Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Historic District Cottage Suite with a Fresh, Youthful Decor.

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 506 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Cottage, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

Check-in time is 3:00 pm with check-out at 10:00 am for this rental located at 213 East Hall Street, Savannah, Georgia, 31401.

Brockington Hall Cottage Suite is a cozy and different little suite (539 sq. ft.) in Savannah’s Historic District. Situated on a quiet tree-lined, brick-paved street of beautiful residences, it is within a block and a half from Forsyth Park and of the Mansion on Forsyth Park. It is also within walking distance (for spry people!) of most of Savannah’s famous sites.

Cancellation policy is that upon notice of cancellation THROUGH VRBO (and therefore in writing), owners will immediately seek to re-rent the property. If property is re-rented, any loss to owner will be offset against deposit along with $50.00 fee. Transfer of deposit to other available dates may be allowed.

Located about 25 blocks from the center of the City, and redone and opened in March of 2012, your Cottage Suite includes a large living room/dining room combination, a separate kitchen, a bedroom, and a small but well-appointed bath. The total area is approximately 506 square feet.

The decorating in your cottage suite is fresh and young, with most of the furnishings being from IKEA. There's a table for 4 with tableware, two flat-screen TVs, two IKEA lounge chairs with footstools, basic kitchen equipment, and quality linens on the new Serta queen-sized bed. Your cottage is private, with its own security system.

The informality of the Cottage Suite’s design and furnishings and its modest rental rate make it especially well-suited to the young at heart who wish to enjoy the grandeur of Savannah itself without staying in a formal space. A full kitchen with facilities for light cooking is provided, and you can bring home your treats from Savannah’s many fine restaurants for later snacks. You can cook your own breakfast or have breakfast nearby in the Cafe at Forsyth Park, which has Starbucks coffee. A Kroger grocery store is a block away down the lane, and Johnny Ganem's wine and liquor store is three blocks away.

The main house is located in a tastefully-renovated 16th Century Classic Italianate villa-style mansion built in 1882 which houses an event venue and private apartments as well. You can see more about the building on our website, Brockington Hall, and on our Facebook page, Brockington Hall Event Venue and Inn.

There are plenty of pillows and many additional comforts. All textiles are new as of 2012, and the mattress and pillows have special coverings for your protection.

A Tassimo coffee-maker is provided, with coffee, tea, sugars, Splenda, and creamer.

In addition to the private entrance, the Cottage Suite has wireless Internet access and cable TV service. You will have use of Brockington Hall’s shared courtyard and of our shared laundry facility (where use of the machines is free), off-street parking for one vehicle, and maid service at a reasonable frequency after a two-night’s stay, if requested.

One off-street parking space is provided. Parking spaces are small. If you have a large vehicle, you may need to park in unmetered, on-street parking, and to be mindful of street sweeping signs.

The Cottage Suite is a smoke-free facility. Smoking is allowed outside the building. There is a small courtyard with a concrete pad and seating where you can smoke.

A two night minimum stay is required, but we'd love for you to be our guests for an extended stay as well.

We will be pleased to show you the event venue if it is not in use. And you can roam at will, on foot or otherwise, in Savannah's Historic and Victorian Landmark Districts.

We do ask that you let us know your anticipated time of arrival so that we can plan our days (and nights).

Cancellation policy is that upon notice of cancellation THROUGH VRBO (and therefore in writing), the owners will immediately seek to re-rent the property. If property is re-rented, any loss to owner will be offset against deposit along with $50.00 fee. VRBO’s booking fee is not refundable. Transfer of deposit to other available dates may be allowed.

Keywords: Suite with Full Kitchen. Contemporary apartment-style unit in an Historic Residence, one block from Savannah's famous Forsyth Park and steps away from all major landmarks and sightseeing.

More Details

Owner
Lee Mundell
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 29, 2017

About Lee Mundell

My wife and I are empty-nester lawyers who inherited this fine property from my father in 2007. After renovating the parlor floor for use as an event venue, we opened one inn suite in the building, and effective March 2012, will put this cottage suite into service.

Lee Mundell purchased this cottage in 2012

Why Lee Mundell chose Savannah

We have lived in Savannah's adjacent Victorian District for 34 years, raising our family there and working in the Historic District. I have been the President of Historic Savannah Foundation and of the Downtown Neighborhood Association, and we are striving to make Brockington Hall properly maintain the historic character and feel so unique to Savannah, while opening the 4,000 square foot parlor floor for tasteful and festive events, as you can see on our our FaceBook page, Brockington Hall Event Venue and Inn. The balance of the building contains my office, five apartments, and one inn-suite, with this 'cottage' suite in the adjacent carriage house. Please come see us!

This suite is not part of the main building and was a modest apartment outfitted in the 1960's.

What makes this cottage unique

The unique benefits of this suite, at this price, are its privacy, its furnishings and decor, and its location. The suite is ideal for those who are seeking a more relaxed feel, rather than a 'period' feel, and for those who want to walk or travel inexpensively in Savannah's beautiful Historic and Victorian National Landmark Districts. Situated at the south end of the Historic District, we are approximately a mile from River Street, the north border of the roughly one square mile district. We are a block from a bus tour stop at Forsyth Park where you can board a free shuttle or paid tour, a block from a grocery store, and four blocks from a liquor store (if that matters).

Amenities

Historic District - South Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 506 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Downtown
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Full bathroom with shower in tub.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Queen size Bed (1)
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
Suitability:
  • alternative lifestyle
  • limited accessibility
Attractions:
  • festivals
  • library
  • museums
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • photography
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Notes:
Our kitchen includes a Tassimo coffeemaker with coffee, creamer, and variety of sweeteners; a toaster oven, and a blender. Some sodas and bottled water are provided when you arrive. You have a security system in your fully-private Cottage Suite. Check in time is 3:00 pm or later, with late check-in as arranged with owners. Check out time is 10:00 am. Parking spaces are small. If you have a large vehicle, you may need to park in unmetered, on-street parking, and to comply with street-sweeping restrictions. Cancellation policy is that upon notice of cancellation THROUGH VRBO (and therefore in writing), the owners will immediately seek to re-rent the property. If property is re-rented, any loss to owner will be offset against deposit along with $50.00 fee. VRBO’s booking fee is not refundable. Transfer of deposit to other available dates may be allowed.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(87 traveler reviews)

Historic District Cottage Suite with a Fresh, Youthful Decor.
average rating of 4.6896553 based on 87 reviews
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5

We were situated in the perfect location, had everything we needed in the little rental unit, and really enjoyed our hosts. Everything was great

  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Definitely not what we expected

  • 1 of 5

The place was not what we expected. We found the following issues which were not what we've encountered at other B&B stays, and certainly not at motels. We found [and wish we could include the photos] (1) a yellow-stained coffee maker's water reservoir (2) a yellow stain in the toilet, (3) small 6" x 8" wobbly shelves on the wall next to each side of the bed to serve as nightstands, (4) filters in the ceilings that were loaded with dust (5) mildew on the underside of the three bathroom rugs, (6) a cluttered patio off of the bedroom window that would be uninviting to use (7) dirty bathroom walls and floor even after owner responded to our request to clean it in the afternoon while we were out, (8) leaves left on the sidewalk that meant they would be tracked into the room so that the floors were always dirty, (9) very slow draining shower and bathroom sink, and (10) two cockroaches which were found wiggling on their backs on the bathroom floor that were not pleasant for me to remove. The place was in a convenient location to the historic Savannah, so that was good, but all in all, we didn't care for the place primarily because of the feeling of lack of cleanliness and the need to buy bottled drinking water and not use the shower after using it 2 of the 4 nights we stayed there. A shame.

  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location

  • 4 of 5

The cottage was cute and well kept. The owners were very nice. The location is a quick walk to Forsyth park, and a 2 minute walk to Kroger. River street and broughton street are less than a miles walk away. My only negative is the bathroom in the cottage needs some love. Overall, a very nice stay, and you can't beat the price point for the location.

  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the kind words, Julia! Unfortunately the bathroom is somewhat constrained by the architecture and, of course, by our budget. Everything in the bathroom was added in 2012 except for the bathtub, wall tiles, and floor files. Re-doing these essential elements of the bath has been beyond our budget to date, given that we charge a very low rate for the area and that we do not change the rate during peak season, in which you visited. We have ordered newer bath room rugs that may help and we hope to make additional improvements in the future. We do appreciate your feedback.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location and more!

  • 5 of 5

Nice furniture, great privacy, and a great staging area for our Brockington Hall wedding this weekend. And very reasonably priced. Thanks!!

  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much, Ben! And congratulations!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Little gem tucked away!

  • 4 of 5

Loved this little gem tucked away behind a beautiful wedding venue. Cozy and neat. Loved having a small kitchen and a coffee maker. The kitchen and bathroom have seen some miles and the A/C unit is loud. But the location can't be beat. One block from the Hop on/ Hop off bus and Forsythe Park and a grocery store one block in the other direction. Lee was very helpful and the staff is very nice. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words, Caroline! The kitchen was entirely redone in 2012 and we're not aware of any shortcomings there but we will check. The bath is small and was refurbished in 2012, with additional upgrades more recently. We'll see if there's anything more we can do there which would be warranted by the very low rental rate we charge for a complete apartment in Savannah's Historic District. Many rentals raise their prices in peak months such as March, when you stayed with us, and we do not.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sanford, FL
5

Definitely worth it!

  • 5 of 5

What a fantastic getaway!

I was warmly greeted by Lee and welcomed to their cottage my first night. It was in walking distance to the park, a great tea shop, and grocery store but by car is only minutes away from the best eateries and coffee shops. It was the perfect spot for the convention I attended because I was able to get there quickly and had a quiet place to retreat when I was done each night. My friends who stayed in the bigger (more expensive) hotels were completely jealous!

I consider my first stay using VRBO a complete success. I can't wait to come back soon!

  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
16 Miles
Savannah International Airport
Nearest Train
4 Miles
Amtrak
Nearest Beach
18 Miles
Tybee Island
Car: not necessary

Your ground-floor suite is one block from Savannah's famous Forsyth Park, with a grocery store one block away and a liquor and wine store three blocks away. At Forsyth Park you can catch our City's Shuttle, and a moderate walk (with or without shuttle) will take you to the bulk of Savannah's sightseeing spots and shopping in the Historic District. Also it is on the edge of Savannah's Victorian District, the first 'suburb' of the City, originally served by trolley, where you'll find our 'painted lady' houses and small businesses.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Historic District - South Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$110
$700
 

Additional information about rental rates

Maid's fee $20
Tax Rate 13.0%

Taxes 13% per night; 1 maid's fee $20. Check in time is 3:00 pm or as arranged with owners. Check out time is 10:00 am. Cancellation policy is that upon notice of cancellation THROUGH VRBO (and therefore in writing), the owners will immediately seek to re-rent the property. If property is re-rented, any loss to owner will be offset against deposit along with $50.00 fee. VRBO’s booking fee is not refundable. Transfer of deposit to other available dates may be allowed.
NO PETS. One off-street parking space is provided. Parking spaces are small. If you have a large vehicle, you may need to park in unmetered, on-street parking, and to be mindful of street sweeping signs.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties