check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Mendy Childress

Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Hound Ears Resort & Club - Gated Community

17 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms5
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Boone House Rental Photos and Description

House, 4 Bedrooms, 5.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8). Every bdrm has its own Bath and TV!!!

Welcome to 'WeeksEnd'. This is our special retreat and the house of our hearts. As you enter, it wraps its arms around you and insists on relaxation and comfortable enjoyment. You will quickly feel your stress peel away. There are multiple living areas in the home each with its own ambiance and comforts. As one of our guests exclaimed 'The house spreads out like a country meal'! There are two master suites on the main level each with king beds and private baths along with cozy living room, spacious den, and kitchen and dining room. The second level has two bedrooms one with a king bed and the other with a double, both with private baths. The laundry room and recreation rooms are on the lower level of the house. You may choose quiet reading by the beautiful stone fire place or a movie from our over 300+ DVD collection and in the den equipped with surround sound. If the weather permits - sit out on the deck listening to music from our extensive CD collection which may be heard in 4 zones plus the living room and deck area. Or pull out the den table and start a puzzle of your choice from our game closet. The more energetic may head downstairs and rack up a game of pool, ping-pong or darts. Whatever you do - we know you will relax, leave your work and worries behind and enjoy the house and the mountains like we do.

Within Hounds Ears there is much to enjoy: The golf course was designed by George Cobb and in addition to being one of the most beautiful courses in NC, it demands precision and will test your skills no matter your handicap. There is an on-site golf pro who is also available for classes and instruction. In addition to golf, Hound Ears offers well-managed clay and hard surface tennis courts, also with an on-site pro. The heated outdoor pool is nestled in a beautiful setting with a cascading waterfall and is an ideal retreat for late afternoon cool offs. Our house is a short walk-away from the fitness/massage center located at the corner of Cherry Street. This center boasts the most current resistance training equipment , free weights as well as high performance machines which you may choose to use independently or request to work with the on-site personal trainer for new tips and work out ideas. Our home is also a short walk or drive to the main clubhouse which offers a beautiful setting for cocktails, fine and casual dining each day of the week during season. However, for a more relaxed schedule, cook-in on our Weber gas grill and have a spendid meal on our deck (which can easily sit 8-10) using our lovely mountain pottery. Fun and relaxation is the order of the day and the focus of your stay! ENJOY!

Keywords: Quintessential Mountain Home - rustic luxury - 2 master suites on main level, each bedroom has private bath (never share a bath again on vacation)- access to all club amenities including dining, golf, tennis and pool. Free WIFI at the house and the Clubhouse during season.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Mendy Childress (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Mendy Childress

We work in live in Chapel Hill, NC. Hound Ears Club has been a part of our family since the early 1960's. We love the resort and the surrounding towns during all four seasons of the year. We spend as much time as possible at 'WeeksEnd', and each and every time we are saddened to leave.

Mendy Childress purchased this house in 1993

Why Mendy Childress chose High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains

As a child, my parents built a house in Hound Ears - one of the first home-owners - and I spent my childhood loving Hound Ears and the mountains of North Carolina. So when I had the opportunity to purchase a second home, it was the only place I considered. It is the perfect retreat.

What makes this house unique

Casual Elegance that will be enjoyed by all ages!!! Regardless of the time of year you visit - Hound Ears Club and the surrounding towns of Boone, Blowing Rock, Banner Elk and West Jefferson offer wonderful restaurants, shopping, special events, antiquing, etc. to enjoy.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Mendy: We all had an awesome time at your house this year! As you know this is our second time coming here and your house is so comfortable it is starting to feel like our home away from home. We are already looking at booking next year and will do so shortly. The rhododendron gardens were at peak bloom and we got some great pictures. I can't tell you how much we look forward to coming back!



Thank you!
Jun 2016
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

5
based on 17 traveler reviews

Hound Ears Resort & Club - Gated Community
average rating of 5.0 based on 18 reviews
Hope Mills, NC
5

Fantastic

  • 5 of 5

This is an awesome place to stay. Bathrooms for all bedrooms make it great for couples. Living room and den is awesome if some want to watch football and some want to just talk. Having access to Hound Ears Golf is the icing on the cake. Four couples. We loved it.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Clark - So pleased to hear that you enjoyed the house and the Club! The course is especially beautiful and Hound Ears does an amazing job is keeping the course in top shape. Thank you for choosing us, we know there are many options available. Hope we have the privilege of having you as guests again in the future! Warm Regards, Mendy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Outstanding mountain retreat.

  • 5 of 5

From the moment we walked in the door, we knew we had found our "home away from home." WEEKSEND wraps itself around you, like a dear friend.

We have had the good fortune to rent here for 2 years in a row, three months total. That should speak for itself! During our stay, we entertained the young, and not so young, with great ease. We created many happy memories on the deck after full days of golf, shopping, exploring, or relaxing in the comfort of home.

We shall return!

Kathleen & Ed McCallum. Chapel Hill, NC

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Kathleen and Ed - What a great pleasure it is to have you to our home and we so appreciate your kind and lovely words. We are so pleased you have enjoyed your stay this summer and we do look forward to your return!! You are always welcomed at WeeksEnd! Warmest Regards, Mendy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Chesapeake, VA
5

Great Stay

  • 5 of 5

Thank you Mendy for a wonderful vacation home. The house was exactly as described. The weather was wonderful and we had a great time. We drove to Blowing Rock and encountered an semi-tractor trailer around a bend, that was very interesting. We really enjoyed sitting out on the deck in the evenings. The house was fully stocked as described with all the necessities. I do wish you had a pantry or cabinet for guests to put their groceries and supplies but as my children would say "Get over it mom!" We had a wonderful time, and are already planning or next outing, hopefully in Oct. at same house. Mendy was excellent to work with and we really appreciate her patience.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Becky, We so enjoyed having you stay with us and so pleased you enjoyed the house and the area. It is hard not to be enchanted with Hound Ears and the surrounding towns and all that they offer. We hope we can expect your return soon, perhaps even again this year we hope. I will try and leave a little more kitchen cabinet space for you!! Warm Regards, Mendy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5

Each summer our family searches for a place to meet midway between Ohio and South Carolina. My husband and I, our son and his wife, and our daughter, her husband and two young daughters just returned from several days at this home. Mendy graciously worked with us to make this stay work for every family member. Her email contact was always prompt with thorough information about the house. When there was a bee problem on the deck, it was promptly treated. We enjoyed space to be together and, equally important, space to be apart! We found everything we needed within the home to cook meals....and birthday brownies! While we wanted to explore the area, we would also have been comfy just staying put in the house. Upscale restaurants are nearby if you don't wish to cook dinner. Long evenings were enjoyed on the deck, which feels like being in a treehouse! The kids enjoyed the nearby pool, too. The house is well located between Boone, Blowing Rock and Banner Elk. We have to return because we didn't get to play golf or go river tubing!

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing and letting us know how much you all enjoyed your stay. Glad the house was comfortable and accommodating for all of you and we do so hope you will make it a priority to return and enjoy more of the Club's and surrounding areas amenities! You were great guests, enjoy the rest of your summer. Warm Regards, Mendy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Mountain Home

  • 5 of 5

My wife and three young kids stayed her earlier this month. We loved the home, the Hound Ears community and the proximity to everything the Boone/Blowing Rock/Banner Elk area has to offer. The layout is great for multiple kids or multiple couples. There is plenty of room including two dens and a rec room downstairs. The house is very well stocked and in great condition. The community is beautiful. Our kids especially loved the pool which has a great snack bar / grill. The overall location couldn't be better. We were just minutes from Grandfather Mountain, Blowing Rock, the Blue Ridge Parkway and everything else in that area. We had a fantastic time and look forward to going back soon!

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Brian - We so much enjoyed having you and your family at our home, and delighted you enjoyed the house, the Club and surrounding venues. It would be our treat to have you stay with us again. Very best to you and enjoy the rest of your summer. Warm regards,
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fabulous home/base to enjoy Boone

  • 5 of 5

Stayed in this beautiful Mountain Home over long holiday weekend, with Daughter, Son in-Law and their two sons. The home is spacious, lovely and very welcoming. Of special note is the lovely deck for Bar-B-Que dinners and the wonderful Hound Ears community...everyone there was very welcoming and friendly.

We found the location to be a short drive from Charlotte and a great spot from which to explore the area! After leaving, the drive to Asheville over the Blue Ridge Parkway was spectacular!!

We sure hope to return!!

  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jerry - We are so pleased you and your family enjoyed our home, the Hound Ears Community and the local venues. It is a special place to us and it sounds like you tapped into the charm and comforts of all parts. We welcome you back anytime - have a wonderful summer! Warm Regards, Mendy Childress - Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Ski
10 Miles
Hawks Nest and Sugar Mountain
Car: recommended

Hound Ears Club offers full club amenities to include: 18 Hole Golf Course designed by George Cobb, a beautiful mountain chilled pool with cascading waterfall, clay and hard-surface tennis courts, fine and casual dining with a new excellent chef in the Hound Ears Club dining room, fully equipped fitness center with on-site personal trainer and massage therapist. Also, Hound Ears Club property has rock outcroppings ranked as some of the finest for 'bouldering' in the country.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Boone House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Thanksgiving Holiday
Nov 23 2016 - Nov 27 2016
4 night minimum stay
$325
$7,200
 
 
Christmas
Dec 23 2016 - Dec 28 2016
5 night minimum stay
$325
$7,200
 
 
New Years
Dec 29 2016 - Jan 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
$325
From
$325
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,950
$7,200
 
 
July Fourth Week
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 7 2017
7 night minimum stay
$325
$7,200
 
 
Labor Day Weekend
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$325
From
$325
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$7,200
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$298
$1,780
$6,900
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $210
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 0.07%

Rates are subject to change until your reservation is booked and confirmed. 90% of your deposit will be returned if cancellation occurs before 30 days prior to your arrival. Cancellations within the 30 days of your arrival are forfeited.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Boone House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Second Level Tiled Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower , Second level tiled bath with shower and marble vanity
    Main Level Master Tiled Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , Mstr Bath suite w/ Lg shower, Lg tub & two marble vanities
    Main level Tiled Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Main Level tiled bath with tub/shower and vanity
    Second Level Tiled Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Second level tiled bath w/ tub/shower and marble vanity
    Main level Den Bathroom 5 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Den Bath tiled with tub/shower and vanity
    Downstairs Bathroom 1 - toilet , Downstairs between laundry and game room - toilet and vanity
  • 5.5 bathrooms in our home. Each bedroom has its own private bath - no guests ever have to share a bathroom!! And company may use the den bathroom.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Second Level Master bedroom 3 - 1 king , Second level master bdrm w/ ceiling fan, private bath & TV
    Main Level Master Bedroom 1 with Private bath & TV - 1 king , Main Level Master w/ Stone Gas Fireplace, private bath & TV
    Main Level Master Bedroom 2 - 1 king , Master Bdrm w/ ceiling fan, private bath & Flat Screen TV
    Second level Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 2nd level bdrm w/ Queen, ceiling fan, private bath & TV
  • King size beds (3) Three of our four bedrooms have king beds and the smallest room has a queen bed. Every bedroom has it's own private bath and television to enjoy.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Very spacious deck with two tables for setting, wonderful for any/all meals (weather permitting) but especially accommodating for family and friends cocktail hour during sunset and beyond. Be sure to have the CD player on with the deck zone speakers turned on! If you feel like a gourmet meal but don't want to cook on your vacation, call the club and have dinner delivered or pick it up. The staff will also be happy to provide catering for a special occasion or appetizers for your cocktail gatherings. If you are a rock climber, Hound Ears Club offers rocks outcroppings on the property that are rated some of the best in the country for bouldering!!! Of course, there are many other streams, lakes and hiking trails to enjoy around the area as well.

Partner Offers