Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

check navigate-up

Owner

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Luxury 5 BR/Ridge Top Home/Theater/Pool Table/35 miles Bryce/Zion

42 Reviews
Sleeps14
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee

Learn more

Overview

Utah House Rental Photos and Description

House, 5 Bedrooms, 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 14)

Come enjoy the phenomenal views from our well-appointed Luxury 5400 sq. ft. Elk Ridge Estates executive REAL Log Home. It sits on a 11 acre Ridge Top lot and is a definite RETREAT! It is fully upgraded with all stainless steel Viking appliances, granite counter tops, slate/wood floors, plush carpet, custom cabinets, spacious master bath has a slate shower w/separate garden tub, 3 fireplaces (Great Room, Master Bedroom, Pool Table/Wet Bar Area), Antique wood burning cook stove in kitchen, 3 decks, Theater Room,HUGE grass area with a stamped concrete fire pit, 2 large Jack and Jill bathrooms between the 4 guest bedrooms. There is 1 bath between guest bedrooms 1&2 (LEVEL 1) and 1 bath between guest bedrooms 3&4 (LEVEL 2) and lots of windows THROUGH OUT, to bring the outdoors in. ALL of the bedrooms have ceiling fans to assure you the comfort you deserve. Also, there is a backup generator that will run the entire home should there be a power outage!

Don't miss the opportunity to experience this fabulous home at the 'Special Rate'!! The nightly rate is temporarily reduced for Jan-May 15.

Cleaning fee WAIVED on a 6 night stay!

ABSOLUTELY NO SMOKING and NO PETS!!!

Fishing, hunting, hiking, snowmobiling, ATVing and horseback riding are just a few of the attractions. Aspen Mirror Lake, Navajo Lake, Panguitch Lake, Cedar Breaks, Brian Head Ski and Summer Resort, Bryce Canyon and Zion National Park are each less than 45 minutes away. Lake Powell and Grand Canyon, less than 2 hours away.

This home will accommodate comfortably 2 families of 5 or 6. Also, it would be perfect for a Corporate getaway for 4 or 5 couples. There is 1-King, 3-Queens, 2-Full and 2-Single size beds.

This 5 BR, 3 1/2 Bath Log Home is centrally located in the 'Heart of Color Country' and surrounded by the Dixie National Forest.. It is located in Elk Ridge Estates, the most prestigious mountain community in Southern Utah. Elk Ridge is known for their 5+ Acre lots, to assure everyone the privacy they deserve. We are surrounded with ATV trails, fishing holes and easy access to just about anything you enjoy in the mountains. Best of all, you are sure to see Elk, Deer and Turkey abound. This beautiful log home is located in a year round subdivision with nicely snow plowed roads. Also, you're sure to have no dust in the Summer season, as this is a paved community.

Moving in, made easy! The 3 car garage is attached to the home, making unloading a breeze. Also, don't worry which bedroom you're going to get, because All 5 bedrooms have a INCREDIBLE view! I am positive you'll find your place here!! Whether it be relaxing on a deck reading a book or just relaxing, enjoying the wildlife with a cup of coffee or glass of wine. You might take in a great movie in the Theater Room, or maybe practice a little on your pool table skills. For you baseball fans, not to worry....we have the MLB package, so you won't miss a game of your favorite team. There's a chance that you may even wander out to the fire pit and roast a hotdog or a marshmallow while taking in the incredible 100+ mile panoramic views. What ever your need is, I'm sure you'll find it in this 5400 sq. ft. log home! As I said, there is a place for everyone!!

With Lake Powell and the north rim of the Grand Canyon within a day-trip distance, there is no shortage of natural pursuits as well as entertaining activities: Ride ATVs or snowmobiles on the 500+ miles of marked trails nearby, fish in the many area lakes, take a relaxing horseback trail ride, hike, bike, climb, take a back-country 'safari' tour, explore the canyons of Lake Powell by boat, take a guided educational class at Zion, visit and volunteer at Best Friends Animal Sanctuary, attend the Shakespeare Festival in Cedar City, visit the interesting little shops in Duck Creek Village and Kanab, or just take some 'downtime' at home.

If this property isn't exactly what you're looking for, you can view our other properties we share on VRBO. Just click on the ALL MY RENTAL LISTINGS link just above the photos, towards the bottom of this page.

Fall Season...... the gorgeous color change of the leaves is a sure thing to talk about! Also, don't miss the opportunity of playing in Utah's snow, well known as 'The Greatest Snow on Earth'. Holidays fill up quick, so don't hesitate. Reserve your nights for that special family vacation in Utah's 'Winter Wonderland'. The 12' Christmas tree is included in your stay! So, just bring your gifts and your set for an unforgettable holiday.

There is an international airport in Las Vegas and Salt Lake City. Cedar City has a regional airport as well. Las Vegas and Salt Lake are both linked with Interstate 15 with an exit to Cedar City. It's just a short 40 min. on a beautiful scenic drive up the Mt. on Highway 14 to our Mt. home.

Not to worry!! If you happen to forget something, there is Tod's Country Store about 1 mile away that has a lot. Groceries, gas, gifts, liquor, beer, wine, ice, soft serve ice-cream and a self-serve grill to cook your hamburger or steak sandwich to YOUR perfection!! On Saturday mornings during the Summer months in Tod's Country Stores' parking lot, there is a great Farmers Market and Fatty's Barbeque.

Come visit, you won't be disappointed!

Keywords: Mt. Log Home,Panoramic Views,Acreage,Private,Wooded,Close to National Parks

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Owner
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Why The Owner chose Utah

My husband has always wanted a REAL log home. SO, we picked a really unique 11 acre ridge top lot. The location has incredible 100 mile PANORAMIC views. The elevation is about 8000 ft. The temperatures in the Summer are the best! Taking in ALL of the outdoor activities is so....nice, then maybe in the evening a sweatshirt is needed. You can't beat it! Then the Fall season, the color change of the leaves are a sure thing to talk about. Then the Winter,a crazy snow storm one day, then the next is a beautiful sunny day! You can't beat Utah's snow!!!!

What makes this house unique

The best thing about the location of the home is the 100+ mile views from inside and outside this home. As there are windows,windows and more windows. Being that it is centraly located to all of the things to see and do in the Southern Utah area is a real plus. The Dixie National Forest is our backyard. The easy access to 100's of miles of trails is really nice. Also, the Elk Bugling in AUG,SEPTand OCT is an experience that you'll never forget!Prime, Prime property! Guaranteed, you won't be disappointed, and actually you'll probably never want to leave!!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Our family had a wonderful time in the Southwest and greatly enjoyed the Elk Ridge Estates cabin. We appreciated the pristine condition we found it in when we arrived. The views and amenities were fabulous! We prepared and enjoyed some memorable dinners in the well-equipped kitchen and dining room. The movie room and pool table were a real hit with the younger members of our family.



Thank you for facilitating our stay. It was all we had hoped for and more.
Jun 2012
  • 1 of 12

Reviews

4.8
based on 42 traveler reviews

Luxury 5 BR/Ridge Top Home/Theater/Pool Table/35 miles Bryce/Zion
average rating of 4.785714 based on 54 reviews
San Marcos (San Diego County)
5

This is the place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

I would definitely recommend this spacious and tranquil property. It is well worth the money spent. We are so happy we found it and had such a memorable trip. The owner was very helpful and kind with any information I needed. The house was very clean and the views are breathtaking. It was a delight for all to see deer and turkeys out the windows when waking in the morning. The beds are very comfortable and the kitchen along with the rest of the house is well equipped for large groups. Both Zion and Bryce were beyond our expectations and almost everyone caught one or more fish at the Tropic reservoir. Be sure to stop at La Boulangerie Marie (french bakery) on your way out in Cedar City for coffee and crepes! One of the servers is a great singer and sang a Beauty and the Beast song for our kids.

  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your great feedback!! SO happy that you found our home to work great for your group. We strive to make things comfortable and hope that we'll hear from you again soon! Thanks again as we know you have many choices. ~Amanda~
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great winter getaway

  • 5 of 5

We've stayed for Christmas in this property with a large size family. The home is clean and well appointed. To make this review productive here are a few recommendations we would make: There was no shampoo in any of the baths. We brought our own so not really a big deal, but one sort of expects to have that available if needed. We also ran out of dishwasher soap as there were only a few squares left when we arrived, so we've resorted to washing dishes by hand. I think a housekeeper should have a check list of items to double check to make sure they are stocked and are available for next guests. There is no electric teakettle in the house, we worked around that by simply boiling water for tea in a large pot. Most people found pillows to be uncomfortable, they are synthetic fill and are very hard, I would recommend having two sets of pillows with different hardness as most hotels/upscale homes do. Light switches and sound system are not very intuitive and even for people with a decent knowhow they were a mystery, needless to say older folks were lost completely. Perhaps an instruction booklet or clear labels would resolve that issue. Lastly we really hopped that Christmas tree would be real and it wasn't. So is there a room for improvement? Of course there is. But did any of the items mentioned above ruined our stay? Not even a bit. We still enjoyed the place and what it had to offer. Loved the fact that it snowed right before we arrived! The views out of the house are spectacular and if someone asked us if we would do it again, I believe most of us would jump on the train without hesitation (perhaps this time with a set of our pillows and a teakettle ;)

  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your stay. I'm glad that you had a great time! We do our best to meet our renters needs and rely greatly on your feedback. We have updated our tea kettle to an electric tea kettle to replace the stove top tea kettle that we had. I apologize that you were not able to find the dish washer soap that we do provide. The cleaners left it in the supply cupboard and I was not aware that you couldn't find it until I was notified after the departure. As far as the shampoo, that is not something that we provide. As indicated in our contract we list the things that we DO provide ahead of time so that you are aware before you book your stay. We kindly ask our renters to please notify us if there is something that does not meet their satisfaction so that we can make it right during the stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
New Orleans
5

Perfect location and housing choice for Bryce/Zion!

  • 5 of 5

Our family couldn't decide between Zion and Bryce for a Thanksgiving family reunion, so we compromised and split the difference. This home is heaven - with the prime spot on a hill overlooking a beautiful landscape. Turkeys greeted us as we started arriving to the house. That view from the kitchen is nothing but spectatular! The only thing that could make it more beautiful would be a blanket of snow, which we got on Day 2 of our Thanksigiving holiday. Plows cleared the road so we could make it down and up (would still recommend a 4 x 4 if you were staying here in snowy months). One has to be comfortable with lots of trophy animals watching over you from almost every room; after a while we had names for most of them. ;-) Our living room and the entertainment room downstairs were both SOOOO comfortable, albeit we never could get the DVD or movie systems (netflix or otherwise) working, even after a call to the owner and with two engineers in our group. (Might recommend very simple, no-fail video instructions posted somewhere, as well as validation that the owners can actually get a DVD to work) The beds were very comfortable and the kitchen well-stocked with TWO ovens and a warming oven. FYI for folks who are going to cook while you stay there I can offer the following are available: Blender, mixer, pie plate, several cooking casserole dishes, two fridges both with freezer sections, lots of spices left by families like ours, spatula, tongs, meat fork, roaster pan, cake pan, loaf pan, knives, meat thermometer and two sets of silverware. We had 9 around the kitchen table (and in all the bedrooms) with room to spare. Only minor complaint we had was a) the knives needed sharpening BADLY and we couldn't find a knife sharpener and b) the can opener didn't work. We found one of those old-fashioned simple can openers that worked in a pinch but they really need to just spring for a nice $13 can opener for the house. Place has a garage that could fit three cars warmly inside. Also a hallway where you could dump your snow clothes, stomp off the snow, and enter in the warm kitchen waiting for you. We kept the fire going (lots of firewood was available) while we were there. Location-wise, it's about 45 minutes (to an hour) to Zion and Bryce. We did Zion on Day 2 and Bryce on Day 3. Thanks for a perfect Thanksgiving, Amanda! We loved it.

  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your stay. I'm glad that you had a great time! We do our best to meet our guests needs and rely greatly on your feedback. We have put instructions out for the TV system. I apologize, we had that available before and we didn't realize that it went missing for your stay. We have also added a new can opener and a knife sharpener to be available for our guests. We kindly ask our guests to please notify us if there is something that does not meet their satisfaction so that we can make it right during their stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Mid Atlantic Region, USA
5

One of Our Best Vacations Ever

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed in many nice vacation home rentals over the years and this is one of the best. The home was very clean and set up very nicely for our visit. It comfortably handled 10 adults and 2 children with room to spare. The views were exceptional and a number of us enjoyed morning walks around the very quiet and beautiful neighborhood. The kitchen was ideal for our large family dinners. The weather was perfect and the home is nicely situated so that we were able to visit either Bryce or Zion on every day of our trip. Everyone enjoyed gathering on the decks in the morning to enjoy the great sunrises and around the fire pit in the evening to enjoy the clear fall air. It was great working with Amanda throughout the process. We highly recommend this vacation rental and agree with all who suggest that Bryce and Zion should be on everyone's bucket list.

  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice home. Great views

  • 4 of 5

This home was clean, very well appointed and well worth the price. We had four couples and the kitchen and living area were terrific.

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Remote but wonderful

  • 5 of 5

Excellent "cabin."

Views everywhere. Watch out for the abundant deer.

Bryce and Zion should be on everyone's bucket list.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

ELK BUGLING-It is FANTASTIC!!!! During the months of Aug,Sept and Oct. it is a once in a lifetime experience to hear the ELK BUGLING out of every draw of the canyon below the Log Home. ATVing

Photos

Rates & Availability

Alton House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
OFF SEASON
Jan 2 2016 - May 15 2016
3 night minimum stay
$329
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$399
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $79
Cleaning Fee $250 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.2%

Cleaning Fee WAIVED on a 6 night stay!
50% due @ time of booking.
50% due 30 days prior to arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Utah House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 5400 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (3), Double Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • live theater
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rock climbing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
Notes:
Outdoor Fire Pit!

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties

Contact the Owner

Tell us about your trip, then book it

This property requires that you message the owner to complete your booking request.
Enter dates to calculate a quote