Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautiful Lodge-style Home In The Heart Of South Dakota's Black Hills

Sleeps18
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms3
Half Baths2
Space 5,200 sq. ft.
Property type chateau / country house
Minimum Stay 4 - 6 nights

Overview

About the property

Beautiful Lodge-style Home In The Heart Of South Dakota's Black Hills

Rustic comfort, lodge-style vacation home for rent in the heart of the Black Hills of South Dakota. Centrally located in the middle of several area attractions such as: Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Deadwood, The Badlands, Custer State Park, Devil's Tower, Sturgis, Bear Butte, The Needles Highway, Sylvan Lake, and many more. Can accommodate large groups. Perfect for family gatherings, reunions, retreats and events. On 65 gorgeous acres on a private road with many trees and meadows. Fully furnished with 6 bedrooms, and 4-5 bathrooms. Camp fire pit, combination gas/wood grill, hiking trails, mountain bike trails, snowmobiling trails, cross-country skiing trails, etc. Pets (negotiable) outside only. Smoking outside only. Call Karla (or Chuck) for additional details.

We and our friendly dog and cat will welcome you.

More Details

Owner
Karla Blackler
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english, spanish, portuguese
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 11, 2017

About Karla Blackler

Owners Chuck & Karla Blackler have lived in the Black Hills for over 28 years and are both very familiar with all the local attractions as well as the best restaurants which the locals prefer.

We have a friendly dog and cat that share the property with us.

Karla Blackler purchased this chateau / country house in 1992

Why Karla Blackler chose Black Hills

This beautiful property and acreage is centrally located in the heart of the Black Hills with easy access to Mount Rushmore (33 mi.), Crazy Horse (39 mi.), Custer State Park (45 mi.), Deadwood (35 mi.), Devil's Tower (106 mi.), Sturgis (30 mi.), Needles Highway (45 mi.), Sylvan Lake (50 mi.), the Badlands (89 mi.), Bear Butte (42 mi.), Spearfish (49 mi.), Sundance, Wyo. (81 mi.), and many other lesser known but spectacular attractions.

Rustic comfort can be expected when you stay here.

What makes this chateau / country house unique

Heavenly Hills is the perfect place to relax and kick back after a day touring in the Black Hills. It's serene setting and strategic location are unparalleled in the Western South Dakota. With over 5,000 square feet it is perfect for family reunions, retreats, and other events.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Chuck and Karla,



Greetings from the "mom". Thank you so much for sharing your home with us!

Your purple iris were so pretty. If you happen to know the brand of your grill, my husband says that he would love to buy one for himself. (Like he needs more toys....)

We will be spending most of the rest of our summer weekends at our family cabin on Lake Pickerel, but it's going to be difficult to top the weekend in the Hills.



Thanks again!



Lynda
May 2016
  • 1 of 3

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Rapid City Regional Airport
Nearest Restaurant
9.2 Miles
Golden Phoenix
Nearest Ski
39.8 Miles
Terry Peak
Car: recommended

Amenities

Rapid City Chateau / Country House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chateau / country house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 5200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 18
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Rural ...
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , Basement Bedroom
    Bathroom 4 - toilet
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , Shares a sink with laundry room
  • 1 full bathroom upstairs. 2 full bathrooms downstairs. 2 - 1/2 baths on the main level. Please keep shower curtains inside tubs and wipe up standing water off floor. Please dry bathroom rugs when wet. Clothes line is available.
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 6 - 1 double
  • There are 2 bedrooms upstairs and 4 downstairs. *No bedrooms available on the main level.*
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(24 traveler reviews)

87% Complete
4% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Beautiful Lodge-style Home In The Heart Of South Dakota's Black Hills
average rating of 4.7916665 based on 27 reviews
5

Awesome accomodation

  • 5 of 5

The cabin was centrally located to all the attractions we wanted to see in South Dakota. It is in the hills and the drive was scenic, far from the madding crowd! Very spacious, absolutely cozy. Very nice retreat from civilization and its crowd. It has all the amenities we needed for a vacation/retreat. My husband and I wouldn't have minded just staying in it to chill. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, so did our sons and their families. Had a nice welcome from Theresa, a personal touch not so many accommodations offer. Thanks, Karla and Chuck for the beautiful memories made more wonderful by our stay in your cabin. Much appreciated!

Nancy and Norman Villanueva

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Greetings Nancy & Norman, We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at our property and got to see some of the amazing sights that the Black Hills has to offer. Our only regret is that we didn't get to meet you and your family! Thankfully Teresa was available to welcome you....she's a gem. You are all welcome back anytime, and hopefully, if that happens, we'll be around to greet you ourselves! Best wishes! Chuck & Karla Blackler
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing home in South Dakota!

  • 5 of 5

The house was so charming and simply gorgeous inside and out. We had an amazing time and didn't feel like it was too far away from any of the area's attractions. The owners were so accommodating if we had questions or needed something yet left us alone to enjoy our vacation. Our favorite spots were Sylvan Lake, Spearfish Canyon and Mt. Rushmore. Thanks for a great time!

  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your feedback! We're very glad you had a great time in the Black Hills and at our home. You left the home in EXCELLENT shape when you left and we greatly appreciate it! Your whole group is welcome back anytime!!! Best wishes, Chuck & Karla
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

What an awesome, relaxing location for a vacation.

  • 5 of 5

Chuck and Karla are amazing hosts who will do everything they can to make your visit a pleasurable one. Our group had an amazingly good time visiting with them. Hoping that we will be able to visit with them again very soon.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the feedback. We greatly enjoyed meeting your whole group, and are very happy that you enjoyed your time in the Black Hills and at our property. You are all welcome back any time!!! Best wishes to all, Chuck & Karla
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

So roomy and comfortable!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 15 stayed at this beautiful place in the mountains while vacationing for a week. We were surprised at how large the place really is.....the pictures do not do it justice. The kitchen had ample room for us all to move around in without bumping into each other much. The front porch was a great gathering place in the early morning while we waited for everyone to get up and moving. The bathrooms accommodated us all when it was time to shower and the extra toilet rooms were great! We did bring our own fans to add to our bedrooms and was surprisingly comfortable without air conditioning. Luckily the low humidity levels help! The paths around the place helped run some energy off the little ones. We felt right at home and Karla was so friendly and helpful when you needed her. We loved spending family time together in their home....we could tell family was important to them also.

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Connie, Thanks for your feedback. We're so glad you enjoyed your time in the Black Hills and at our home! You and your group are welcome back anytime. We hope you had a pleasant and uneventful trip home. Best wishes to all!! Karla
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful home and property.

Chuck and Karla are great people and were always helpful.

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Sharon, Thanks for the feedback! We loved meeting you and Bill and the whole group, and are very glad you enjoyed your time here. Let us know if we can help you out with any lodging needs in the future! Blessings! Chuck & Karla
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beauty in the Black Hills

  • 5 of 5

We did not want to stay in a regular hotel, but something with character and a bit woodsy for our stay in the Black Hills. This lodge did not disappoint! We so enjoyed the log home and enjoyed relaxing on the great front porch each night after seeing the sights. The yard was impeccable and so lovely to look out on. We enjoyed the three hammocks hanging from their trees! Our hosts were just wonderful giving us some good tips for restaurants and places to see. It was a fun coincidence that they raised four girls and three sons in this home, just like we did back in California. Faith and family prevails and you feel the love here! Thank you Karla and Chuck for allowing us to experience your roomy and cozy home!

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Heidi! Hope you all made it home safely! We really enjoyed meeting you and your family (the ones that were with you!) and enjoyed visiting with you as well. Let us know if you ever make it back to the Black Hills. You're all welcome back anytime!!! Thanks! Chuck & Karla
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $200 + Tax
Cleaning fee $150 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 6.0%

No smoking in the home. No pets in the home. Loss of damage deposit if violated.
Master suite excluded from rental.
We stay in an apartment above the garage and are available should you have any questions.
Our friendly dog, Belle and cat live on the property and are not allowed in the house.
*When excessive cleaning(cleaning taking longer than 8 hours) is required a $25/hr fee will be taken from the damage deposit.*

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties