check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Charming 2Br House W/ WiFi, Updated Kitchen & Nice Yard In "The Hill"

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
6
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
2 nights

Description

Southwest Garden House Rental Photos and Description

2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, Sleeps 6

This Charming 2BR St Louis house has been completed updated to give it a modern/vintage style. It includes WIFI, an updated fully equipped kitchen, Nice Yard/porch to relax in, and most importantly it's close to several attractions such as The STL ZOO, Science Center, Botanical Gardens, Tower Grove Park, and the AMAZING restaurants nearby in "The Hill". Also, we offer off street parking and a washer and dryer at NO additional cost!!

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only

Owner
owner/property manager
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 6, 2016
Call Owner

About owner/property manager

Hello my name is Molly! My fiancé Alex and I both grew up in St. Louis! The newest member of our family is baby Mason- he's 10 months old! We do pretty much everything as a family and wouldn't want it any other way! It is our highest priority to ensure every guest has an exceptional stay with us!

owner/property manager purchased this house in 2014

What makes this house unique

This house is located in the historic "St. Louis Hill". There are the greatest Italian restaurants just blocks away! Some other attractions that are just a few miles away is: The St. Louis Zoo (its FREE!), Ted Drews, St. Louis Science Center, Forest Park, The Muny, Tower Grove Park, Central West End and MUCH MUCH more!!!

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

Charming 2Br House W/ WiFi, Updated Kitchen & Nice Yard In "The Hill"
average rating of 4.6 based on 25 reviews
4

Great location - very comfortable!

  • 4 of 5

We had a very enjoyable stay at this house - close to many restaurants and fun things to do - the bed was very comfortable. Parking is a little challenging particularly for a second car when family came to pick us up - but the kitchen was nicely appointed and the benefits of having room to spread out makes this house a much better choice than a hotel room.

  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
El Cerrito, CA
4

A gem at reasonable rates

  • 4 of 5

We felt at home from the minute we entered this charming St. Louis gem. Alex, the owner, was helpful and responsive to all our questions. What we liked:

Comfortable bed: it felt like sleeping on a cloud.

Modern/convenient kitchen: Although this is an older property, the kitchen appliances were modern and worked well.

Location: barely a 15 minute drive to Forest Park, City Museum and Gateway Arch.

Wifi: easy to access and quite fast.

A few caveats:

Stairs: it's an older property and the front stairs are a bit uneven. The stairs to the basement washer/dryer are steep and narrow. We used caution on all stairs.

Noise: the house is near the intersection of two busy streets; however, vehicle noise subsided by 9:30.PM. We travel with earplugs, but never had to use them. On the last night, the neighbor's dog barked continuously from 6 - 9:30, but then stopped.

Shower: we would have liked a rubber shower mat as the tub floor was a bit slippery. Used a towel on the tub floor and had no problem.

In spite of the caveats, we will definitely stay here again when we return to St. Louis.

  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Nice home in a nice neighborhood!

  • 5 of 5

Loved our two night stay in this charming home! My husband and I plus our two boys enjoyed the home after FUN filled days in St. Louis. The home is very clean and all appliances worked great, we cooked all our meals at the home. Off road parking was great and the fenced back yard was perfect for the boys to play. The beds were extremely comfy. The noise from the street was minimal. We couldn't think of anything that was missing. A great home away from home for sure. Close to everything. We enjoyed St. Louis Zoo, City Museum, and Ice Cream at Tower Grove Creamery....all were GREAT and very close to the home. We can't wait to visit St. Louis MO again! Thanks for renting this house out for all to enjoy a little bit of St. Louis!!

  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Cozy home, conveniently located

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I (and our two dogs) stayed here, as we were wanting to spend a few days in St. Louis. It is tastefully decorated, with a very nice breakfast area. All the homes in this area (The Hill) are apparently fairly old; this one has been very nicely redone. The only "non-positive" thing I could say is that the bedroom needed a small dresser to put clothes in, but no biggie. We liked the neighborhood, and enjoyed walking our dogs around it. We were able to park our van in the garage out back, which was nice. I also enjoyed jogging in the neighborhoods, and the nearby parks. The house is about 15 minutes away from all the attractions in downtown St. Louis, so not far away at all. We plan to come back to St. Louis one more time before we retire in a few years, and hopefully will be able to stay here again!

  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location and house.

  • 5 of 5

Lovely property--kitchen well equipped. The front porch light was out which is necessary when coming in @ night. The breakfast area is great. House has lots of light. I would recommend adding a little table for the back bedroom as there is no where to sit anything--also a picture for that room. Would stay there again.

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Terrible

  • 1 of 5

I did not gain acsees in this vacation rental the owners did not leave me any instructions on how to get in and enjoy my stay lucky my family booked another unit so we cramed in for 3 days

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: A credit card company actually contacted me stating that you tried to cancel your payment a day before your trip. I apologize that last minute cancellation has to go through homeaway. We have a very systematic approach with all of our guest and looked back and you were in fact sent the check-in instructions 15 days prior to your travel. If for some reason you didn't receive it, it has always been extremely important to my wife and i to always be available in the event a problem arises. Homeaway denied your refund because there wasn't one call, one message, or one email stating that you were having trouble getting in the unit. In fact, we actually had to pay our cleaning company for their gas to show up still because none of us were aware that you backed out of your trip. My email, my wifes email, my phone number, and my wifes phone number are all listed on the reservation and not once did we receive a call with trouble. Thanks! Alex & Molly
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Across the Street
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Forest Park
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Joey B's
Car: recommended

Rates & Availability

Southwest Garden House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$99
$600
$1,800
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $50 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $100
Pet Fee $25 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Southwest Garden House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • tennis

Partner Offers