check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Jaime Gable

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english

NamaStay ~Spectacular Views in Scenic, Convenient Location

33 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Kenai Peninsula House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

NamaStay invites you to step inside, unwind and take in the panoramic views of this roomy and comfortable home away from home. Surrounded by stunning Kachemak Bay and its glacier-studded mountains, NamaStay is located in arguably one of the most scenic areas of Homer, yet we are a convenient 6 miles from downtown. Within minutes you can access Homer's art galleries, shopping centers, and fine restaurants-- or head to the famous Homer Spit for myriad fishing and recreational opportunities.

This 1400 sq. foot chalet-style Alaskan home is sunny, stylish and spacious. Situated on just over an acre of land, NamaStay is ideal for friends, couples and families, and can accommodate 2 to 6 people.

The ample living room boasts vaulted ceilings and a wall of south-facing windows to capture the light and warmth of our long summer days. A dining area is nestled into the living room, providing an intimate space to celebrate food with family and friends. Our deck is fully equipped with a propane BBQ grill, picnic table and lounge chairs, and is the perfect place to enjoy your fresh catch, some Homer-grown veggies or a locally brewed beer.

The well-appointed kitchen has everything you need and more to prepare gourmet meals during your stay. A small table and custom crafted breakfast bar provide spaces to indulge and take in spectacular views.

The master bedroom includes a queen size bed, walk in closet, 8 drawer dresser and full bathroom. The en suite bathroom features a handcrafted stained glass countertop with stainless steel sink. Light-canceling shades offer a reprieve from the midnight sun and alluring views when you're ready to daydream about what adventures await you.

The second bedroom hosts 2 new twin beds, situated opposite each other in a cozy loft bedroom, with plenty of closet space and a luggage rack. Distinctive angles and newly installed birch flooring transform this modest space into an inviting enclave. An additional sleeping space containing a fold-down sofa bed is available on the first floor in a recessed area off the living room. There's a small closet in this area for storing luggage and hanging clothing items, as well as a 3/4 bath just steps away. The downstairs bathroom's unique tile and beach rock floors, sink top and backsplash are noteworthy design features.

An expansive yard hosts guests such as resident moose, eagles, hawks and pheasant; sandhill cranes and other migratory birds also frequent the wide open fields this region is known for. A lovely 2 mile walking trail is accessed in either direction from NamaStay, an easy and relaxing way to explore the neighborhood and all the while be dazzled by breathtaking views.

NamaStay provides all the comforts of home, with an intimate setting in a superb and convenient location. Make NamaStay your home base for your next Alaskan adventure and create unforgettable memories that will leave you beckoning for more.

Keywords: House, 2 bedrooms, Convenient location, Sleeps 2-6 people

More Details
  • non smoking only
Jaime Gable (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english

About Jaime Gable

12 years ago, I ventured to Homer, Alaska on a quest to explore the Last Frontier. I was young, eager and fresh out of college searching for a place to call home and plant my feet for awhile. Being a sun-loving surfer chick, I never in my wildest dreams imagined that a place like Alaska could capture my attention for long, or steal my heart. It did. To my amazement, it wasn't just the breathtaking scenery and jaw-dropping views that Homer offered that kept me yearning for more - it was the combination of the remarkable natural beauty with its outstanding community. Having grown up in the suburbs of Pennsylvania, I had never experienced true community the way that I did upon arriving at the end of the road. Since that time, I have adapted my lifestyle in order to maintain a home-base here. As a result of this alternative lifestyle, I have been able to live out many dreams - one of which has been my passion for traveling. The long, dark winter months beckon me to throw some meager belongings into a backpack and hit the jet stream. My travels include destinations such as Africa, India, Colombia, Indonesia, Thailand, Laos, Cambodia, Nicaragua, Guatemala, Costa Rica, Panama and Mexico. And my list is still long. It is my own passion for traveling combined with my love for Homer, Alaska that made me decide to open up my home to other travelers. Besides my love for exploring foreign lands, I also love to garden, hike, cook, and spend time with my beloved dog, Rufus.

Jaime Gable purchased this house in 2004

Why Jaime Gable chose Kenai Peninsula

NamaStay is located in a spectacularly scenic area of Homer just 6 miles from downtown and the Homer Spit. The proximity to town puts you within 10 minutes of Homer's art galleries and great restaurants, as well as heading out on a fishing charter or kayak trip for the day. The residential neighborhood provides great opportunities for wildlife viewing while relaxing on the deck grilling up your fresh catch of the day. There's also great walking/hiking just out your doorstep.

Guestbook comments from the owner

The view is great and all of your recommendations were amazing. We hiked, fished for halibut and enjoyed the stores and places on the spit. The kids enjoyed Netflix and the parents enjoyed sitting on the deck. The rooms are amazing and very well furnished. We enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to others. Thank you so much for letting us stay here, it is a very nice place.
Jul 2012
  • 1 of 3


based on 33 traveler reviews

NamaStay ~Spectacular Views in Scenic, Convenient Location
average rating of 4.757576 based on 36 reviews
oxford,ny usa

no ma stay

  • 1 of 5

My brother and I have been traveling to Homer for the last 14 years and have never had a bad thing to say about properties we have rented until this year. For the owner to require the amount of money they charged is absurd. There were virtually no amenities to speak of other than the view. The property was in disrepair, the oven in the kitchen stove wasn't working and we also had problems with the microwave. I must admit to having called Jaime to complain about there not being any towels only to have found them where she said they were. One of our concerns were that there was no washer/dryer in the home. Having just returned to Homer from Kodiak we fortunately did our laundry at the last place we stayed. Everything was bare essentials from toilet paper to paper towels. If you decide to rent this property make sure you bring extras.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am very disheartened to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and that you found the property to be "in disrepair." I am disappointed that you did not contact me during your stay to let me know your concerns, as I would have done whatever I needed to do to make your stay more comfortable. It has not been brought to my attention that the oven is not working, and therefore, it would have been very nice to know so that I could have dealt with the issue in the moment, as it is very hard to reconcile this problem for you now. I'm very curious to know why this issue was not brought up to me? However, since reading this message, I have tested the oven and it seems to be working perfectly. The house is outfitted with the essential amenities such as toilet paper, paper towels, hand soap, dish soap, dishwasher soap, towels and linens as well as soap in both showers. Additionally, I provide all of my guests with complimentary coffee and tea as well as homemade raspberry jam as a small gift to say "thank you." I"m not exactly sure what other amenities you were looking for but I am open to some feedback to know what else I could provide to make your stay better. As for the washer/dryer, I offer this service to guests for a very small additional fee to compensate for the water consumption and had you asked about it, I would have been more than happy to provide access to the facilities. The only phone call that I received from you was upon arrival, after you checked in several hours early and called immediately to complain that there were not enough towels and no keys, at which time, I informed you that you had arrived hours early and therefore, the door had not yet been locked but that the keys were in the lockbox for you and that there were plenty of towels upstairs. At this point it was clear to me that you had not even explored the house before calling me to complain. I would like to note that you later called and left me a message to apologize for that phone call, admitting that you had been traveling for a very long time and were tired. As for the property being in disrepair, I cannot disagree more. This property is very well maintained, comfortable, and spotlessly clean. I take a lot of pride in my home and my other reviews reflect this. I am so very sorry that you were not happy here and I wish that you had communicated with me more during your stay so that I could have had the opportunity to make it more comfortable for you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful view

  • 4 of 5

We loved Homer. We found everyone to be friendly. Finn's is a great place for pizza. We arrived 5 minutes before closing but they happily took our order and were willing to stay open if we wanted to eat there. We chose to go back to the house to eat but enjoyed talking to them while we waited for our pizza. The property is located up on a hill overlooking the mountains and water with the spit in the distance. It is a little out of town but we didn't mind the drive and it really didn't take us long to get to the spit. The kitchen was well equipped for our needs and we enjoyed eating breakfast at the table in the living room while looking at the view. The neighborhood is quiet. The steps up to the bedrooms are steep so we only went upstairs at night and left our suitcases downstairs. There is a bathroom on both floors so no need to worry about navigating the stairs too often. We enjoyed our stay and look forward to visiting Alaska again.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Complete satisfaction!

  • 5 of 5

NamaStay Inn is a FANTASTIC place for a getaway! The home met all our expectations. Not only was the location a perfect setting for fantastic views and easy access to town, it provided plenty of space for us to host a small family reunion comfortably. We really enjoyed the way it was decorated and I must say it is very clean and well maintained. We are already planning a return trip and hope this place will be available again! Great experience!

  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much, Terry and family. It was a pleasure to meet you and I am delighted that you had such a wonderful stay and visit with your family. I truly appreciate the kindness with which you treated my home and would be more than happy to have you back on your next trip. Until then, all the best!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

What a view!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful vacation at Namastay!

From the start we knew what to expect because the owner communicated everything to us so well. The property was clean, well kept, and beautiful. The view is amazing!

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Boise, ID

Dennis Thomsen with Dale Ramsay party

  • 5 of 5

It was the perfect place for our group. Great views, very clean, very well furnished in every aspect, easy access and quiet. Would go back again in a heartbeat!! Good value!! As a side note the raspberry jam is to die for. Wish you had it for sale......I would be your 1st customer !!!!!!!

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Namastay made me want to stay!!

  • 5 of 5

Namastay was absolutely amazing. Waking up to the view of the glacier and beautiful Kachemak bay was very special. We had two lovely moose who enjoyed visiting with us as well. The house itself is beautiful and makes one feel at peace. It truly was an amazing vacation because we got to go to what felt like home at night Thank you so much Jaime, we could not have asked for anything better!

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
4.5 Miles
Homer Airport
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
The Downeast Saloon
Nearest Ferry
7 Miles
End of Homer Spit
Nearest Golf
0.8 Miles
Kachemak Bay Lynx Par 3 Golf Course
Nearest Train
220 Miles
Nearest Motorway
6.4 Miles
Sterling Highway
Nearest Restaurant
2.2 Miles
The Homestead Restaurant
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Homer Spit
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Homer House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Shoulder Season
Oct 1 2016 - Apr 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 3.0%

Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Kenai Peninsula House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View
  • Water View ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Wireless Internet
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Full size fold-down futon bed
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • non smoking only
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties