2500/wk

8 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

Nantucket Town Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 3 Bedrooms, 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Cottage is located in beautiful Cliff neighborhood with its handsome houses, lawns, gardens and hedges, five minutes walk from

beach and 20 minutes to town with its restaurants, gift shops,

museums. Nearby is a popular lunch spot, Something Natural,

renowned for delicious sandwiches and bread. The living room

which seats up to 8, features a fireplace and cozy nook where

you can read in comfort. Two yards provide space for outdoor

dining. Upstairs is a bedroom/playroom which children love

to use in airconditioned comfort. Although the style of the house

is authentic Nantucket, the amenities are contemporary, including high speed wireless internet. The house is recently available for rent as previous renters came, one for over 40 years, and another for 20 years because they loved the place so much.

We owners take pride in providing a clean and comfortable setting for happy vacations for our renters.

Keywords: house

Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Patsy Weille (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Patsy Weille

My husband and I inherited our house from my aunt who built it. We spent some weeks in summer there with our two children who now bring their own children to enjoy the many activities available to them from swimming to nature study at the Maria Mitchell Association to horseback riding. We all enjoy biking all over the island, even the little ones.

Patsy Weille purchased this cottage in 1956

Why Patsy Weille chose Nantucket

The house was inherited, but I couldn't have chosen a more beautiful place!

What makes this cottage unique

Being a New Yorker who doesn't drive, it

is very helpful to be able to bicycle to town

for errands, and there is also a good bus

service for non-bikers with a nearby stop.

I enjoy sitting in the backyard on the chaise reading when not going on nature

walks or for a sunset walk at the beach.

Reviews

4.4
based on 8 traveler reviews

Nantucket, Cliff Area Nr Beach,(#406560) Sleeps 6, $2000-$2500/wk
average rating of 4.375 based on 8 reviews
Columbia, MD
5

Another year of fond memories

  • 5 of 5

We loved returning to 7 Highland Avenue this year. The location is excellent, in a beautiful neighborhood within easy walking distance of Steps Beach, a 15-min walk to town, a bus stop 2 blocks away, and the wonderful "Something Natural" sandwich shop just 4 blocks away. We explored all parts of the island using the bikes that came with the house, which have baskets for carrying beach stuff or groceries. We were fine doing without a car for the whole week. I love the multi-functional, cozy living space. The living room is the congregating area at all times of day for meals, reading, chatting, playing cards. The ingenious wicker chairs have "lap boards" so you can read, write, and eat comfortably in one spot. Or you can pull out the folding table for additional seating. Personally, I like a bath rather than a shower and the bathtub is roomy and deep in that old-fashioned bathtub-with-feet kind of way. Be aware that the 3rd bedroom is upstairs with steep wooden stairs and a low ceiling, so it's best for kids who are old enough to manage stairs safely, but not fully adult-size yet. Lots of great memories for kids to create up there. Adults can fit upstairs, too, if they are young at heart, agile, and not too picky.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for sharing your experience!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Cooperstown, NY
5

Cottage conjures great childhood memories

  • 5 of 5

This frame cottage offers the opportunity to revisit dreamy, worry-free summer vacations of reading and swimming on the beach, biking everywhere, and eating well without fuss. It was built in the 1920s as a simple summer cottage, and it remains that today with just enough of the mod cons (a refrigerator, washer and dryer, coffee maker, and a handheld shower in the original bathtub. There is also wifi.

I do bring my own bike as I like going for long (20+ mi) rides, and the ones in the shed are more suited to going short distances (<5 mi) for groceries, beaches, etc. That kitchen, although simple, has produced many yummy meals. As for convenience of location, I doubt there is anything better on island for beaches, downtown, historic sites, and wandering on bicycle to any other part of Nantucket.

I have visited this cottage in May and October, and each time, I know this little house this is a rare survivor of an easier time, when fancy kitchen tools, TVs, and overdone bathrooms were not the measure of a happy holiday. If those are your measures, this may not be your best choice. I have not hesitated to bring friends with me, and I have recommended the cottage to others.

  • Submitted: May 31, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your appreciation of our house. Along with the other five star reviews, this will give a truer picture of the charms of 7 Highland to VRBO visitors than the one negative review from tenants who left the house in a mess.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Trip in Historic Cottage

  • 5 of 5

Our family has loved staying in this historic cottage during the last 2 summers. The location can't be beat and the simple charm of the home keeps us coming back. We love the simplicity of our stays, and enjoy reconnecting over games, meals, bike rides, etc. The house is free from many distractions of the modern age, there are no TVs or video games, but there are plenty of good books and toys and games for kids. This home is a perfect fit for us and we look forward to next summer.

  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Great location, terrible house

  • 1 of 5

This house is in a wonderful location- near Steps and Town. The house is listed as 3 bedrooms but the upstairs room has such low ceilings that an adult can't stand up there. The house is poorly cared for- landscaping undone, no real outdoor furniture, and a very rustic kitchen. There is no dining table except for an old card table and no outdoor dining either. The shower is handheld and there is a hot water heater in the middle of the kitchen. The outside shower is only cold water and it is not enclosed. Again, the best part of this house is the location and the bikes in the shed.

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The family would have preferred a 21st century house and did not appreciate this vintage Nanucket setting. The house has all the modern conveniences as well
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Boston area, Massachusetts
5

Nantucket get a way

  • 5 of 5

Thank you for renting your house to us. We enjoyed staying in the cottage that was is a great spot - close to the beach and a short bike ride to town. We loved how we did not need a car! We thank you for letting us have use of the bikes in the garage too. We appreciate your kindness and willingness to share a place with so much history to it and one that has been in your family for so long.

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: As can be seen in the video on the VRBO website, this house is very well suited for families of 2 or more, and great for children of all ages. The reviewer captures the sense of history; however it is modern and easy to live in in terms of up to date conveniences.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Phoenixville, PA
4

Rustic Nantucket Getaway

  • 4 of 5

This house is in a perfect location. About one mile walk to town, about half mile to the beach. The house comes with bikes, but recommend bringing your own. The kitchen is the most rustic, but is sufficient so long as you aren't preparing big meals. There is no dining room. The living room can be converted to a dining room by way of setting up a card table. There are some outdoor chairs, but no table.

  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The kitchen contains a four burner stove, a microwave, an electric coffeepot, electric can opener, many pots and pans and cooking utensils with which we regularly cook for 7 or 8 people and have had more for al fresco lunch. We intend to furnish the backyard with a table (there are new chairs and a new chaise cover this summer.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
3.8 Miles
ACK
Nearest Ferry
1 Miles
Steamship Authority
Nearest Golf
3.6 Miles
Miacomet Golf Course
Nearest Beach
300 Metres
Cliff
Car: not necessary

National Geographic ranked Nantucket Island as the number one island in the world! If you are curious about what to do during your stay, check out this website: http://www.nantucketchamber.org/

Photos

Rates & Availability

Nantucket Town Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$2,500
 

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Request to Book or updated calendars.

Amenities

Nantucket Town Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Monument View
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1.5
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Twin or Single Beds (1), Child Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
upstairs playroom, upstairs drying room, backyard, front yard, bicycles for adults and children

Partner Offers