Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Remodeled Ocean View Condo Across from White Sands Beach!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,200 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

TAKE IN A VIEW OF WHITE SANDS BEACH FROM OUR LANAI. The sound of the waves breaking will put you to sleep at night! Our condo offers private tennis courts, a beautiful pool with hot tub and has been completely refurbished. Recent improvements include new carpet, both the Master and Guest baths have been updated. We also have a new 55' flat screen HDTV and WI-FI is included for computer access with a smaller HDTV in the master bedroom. Our kitchen is fully equipped as we like to cook. There is a covered grilling area down by the pool with tables and sink. Think you will agree that you have all the comforts of home while staying here. We have spent a lot of time paying attention to detail to make it your paradise in Hawaii. Hawaii Tax ID # W40649027-01

Our condo unit is located in the front section of White Sands Village on the third floor so our view of the beach is spectacular! On the third floor, the elevator access is 15 steps from our front door with no stairs to climb. Our units assigned covered parking space is just steps from the elevator. Our unit is a value-priced alternative to the more expensive Kona resorts.

If you are a golfer, the Kona Country Club is located two miles down Alii Drive. There are two 18 hole courses, one which features mountain vistas and the other fronts on the ocean. There is also a full service club house and restaurant. The famous snorkeling beach, Kahalu'u, with its green turtles and colorful tropical fish, is a mile walk south. Better yet snorkel along the shoreline on either side of White Sands Beach.

Additional activities in and around Kona include kayaking, sunset cruises, whale watching, parasailing, deep sea fishing, jet skiing, hiking, movies, theater, shopping, and restaurants.

Take a day trip to Mauna Loa, Hawaii Volcanoes National Park home of Kilauea the worlds largest active volcanic crater. It is about 3 mi (5 km) Long, 2 mi, (3.2 km) wide and 500 ft (150 m) Deep. Hike around in the general area and trek down into some of the previous calderas with steam escaping from deep below the surface. If your adventurous book a tour to hike and experience the lava flows first hand. On your trip to the park midway between Kailua-Kona and Volcanoes Nat. Park don't forget to stop at the renowned Punalu'u Bake Shop. They make many very tasty treats including their famous Punalu'u Sweet Bread. They also feature Ka'u coffee and make great sandwiches. It is a good place to take a break as you drive to the Park.

Other nearby attractions that are on the way to the Park are:

South Point (Ka Lae)

Green Sand Beach (Mahana Beach)

Paualu'u Black Sand Beach

Keywords: Luxury Condo

More Details

Owner
Priscilla DeGeorge
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 23, 2017

Why Priscilla DeGeorge chose Kona Coast

The big island provides more of a home town feel than some of the other islands. This island has many different activities to offer along with spectacular views. The people are very warm and friendly and they make you feel welcome. Take your beach chair, walk across the street and enjoy the beauty of Magic Sands Beach.

What makes this condo unique

Our condo unit (No. 317) is located in the front section of White Sands Village on the third floor of the Keauhou Building so our view of the beach is spectacular! Think you will agree that you have all the comforts of home while staying here. Many of our guests have commented that they feel like they are at home when they are staying in our condo. This was our goal when we setup our condo. We hope you will take the opportunity to experience this home away from home.

Amenities

Kailua-Kona Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 3
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Ocean View
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Elevator
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , This is the bathroom off the master bedroom.
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , This is next to the second bedroom.
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , Have a converter to change the two twins into a King.
  • King size beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1) You can make the 2 twins into a King with the converter.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Shared Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Fully equipped kitchen with new cooking & eating utensils (settings for 8), new full-size washer & dryer, refrigerator, dishwasher, all new furniture and furnishings including towels, bedding, brand new mattresses, private tennis courts, beach chairs, beach towels, umbrella, snorkel equipment. This is a non-smoking condo.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(41 traveler reviews)

92% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
Remodeled Ocean View Condo Across from White Sands Beach!
average rating of 4.8536587 based on 41 reviews
Albuquerque, New Mexico
4

90% Great for Family of Four

  • 4 of 5

My two college age kids, husband and I loved mostly everything about the condo: it's location right across the street from Magic Sands beach, the provided beach equipment, the fully equipped kitchen, the furnished balcony, and the modern washer and dryer. The only thing that didn't work so well for me was the "dip" formed on my side of the king size bed due to the softness of the mattress. My neck and shoulders tightened up from sleeping in the contour. The fourth night, I finally alleviated this by sleeping on the couch for the rest of the week. My husband felt the bed was a little dippy too on his side but he was always so exhausted from all the ocean activities, he slept soundly anyway. I'd give the condo five stars if the king size master bed had been Marriott hotel bed! We would definitely stay here again if the mattress was replaced :-).

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Annie, We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in our condo. Thank you for your input on the mattress. You are the first guest to comment on this. We will definitely be checking into this. Priscilla DeGeorge
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

It was nice however

  • 1 of 5

The room was nice and the view was nice too as we had a partial view of the ocean.

I stayed there with my 80 year old mother. When we got their the room was not finished with the cleaning which was fine we got their like 10 minutes before 4. The cleaning people came after 4pm check in because the laundry was not finished.

The one person smelled of pot but they were nice. At that time they told me they were sorry as it took them longer because the people didnt do any laundry and left the place a mess. I told them it was ok I would fold the towels. I did notice there was only like 5 white bath towels there were more beach towels.

After a week and a half of being home I get a nasty email from the owner telling me her towels were missing. I did not come all the way to Hawaii to steal towels, when they only had 5 and she was charging me 25.00. Then she said the lid to the cooler was missing. Well I dont know about that I never used it. I only looked in the closet. So she is charging me $45.00 for a new cooler that never was used by us.

Then wanted to charge me an extra $50.00 because they had to do 10 loads of laundry. Well you have to wash the sheets and comforters.

Now I paid a cleaning fee and that should include towels and all bedding. So not sure what she meant when she said they had to wash the comforters. I can only assume that they dont. The fact that I had to wash towels at least 3 times while i was there lets me know I didnt take the towels because there were only 5.

Very disappointing to be accused of everything over a week after coming back. Then be accused of stealing cheap towels. Really I already overpacked do you think that I want to take some ragedy towels home with me. Very unprofessional.

I didnt take the garbage out due to the fact I was sick and going to the hospital. So I felt ok if you want to charge me extra for that ok I will pay it. I didnt do it.

My mom was very disappointed in the owners email and lack of respect for us.

  • Submitted: May 31, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We live on the main land and have to rely on my cleaning lady. She has been very reliable and we very seldom have any issues with guests. My cleaning lady brought several items to my attention. This guest did not follow the check out procedures. None of the garbage was emptied. Counters were not wiped down. Coffee filter not emptied. Sheets not taken off beds. Peanuts, food and snacks were left on side of beds. All sheets and towels were used. I am missing several of my white bath and hand towels. I had at least 14 bath and hand towels. When they left, I had about 8. There were 3 guests in our condo for 6 nights. The sheets were clean when the guests arrived. I have 3 sets of sheets for all beds: king, queen sofa sleeper and 2 twins and every one was used and not washed. My cleaning lady spent considerable more time cleaning and washing clothes. My email to this guest informing her of the missing items and extra cleaning fee was neither rude nor unprofessional. I did not accuse her of stealing towels or any of the other missing items. The guest replied that they had not used the ice chest and did not know anything about the missing towels. As a gesture of good will, we decided to waive the charge of having to replace the towels and the ice chest. The only extra charge to this guest was the extra $50 cleaning fee which was passed on to me. If you look at all our other reviews, you will see that we have received all 5s. We do not withhold damage deposits. It was warranted this time. We have many of our guests make return trips to the Big Island and repeat their stay at our condo. We have spent a great deal of time and money to provide our guests a home away from home for their stay in Kona. It disheartens us to have a guest disrespect our condo the way these guests did. Respectfully, David & Priscilla DeGeorge
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome!!!

  • 5 of 5

Our stay a Kona White Sands was definitely very special. The condo in which we stayed was well maintained, well stocked and located in a great part of Kailua-Kona. it was located right across the street from the La'aloa State Beach, which has some pretty good snorkeling from the beach as well as good waves for boogie boarding. The condo was stocked with beach chairs, boogie boards, snorkels, masks, flippers and noodles. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone visiting the Big Island as it is located within 5 minutes of the Keahou shopping center that has a grocery store, a dive shop, bar and other amenities. it is also only about 10 minutes to the downtown Kailua-Kona area where there are all sorts of restaurants, bars, dive shops, etc. The directions provided by the property owner were spot on and access to the property was easy. it was an awesome vacation and it was in large part to the VRBO in which we stayed!!!! Thanks to the DeGeorges for allowing us to stay in their property!!!

  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful find!

  • 5 of 5

We could not be more impressed with this condo. Everything from the location, to the interior to the amazing views from the lanai. We found the kitchen to be very well stocked and were excited to see we didn't need to buy spices for our meals. The rooms were spacious and the bed in the master bedroom was very comfy (we didn't use the second room). We used the pool and spa at the complex every night and enjoyed chatting with the locals who offered many points of interest to visit during our stay. The beach across the street was beautiful! It was a great place for boogie boarding, but not swimming. We definitely plan on renting this condo again!

  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

5 stars!

  • 5 of 5

Ending a thoroughly enjoyable time on the Big Island due, in a large part, by the fabulous accomodation at the White Sands and Condo 317. The condo was breathtaking, included all amenties and was situated in an ideal location. The White Sands is, in fact, a resort with two excellent tennis courts, fabulous pool and just across the street from a first class white sand beach - you cannot get any closer. The condo had everything we needed for a top notch vacation.

This is the place to stay on the Big Island and this is the condo to book.

Mahalo to the owners!

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Best location on the island

  • 5 of 5

Just finished our stay. It was wonderful! Terrific unit, very nicely appointed, probably even nicer than the pictures, extremely well-stocked kitchen, snorkel gear, chairs, and boogie boards. Right across the street from a sandy beach (during the summer, anyway), and only minutes from nice snorkeling. (Exceptional snorkeling was about 40 minutes away at Two Step, well worth the drive.) We loved everything about it. We turned off the air-conditioning and opened the sliders at night to hear the waves crashing on the beach all night. The only downside was that the tennis courts were in pretty poor shape. We seemed to be the only people using them, and apparently we are not such good players that it affected our game (ha!), but if the courts are super important to you, I would probably call first to make sure they have been repaired. Everything else was really top notch, and you just cannot beat the location.

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kailua-Kona Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Year Round
Apr 1 2017 - Oct 5 2017
4 night minimum stay
$135
$896
 
 
Ironman
Oct 6 2017 - Oct 21 2017
7 night minimum stay
$170
 
 
Year Round
Oct 22 2017 - Dec 14 2017
4 night minimum stay
$135
$896
 
 
Christmas/New Years
Dec 15 2017 - Jan 4 2018
4 night minimum stay
$145
$966
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$125
$825
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 13.25%

7 nights or more $137.86 nightly

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties