check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Owner

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english

Mountain Cabin on Pond Close to Chattanooga

19 Reviews
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

North Georgia Mountains Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6-10)

We now have Wi-Fi!!!

Time for that relaxing vacation you've always wanted. Enjoy the large wrap around porch drinking your morning coffee or reading that book you keep putting aside. Or catch up with your family rocking on the rocking chairs, The Porch overlooks a pond where you can do some fishing.

you just might see a deer heading down to the creek, or eating Apples off the Apple Trees.

Take a walk trough the new Orchard to the Garden, where you can pick some veggies for your supper, when in season. See what is happening in the Greenhouse, build a bird house, take a class on canning, freezing or making bread ect. so many things to do on a farm if you want to.

All open so you can be with every one else and not stuck in the kitchen by yourself. The Kitchen is a cooks dream, if your family likes to help you cook, there is plenty of Counter space for everyone.

There is over 20 acres with creek & pond that the kids or kid at heart can explore and play. Ever thought of Planning a big Birthday Party of Family Reunion, you have lots of outdoor space for everyone.

Or Plan a family Reunion, we can accommodate more if you are interested in also renting VRBO # 260956 just across the pond from this cabin.

Visit Chattanooga just 20 minuets away with the Aquarium, Discovery Museum, Hunter Museum, Rock City, Ruby Falls Incline rail way, Chickamauga Battle field, Chattanooga Zoo. And so much more.

Keywords: fishing cabin, getaway, relax on porch,

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair accessible
Owner
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english

About The Owner

We just love being able live and organically farm the property adjoining this home,.

The Owner purchased this cabin in 2003

Why The Owner chose North Georgia Mountains

This is a long story, and if you see us out on the farm we will be happy to take the time for the story,

What makes this cabin unique

We really enjoy the quiet country life. walking to the creek, fishing with the grand kids in the pond. picking wild black berries, relaxing by the campfire. Sitting on the porch at the end of the day just enjoying life or visiting with who ever comes around.

Reviews

3.8
based on 19 traveler reviews

Mountain Cabin on Pond Close to Chattanooga
average rating of 3.8421052 based on 19 reviews
1

Incrediby Nasty

  • 1 of 5

During our visit, the house was filthy; the first thing I did upon entering the home was to sweep the floor. The bedspread on my bed had a large darned patch at the end of it; my daughter and little grandson slept on stained sheets. There were no garbage cans in any room except for the kitchen. There are no dressers in any of the rooms; therefore, there is no place to put your clothes. We killed roaches in the house. The small bathroom has mold on the back door; the shower curtain does not keep the water in the shower. The "book nook" has unfinished plywood that is unsafe for any person. Every room has at least 1 light bulb that needs to be replaced. We tried to cook baked potatoes on Tuesday night. There is so much dried food on the bottom of the oven, the oven began to smoke and we had to turn it off to ensure that it didn't catch fire. There were 4 spoons and 7 forks for 6 people to use; all of the plates and bowls are chipped and unmatched. The house smells terrible; my grandson climbed on my bed, put his head on the pillow, and said, "Your bed smells odd." It did.There is a large water stain on the ceiling in the dining room. Everything in the house is chipped, stained, or broken. There were other concerns inside the house as well as the outside of the house, but I believe I have painted a picture of how horrible our vacation property was.

Because of the terrible living conditions, we left early. Multiple attempts to contact the owner have not been successful. Overall, this was a very disappointing experience and I would not recommend this property to anyone.

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Nice location

  • 5 of 5

This house was in a nice quiet area just 30 minites from Chattanooga. The drive was easy. It had plenty of room for our fsmily of 9. My kids really loved the ducks on the property. Everything in the house was functional. We would stay again if we were going back to that area.

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

We didn't get what we expected from the pictures/description on this site. Disappointed.

  • 1 of 5

If you're looking for a rustic, unfinished fishing cabin then this is a great spot for you. But please don't bring your family here based on the pictures. We did, and we were disappointed when we arrived. In our opinion, it is over-priced for what it is. The trim and floors were dirty & stained. The main hallway bathroom has a disgusting mold on the interior side of the door, and the shower has a leak. We killed a few spiders and took down cobwebs when we arrived, washed all the sheets, etc. Many of the lightbulbs were out. You can forget closing some of the doors for privacy as they jam b/c they're not leveled. The house seems pretty poorly constructed - the floor tub in the master bath feels like it will fall through. Also, while it does have central AC, it does not have vents in any of the bedrooms & the temp got pretty hot. All the vents are in the main room.

The bonus of this property is the fishing pond - but it is pretty over-fished. There were folks fishing it from the neighborhood every day we were there.

If we had accurate pictures of this house in its current condition to judge by, we would have stayed elsewhere, but in any case the listing should be updated with current, honest pictures of the property's true condition.

  • Submitted: May 29, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry you were disappointed. My family loves coming here for birthday parties, and just relaxing. I'm not sure why you washed the linens, they were clean and had just been laundered the day before. Thank you for cleaning the cobwebs, I was not aware of any. Also thank you for telling me about the light bulbs, I personally replaced them the other day. The Master bath was just installed last year & I was not aware of any problems as we just stayed there about 3 months ago and I used that tub. We did not have any problems with the doors closing. On inspecting the door you referenced in the hall bath, I did find it not closing because of swelling of the wood, and just to let those know reading this we will be replacing it. Sorry you did not like the new furniture in the living room to accommodate more seating. If you noticed the linen couch in the picture was in one of the rooms. You are right I do need to up date the pictures, and will do that as soon as Possible. Hope you are not disappointed on your next vacation. Debi
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Great Cabin

  • 5 of 5

A nice quiet place to relax with a family or friends. Also a very nice place to crash if you're having a wedding/event at sunrise farms! Very clean! Enjoyable stay!

  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Tina M.

  • 4 of 5

Me and my husband and daughter came up from Florida.Very nice cabin,large and full equipment kitchen,plenty of rooms,very good bathroom, Wi-FI,wonderful outside view of nature forest...., almost perfect excluding the spiders and spiders web that's was a lot and came from everywhere and was so stressful when I'm rest down the sofas in living room and spider came to my face....,what about ifs that is children and have allergic reaction? Just need to get DEEP CLEANING once a month guess??? I don't know probably that is normal and just some,, princess,, like me complain?Anyway ... Everything else we definitely like it and hopefully someday came back!!!Thank you so much for attention!

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: OH! NO! Sorry about the spiders. I have noticed more at my personal home too, I wounder if it has something to do with this time of year. WE will defiantly, see what to do. Glad you had an otherwise good time.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome Family Get Away

  • 5 of 5

Me and my sisters and daughter came down from Illinois and my new granddaughter and her mom and dad(my son and daughter in-law) came up from Atlanta. We enjoyed the house/cabin. Very nice kitchen. Plenty of room just to hang out whether we were hanging out on the porches or in the living room. We even got visited by the duck who lives in the pond. We enjoyed walking down to the garden and picking veggies for dinner. We drove in to Chattanooga for a day, spent some time on Lookout Mountain and Cloudland Canyon which where not to far of a drive. Would definitely come here again. Had a great time!!!!!!!

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Chattanooga Aquarium, Caving nearby, National Military Park, Incline Railway, Rock City, Ruby Falls, The Chattanooga Ducks

Photos

Rates & Availability

Chattanooga Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 15 - Nov 25
2 night minimum stay
$155
$1,015
 
 
Christmas & New Years
Dec 20 - Jan 5
2 night minimum stay
$155
$1,015
 
 
4th of July
Jun 30 - Jul 7
2 night minimum stay
$155
$1,015
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$135
$875
$3,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $125
Cleaning $75
Tax Rate 10.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

North Georgia Mountains Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1900 sq. ft.
  • 1 story
Location Type:
  • Rural
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), bunk beds with double on the bottom, single on top.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair accessible
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseshoes
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hunting
  • rock climbing

Partner Offers

Travelers who viewed this property, also viewed...