Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

'Casa Costa Cristal' New Beachfront Home on the Caribbean!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 2,600 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

This new home is located at the approximate 14 kilometer point on the main beach road between Mahahual and Xcalak, South of Mahahual. This road is a dirt road skirting the Caribbean, passing resorts, restaurants and private houses. Additionally there is the 'fast road' easily accessible and allows you to be in town within 15 minutes.

Casa Costa Cristal is located in the very best location of all Costa Maya either North or South of Mahahual. The area is known for its beautiful water. It also is known as Puerto Angel.

The area is full of fun activities. You are able to stay at the home and enjoy the beautiful water, walk the white sanded beaches, and if you would like have snack/lunch/dinner at the new Almaplena Resort and Beach Club , located a short 5 minute walk away. Short drives allow access to other fine restaurants.

Depending on the time of year the town of Mahahual becomes a cruise ship destination, sometimes with as many as three ships in dock. The town becomes alive with travelers strolling the Malecon. It is of course equally as fun doing this without the excitement of the docked cruise ships, which provide you an opportunity to see a very relaxed little Mexican fishing village.

This area is known for its beauty, its fishing and especially its snorkeling and scuba activities. There is the famous Chinchoro reef and well as many smaller reefs just off shore.

Casa Costa Cristal is a 2600 s.f. home with palapa covered patios, with30 meters or about 100 feet of beautiful, white sand beach frontage, facing the majestic Caribbean Sea. It is surrounded by tropical and beach plants, including palm trees with coconuts, beautiful white beach lilies, and many other native trees and plants. The west side of the property borders a thick tropical jungle from which a variety of harmless animals wander from. You can walk in the evening while watching a 'light show' of fire flies.

Casa Costa Cristal is a new two bedroom with office, two story home. It has a fully equipped modern kitchen with double stainless steel refrigerator/freezer, a gas range,

and granite counter top with a kitchen island with seating. The walk-in pantry allows plenty of storage for your vacation staples. The kitchen is fully equipped with a selection of cooking utensils, pots and pans, plates, glasses, cups, coffee maker, and a blender for mixing margaritas in the evening. We provide plenty of bottled drinking water during your stay.

The first floor also has the guest bedroom with easy access to the downstairs bath. This bedroom has a queen sized bed, spacious closet and private porch with covered palapa roof.

The bathroom has a travertine stone shower, and travertine slab-stone vanity with storage.

The office is located on this level. There is a sleeping banco here that can be used for lounging as well as extra sleeping. The office is equipped with a tzalam desk.

The Great Room is large and spacious with 14' ceilings. The room has two ceiling fans, and East/West clerestory windows to provide cooling breezes for those 'warmer' Caribbean days. There is a TV with satellite service (SKY). At one end of the room is a tzalam Dining table with chairs, made by a famous local woodworker who actually lives just a few houses away.

Upstairs is the Master Suite. The bedroom has a king size bed. It opens to an awesome private porch, covered with a palapa roof and overlooks the beautiful Caribbean Sea, just 30' away.

The bath contains his/her closets with built in drawers. The large shower has travertine stone walls and floor and the double vanity, with plenty of storage has a travertine slab stone top.

There are two hammocks and a hammock chair for your leisurely use. Lounge around and read your favorite book or to take a traditional Mexican Siesta

Since there is no electrical service along the beach road, electricity at Casa Costa Cristal is provided by a state of the art solar system. The system consists of a bank of roof-top solar panels, inverter/controller and battery banks. There is a back-up generator that provides power in the case of overcast weather. The house electrical is US standard 120v power. The house uses eco-friendly low wattage bulbs, water heater and stove, to conserve as much as possible. We ask your cooperation to conserve electricity at all times.

Casa Costa Cristal is equipped with a satellite dish antenna system, providing a clear signal of a variety of SKY. Mexican channels. There is also an internet wireless connection available for your use.

For your convenience there are chaise lounge chairs and other beach chairs available either on the water's edge or on the covered porches of the house.

On the property is a casita which houses a young couple, Moises and maricruz who will attend to your needs and watch the home while you are away. Daily room service is available at an extra charge.

We are happy to help you create an itinerary of activities, dining recommendations etc for a great stay at Casa Costa Cristal.

Keywords: CARIBBEAN, BEACH FRONT, VACATION HOUSE, SPECIAL VACATION, SIAN KA'AN, SCUBA, SNORKELING, ROMANTIC. GREAT TIME, ECO, WATER, RELAXING, CASA COSTA CRISTAL

More Details

Owner
Mary
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
September 3, 2017

About Mary

We are A J and Mary from Sonoma, California.

A J is a retired residential designer and RE developer.

Mary is a registered nurse.

We have five children and 11 grandchildren.

Mary purchased this house in 2011

Why Mary chose Mexico

Always aware that we would retire in Mexico, we spent several years traveling the country. When we arrived in the Costa Maya we immediately knew this was it. Being builders, we designed and built our beach home. We have been overwhelmed by how welcoming the population is here, both native and expatriot.

What makes this house unique

There quite simply is always something to do or not do as your mood dictates!

Map

Car: recommended

There is much to do! Our home is located on a crystal white beach, with blue water. Snorkeling, fishing, walking the shore, swimming, sunbathing, laying in the hammock and reading, walk to the nearby restaurant and have a refreshment, snack or meal, all at your immediate reach. Very short distances are other very good restaurants (beach resorts), cenotes, incredible archaeological sites (Mayan), scuba lessons, cooking lessons, learn Spanish or Mayan, or whatever. Belize is an hour away by car and you can take a ferry from Chetumal to the famous Belize island of Ambergris Caye. Please contact us for many more suggestions.

Amenities

El Placer House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
General:
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Single Vanity w/ Granite Top
    Master Bath - toilet , shower , Double Vanity w/ Granite Top
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Suite - 1 king
    Bedroom #3 - 1 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom #2 - 1 queen
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
Attractions:
  • churches
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Many services are available in town. Some services can be scheduled in town for the vacation home. Discuss w/ owner as necessary.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

85% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
10% Complete
'Casa Costa Cristal' New Beachfront Home on the Caribbean!
average rating of 4.55 based on 20 reviews
1

House in middle of no where without a refrigerator!!!!!!!!!!

  • 1 of 5

The Day that we arrived at the home, around 6:00 PM - the caretaker told us the refrigerator would be fixed the next day. Everything we had went bad and a bag of ice didn't even last a day. So instead of enjoying the "beach house" we were running to the store and to the restaurants for every meal. The cooler that was initially provided with crushed ice could not be used for drinks - we had to lug around a cooler - thank goodness we had a car and weren't dropped off via taxi. The caretaker next door went to get us ice one time when we asked and that was it! You can't have people driving 5 hours to arrive at a home with out a refrigerator. The description of the home was a little obscured as well ----- there was one hammock in the down stairs bedroom - all of the four outdoor chairs are broken - there is no hammock swing and the only other table and chair set there is taken up by sick dogs with ticks all over them! Who would want to sit in the chair after that ? we felt bad for the dogs so everytime we went out to eat ( which was everyday for every meal ) even if we had left overs the ants would attack it so we gave it to the poor dogs. We had to keep dry goods ( peanut butter / jelly / bread in a plastic garbage back ) the ants even got into that. We have traveled all over Mexico and rent houses to get away from the crowds and enjoy our own cooking and relaxing - this was impossible to do here. Then you tell me you send me an email the day of arriving?!!! Five hours of driving - that is so unprofessional and it actually ruined our vacation. Thank God there is a restaurant within 5 minutes - so that we could save some of our valuable time not traveling 45 minutes to mahuhual to eat - going to get ice each day was 20 minutes each way. By rights... we should be reimbursed our stay and our food bills.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Three days before Lisa was due to arrive at our home my caretaker notified me that our refrigerator was not working. Our home is located in a remote area of the Yucatan, one and a half hours drive from the nearest city and we live 4,000 miles away. I knew that I wouldn't be able to repair or replace the refrigerator quickly so I immediately emailed Lisa (the only way I had to contact her) and offered her a full refund. She chose to come anyway. I fully understand how inconvenient it was to not have a working refrigerator. My care taker offered them an ice chest which obviously was not acceptable. My husband and I take great pride in our home which is located between the remote jungles of Mexico and the Caribbean. It is a beautiful paradise. I believe our other reviews speak for themselves.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Mexico City/Mahahual
4

House is beautiful and spacious. Showers are great as is the kitchen. bring extra towels

  • 4 of 5

My stay in this lovely property was very relaxing. Really appreciated the fans at night as it is very hot and humid in the summer. I have stayed in Mahahual before and it is very special and unspoiled. Unfortunately, all along the beaches is a vast quantity of plastic garbage--really makes you think about what we are doing to our planet--making going for walks kind of sad and gross. But, if the house had a pool, I would want to live there forever. Thank you for sharing this lovely home with others. Amazing view, breezes, and comfortable!

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5

What a wonderful home! My husband and my mom and I stayed in this incredible home in June. It is exactly as described but even more beautiful than the pictures. The house has its own private beach which just adds to the location. The location for our family was perfect! We were looking for a quiet get away. It is somewhat secluded but that was what we loved about it. The water was crystal clear and with easy access and is just steps from the house. The beach was great for long walks and the water was great for snorkeling, swimming and pure relaxation. The sounds of the waves and the breeze are amazing! We stocked up on groceries before we arrived and enjoyed grilling on the beautiful wrap around terrace facing the ocean each night. Even though the house was a little ways out of town, there is easy access to town through a great road that was even being repaved during our stay.

The house was well equipped with a beautiful kitchen with all we needed. Each room has its own ceiling fan and there were even a couple of extra fans throughout the house that could be moved around as needed. We didn’t miss the AC at all. The breeze that comes in off the water is incredible. The house was well designed to take advantage of the breezes. And we never noticed that the house was run off of solar panels. The homeowners were great to work with and available to answer any and all our questions.

We felt very safe and secure in the house. It is well lit at night with automatic lights positioned around the house exterior. All the doors and windows have locks and are well secured. The caretaker and his family are on the property and were always available to us. We felt very comfortable and at home during our vacation.

Our biggest worries during our stay was whether to relax in a hammock or in a lounge chair or to have a margarita or a mimosa! We loved every minute of our stay! Thank you so much to the home owners for sharing their home through VRBO. It truly felt like a home away from home for our stay. We will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
1

Insecure and gorgeous

  • 1 of 5

We spent 4 nights here with our 3 young children, before I was awoken at night by an intruder sneaking by our bed (upstairs.) Panic and screaming ensued as we thankfully gathered our kids (downstairs) and fled terrified at night to Cancun, where with challenges and expense, we found alternative lodging and sought new passports/phone/etc. One of the most appalling and shocking parts to us was the owner, Mary's, almost complete lack of concern for our safety. She did not reach out to us and even suggested that maybe we didn't lock the doors. (We wonder if someone else had a key.) Whatever the case, the house setup just feels too insecure. Mary gave us a PARTIAL refund for only the nights that we did not stay at her house. Unbelievable. She then also mentioned that Jaguars had recently eaten over 20 dogs in the area. We should have been made aware of this with 3 little kids. We don't want to bring any more grief to the good people of Mexico. We need others to know about our experience and that our family is still working through our terror from our stay at Casa Costa Cristal so they can decide for themselves.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We certainly do share the horror that this tenant experienced. We have five children and understand their mindset for what happened. We first were aware of the break-in when the tenant’s father called us. He explained to us what had taken place. We asked for him to have his son call us, but did not hear from the tenant until several days after they returned home. Moises, our caretaker had e-mailed us within minutes, although we never saw the email until after talking with the father. Please understand that there is no phone service in the area and we are 3 hours behind Mahahual time here in San Francisco. Our caretaker through e-mails explained to us what took place. We instructed him to contact the police to report the incident (he already had), and to notify our neighbors as to what took place. We have owned this house in Mahahual for almost five years and this is the first time anything like this has taken place. The house is secure, and the caretaker’s casita is almost adjacent to the home. Although we empathize completely with the tenants, we have no ability to control this type of incident. There are unfortunately too many similar stories we all have had, and these are not in Mexico, but here in the United States. Whatever ill affect results from this, please understand that as a whole, especially the Costa Maya (which Mahahual is part) is a very safe location. The people are real, and caring and take a great deal of pride in their homeland and generously offer their friendships. They are equally appalled by incidents similar to this and take them very personally, as many make a living on the tourist trade. We have brought our children and now our grandchildren and felt that they are as safe there as any place we would be in the United States. Since this break-in we have been to our home and discussed this with the police and neighbors. There are several blogs in the area that have discussed these type of problems, and ways to prevent and deal with them. We have added some additional exterior security lighting, and are in the process of adding walls to the property sides. As everyone who has visited Mahahual knows, this area continues to be a wonderful vacation destination with many exciting experiences to offer. Almost unanimously our guests comment that their stay resulted in among the best vacation they have ever had.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 1
5

Great Vacation

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I just returned from Mahahual and it was fantastic. We've been all over the carribean but have always stayed in the resort areas. We decided to vacation somewhere more secluded and quiet and this place checked every box! From start to finish everything went well. Mary was helpful with some tips on where to eat, things to do and answered all of my questions. When we arrived, Moises (the caretaker) greeted us with the keys and we barely saw him again while we were there. Very peaceful and quiet and private. We will certainly go back again.

  • Submitted: May 31, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Juan Island, WA
5

One of the best vacation houses that we stay at!

  • 5 of 5

This house is wonderfully designed and very comfortable. It is located at one of the better beaches and conveniently close to the crossroad to the "fast road" to and from town. It runs off the grid but is state of the art so one would hardly notice.

Nice beds are hard to find in Mexico and here is where you will find one. Another rarity down here are the good quality pots and pans that accompany this well equipped kitchen. All of the rooms are nicely appointed and comfortable. The caretaker is almost invisible unless you need him!

The view from the master bedroom and just about every other room is stunning! We particularly enjoyed the palapa out front.

As far as pros and cons go, the only negative we had was that there was only one hammock downstairs. I am here to tell you that the deck off of the master bedroom is begging to have 2 hammocks!...pretty minor,eh?

If staying in a luxurious house on a secluded beach is your idea of a great time then this is the spot for you!

  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300

SECURITY DEPOSIT OF $300 REQUIRED WITH BALANCE PAYMENT (60 DAYS BEFORE CHECK-IN). FULLY REFUNDABLE WITHIN 14 DAYS OF DEPARTURE.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties