Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Memorial Day, 4th of July and Labor Day weekends are all 3 night bookings.

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Space 1,400 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Hours From Chicago, 3 Hours From Detroit, 90 Minute's From Northwest Indiana

This Is a Ranch Home with full Basement and Washer and Dryer in basement. Large back and front Deck. The 22' deck on the back of the house has a Gas Grill with table and umbrella. There is a Swing Set and Fire Pit in the backyard with Firewood for sale on sight. Three Bedrooms with Queen Beds in each room a Queen size Futon in the Living Room and one Twin Bed in lower level. 1 Bath, plus 1/2 bath, Dining Room , Living Room and nice size Kitchen. Cable TV and Wi-fi-internet. Beautiful View of Cable Lake from 2 Large Living Room Windows , Kitchen and Dining Room Windows. Parking for 5 cars in the Driveway. Winter Guest, the Driveway will be plowed by owner. The Lake is 100 Acres of Fishing, Swimming, Sailing, Canoe, Paddle Boat or Board and Row Boating. You can get on you blow-up rafts and just Swim or Relax around on Cable Lake. No motor Boats are permitted on Cable Lake by the DNR. JD Marina 269-424-5649, you can call to rent Boats if you don't have any of your own. Call now to reserve your boat. March 2017 . Very Peaceful Lake! Any questions you have please call 219-741-9015 Jan


Property Manager
Janet Hollingsworth
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 22, 2017

About Janet Hollingsworth

This photo is from the Livingroom This has been a Family Home since 1983.

Janet Hollingsworth purchased this house in 2015

Why Janet Hollingsworth chose Michigan

My Family has been in Southwest Michigan since my Mom purchased two homes next to each other for our large Family. We have enjoyed many years watching and sharing with our Children and now Grandchildren. The 50155 Forest Rd. home in now to be shared with other Families. Come and enjoy a very Peacefull and Fun place to visit.

What makes this house unique

The Water is just steps from and house and the View is always Beautiful.

Amenities

Dowagiac House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Rural ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , A new 1/2 Bath off the Kitchen is under construction now!!
  • Sheets, Blankets, Pillows,Towels, Wash Clothes, Rugs, Kitchen Towels and Wall to Wall carpeting in all areas except the Kitchen and Bath are all provided. Also toilet paper and paper towels are provided. Washer and Dryer on site! Bring your Laundry soap, Hair products and Bath soap.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Dresser and Mirror
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Dresser and Mirror
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Dresser and Mirror
  • Queen size Futon in Living Area Dining Room seats 10 people. There is an extra Twin Bed in the Lower Level for the Teen that wants to get away.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseshoes
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
There is a Roller Rink within 5 min. of the house. RAMONA'S , For all adults and Children in the area and Vacationers, Really Fun. Friday and Saturday 7:30 to 10:30 Sundays 2- 5 pm. During the Summer months they have other hours during the week. For all of you of Legal Age, to drink Beer, A new Brewery will be available this Summer in Sister Lakes. Check their Web sight. Sisters Lake Brewing Co. Another Brewery and Restaurant in Sister Lakes this Spring 2017. I recommend Timberline Restaurant 33141 School St. Dowagiac, Mi. 269-782-6362 Opens in March 2017.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

Memorial Day, 4th of July and Labor Day weekends are all 3 night bookings.
average rating of 4.625 based on 8 reviews
5

Wonderful

  • 5 of 5

Great place to stay. We all Loved our time there.

  • Submitted: May 31, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A Must Visit

  • 5 of 5

The entire property was very clean, everything you need. The owners Jan and Denny treat you like family visiting. They were so helpful and friendly. Makes your stay worth it. Take time to rent this home and you will NOT be disappointed.

  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank You so much for your Great review. Hoping you and Friends will come again. Any questions call me 219-741-9015, Jan
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Fine for what we needed, but overall disappointing

  • 2 of 5

The owners met us at the property when we arrived, which was after 10pm. It was nice to receive our key in person and make sure we didn't have any questions. However, it was not brought to our attention until that moment that the air conditioning had gone out 2 days prior and we'd have to use ceiling fans and open windows to cool the property. Perhaps this isn't an issue for some people, but one of our children has sensory issues and doesn't tolerate the fan running at all. Our other child felt uncomfortable leaving the window open all night, so his room was fairly warm and he was uncomfortable. We were also staying in an unfamiliar area in a ranch home, and it should've been considered that from a safety standpoint, we might not want our 2 small children sleeping alone with the windows open. The point is, this should've been addressed with us prior to our arrival. If you are going to have a "no refund" policy, then everything should be as it is advertised on the listing.

We were gone for a good portion of the day on Saturday, but when we returned to the property in the afternoon, there was a musty smell to the home. I understand that it's on the lake and we had to keep the windows open, but it made it feel damp and sticky. My husband commented that the carpet felt dirty like "hotel carpet," so he wore his socks around for an hour. We were disappointed to find that his socks were brown after that time, especially since we had quite a few little ones that wanted to play on the ground. We had to get a blanket for our daughter to lay on anytime we put her down, and encouraged the other kids to play at the table.

The check-out directions were also unclear. I texted the owner that we were leaving and asked if we should launder the towels and wash the dishes (this is the case at most places). She told us yes and asked if we cold also strip the beds. These are things that should clearly be outlined in the rental agreement: what to wash and put away, remove trash, strip the beds, close the curtains, etc. Then they told us they wanted to do a walk-through before we left: also not spelled out in the contract. Had I not contacted her about the towels, we would've left the key inside and started out drive home.

They owners were helpful and easy to reach, and the beach was nice for the kids. However, if we would've stayed any more than a weekend, I would've demanded our money back and gone to a hotel.

M. W.

  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am very Sorry you were so unhappy. The Air Conditioner stopped working the day before you arrived. We have has such Great reviews. I am truely sorry you didn't enjoy your stay, Jan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Definitely a beautiful place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

We had an awesome stay! The house was very well equipped and very clean. It is located on a private road, so hardly any traffic at all. There were 6 of us altogether (2 adults and 4 kids). The owners were so welcoming and kind, and were right there when we had an issue. I have absolutely no complaints, but maybe a couple of suggestions, such as maybe instead of a queen bed in one of the bedrooms, maybe make it a kids' type bunk room, a couple of our kids were pre teens, and were not to happy about having to "share a bed", the other suggestion would be to maybe add a television in the bedrooms...other than those two suggestions the house is totally worth your stay! We also wanted to mention we would definitely stay again! Thank you for sharing your home with our family! (Our kids enjoyed hanging out at the lake and playing with the dog!)

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great time at the Cable Lake!

  • 5 of 5

Great house well maintained and stuffed with all the necessary for vacation! Internet is a plus! Thank you!

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank You Andrey, Hope to see you again. Jan Hollingsworth
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
IN, USA
5

Great stay for our family!

  • 5 of 5

First off, Jan was WONDERFUL to work with. She responded quickly to our many questions, and provided additional pics and information as we needed it. Both Sister Lakes and Dowagiac is nearby, so there are options for groceries, gas, and restaurants (within 10 mins). The home was even better than portrayed in the pictures- There was plenty of room for our extended family that stayed there (6 adults & 2 children). We always had what we needed while at the home- even more provided for us than we expected. The home is not ON the lake/beach, but it's such a safe, small walk, the kids could walk back and forth on their own without us worrying, and there is still a great view of the lake from the dining and living rooms. The beach area is clean and sandy. The kids spent hours playing in the water and sand. We pretty much had the beach to ourselves- it was quiet, relaxing, safe, and fun for all ages (grandparents, parents, and kids)! The lake does not allow motors, which ended up making the stay quiet and peaceful and great for fishing! We caught MANY bluegill, as well as some sunfish, bass, and walleye. We'd stay here again in a heartbeat! Thanks, Denny & Jan, for such a wonderful stay and for helping our family make some wonderful memories together!

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank You Tyler for your Wonderful review. Hoping your Family will come to Cable Lake again this year. We had a new Well put in this past Fall. Denny is putting a 1/2 Bath off the Kitchen. Jan
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Dowagiac
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Bt Bar&Grill CaptainJak Bar&Resturant Lakewood Bar
Nearest Golf
7 Miles
Indian Lake Golf Club
Nearest Train
5 Miles
Dowagiac
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Sister Lakes Wrights Breakfast & Lunch5 min.away.
Car: necessary

Our Large, Michigan City Outlet Mall is 40 min. away. Cable Lake is a very peaceful place to be. Swimming, Fishing, Canoeing, Paddle Boarding, Row Boating and just laying on a raft in the middle of the Lake will be enjoyed on CABLE LAKE. In the Winter go Cross Country Sking around and across the lake. There are several Wineries, Contessa, Karma Vista, 12 Corners, Lemon Creek, White Pine, Round Barn, Domaine Berrien, Tabor Hill is amazing, it is 17 mi. away. Great Food, Great Wine and a Beautiful view of the Vineyard while you dine. In Our Town Sister Lakes , there are 2 new Brewery's, Sister's Lakes Brewing Company is open and the opening of the new one will be this Spring. I will add the name when they post it. HOPE TO SEE YOU SOON!!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Dowagiac House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
4th of July
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$140
$800
 
 
Labor Day
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$140
$800
 
 
Fall and Winter
Oct 1 2017 - Apr 30 2018
2 night minimum stay
$105
$500
$900
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$140
$800
$2,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning Fee $80
Tax Rate 10.0%

JD Marina 269-424-5649 Call for Boat Rentals Now.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties