This is a four bedroom, 2 1/2 bath home on Onion Creek in Driftwood on 11+ acres with a little bit of everything to offer. There are 2 living areas, 2 dining areas, a screened-in porch and wrap-around porch to sit and watch the deer, birds, and butterflies. It is conveniently located on an oasis surrounded with gardens, swimming spots on Onion Creek, large hardwoods, hot tub, decorative pond, walking trails, playground, and a farm of sweet animals. ATTN: the creek is currently dry. However, there is swimming just a mile down the road at Camp Ben McCullogh
- House2880 sq. ft.
- Half Baths1
- Min Stay2 nights
Summerland At Onion Creek
- Calendar last updated:
- Oct 18, 2018
About Owner/Property Manager
I recently closed down my little country school after 8 years of running it to open my home for vacation rentals.
Owner/Property Manager purchased this House in 2008
Why Owner/Property Manager chose Driftwood
Beautiful trees and 1000 foot on Onion Creek
What makes this House unique
Lots of things to do including a hot tub, the creek, gentle farm animals, several outdoor fire pits for campfires, a wrap-around porch, playground, and lots more!!!
Pool / Spa
Check-in: 3:00 PM
Check-out: 11:00 AM
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
My family and I had one of the best Christmas gatherings in a long time thanks to Summerland At Onion Creek. The house was clean and inviting for a quaint family gathering. The property with the creek, walking trail, farm animals, and wildlife added to this most memorable experience. I especially like setting out on the large deck lessening to the flow of the creek while watching the deer play in the back yard.
I would recommend the property to any family looking for a private, fun place or just a couple looking for a weekend getaway.
We were very disappointed when we arrived. Steps and deck around the house feels like it will collapse at any time. The inside was somewhat clean but in need of repairs/upkeep. Light bulbs burned out in most every fixture. No TV! I assumed there was tv since there were pics of 2dishes on the roof. Hot tub was very hot but it was clean, could not adjust the temp. It was probably very nice 20 yrs ago.
A lady walked up while we were there because she put down a deposit to host a rehearsal dinner there. We let her look around and she said it was nothing like she expected and plan to cancel her reservation.
I'm so sorry you were disappointed with your stay. All bulbs have been replaced. Yes, this is an older home and most repairs will be done in January, since that is the slowest time. There are two TV's, one in the master bedroom and a big screen projector in the living area. There are tons of DVD's; however, we do not have cable or wi-fi. I will make sure that is listed in the information about the property. The hottub has up and down arrows to adjust the temperature. It does take a couple hours to adjust accordingly. It is a fairly new hottub (2 years old) and the back deck is less than a year old. I have double checked for any loose boards and have not found any. The new deck does seem to creak but that is because of the expansive size. I have never taken a deposit for a rehearsal dinner, so not sure what that was about. She must have had the wrong address since there are several venues in the area. I do not allow parties over the maximum amount of guests without written approval. I do encourage all guests to contact me by text or call anytime during their stay if they have any questions or concerns. I always try my best to address them immediately. Thank you for your feedback.
Old Settler Indeed
A buddy and I stayed here while attending the Old Settlers Festival held annually a couple miles away. The stay was not pleasant, primarily because the house was not clean. There were dirty, unwashed dishes in the dishwasher when we arrived. In the morning, we found rotted coffee grounds in the coffee maker. The refrigerator was full of expired food. The shower in the master bathroom backed up immediately when we tried to use it.
And it wasn't just the poor upkeep. The owner lost the house key and never provided us with a replacement, so we had to leave the house unlocked while we were away. Though only 24 miles from Austin, the house had no Internet access, which we needed to stay in touch with our offices. Stray (or at least unrestrained) cats and two dogs roamed the property at will; we even had to rescue one dog that got itself stuck between fence posts. We were only using the house to sleep and eat breakfast, so we could attend the nearby festival. Yet it was unpleasant and inadequate even for that limited purpose.
The natural creek out back is nice. If you are looking for a rustic area of the Hill Country with an equally rustic house, this may be for you. Otherwise, don't settle for this place.
I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay. My regular house cleaner was injured so I had to find a temporary replacement. I have listed in amenities that there is no internet. Sorry for the inconvenience this caused you. It is a rural property on 11 acres. Not sure where the dogs came from unless the neighbors' escaped from her house. The cats are not strays. They are our beloved pets and keep the snakes and rats away. Thank you for your feedback as it just helps me to continually improve.
Spacious and something for everyone. Great place for families and floating in the creek is a must.
We had a great time at this house. Everything we needed was there. It has more room and space than you could ever need, and you can't beat the price. The highlight is the beautiful creek in the backyard. It was perfect for floating and lounging. We have already planned our next stay here!
I had an awesome time at this beautiful home. The creek was great and the fire pit was perfect for n
I would definitely recommend this place. Loved the scene and the pot belly pigs were too cool to see walking around in the morning. Only problem we had was the hot tub heating up, never got to get in. Great place