About the property
- Condo1100 sqft
- Half Baths0
- Minimum Stay4 nights
Right On The Beach. Amazing Views! Close To Everything.
Two bedroom, two bathroom condo on the second floor of a gated condo complex right on the beach! Listen to the waves while you sit on the balcony sipping your morning coffee. Watch the colors change in the evening sky with a cool drink. You are in paradise with the blue Caribbean at your feet, the distant islands in view, and the warm breezes caressing your skin. The condo complex has a great pool, several sitting areas, and open fire grills should you decide to stay home and cook out. The complex is centrally located, so it is easy to go anywhere on island within 30 minutes.
Donna Ford - Property Manager
- Response rate:
- Response time:
- within a few hours
- Calendar last updated:
- Apr 16, 2018
About Donna Ford - Property Manager
I am a local business owner and an Enrolled Agent, and my husband is a Retired Army Veteran and now a Network Administrator. We reside in the Killeen/Fort Hood area. My office provides services to business owners and individuals alike, and have been a proud member of our community for over 26 years. My office is A+ rated with the BBB, and we treat everyone with the care and respect they deserve. My husband supports our troops by providing training to units locally here on Fort Hood, and on bases throughout the world.
Donna Ford - Property Manager purchased this Condo in 2014
Why Donna Ford - Property Manager chose Estate La Grande Princess
When we decided to buy a second home for us and our children to be able to visit, I had ocean and beach in mind. We had been to the Caribbean many times, and after years of renting, we decided to take a leap, and commit to our own property. We were spending so much on travel and our kids are mostly grown up and starting families of their own. I say mostly grown because they seem to need you more once they move out. We decided to get a place that can be shared with our kids to help them be able to do things with their friends and eventual families. The Caribbean, to me, is a place of relaxation; a way to slow down the hustle and bustle of everyday life. If I did not have commitments to my business and my clients, I probably would move to the islands.
What makes this Condo unique
I fell in love with the view; a complete and unobstructed view of the water. It is close enough that you can open the doors and windows and just listen to the waves rolling in. There is nothing more relaxing than the smell of the salt in the air and the sound of the waves. Our condo unit is managed by a wonderful woman named Donna Ford, and for a small fee, will provide anything you may need to stock the fridge or cupboards. Donna will also meet you at the airport, and help you get local transportation or rental car and guide you to our condo. Once there, she will show you around and help you get situated, and leave contact numbers for myself and her, should any problems arise. We have just purchased the condo, and have remodeled it to make it more modern and welcoming for our family and guests. We have added a complimentary Rum Bar and washer and dryer for the use of our guests. The property itself is a gated community with an onsite manager who is available daily form 9am to 5pm to help with anything you need. There is a pool and open fire grills located on the property if you wish to stay in and cook out.
Pool / Spa
Local Services & Businesses
Sports & Adventure Activities
The condo is not well maintained. The property staff are awful.
The condo is dirty, and the pictures are not what you get.
The condo owner is great, but the property is not.
I am sorry that the condo was not everything you had imagined. I was assured it was clean just the sheets were not put on the bed or the toilets were not flushed to remove the heavy metal that settles in the island waters.
The staff treated you with respect as I have never known Rouel to treat anyone unkindly. So I apologize for any slight you feel they gave you.
I hope you otherwise enjoyed your stay on the island.
Recently, my father and I traveled together for a family trip to the beautiful island of St. Croix. We had such a memorable time! This beautiful ocean front property has all of the amenities of home. From its balcony, we had a clear view of Buck Island and beautiful clear waters; always a cooling breeze coming through the sliding balcony doors. My dad and I also were frequent visitors to the well-maintained pool, stocked with chaise lounges for relaxing following a refreshing swim. I recommend Serenity Breeze wholeheartedly for your next vacation stay. It is truly wonderful!!!
We rented this same unit last year and loved it(5 Star review). Another year of wear and this year's weather exposed some serious problems. We arrived at night and just wanted to take a hot shower and climb into bed for some good rest. As we try to even turn on the shower I notice that the shower water valve handle is broken off. So I have to rotate the whole trim piece to turn on the water and guess what? NO hot water. Last year the waves would crash right outside the place and we slept great. However this year the winds were blowing harder. The wind was blowing through the window in the master very loudly. I tried to close the shutters on the window and that is when I found out that none of the cranks worked. To make it worse, the shutter has a big hole in it and the owners shoved a towel in the hole to plug it up. Since the shutters don't close completely, there is no way to stop the wind from whipping through the condo because the windows don't have a solid pane of glass on them. It doesn't make any sense to me since there are solid sliding glass doors next to the windows in both the master bedroom and the main room. To get through night #1 we put a box fan on high and pointed it away from us...we just wanted to create more of a white noise to help drown out the whistling noise that was unbearably loud. After tossing and turning most of the night, we woke up exhausted. We went out for breakfast and upon returning to the unit we decided to go sleep by the pool. We both napped at the pool and that would be the best sleep we would have that day.
Still no hot water to shower. We planned to go out for a romantic dinner. Trying to shower in cold water doesn't get one's night off to a great start. After dinner we returned to the unit and hoped we had endured the worst of it. Not even close. The second night was absolutely brutal. The wind was whistling through the room at decibel levels 65-80, which is the equivalent of running a garbage disposal. We were both awake at 3 am and just started laughing about how bad the place was. Night 3 same. We moved out the next day and asked for a partial refund from the owner since the unit was unlivable and we only used 4 of our 10 nights. Owner offered 1 night off because of hot water situation even though we went 2 nights w/o. Owner relied on the As-Is clause of this website to hide from the fact that the windows do not close. We offer to accept a 40% refund and owner refused!! Stay somewhere else.
As we stated in our correspondence we have no control of the weather. We have a clean, well maintained home and we are required by our condo association to have the windows we do. The windows are owned by the association and not by me. So even if I wanted to change them I cannot. Our windows are louvered and will not ever close completely based on the style. We live in a hurricane area and to ensure the roof does not come off with gale winds our windows allow for airflow through the unit.
I also did not feel I should have to give refunds based on weather. Unless it was a hurricane that blew through and the island was being shut down, I do not feel I should have to. We are not responsible for wind or rain.
We do a semi annual check of all appliances because of the salt-water air. The hot water heater wiring was fine and there was no noticeable defect when our team checked before your stay. Once you informed us of the lack of hot water we fixed it as quickly as we could. It was a weekend and some stores are not open to be able to purchase replacement parts on a Sunday. The island does not run as efficiently as the mainland does.
We did not ask you to leave, nor did we allow any other renters in during your scheduled period of time. I am sorry you had a bad weather experience, but weather is out of my control. I have stayed in our unit during storms last April and it was miserable, I agree.
I did not use any clause as a crutch I only asked you to go back and re-read the contract you signed. Even when you informed me that you were going to remove your 5 star rating and give me a 1 star unless I complied with your refund request I did not change my position. I believe we were more than fair and cooperative. We fixed the hot water heater within 24 hours of you informing us that it did not work. I sent our cleaning service in to clean up any water that may have entered the property through the windows. I kept the property available for you during your entire length of stay.
We treat all our tenants with the utmost respect and we maintain a clean and well maintained unit. There will be hiccups and problems because the condo sits 30 feet from the water. We fix everything as quickly as we find out about the issues. I am again sorry for the problems you had and wish you only the best in the future.
A very nice stay
The condominium is very nice, and the location with the balcony overlooking the ocean with Christiansted to the east and a bluff to the west is beautiful. The beach for the condo development is not particularly suitable for swimming. There are very nice beaches a short drive away, and perhaps a walk down the beach away. The condo development itself is not in a very "resorty" area, which wasn't a problem for us, but might be for some. The only downside to the condominium itself is that they need to get the hot water and water pressure to the master bath shower improved.
In short, it is not perfect, be we liked it very much.
We also enjoy the out of the way, non-resort feel of the condominium complex. It gives a more local immersion feel to your stay. Being away from the resort hotels you can talk to the locals and find more things to explore off the beaten path.
Our beach, I would agree is not a swimming beach but it is filled with sea life and if you can manage to make your way around the coral shelf there is amazing snorkeling views to be had.
We have been working to improve the unit and I will look to see what can be done for the water pressure.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hosting you should you ever come back to St. Croix.
What more can my wife and I say. So amazing we're buying a condo here. Friendly people and just a short walk down the beach to the Palms for swimming, snorkeling, and food. Felt like home. Loved the ocean sound and the breeze that blows through the condo. We had a really great vacation.
Our overall stay was pleasant. It was clean, and easily accessible from most parts of the island once you learn your way around. Manager was very pleasant to deal with. They had a great complimentary rum bar and many of the staples needed in the kitchen were there. It has a beautiful view right on the water. The pool was nice.
For a few cons:
The second bedroom is not very well suited for a couple. We pushed the 2 twin beds together to make a queen, but it left very little room to move in the room. There is no closet at all, it was turned into the washer and dryer. And the bathroom and shower were miserably small! There is NO AIR CONDITIONER at all! Being right on the water the humidity and heat is miserable. The floors and furniture are always damp feeling. The moisture is on everything all the time 24 hours a day. They have "optional" ac for additional cost but is only a small floor unit you vent out a window which would never help in this environment. If you run the dryer the heat goes directly into the second bedroom. If you don't mind the heat and humidity this condo is ok.
The beach by the condo is pretty to look at but rocky and lots of sea weed so we preferred to go to Buckaneer beach.
Overall we had a good trip, The island has many thing s to offer. We went scuba diving, snorkeling, chartered a catamaran, and visited the rum factories.
Good place to visit but would definitely find something with sea view not sea side, And with air conditioning.