Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Castlegate Vacation Rental - Stunning Castle and Beach Views - Huge Sky Deck

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms4
Half Baths2
Space 3,900 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Overview

About the property

4 Stories - 6 bedrooms Sleeps 14 - Castle and Beach Views

Castlegate is located directly beside Castle Otttis in the Vilano Beach/St. Augustine Area and is walking distance to The Reef Restuarant. It is 4 stories with a 1000 sq foor sky deck on the top level. It currently has 6 bedrooms. There are 4 full baths and 2 power rooms. Max occupancy is 14. There is a huge rear lanai and courtyard surrounded by coastal oaks. The beach access is directly across the street. The property is on 1/2 acre and offers incredible 360 views. Check out our video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UcmFHBvNKJ4&feature=youtu.be


Owner
Nick Dudney
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
November 10, 2017

Why Nick Dudney chose Saint Augustine

We just finished this property as a retreat for my family. The location is absolutely perfect and the views are surreal. The house really came together nicely. We decorated and built almost all of the furniture ourselves to really capture the Coastal Elegant look we were after. This is a upscale luxury rental and not the typical beach house.

What makes this house unique

Walking distance to 2 restaurants and directly beside Castle Otttis. Beach Access right across the street. 1000 square foot Sky Deck on the 4th Floor.

Amenities

Saint Augustine House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3900 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Events Allowed
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Master Bath - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet
    Bathroom 6 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 2 double
    Bedroom 6 - 2 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

88% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Castlegate Vacation Rental - Stunning Castle and Beach Views - Huge Sky Deck
average rating of 4.888889 based on 9 reviews
Kernersville
4

Beautiful House

  • 4 of 5

The property is beautiful and clean. Beach across the street. The king bedroom bed is very comfortable as were most of the other beds. The main living room/kitchen has plenty of space for central gathering. There are multiple decks, 2 overlooking the back courtyard and a rooftop deck. The reason that I did not give 5 stars is because there were some issues. 1. It is advertised as 6 bedrooms. There are only 5 usable bedrooms that are true bedrooms. 3 on the upper floor and 2 on the main floor. The bedroom in the basement has a couch in it and it is not a pull out couch. We needed that space as we had 11 people. We called the owners and they said that the cots in the closet were the "single" beds (no linens). No one wants to sleep on a cot, not even a teenager. 2. The decks are fantastic as is the courtyard but they can only be accessed from inside the house so if you wanted to go from one area/deck to the next, you have to walk through the house then up the inside stairs and out a slider to the next deck. This would not be so bad, however, there is not enough seating for you to enjoy the spaces. There are 6-8 plastic Adirondack chairs (in total for the whole house) that you must take with you through the slider, through the house and up the stairs to the next deck/patio. Having outside seating on each level outside seems like a no brainer. 3. The do's and don'ts of the house were not made known to us until we were ready to arrive and were quite extensive. The pavers being the center of a lot of rules. The pavers are beautiful but they need to be sealed to help ease the minds of the owners who are renting out this property. No red wine, no peeing (can't believe that has to be a written rule), no car oil. The master bath tub is fantastic, however the wand to rinse yourself off and clean the tub out after you use it is missing the handle to actually turn the water on. I assume the owners have concerns about water damage and removed the valve to use it. 4. If you flush anything down the toilet, you will pay. Turns out, they have a problem with their septic that has nothing to do with the people using the toilets. There was a horrible raw sewage smell while we were there. They sent a plumber who said nothing was our fault. Turns out there is another locked bedroom in the basement that had raw sewage backing up in it. The owners brother came and cleaned it out, gagging the whole time. They did give us money back for the inconvenience. Overall, nice place though.

  • Submitted: May 10, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hey! I wanted to clarify a few things listed on your review. 1) We originally had the house listed as a 5 bedroom and we had set up the 6 bedroom as a Den. However, every group was using that room as a bedroom. We decided to make it a 6th bedroom and add in a bunk-bed set. We added the memory foam cots until we could fully convert it. The cots are way more comfortable than a pull out and we did have linens for them. You booked last min right as we were making this change, we should have clarified better during that time. 2) We have used the same standard check in sheet since the start and it has about 10 bullets on it. Standard stuff like don't park in the grass, only flush toilet paper, etc. Nowhere does it say anything about peeing or red wine. The pavers are sealed but we do have an issue with cars that leak oil. Oil, if left, eats right through the paver sealer. So we caution that if you have a possible oil leak please park on the rocks. We also ask that if you spill anything to just hose it off. Very reasonable. We do replace damaged pavers as it is important for us to keep the integrity of the property for the next group. Red wine is not something we mention as it has never been an issue. Completely at a loss on the peeing thing. 3) We do not have a septic tank we are on city water. During your stay you reported a clog and we had a plumber out there within 2 hours of the complaint. There was not raw sewage backing up into the house, just a plain old fashion clogged toilet. The person I spoke to said you had a smell for two days, but you did not report it. We acted very fast once you had. We issued a credit for a free night.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1
Jacksonville, FL
5

Absolutely Breathtaking

  • 5 of 5

From the moment you pull into the driveway the house is stunning! The inside is bright and airy during the day but at night it's surprisingly cozy with all the unique light fixtures. The layout of the house is great for family get togethers and fit our family of 12 comfortably. Right across the street from Vilano Beach, walking distance to amazing restaurants, and a 10 minute drive to the historic downtown St. Augustine, makes this house worth every cent. We loved our stay and can't wait to book our next vacation at Castlegate.

  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2016
  • Stayed: April 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Wonderful Beach House

  • 5 of 5

What a house! The rooftop deck was amazing, we could see the beach on one side and watch the sunset over the intercoastal on the other. The decor was beautiful too, we used it for inspiration in our new house. There was enough room for our entire family and the house was big enough that we could all spend time together in the main living area area and also enjoy time separately in the different areas on other floors. The kitchen was great, it had everything we needed. There are a few restaurants and a grocery store very close by and downtown St. Augustine is only a few minutes away. The owner was very attentive to our needs before and during our stay. We will definitely be staying here again!

  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2016
  • Stayed: November 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Gorgeous!! Perfect for a family vacation!

  • 5 of 5

Far and above the typical beach rental home - the views are spectacular! The home is tastefully decorated and very well appointed. The property is gorgeous and filled with too many amenities to list.

Wonderful home, I would definitely stay again!

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Paradise

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful home and views from all rooms. Quiet location with great restaurants near by.

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Classic Coastal Comfort

  • 5 of 5

Great holiday memories were made in your beautifully decorated classic coastal home! We can't say enough about how amazing the house is and everyone was in awe from the minute we stepped through the front door. The house was exceptionally clean and spacious for everyone to be comfortable. We enjoyed cooking out on the paved courtyard that looks over a very well-designed, lush landscape and every evening we took advantage of the fabulous Florida sunsets from your rooftop. It was such a unique experience!

Location IS everything therefore, we were pleased to know that we were only minutes away from Publix, as well as historic downtown St. Augustine. We took in the Nights of Lights as well as the many shops, boutiques, and restaurants that were offered down there. Thank you very much for the important part you played in making our visit memorable and the holiday of a lifetime! All the best!

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2016
  • Stayed: December 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2

Map

Castlegate is Vilano and St. Augustine's premier vacation rental home. Located directly across the street from the beach and right next to Castle Otttis, this 4 story house gives vacationer's incredible views. The top floor is a 1000 square foot sky deck that is amazing for sunrises and sunsets. The Castle lights up at night and offers stunning views from all floors of the house.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning Fee $275 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.0%

Small Group Events are considered. Additional fees would apply.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties