Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

'Ambience' ~ Great Location...300 Steps to Beach! No Traveler Service Fee

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house

Overview

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

PARADISE, SERENITY, EDEN ON EARTH...These are a few of the words expressed by friends, family and guests about their stay at AMBIENCE. Nestled SOUTH OF 30A, on a partially gated dead end street, the look, feel and 'Ambience' of Summer's Edge brings to mind a gentler, quieter time, when people sat on their porches and balconies talking to neighbors as the kids played and rode bikes.

AMBIENCE is ideally situated on North Ryan Street, far enough down the block south from 30A so you hear the gulf surf through open windows rather than the din of passing cars. The (2) PRIVATE COMMUNITY POOLS, one heated, are a short stroll across a private road. Close enough for easy access, but out of sound range from the clamor that can be kids splashing about.

Our custom designed 2200 square foot 3 story home SLEEPS 10 and is perfect for a large family gathering or multi couples. It boasts a charming, coastal chic decor. The keyless front entry door reveals the main floor's open and spacious design. A comfortably furnished living room with 49" Sony flat screen tv and dvd. French doors from the living room invite you into a COVERED SCREENED-IN PORCH with ceiling fan and cushioned rattan seating group, ideal for reading and enjoying cool evening breezes and the sound of the night surf. A beautiful wood table sets off the dining room with french doors leading out to an outside covered deck, gas bbq, garden, and teak dining table under a shaded trellis.

A full kitchen comes equipped with large refrigerator with ice and water on the door, microwave, quiet dishwasher, garbage disposal and electric range. Granite countertops offer plenty of work space as does a stainless steel island table.

One bedroom downstairs comes with 2 twin beds, wide screen HDTV and french doors leading to the outdoor deck. A dual entrance full bathroom with walk in shower can be reached from the bedroom as well as the kitchen area.

The second floor includes a large master suite with king size bed. An en suite bath area contains a separate dressing area, vanity with sink, as well as another sink in the bathroom along with a jetted whirlpool bath for 2 and walk in shower. Two sets of french doors lead to a large wrap around covered balcony perfect for sunning, sipping a drink, viewing a PERFECT SUNSET or a gathering spot for friends and family to review that day's glorious events. A teak ding set off the master bedroom balcony is great spot for early morning coffee.

A queen bedroom with full bath, and, also with french doors to the balcony shares the 2nd floor with the king master. A separate laundry room housing a full size washer and dryer is also located on the 2nd floor. A cool spiral staircase leads up to the third floor, 4th bedroom loft. An ideal hide-away for the kids. The loft features 4 twin size beds, plenty of room for playing, a tv & another PARTIAL GULF VIEW. The loft area has it own window air conditioner unit to insure cool temperatures during the summer months.

*Bed Sizes: Master Bedroom-King , Second Bedroom-Queen, Third Bedroom-(2) Twins & Fourth Bedroom-Loft-(4) Twins

*5 Hi Def TVs

*TIVO

*4 DVD Players

*Stereo

*Granite Countertops

*Walk-in Showers in All 3 Baths

*Whirlpool Tub in the Master Bath

*Only 3 Minute Walk to Beach & Pools (1 Heated)

*Screened in Porch on Main Level

*Second Floor wrap-around Covered Porch with Partial Gulf View

*Main Floor Outdoor Deck with Private BBQ Grill & Shaded Outdoor Dining Area

*Separate HVAC unit/controls for main & second floors, with additional window unit in 3rd floor loft.

*Parking for 3 cars (Including 1 off street spot)

Bring your bikes along and visit the various towns and beach communities that make up the beautiful Emerald Coast. The 20 mile bike & walking path along Scenic 30-A is right at the end of our street and is a great way to explore the area. Our AMBIENCE BEACH HOUSE is only a 10 minute bike ride to the fabulous shopping, restaurants and other activities in world famous Seaside, the idyllic setting for the movie The Truman Show. For those with a bit more pedal power the distinct communities of Watercolor, Grayton Beach, Alys Beach & Rosemary Beach are also within reach. Should you feel the desire to get back in the car and leave the beautiful confines of 30A (we rarely do)... Destin and Panama City Beach are just a short drive away for even more fun.

'AMBIENCE' is the escape that you've been looking for! The escape you deserve....the escape you've earned!

Keywords: Beach House, Retreat, Sanctuary, Gulf View

More Details

Owner
Scott Hoffman
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
October 23, 2017

About Scott Hoffman

Living in Long Island, New York, we have always been drawn to the water. We are a 10 minute drive to Long Island Sound and 20 minutes to the beautiful beaches of Long Island's South Shore. When we considered a vacation beach home, we decided to shorten our trip to the beach to a 3 minute walk... Aaahh!

Scott Hoffman purchased this house in 2005

Why Scott Hoffman chose Seagrove Beach

Summer's Edge, in Seagrove Beach, is an oasis among a bevy of beautiful communities. The privacy afforded us south of 30A makes your stay seem that you are at a tucked-away beach resort. The street is beautiful, and we have less traffic and fewer crowds than the other communities surrounding us, but are close enough to take advantage of all the activities they have to offer. As soon as you turn off of 30A and enter the community of Summer's Edge you will feel the burdens of everyday life melt away.

What makes this house unique

Looking at an emerald sliver of gulf water while sipping a cool drink from the wrap around porch off the master suite. Returning to that same spot in the evening to revel in a magnificent sunset. Reading a summer novel in the solitude of the-screened-in porch. Dining al fresco in the privacy of the side deck. Falling asleep to the muffled sound of the gulf surf thru an open window.

I think we have the perfect location in the Summer's Edge community. We are close to the pools (50 yards) but far enough so that you don't hear the kids joyously screaming. We are far enough down the block from 30A where you don't hear the cars.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Our week at ambience was the perfect break my family needed to get away. With almost all our children grown and grandchildren starting to join in the fun, the house was a perfect set up for kicking back, enjoying the beach and having time to just be together as a family. (We are spread across many states!). Between early walks along the beach (which is seriously less than 3 minutes from the house!), bike rides through the neighborhood, or just gathering for dinner and games around the big dining table, the hectic lives we normally have were put on hold for 6 days! I think the favorite part of the house was the screened in front porch... great with small children. Also the fact that the kitchen was well stocked with dishes, cookware, etc... made the culinary contests we had great fun. We came at the perfect time of year... crowds were manageable and temperature was perfect...not too hot but still felt the warmth of the sun. Everyone agreed that this should be a ''repeat' vacation! Thank you for providing such a great home away from home! p.s. The only drawback to the house is that master is upstairs...which might be difficult for older adults or bad knees bad knees. If you can handle stairs, then it's not a drawback and the view is much better from the second floor than the first :-).
May 2013
  • 1 of 1

Map

Amenities

Seagrove Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Free Long Distance
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , 2 vanities:1 in bathroom,1 outside bathroom in dressing area
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 4 twin/ single
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (6) 4th Loft/bedroom has separate AC to supplement Central Air and keep loft cool
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Dual zone HVAC control/unit for main and upper floors. Brand new Trane whisper quiet HVAC unit installed on both upper & main floor. Ceiling fans in all bedrooms, living room, dining room and screened in porch, private outdoor eating area with gas grill, granite counters in kitchen with portable stainless steel island, 2nd floor wraparound covered balcony with partial gulf view off of King and Queen bedrooms

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

68% Complete
16% Complete
8% Complete
4% Complete
4% Complete
'Ambience' ~ Great Location...300 Steps to Beach! No Traveler Service Fee
average rating of 4.4 based on 26 reviews
Nashville, tn
5

Great house!

  • 5 of 5

Always enjoy staying in this house! Great location and owners very friendly and accommodating

  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for continuing to honor us as guests at 'Ambience'. There is nothing more satisfying as vacation home owners, than to have guests who return year after year.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Location!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time staying at Ambience for fall break. We love that the property was close to the beach & even closer to the 2 pools. We loved that the owners provided comfortable beach chairs, toys, a cooler, and a "beach wagon" to haul everything to the beach. There were umbrella & chair setups for rent right at the end of the boardwalk. The community has many adorable houses, all with great porches for sitting outside.

A few recommendations: the bedding in the master bedroom is very dated & stained. It needs to be replaced. Additionally, the carpet in that room is stained. The TV in that room (even though we didn't watch it) is the smallest in the house. Since the people paying for the house generally stay in the master, it should be the nicest! Give it the best bedding, best decor, best TV. All of the utensils in the kitchen are terrible quality, as are the pots for cooking. Just a step up would make the experience better and easier to cook. Finally, the sofas are stained & could probably be washed since they are slipcovers. Just small things to make the house feel cleaner & fresh!

Overall, we had a great time! Thanks for having us stay!

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you had a great time at Ambience! And, thanks for the recommendations to ensure an even more enjoyable stay. We are in the midst of updating the kitchen utensils and cooking pots. The master bedroom TV is the largest we can get without partially blocking one of the pairs of French Doors leading to the wrap-around porch. Unfortunately, though we try our best, minor staining due to the the large number of people in and out of the house during the season is sometimes unavoidable, even with a thorough cleaning between guests stays. We find dry cleaning the sofa slipcovers a couple of times during the year is better than machine-washing them. Once again, thanks for the kind words. We hope to see you back next year!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Good location with proximity to beach and nice decks and patio.

  • 3 of 5

Southern Vacation Rentals was responsive to a few items that needed attention. Home was clean and decks and patios were a plus. Home decor is dated, spiral staircase to loft can be difficult/dangerous for little kids. Short walk to pool and just a little further to the beach.

  • Submitted: May 30, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for staying at Ambience. Sorry you found the spiral stairway to the 3rd floor bedroom a bit challenging for your kids. Most children of our guests, toddler age and up, enjoy the unique stairway and love going up and down to their private space.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The home is lovely. Very comfortable!!

  • 5 of 5

It is in a great location. Close to beach and towns. We would definitely choose to stay here again!!

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the kind words. Since your departure we have added other touches to make our guest's stay even more comfortable and enjoyable. New furniture on the screened-in porch seating 9 people, new wide screen HDTVs, an all-terrain beach caddy to easily load all your stuff to the beach. We look forward to your next visit.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Birmingham, AL
4

Wonderful anniversary weekend!

  • 4 of 5

Our stay at Ambience was wonderful. The house is in a great location, only a short walk to the beach. Southern Vacation Rentals was a pleasure to deal with. The house is laid out with the kitchen on the bottom floor, very helpful so you don't have to carry groceries up the stairs. The house is well decorated and very inviting to everyone. The outdoor space is also wonderful, screened porch is a great place to have lunch and also a retreat if rain showers move in. Plenty of outdoor seating and space for storing bikes, etc. Only issue we faced was with the cable and internet but it was handled quickly by a personal visit from Southern Vacation Rentals. Thank you for sharing your home with us! Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your kind words regarding your stay at 'Ambience.' It is most gratifying that we could make your "Anniversary Weekend" so enjoyable. We hope you celebrate next year's anniversary with us as well. FYI.. new outdoor furniture is arriving shortly for the screened in porch area you and others love to sit in!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Ambience was wonderful!

  • 5 of 5

Our vacation at Ambience completely exceeded our expectations. The owners of Ambience and the staff at Southern Vacation Rentals were a pleasure to deal with, and the information provided in advance was very helpful. The house itself is magnificent and impeccably maintained. The décor is beautiful, and the little decorative touches made it feel like I was walking into my own home. The second floor deck and the screened-in porch put Ambience over the top. The pools and the beach were a short walk away, but I would definitely recommend renting bicycles during your stay - you can bicycle to so much nearby. The Great Southern is perfect for casual dining, or if you are looking for something truly elegant, check out Caliza in Alys Beach. If you enjoy paddle boarding or kayaking, I would recommend renting from the Watercolor Boathouse. One side note for women - Ambience does not supply hair dryers, so make sure to bring one if needed. I would definitely recommend Ambience to family and friends!

  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2016
  • Stayed: April 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

ADDITIONAL FEES:
11.5% TAX
$70 PROCESSING FEE
$200 HOUSEKEEPING FEE
PEAK WEEKLY STAYS ARE SAT-SAT -Ck-IN 4:00PM CK-OUT 10:00AM

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties