Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Memorial Day, 4th of July and Labor Day weekends are all 3 night bookings.

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Space 1,400 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Hours From Chicago, 3 Hours From Detroit, 90 Minute's From Northwest Indiana

This Is a Ranch Home with full Basement and Washer and Dryer in basement. Large back and front Deck. The 22' deck on the back of the house has a Gas Grill with table's and umbrella's. There is a Swing Set and Fire Pit in the backyard with Seasoned Oak Firewood for sale on sight. Three Bedrooms with Queen Beds and Dressers, in each room a Queen size Futon in the Living Room and one Twin Bed in lower level. 1 Bath, plus 1/2 bath, Formal Dining Room , Living Room and nice size Kitchen. Cable TV and Wi-fi-internet. Beautiful View of Cable Lake from 2 Large Living Room Windows , Kitchen, Master Bedroom and Dining Room Windows. Parking for 5 cars in the Driveway. Winter Guest's, the Driveway will be plowed by owner. The Lake is 100 Acres of Great Fishing, Swimming, Sailing, Canoe, Paddle Boat or Board and Row Boating. You can get on you blow-up rafts and just Swim or Relax around on Cable Lake. No motor Boats are permitted on Cable Lake by the DNR. VERY CLEAN LAKE!! K&D Kayak and Canoe Rentals 269-598-2995, you can call to rent Boats if you don't have any of your own. Call now to reserve your boat. No later than, March 2018 . VERY PEACEFUL LAKE . The quiet Beach is 1 mi. from you driveway. Call me with any question, I'll be Happy to help. 219-741 9015 Jan Hollingsworth


Property Manager
Janet Hollingsworth
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
August 22, 2017

About Janet Hollingsworth

This photo is from the Livingroom This has been a Family Home since 1983.

Janet Hollingsworth purchased this house in 2015

Why Janet Hollingsworth chose Michigan

My Family has been in Southwest Michigan since my Mom purchased two homes next to each other for our large Family. We have enjoyed many years watching and sharing with our Children and now Grandchildren. The 50155 Forest Rd. home in now to be shared with other Families. Come and enjoy a very Peacefull and Fun place to visit.

What makes this house unique

The Water is just steps from and house and the View is always Beautiful. Check out Sister Lakes Brewery and The Strand, Good Food too!!!!!

Amenities

Dowagiac House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Rural ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , 1/2 Bath Toilet and Vanity
  • Sheets, Blankets, Pillows,Towels, Wash Clothes, Rugs, Kitchen Towels and Wall to Wall carpeting in all areas except the Kitchen and Bath are all provided. Also toilet paper and paper towels are provided. Washer and Dryer on site! Bring your Laundry soap, Hair products and Bath soap.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Dresser and Mirror
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Dresser and Mirror
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Dresser and Mirror
  • Queen size Futon in Living Area Dining Room seats 10 people. There are 2 Twin Beds in the Lower Level for the Teen's that wants to get away.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseshoes
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
There is a Roller Rink within 5 min. of the house. RAMONA'S , For all adults and Children in the area and Vacationers, Really Fun. Friday and Saturday 7:30 to 10:30 Sundays 2- 5 pm. During the Summer months they have other hours during the week. For all of you of Legal Age, to drink Beer, A new Brewery will be available this Summer in Sister Lakes. Check their Web sight. Sisters Lake Brewing Co. Another Brewery and Restaurant in Sister Lakes this Spring 2017. I recommend Timberline Restaurant 33141 School St. Dowagiac, Mi. 269-782-6362 Opens in March 2017.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

81% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
Memorial Day, 4th of July and Labor Day weekends are all 3 night bookings.
average rating of 4.6363635 based on 11 reviews
5

Peaceful!

  • 5 of 5

We just got back from a three night girls vacation. We loved it there. A beautiful area and town. Did some shopping, there were nice stores (did some Christmas shopping). A wide choice of restaurants. The cottage itself was stocked with everything you might need: crock-pot, blender, tons of towels, glasses, and lots of glassware and dishes. I hope to go back next year with my family. You will not be disappointed.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Lisa, Thank You for your review and I am so Happy you girls enjoyed your stay. Please do come back again. 219-714-9015. Call and let me know so I can reserve you stay, Jan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Quaint, yet spacious with excellent ammenities

  • 4 of 5

We stayed at the Hollingsworth's residence for 5 days, 4 nights and truly enjoyed ourselves. The surrounding area and lake are very quiet (motors are prohibited), to the point that I often wondered if our 7 adult and 1 child family were too loud! Speaking of our large family, the house had enough room for us to sleep comfortably and (mostly) move about without bumping into each other. The only area that felt tight with all of us was the kitchen, so we had to cook in teams, when necessary. The beach was nice and the water clear and warm. We had hoped to fish Cable Lake, but the only local marina that supplied non-motor boats only had kayaks left. The lake is private so if you're planning on fishing in the summer, you'll need to make reservations months in advanced. Also, the association prohibits fishing from the dock so it's boat or no fishing Cable Lake. We ended up renting a boat for the day on Magician Lake which is highly populated and busy in the summer. Pity, because I can only imagine how good the fishing would be with the lake hardly disturbed. Other than that, I would recommend this house! The owners were nice and helpful, providing all the info you need for an enjoyable stay! Would repeat! Thanks for the fun!

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello, Thank You for your review. It was a pleasure to have your Family stay at our Vacation home on Cable Lake. I know its a long drive, but if you come to Michigan to see your Brother please come see us again. 219-741-9015 . Yes Boats are sometime's hard to come by, just reserve ahead of time. We can talk, I may be able to help you with a Row Boat. Jan and Denny
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very Comfortable, Clean and Peaceful Vacation Home.

  • 5 of 5

We Enjoyed our stay!

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very Happy you had a good Vacation. Come back again Denny and Jan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful

  • 5 of 5

Great place to stay. We all Loved our time there.

  • Submitted: May 31, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A Must Visit

  • 5 of 5

The entire property was very clean, everything you need. The owners Jan and Denny treat you like family visiting. They were so helpful and friendly. Makes your stay worth it. Take time to rent this home and you will NOT be disappointed.

  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank You so much for your Great review. Hoping you and Friends will come again. Any questions call me 219-741-9015, Jan
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Fine for what we needed, but overall disappointing

  • 2 of 5

The owners met us at the property when we arrived, which was after 10pm. It was nice to receive our key in person and make sure we didn't have any questions. However, it was not brought to our attention until that moment that the air conditioning had gone out 2 days prior and we'd have to use ceiling fans and open windows to cool the property. Perhaps this isn't an issue for some people, but one of our children has sensory issues and doesn't tolerate the fan running at all. Our other child felt uncomfortable leaving the window open all night, so his room was fairly warm and he was uncomfortable. We were also staying in an unfamiliar area in a ranch home, and it should've been considered that from a safety standpoint, we might not want our 2 small children sleeping alone with the windows open. The point is, this should've been addressed with us prior to our arrival. If you are going to have a "no refund" policy, then everything should be as it is advertised on the listing.

We were gone for a good portion of the day on Saturday, but when we returned to the property in the afternoon, there was a musty smell to the home. I understand that it's on the lake and we had to keep the windows open, but it made it feel damp and sticky. My husband commented that the carpet felt dirty like "hotel carpet," so he wore his socks around for an hour. We were disappointed to find that his socks were brown after that time, especially since we had quite a few little ones that wanted to play on the ground. We had to get a blanket for our daughter to lay on anytime we put her down, and encouraged the other kids to play at the table.

The check-out directions were also unclear. I texted the owner that we were leaving and asked if we should launder the towels and wash the dishes (this is the case at most places). She told us yes and asked if we cold also strip the beds. These are things that should clearly be outlined in the rental agreement: what to wash and put away, remove trash, strip the beds, close the curtains, etc. Then they told us they wanted to do a walk-through before we left: also not spelled out in the contract. Had I not contacted her about the towels, we would've left the key inside and started out drive home.

They owners were helpful and easy to reach, and the beach was nice for the kids. However, if we would've stayed any more than a weekend, I would've demanded our money back and gone to a hotel.

M. W.

  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am very Sorry you were so unhappy. The Air Conditioner stopped working the day before you arrived. We have has such Great reviews. I am truely sorry you didn't enjoy your stay, Jan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
6 Miles
Dowagiac
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Bt Bar&Grill CaptainJak Bar&Resturant Lakewood Bar
Nearest Golf
7 Miles
Indian Lake Golf Club
Nearest Train
6 Miles
Dowagiac
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Sister Lakes Wrights Breakfast & Lunch5 min.away.
Car: necessary

Our Large, Michigan City Outlet Mall is 40 min. away. Cable Lake is a very peaceful place to be. Swimming, Fishing, Canoeing, Paddle Boarding, Row Boating and just laying on a raft in the middle of the Lake will be enjoyed on CABLE LAKE. In the Winter go Cross Country Sking around and across the lake. There are several Wineries, Contessa, Karma Vista, 12 Corners, Lemon Creek, White Pine, Round Barn, Domaine Berrien, Tabor Hill is amazing, it is 17 mi. away. Great Food, Great Wine and a Beautiful view of the Vineyard while you dine. In Our Town Sister Lakes , there are 2 new Brewery's, Sister's Lakes Brewing Company is open and the opening of the new one will be this Spring. I will add the name when they post it. HOPE TO SEE YOU SOON!!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $85
Additional Guest Fee $25 per person per night
Damage Deposit $300

Call long ahead if you wan to rent Kayaks and Canoe K&D Kelly Peters 269-598-2995 Tell them Jan sent you!!! 50155 Forest Rd. Dowagiac, Mi. 49047 Please no Smoking and no pets. Thank You!

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties