check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

The Owner

Member since: 2008
Call Manager
Speaks: english, french, spanish, portuguese, italian

House, Sunniest Warmest Village, Quiet, 50M from beach! - 'Sunny House West'

27 Reviews
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Paul Do Mar House Rental Photos and Description

Sleeps 5/6 3 Bedrooms 2 Bathrooms 2 Terraces Ocean Mountain Views

CREDIT CARD Payments accepted

Location: the sunniest, warmest village in Madeira: Paul do Mar between banana fields, 50 metres from the ocean front!

Views: ocean, mountain and banana fields from the 2 sun terraces.

2 Semi-detached completely private houses with private sun terraces with barbecues

SUNNY HOUSE WEST: 3 bedrooms, sleeps 5, 2 bathrooms

NEW in 2014!

1. Bedroom with Sliding Sun terrace door

2. 2 Full Bathrooms with Showers-1 ensuite

3. New flooring and lighting systems.

2 double bedrooms on First floor open onto sun terrace with sunbeds and chairs

On the top of the house the third single bedroom with mountain views is next to a Second lounge with ocean views.

The second lounge opens onto a second sun terrace with a traditional barbecue & both mountain & ocean views.

SUNNY HOUSE EAST: 3 bedrooms, sleeps 6, 2 bathrooms

NEW in 2014! Master Bedroom with Sliding Sun terrace door!

First floor has 2 double bedrooms sleeping 4 with ocean and mountain views & a full bathroom close by.

Master bedroom has Sliding Sun terrace door opening on to sun terrace with sunbeds.

On the Top Floor there is an open plan lounge with again ocean & mountain views. The lounge opens onto a second terrace with a traditional barbecue and roof for protection against rain showers. The Ground Floor has a third double bedroom and full bathroom.

Couple/small group & Family friendly accommodation! Read the many 5 Star Reviews

Perfect accommodation for either complete relaxation or an Activity Holiday with famous walks through the village connecting to levada walks such as Levada Nova, and the UNESCO zone Rabacal and Paul da Serra walks.

Easy to move around: one of the flattest villages with kilometres of ocean front and much Free Parking!

A historic fishing village with 2 world class surfspots watersports plus opportunities for Free watersports from swimming and surfing to fishing

Located in the Calheta district of Madeira with the most Laurisilva forest protected by UNESCO and is on the route of famous walks such as the PR19 Paul do Mar and connects to Prazeres, Levada Nova, Rabacal/Paul da Serra walks including those to 'The 25 Springs' & 'Risco' Waterfalls.

'New' wireless internet access & hire car or not?

'New' wireless internet access is available.

Hire car or not? We recommend a hire car and to collect when you arrive at the airport. The village has FREE Parking.

Airport transfer: but, some of our clients do not want a hire-car for the whole holiday or to drive. One solution is we can pick 3 people up at the airport and return clients to the airport for 45 Euros each transfer. Also, we can offer lifts to some of the attractions including the white sand beaches at Calheta and other places such as the start of walks for a reasonable fee per kilometre.

Paul do Mar plenty to do: The village has a mini market, a bakery, patisserie, bank, medical centre, bars/cafes & restaurants. Popular activities in and around the village are: levada forest walks, fishing, swimming, snorkelling and surfing. There are many festas (festivals) & the streets are alive with different languages as the locals return from abroad for a well-earnt holiday with family and friends!

Free swimming is easy from certain points including the lagoon next to the harbour and the white sand beaches in Calheta town -10 minutes drive away.

From Calheta marina dolphin whale watching big game fishing boats operate.

Also in Calheta town area there are the Free white sand beaches, the international art centre Casa das Mudas, a Rum Museum, small shopping centres and a supermarket.

Prazeres village has a small zoo, art galleries & restaurants.

Please read the REVIEWS or contact us for further information as to why the Sunny Houses have been a great choice since 2008!

Paul & Iva Abbiati

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
The Owner (Property Manager)
Call Manager
Speaks: english, french, spanish, portuguese, italian

Guestbook comments from the manager

Votre logement nous a parfaitement convenu pour son confort et pour sa situation . Nous avons particulièrement apprécié la qualité de votre accueil et les petites intentions qui facilitent une installation : café, huile, sel , shampoing ...etc.



Nous vous en remercions!



Group of 3 French travellers
Feb 2013
  • 1 of 12

Reviews

4.9
based on 27 traveler reviews

'Sunny House West'
average rating of 4.9259257 based on 39 reviews
5

Unmissable sunsets from the terraces !

  • 5 of 5

Thanks to the managers Ivor and Paul for a great stay! We have always stayed in Funchal and fancied a change and chose the south coast..west.The village was pretty with a fishing harbour and the locals were friendly. The village was not spoilt by hotels. We ate in the local restaurants a few times which were good. We chose fish most of the time and it was fresh and delicious! The house was quiet, large, clean and comfortable with amazing ocean and mountain views from several terraces. The most sout west sunsets in Europe were unmissable from the house sun terraces. We hope to return in 2018 and recommend Sunny House West , Beach House

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: “The most south west sunsets in Europe were unmissable from the house sun terraces” Dear David thanks for a 5 Star Excellent review and recommending the Beach House! Your review confirms that Sunny House West, Paul do Mar is: “quiet” “ large” “clean” and “comfortable” with “amazing ocean and mountain views from several terraces.” And that the village is “pretty” “ with a fishing harbour and the locals were friendly.” We are very happy that you enjoyed the local restaurants particularly the fish dishes and valued our client care from the enquiry stage until checkout. You wrote: “Thanks to the Managers Iva and Paul for a great stay!” We hope that you return to Madeira in 2018 or before and consider staying again at Sunny Beach House in Paul do Mar or another property that we manage! Keep in touch with us and what´s happening in Madeira by following our blog on Madeira! Best wishes Paul & Iva
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Sunny house west

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay Sunny House West. The house was clean and well equipped, everything we needed was there. Paul gave us some good information about the island and what to do there. We mostly enjoyed the beautiful view from the house at the mountains and the sea, while having a nice barbecue on the balcony!

  • Submitted: May 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: “We really enjoyed our stay Sunny House West” “Paul gave us some good information about the island and what to do there” “We mostly enjoyed the beautiful view from the house at the mountains and the sea, while having a nice barbecue on the balcony!” “The house was clean and well equipped, everything we needed was there” Dear Eva S Thanks for staying at Sunny House West Beach House and posting a 5 Star, Excellent review! Your review confirms that the popular beach house is: -“clean” - “well equipped, everything we needed was there” Has a “nice barbecue “ And has “beautiful views from the house of the mountains and the sea” We are especially happy that you valued our client car from the enquiry stage until checkout. You wrote: “Paul gave us some good information about the island and what to do there” We hope that you will return to Madeira soon and consider staying at Sunny House West Beach House again or another property that we manage professionally full time. Keep in touch and follow us and what´s happening in Madeira on our blog! Best wishes Paul & Iva
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Lovely place, great location

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful week in Madeira thanks to the ideal location of this house in Paul do Mar. The rooms were clean and tidy, and the house comes equipped with everything you could need to enjoy your time here. Paul and Iva were very helpful in providing tips and information on things to see, both prior to and during our visit. I would recommend this place to any couple or family looking for a homely place within reach of some great walks and close to the ocean.

  • Submitted: Dec 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Recommended “to any couple or family looking for a homely place within reach of some great walks and close to the ocean” “the ideal location of the house in Paul do Mar” Dear British couple thanks for a 5 Star, Excellent review for Sunny House, Paul do Mar! And recommending the house “to any couple or family looking for a homely place within reach of some great walks and close to the ocean” Your review confirms that the location of the house is “ideal”. That “the rooms were clean and tidy, and the house comes equipped with everything you could need to enjoy your time” in the location. We were happy that you valued our client care from the enquiry stage until checkout. You wrote: "Paul and Iva were very helpful in providing tips and information on things to see, both prior to and during our visit." We hope that you will return to Madeira again soon and will consider staying at Sunny House or another property that we manage. Keep in touch with us and what´s happening in Madeira by following our blog! Best wishes Paul & Iva
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Paradise at Sunny House West

  • 5 of 5

If you are looking to take an adventure in Maderia, prefer to be off the tourist track and want to experience more of the local feel of a place, go straight to Sunny House in Paul Do Mar. The owners of the property, Paul and Iva assisted us in making our stay as easy and as pleasurable as possible by pre-booking a taxi from the airport; after a few days helping us locate and obtain a rental car from a reputable agent (who also delivered it to us) and also supplied us with delicious fresh fruit from the area (bananas/passion fruit and mango) and a delicious bottle of wine on arrival. The property was exactly as we had hoped it would be and it was very easy to settle in and make a home there for 2 weeks. Lots of linen and towels (including beach towels) were supplied and the rooms were lovely and clean. At the top of the house, there is a sun room including a sun terrace which gave stunning views of the ocean and the mountains at the back. We stayed in the Sunny House West property and had a bird's eye view of the amazing Maderian sunsets. The house still retained privacy even when more guests arrived to stay at Sunny House East because of the top floor terrace and a slightly different lay-out. The small kitchen was really well equipped and the living room has a lovely modern leather sofa and chair and a large TV. The village has an excellent local restaurant, a small mini-market and a couple of bars but don't expect a beach....there are not many of them around the Island but the man-made beach at Cahleta, about a 15 minute drive away was good for a dip as it did get very hot. This is a local village with a few tourists and you can be very well catered for here for a few days. But to make the most of the Island you would be recommended to get a car as there are fantastic trips to make just up the road (and wonderful walking along local lavada trails). Nowhere is far away using the fast roads and tunnels but for more sensational scenery you need to get up in the mountains.

In our opinion, the property represents excellent value for money and is very comfortable. We would definitely go back there again.

John and Sheila (UK)

October 2015

  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: “the property represents excellent value for money and is very comfortable. We would definitely go back there again” Dear British couple thanks for a 5 Star, Excellent Review for Sunny House, Paul do Mar Your review confirms that the House “represents excellent value for money and is very comfortable” In particular, thanks for valuing highly our client care from the enquiry stage until checkout You wrote: “The owners of the property, Paul and Iva assisted us in making our stay as easy and as pleasurable as possible by pre-booking a taxi from the airport; after a few days helping us locate and obtain a rental car from a reputable agent (who also delivered it to us) and also supplied us with delicious fresh fruit from the area (bananas/passion fruit and mango) and a delicious bottle of wine on arrival.” We hope that you return to Madeira soon and stay at Sunny House again or another property that we manage. Follow us, Sunny House and Madeira on our blog! We look forward to hearing from you! Best wishes Paul & Iva
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Altenstadt
5

If you can get it - take it ...

  • 5 of 5

For us it was the perfect location, the perfect time and perfect 10 days. The place is quiet and you can get to bed with the roaring of the sea in the background. There is a very good restaurant 500m away and you can walk near the ocean to it (and back). A good swimmer which is not afraid about 18 Celsius water temperature can swim with respecting the oceans power. A not so swimmer can drive to a beach a few minutes away.

I can write a lot of more lines but as remarked in the title: take it if you can

  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: "Take it if you can" "the perfect location, the perfect time and the perfect 10 days" Dear Konig thanks for the 5 Start, Excellent review! Your review confirms that Sunny House, Paul do Mar is: quiet and "There is a very good restaurant 500m away" The location has "18 Celsius water temperature" in March! and that you "can swim with respecting the oceans power. And that less brave swimmers "can drive to a beach a few minutes away." We liked very much the last sentence of your review: "I can write a lot of more lines but as remarked in the title: take it if you can" We are sure that you will return to Madeira and hope that you return soon! When you do we hope that you will consider Sunny House again or another property that we manage. We look forward to hearing from you. Best wishes Paul & Iva
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Sea view BBQ on terrace with sunset...

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our 2 weeks stay. The location in the middle of banana fields provides much privacy but we had a fantastic view from the 2 terraces to the sea and breathtaking sunsets. My personal highlight were the sea view BBQs. Also a good place to discover the north of the island. House was in perfect conditions, uncomplicated rental and a lovely landlord couple made this stay unforgettable. We will recomment this place to friends and come back.

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Title of Owner and Managers´ response: 5 reasons to stay at Sunny House in Paul do Mar “unforgettable stay” Dear Sebastian thanks for an Excellent. 5 Star Review for Sunny House, Paul do Mar! As you posted 5 reasons to book Sunny House including your “personal highlights”: “view from the 2 terraces to the sea and breathtaking sunsets” “The location in the middle of banana fields provides much privacy” “good place to discover the north of the island” “ House was in perfect conditions” “uncomplicated rental” “lovely landlord couple made this stay unforgettable” We hope that you will return to Madeira soon and again consider staying at Sunny House in Paul do Mar or another property that we manage. We look forward to hearing your news. Follow us and Madeira on our blog! Best wishes Paul & Iva
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
55 Kilometres
Funchal International
Nearest Barpub
300 Metres
Near slipway (the rampa)
Nearest Ferry
40 Kilometres
Port of Funchal
Nearest Motorway
4 Kilometres
After the village of Jardim do Mar
Nearest Restaurant
400 Metres
'Four Seasons Restaurant' in seafront 4 star hotel
Nearest Beach
50 Metres
Paul do Mar Beach
Car: recommended

Close to nature: still a centre for fishing and agriculture with a new fishing harbour and many banana fields 'Paul' is now more famous for ‘the feel-good factor’ – peace and relaxation in the country on the hottest Madeiran coastline with the most sunshine. This means that all can relax, swim and walk in these sunnier and hotter climes all year round! Popular amongst walkers, fishermen and swimmers with several safe swimming areas and closeness to famous mountain and levada walks PR 6 and the 'Rabacal/25 fountains' PR 19 walk. Attractions include white sand beaches next to Calheta Marina 10 minutes drive, a rum factory Engenhos with a museum, Prazeres village with 17th century church, fruit and vegetable market and ‘Quinta Pedagogica’ - a free animal park, art gallery and cider house! Plus, there is the award-winning international art centre: ‘Casa das Mudas’ & UNESCO-protected Ancient Laurisilva Forest. Whale/dolphin-watching and big-game fishing boats operate from Calheta marina.

Other Activities: Levada and forest walks

Photos

Rates & Availability

Paul Do Mar House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
LAST MINUTE July-Sept 2016
Jul 1 2016 - Sep 30 2016
5 night minimum stay
$42
$291
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $7 per night, per additional guest
 
July-September 2017 EARLY BIRD
Jul 1 2017 - Sep 30 2017
7 night minimum stay
$331
$1,322
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$45
$315
$1,259
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $7 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Full Terms and Conditions under English Law.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Paul Do Mar House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house (semi-detached)
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 65 m²
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Sunbed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , bidet
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , NEW in 2014...ensuite Full Bathroom with Shower
  • The bathroom has a hair dryer.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , NEW in 2014...ensuite Full Bathroom with Shower
  • Bedroom 1 has a double bed and sleeps 2, Bedroom 2 has an extra large double (King) bed 1.8 m wide and sleeps 2. Bedroom 3 has a single bed and sleeps 1. All bedrooms have either Atlantic Ocean or mountain views.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Terrace
  • 1 bicycles
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • live theater
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Wi-Fi internet access is available in both Sunny House East & Sunny House West but clients must bring a portable computer. We have tried to make both houses as comfortable as possible like a private home. So, they include bedlinen, house towels, a hair dryer, some tourist information, a small book and DVD library. Change of linen and towels is provided weekly. Welcome pack : on check-in there is tea, coffee, milk, water and a bottle of wine! So that you are comfortable when you check-in. The houses are no smoking so please smoke outside the houses.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties