Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Historic Beach House, Feel Like You Are Part Of Gone With The Wind

Bedrooms 5
Half Baths1
Space 3,500 sq ft
Property type chateau / country house
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

1930 Beach House On The Secondary Sand Dune, Hear The Waves From Sleeping Porch

This beach house feels like you are in a tree as branches of local liv oaks can be seen from all windows and porches. The house has sounds of ghosts, big bands of the 30's, high on the secondary dune, short walk to the beach, with a street light to stop traffic. Five bedrooms plus a sleeping porch 25 feet off the ground, decks, numerous sitting areas, gazebo, terraced yard, lower has open 50 by 30 feet grass lawn for, all types of games, corn hole to badminton to soccer, to croquet to playing catch with footballs, baseball or lacrosse. This is the first year for this house(we have others center of resort) bedrooms are being decorated and designed, bathrooms and kitchen also. More pictures will be added soon. The romantic Vogue bedroom, yes Vogue magazine started in the 30's, just a room for girls and ladies. The "Bunkhouse" bedroom has two twin bunk beds your children with next full bathroom with shower As you enter the house the foyer speaks of politics and criminals both looking for their pay off.

Off to your left from the foyer you enter" living room of Old Virginia" sit down, relax, talk about the hundreds of ducks and geese that were shot today and you had to stop only because your shoulders were numb.

Look out from the sleeping porch and at the correct angle you may just see Lou Gehrig " New York Yankees,man of steel" fishing and failing to bring in a small white marlin for "some unknown reason."

After your day at the beach, after your roasted duck breast and and back fin cakes, bring your cigars and Ron Zacapa to the Cuban (outside gazebo) Relax share a glass and a smoke with Mr. Bogart or Mr. Hemingway, as the fan cools the midnight hour.

Linens and bath towels included

More Details

Jon Carlson
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 25, 2018

About Jon Carlson

Airline pilot flying Airbus 330 over the Atlanic

Jon Carlson purchased this chateau / country house in 1985

Why Jon Carlson chose Northeast Virginia Beach

Only two left on the North end of Virginia Beach

What makes this chateau / country house unique

One bedroom is the bunk house two bunk beds(sleeps four) and full bathroom with shower. Located main floor next to kitchen. Sand cart to take the "stuff" to the beach. Outdoor shower connected to gazebo. Always a nice breeze due to the venture effect on the secondary dune (pilot talk). Gas and charcoal grills.


Northeast Virginia Beach Chateau / Country House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chateau / country house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3500 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator ...
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 3 - toilet
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower , off bunk house
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Outside shower connected to gazebo
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 5 - 4 twin/ single , Bunk House
    North - 2 queen , Fireplace/Office/Flat screen
    West - 1 king , 1 queen , TV
    East - 1 king , Flat screen
    South - 1 queen , Fireplace/Flat screen
  • 5 bedrooms
  • Books
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
  • churches
  • festivals
  • live theater
  • marina
  • pond
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing


3.7/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
33% Complete
Historic Beach House, Feel Like You Are Part Of Gone With The Wind
average rating of 3.6666667 based on 6 reviews

Nice place to stay

  • 5 of 5

Very charming place with old stylish rooms and furniture. Large spacious areas, beautiful yard, cozy patio, outdoor shower was nice, all you need for quiet rest after the beach, which is literally two minutes walk. Historical place, almost ninety years old, with its own individual spirit. The only thing I would recommend is to repair the sink disposer in the kitchen, also some bathrooms need locks. We had very relaxing time and will consider coming back.

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice review and glad your family could stay in such a historic house. Lots of stories, nice location and beautiful beach to enjoy your summer.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Beautiful spacious summer home perfect for family

  • 5 of 5

I originally requested another home from Jon (the owner) but it was already booked. Jon was gracious enough to forward me to an additional home he owned, which was perfect for hosting a small family reunion for my immediate family. The house was spacious and beautiful, and was perfect for the occasion. There were two fridges, that worked perfectly, you just must ensure the fridge in the kitchen is closed. The children’s room was perfect for my child as well as my nieces and nephews. The other rooms were big and fit everyone else comfortably. The gazebo outside was an added touch, as the fellas and I enjoyed night time drinking and cornhole. The neighborhood is still considered residential, so if you stay and play cornhole, just remember there are neighbors that need their rest (all cornhole playing should stop at around 10 p.m.). However, if you want to relax and enjoy a nightcap outside, just keep the noise level down and all should be well. The house is located a block away from the beach. The beach is amazing, and never really crowded as it is about 25 blocks from the saturated area of Virginia Beach. The house had central air, and remained cool throughout the trip. There is also a wonderful dining room for family meals. Lastly, the internet worked very well for the number of gadgets we had.

  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice review. We do our best to make your experience in Virginia Beach enjoyable. This family has already booked for next summer for there wedding guests. Please let us help you plan your wedding or other reservations. Jon
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Very relaxing & nice location

  • 5 of 5

We had two families of four (total of 8) comfortably in the house and there were empty beds. As described, it is one of the original homes of the area which gives you a great view off the front pouch in the morning of the sunrise. The house is perfectly located a few houses west of Atlantic, so we had no ‘foot traffic’ of folks trying to get to the beach, which equals no unwanted noise or yelling early in the morning of the daily beach visitors. Also, the walk to the beach/ocean was painless and quick; super convenient because there is a cross walk located at the same street as the house – It’s makes this house/area a no-brainer (at least for us). As for the beach, 59th street was awesome because it was not crowded at all; it never got more than two towels/family deep.

As for the interior of the house itself and what it had to offer; we cooked either on the stove or the grill daily with no issues. The refrigerator had plenty of room for our food and as long as we closed the door properly, everything remained cold; and as for the freezer, it kept the ice cream cold and beer mugs frosty. The living room, basement, and other living space gives everyone more than enough space to spread out and have their own space if they wanted to escape within the house. We did have the same issue with the leak coming from the ceiling, however the owner responded/communicated very quickly and took steps to resolve the issue. The owner also came out once to mow the lawn, but was very respectful and gave us 24-hours’ notice. As for some of the other ratings about the house, they honestly over reacted to ‘life happens’ and obviously haven’t been on Earth long enough to deal with life.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice review. As with a house 85 years, there will be adjustments( new frig) , many extras to handle any problems.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Liberty, NC, USA

Relaxing vacation in a comfortable home

  • 5 of 5

This house provided a comfortable home for our extended family (group of 8) during our beach vacation. The kitchen was well-equipped with pots, pans, cutlery, plates, glasses, etc. The stove worked and was used often. Large rooms provided space for us to all gather together or in smaller groups. The owner was present one day to mow the grass and to give us some welcome gifts which we enjoyed consuming. A handyman worked on repairs a few days. He was personable and not at all intrusive. The walk to the beach is easy and the stoplight helps with the crossing of busy Atlantic Avenue to access the big beach! Two of our favorite restaurants were easily accessible using Shore Drive. We had a terrific time and would consider returning the next time we all get together.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: To have a vacation in a historic beach, is truly a treasure. The history this house holds is unmeasureable. From the second deck, at one time during the second world war you could possibly see the black out uboats sitting off the coast? But, they were there. Come stay with us, live history. Thank you for the nice review. I continue to update and improve my house, to make your vacation great. Jon
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Wilkesberry, PA

nice house with some issues and an unrealistic owner

  • 1 of 5

Ceiling was coming down due to leaky shower above it. We were asked not to use it for 2 days. We were told the plumber would arrive Monday and never showed until the following day. Fridge doesn't work well and had to keep most of our food in a cooler. There is a fridge in the basement but it was more convenient to use coolers. Front two burners on stove didn't work. If you stay here be sure the house is spotless when you leave. We thought it was very clean when we left but then got bill for a "trashed house" Home owner seems too attached.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I have had my housekeeper for over 5 years, she told me the house was trashed. I believe her. I charged for extra cleaning, they said they would write a bad review. I had been by earlier in the week the guests were happy. Someone pulled the burners out of their connection, 2 sec fix. Two frigs in house. Now there are three. Had a leak, fix the leak. Two full baths were still available, plus 1/2 and outside shower. I am always sorry my guests were not happy. Please tell me it will be corrected.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1

Less than thrilled

  • 1 of 5

The refrigerator was dirty and didn't keep anything cold, we HAD to use coolers. The "master bedroom" did not provide and space for us to put away our clothing as the owners belongings were still in all the dressers/closets. We found former tenants belongings in drawers in other bedrooms. The ceiling in the living room was falling down bc of pipes that needed to be fixed in the master bath. 13 people were down a shower for approx 3 days due to this. We had to wait around and forfeit 2 days of our vacation... One day to wait for a plumber that never came and the next day until he arrived. The front two burners on the stove did not work properly. The elevator was out of service. The ceiling fan on the upstairs balcony was broken. They lacked pots and pans for cooking.

Keep scrolling. You don't want to stay here!

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review, I have been the weekly rental business for 10 years. This property is my personal house. Communication with the owner is the most important if you have a problem. The plumbing problem was addressed immediately, but was delayed because of other emergency jobs by the plumber. There was still three showers available with one down. Guest only had to call the plumber for the time he would be there. Master bedroom has 8ft amorie three large drawers and large hanging closet, completely empty Two refrigerators, but when you leave the door open! Elevator is only for elderly and handicap. Stove and large outside gas grill. You must wash your dishes, pots, and pans. The house in the words of my housekeeper of 6 years "trashed" First time ever I had to charge someone for extra cleaning. What a mistake allowing these three familes to use MY house. Please call me if you have concerns about this guest.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1


Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Nearest Barpub
200 Metres
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Princess Anne Country Club
Nearest Train
20 Miles
Nearest Beach
250 Metres
Atlantic Ocean


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $325
Pet Fee $150
Tax Rate 15.0%

Fourth of July $500 extra, Credit Card for Security Deposit, Linens and towels included, Saturday to Saturday during peak summer

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties