Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Whole House - Best Motel Alternative

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Space 1,150 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

3 bed/1.5 bath Close to Everything

* First - the cover photo was taken at the pier downtown. My house is NOT on the water, nor have a view.

Comfortable 3 bedroom, 1.5 bath house on a quiet cul-de-sac - close to downtown Port Angeles - modern furnishings, new TV, cable and Wifi, DVR.

1150 square foot rancher in a quiet neighborhood - Beds for 8 people + lots of floor space for campers.

Why stay in a dated motel room when you can be so much more comfortable in this fresh and clean single-family home?

Remodeled in mid 2015, with new flooring, paint, cabinets, vanities, appliances, fixtures - and stocked with everything you need to prepare a great meal if you choose to cook - or just have coffee in the morning or a glass of wine at the end of the day. It's five minutes from downtown Port Angeles and some great restaurants. The pier is downtown where you can catch the ferry over to Victoria, BC.

2 Queens, 1 Full bed and 1 Queen futon.

* Pets will be considered with a $50 pet deposit. Please write and tell me about your pet.

Absolutely NO SMOKING inside the house, but you're welcome to in the backyard.

More Details

Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 22, 2017

About Owner/Manager

I'm a court reporter and real estate investor. I lucked upon this property in Port Angeles and have grown to really love the beauty of the Olympic Peninsula.

Owner/Manager purchased this house in 2015

Why Owner/Manager chose Olympic Peninsula

As you enter the neighborhood and drive down Baker Street, you can see the Strait of Juan de Fuca, ships passing by, and British Columbia off in the distance. It's absolutely beautiful.

Although my house is not on the beach or have fantastic views, it's in a nice residential neighborhood just blocks up from the water, and convenient to everything. I've stayed in half a dozen motels and hotels in town and they're all dated and grim. I can honestly say this is a much better than all of them.

What makes this house unique

Parking for several cars and even an RV - huge back yard with a patio table, chairs and BBQ. It's not the Ritz, but it's fresh and clean and nicer than 95% of the motels/hotels available in town.


Port Angeles House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1150 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , New vanity, sink, fixtures, cabinet, lighting, flooring
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , New flooring, vanity, sink, fixtures, cabinet, and lighting
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Walk-in closet and seating area
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , Large closet and seating area
    Master - 1 queen , Walk-in closet and half bath/powder room
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • bay/sound
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • photography
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
The large backyard is gated and locked - so feel free to bring your bikes or other toys


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

Whole House - Best Motel Alternative
average rating of 4.3846154 based on 13 reviews

Clean, simple, convenient.

  • 5 of 5

House was just right for us. Things were clean and neat, no clutter. Close to National park entrance and downtown PA. Theresa responds by e-mail very quickly. Funky neighborhood had me wondering at first but extremely quiet. Big backyard for dog. Good value, would stay again.

  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice house and yard!

  • 5 of 5

Was not quite what was expected as the neighborhood was very mixed with old and new properties. That said, the property was as described, clean and comfortable. The area was very quiet and convenient to all Port A has to offer... recommend to anyone looking for a centrally located, clean and decently appointed rental.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Exactly as advertised.

  • 4 of 5

This property was exactly as advertised. Location was a little tricky to find the first time due to streets that don't go all the way through. Stayed 10 days here with family and felt right at home. The property was very clean. The owner rsponded promptly to questions and was very helpful in suggestions for where to eat. We did several day trips - Hurricane Ridge, Neah Bay, ferry to Victoria, etc.. Would recommend this property to others. Partial ocean/sunset view from 1 bedroom.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Chelan, WA

Comfortable, clean and nicely equipped.

  • 5 of 5

This was a nice place to stay fora family event in Port Angeles. It was a simple house but clean, comfortable and everything you need to get a good night's sleep,cook your meals, and just hang out. The bonus is that it is affordable.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Could use more curb appeal

  • 3 of 5

The rental is clean, well stocked, bright , felt comfortable.

The shower function handle needs attention, handle free wheels for shower engagement.

All other utilities working fine.

We had lunch at Traylors, great service there.

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Ok Place to Stay

  • 3 of 5

Seven of us spent two nights at this place a week ago. Our main goal was to explore different parts of Olympic National Park. This home is close to the park attractions like Hurricane Ridge, Lake Crescent and accessibility to the park is very good. Home itself was big enough for all of us and Kitchen was functional. Backyard was a bonus and we spent time sipping on our hot drinks on cool mornings. The mountain backdrop is also good. Sofa bed was probably best bed in the house :)

Said all of above, there are few things which should be noted. Master bed and Sofa bed was good but beds in other two rooms were old and springs were not comfortable. I kept on twisting and turning all night... The house is located in not so busy community/street and make you feel secluded. Not a big issue but I was just expecting slightly different place based off photos of the property.

Another big turn off was the sheets and cleanliness. Multiple bed-sheets and comforters smelled really bad. I just could not use them. Everything in the house shows the age of the property. Right from master bedroom bathroom latch not working, cracked mirror, almost broken dishwasher that you would be scared to even open, so on.. it makes it little difficult to give 5 stars to the property.

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: As an owner, comments like these are never easy to read. I take the cleanliness of my home very seriously because I know that's what I care most about when I travel. I have several sets of sheets for each bed and every bed has fresh sheets before new guests arrive. I also have multiple bedspreads for each bed and they are laundered regularly. I assume you have extreme sensitivity to any kind of odors. All cabinets and appliances in the kitchen are less than a year old, so I don't know whose dishwasher you're talking about. This the first I've heard of any problems with it, and if it were truly not usable, you certainly should have notified me so I could fix it for you. Three other parties and my cleaning lady have used it since your departure and no one has complained about it. In fact, today someone told me it was beautiful. These are all brand new comments - each and every one. No one has ever complained about the cleanliness of my home - including long-term guests who stayed several weeks. And I cannot imagine how you got the impression my neighborhood would be more lively from the photos - they're all of the house and backyard. Plus I describe it as being on a cul-de-sac in a quiet residential neighborhood. My house is literally the least expensive house in Port Angeles that accommodates large parties - it's more than half the price of most of them. It is described accurately, and priced very accurately for what it is. If you read more into it, that's wishful thinking. If you desire or expect 5 star housing, you should really look at the more expensive properties - not the least expensive.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Car: recommended


Rates & Availability

Port Angeles House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Apr 17 2017 - Sep 10 2017
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $75
Pet Fee $50
Refundable damage deposit $150

Rates are valid through April 30, 2016 - and subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Pets will be considered on a case-by-case basis.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send Email Send Email

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties