check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

DC Kaas Lodge Door County Vacancies

Member since: 2009
Call Manager
Speaks: english

WiFi, Direct TV, Fishermen and Large Families 4bd/2bt

9 Reviews
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type hotel
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Sturgeon Bay Hotel Rental Photos and Description

4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

Door County Kaas Lodge (Door County Cheesemaker) is an upstairs large flat conveniently located seven miles south of Sturgeon Bay, just off Highway 57. The Kaas Lodge is located close to fishing, hiking, a State Park, biking and more. The Kass Lodge offers 4-bedrooms, 2-baths, large kitchen and living room, fire place, soaking tub and a porch for outdoor entertaining.

Visit Renard's Cloverleaf Dairy Store located on the property.

It’s staffed with friendly, knowledgeable people who can answer any questions you might have about the varieties of product available and how they are made. Renard's Cheese Store features a wide variety of cheese, cheese curds, homemade sausage, and specialty foods from throughout the Door County area.

Keywords: Pergo floors/no carpets, pet friendly, four bedrooms, 2 baths, large kitchen and large living room, fireplace, soaking tub, great view, close to major roads, large family get gatherings, fishing, hiking, biking and more.

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
DC Kaas Lodge Door County Vacancies (Property Manager)
Member since: 2009
Call Manager
Speaks: english

About DC Kaas Lodge Door County Vacancies

This property is managed by Dreamland Properties, LLC

dba Door County Vacancies

Reviews

4.1
based on 9 traveler reviews

WiFi, Direct TV, Fishermen and Large Families 4bd/2bt
average rating of 4.111111 based on 9 reviews
4

Renard's Cheese Store next to the place we stayed is really a nice place to shop

  • 4 of 5

The place we stayed is very nice, except we found bugs in every room. Otherwise, yes, it is a wonderful place to stay. My family enjoyed our three nights of stay.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Cheese Makers house

  • 2 of 5

When we booked the Kaas lodge we envisioned a quaint little cheese shop in Door County and were excited. When we got there we found that Kaas lodge was Next to Renards Cheese, which is a great cheese shop, but it wasn't what we imagined. It is on the side of the highway in a very ugly part of Door County about 8 miles south of Sturgeon Bay. There is nothing to do around there except drive. When we went in to the lodge we were assaulted by the pungent odor of smoked cheddar. It was so strong my wife nearly booked a hotel room and swore we would not be sleeping there. But after a trip to Target for some Febreeze, some scented candles and air fresheners, we were able to neutralize the smell where my kids and wife could sleep at night. The thermostat controls are very confusing as the heat and the AC are on different controls, meaning both can be on at the same time. And seeing the heat was a room by room while the AC was for the entire house, some rooms would be very cold and others hot without the ability to balance the temperature.

The Lodge was very big though. After we were able to remove most of the smell the house became comfortable.

I can't recommend the lodge unfortunately. It didn't meet our expectations and I thought it was not the best place for our family. Where I realize that the location is not really an issue (I should have looked don a map prior to booking), the smell of cheddar was something that should be addressed. Especially in the stair well by the entrance. We left our air fresheners in the lodge when we left to help the next guest.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is our goal to exceed guest expectations and we take it very seriously when we fall short. I apologize for any discomfort you may have experienced during your stay. It is frustrating to us when we are not be given the opportunity to correct the situation, as it is difficult to fix a problem for the guest if we don’t hear about it until after they check out. We were unaware of any smoked cheese odor in the rental space as this is our first complaint. Our staff reviewed the situation and we are implementing new systems so that the smoke cheese odor does not invade the rental space in the future. With regard to your expectations of Kaas Lodge I am sorry that you were disappointed; however, we post pictures and our descriptions of the lodge are very accurate. The heat and air conditioning are on separate controls – in order to maintain the balance of temperature the heat would not be turned on when the air conditioner is running. We apologize for the confusion. We do understand that Kaas Lodge is a unique rental in a unique area and that it is not the perfect spot for everyone. We were disappointed to hear that you feel Southern Door County is “ugly”. We are surround by farmland, Cherry and Apple Orchards and to some they are quite scenic and simply beautiful. There are many attractions to enjoy within 6 miles of Kaas Lodge for example beautiful Potawatomi State Park, Kayaking/boating, hiking, swimming, golfing, biking trails, Museum, Historical Center, restaurants etc. Again, we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Monkato SD
5

Great for a large family

  • 5 of 5

This was a great place for our three generation family, my parents, our children and us. We all had plenty of room and the large kitchen and living room gave us just what we wanted in a vacation. We were all under one roof and could go out and explore all of Door County within a half hour drive. Yes, there is a business next door but they were so respectful to our needs that we really did not mind at all. I must say it was a great place for us all to enjoy each other and all the wonders of Door County. We will be back again.

  • Submitted: May 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Jean. We really enjoyed having you and your family. It was nice to see you in our store at the deli. We hope you enjoyed our food. We look forward to next year.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Will never stay here again

  • 1 of 5

We've been here two days so far and this place is horrible. First morning woken up at 5:30am from the factory downstairs. Loud noises, equipment banging, garage door up and down, phones ringing, people talking. We were going to overlook that the whole front path and stairs were not shoveled and icy upon arrival. There are no towels. The water doesn't get hot enough or stay hot long enough to take a nice shower or fill the "soaking tub". The TV's in both bedrooms do not work. These are just minor issues that we were willing to overlook, that when added up, are frustrating. Yes, we didn't mind these things, we even went out to buy towels yesterday at Wal-mart. We bought bath mats also, so my 70 year parents don't break their necks coming out of the cold shower. So.... it's morning #2 and it's 4:48am. I've been up since 4am from the snowplow guy snowplowing the lot that connects the cheese factory and this place. DIRECTLY UNDER OUR BEDROOM WINDOW. IT'S BEEN 45 MIN OF PURE CEMENT SCRAPING JOY!!!!!!!!!! I know it's winter, I GET IT. But we're on vacation and this is NOT a peaceful, relaxing vacation. So, I'm just warning future renters that this is above and next to a business and NOT A VACATION PROPERTY! So excited to stay here another 5 nights. NOT REALLY! It's pointless to try to go back to sleep now....the factory workers should be here soon! Can't wait.....

  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. When it was brought to our attention you were unhappy, we offered to move you to a different rental but you declined. Please note, when we sent staff to the rental to assist you, you indicated there were no issues. However, here we are with a negative review. Hence, I feel it necessary to clarify the accusations you are making regarding our rental. You indicated you were awakened at 5:30 from the factory downstairs – phones ringing, talking, etc. First of all there is no cheese factory downstairs. Our four packaging employee’s do not arrive until 7 am. Furthermore, it would be impossible for a telephone to ring downstairs as the only telephone down there is to call out or to intercom to the main building. a) Sidewalks and stairs were shoveled and salted prior to your arrival and throughout your stay. b) Towels – it is indicated in your contract that towels and bath mats are not provided. When you brought this to our attention, we offered to furnish them to you however you declined. c) We have no control over the county snow plows. d) With regard to the hot water issue. We have a 100 gallon hot water heater with a booster. When I discussed this with you, you indicated that the washer, dishwasher, shower and soaker tub were being utilized at the same time. Certainly, one can’t expect to have an endless supply of hot water. e) TV issue – The TV’s worked fine. We went as far as to call a technician to assist you but they found no issue. Unfortunately the truth of the matter is you left the property in terrible condition. Due to the state you left the rental in we had to hire outside services to clean and sanitize. My only thought is that you created a situation in hoping for a free vacation. We attempted numerous times to address your complaints but could find no merit or you simply refused assistance. In 5 years of renting this property, we have never had such a negative experience. As a side note: Pets are always welcome, however, you must realize your pet is in a strange home. Because of this, they tend to bark at anything that moves for the first few days. We have had other renters tell us their pets woke them up due to activity outside.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
Chicago
5

girlfriend's trip

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time at Kaas lodge. 7 girlfriends stayed for the weekend. There was plenty of room for all of us and we enjoyed sitting out on the deck. The house itself is located above a cheese factory and Renards cheese shop is right next door. The house is about 10 minutes from the town of Sturgeon Bay but not a bad drive at all since everything is so close. The kitchen could have a few more dishes for meal prep and it would be nice if the owners provided hand towels, but we had a wonderful time!

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Northern MN
5

Fun place for a family vacation

  • 5 of 5

We rented this home for a family fishing vacation, with our adult children, complete with two families' worth of dogs. When we first arrived, we weren't sure what to expect, but don't let the outside fool you. It's a large home, upstairs over what is I believe a cheese factory, and it is very well-done. Four bedrooms, a large living room and dining room, very nice deck. Lots of room for all of us, and a beautiful yard with some wilderness for the dogs to explore. A nice bonus was Renard's cheese shop just across the yard with lots of goodies to enjoy there or to take home. They even make breakfasts and lunches on your way to your next adventure. It was close to the highway, easy to get to the guys' fishing dock and the girls' shopping as well as some very nice restaurants. Would recommend this lovely and spacious home.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Sturgeon Bay Hotel Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$195
$795
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 15.0%

The price per night DOES NOT INCLUDE the VRBO booking fee, security deposit and the taxes.
Off season rates Nov-April $695.00 or $185 per night for six people, $10 per person per night for each additional person up to 10 People. Two night Minimum stay.
Season Rates $795 per week or $195 per night for six people, $10 per person per night for each additional person up to 10 people. Minimum stay of three nights.

60 day cancellation notice with a $75 cancellation fee.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Sturgeon Bay Hotel Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • hotel
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Fireplace
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • King size beds (1) 1, Queen size Beds (1) 2, Twin or Single Beds (1) 2, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Sofa Sleeper
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • shopping
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • snowmobiling
  • water skiing
Notes:
Firepit, Central Air

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties