Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Hill Country Cabin(s) with pool access (La Escapada)

Bedrooms 1
Space 400 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

The best of both worlds....Texas Hill Country and Austin!

Texas Hill Country, peacefulness, in ground pool, proximity to Wineries, Breweries, Wedding Venues, Austin hike & bike trails, coffee shops, restaurants and nightlife.. Good for couples, solo adventurers, business travelers, families, wedding groups & other big groups since we have 5 cabins and furry friends (pets) since every cabin has it's own fenced in yard. Close to Deep Eddy, Salt Lick, 7+ wineries & breweries, Pieous, Summer Moon Coffee, Dripping Springs & Wimberley.

Beautiful Hill County Escape within minutes to Downtown Austin! Located within 20 minutes to downtown and 10 minutes to other Hill Country Favorites!

Within 25 miles of 7 Hill Country Wineries so plan your own wine tour.

Within 2 miles of Nutty Brown Cafe to enjoy a Texas Country Band or Free Music

Within 10 miles to the famous Salt Lick BBQ

Within 15 miles to Downtown Austin and SOCO

Within 7 miles to The Deep Eddy Distillery & Tasting Room

Within 10 miles to The Mercer Street Dancehall in Dripping Springs

Within 13 miles to The Broken Spoke and other favorite Restaurants/Bars on South Lamar

Within 9 miles to The Alamo Drafthouse Cinema

More Details

Property Manager
Chris and Misty Marmolejo
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 22, 2017

About Chris and Misty Marmolejo

We have both lived in 6 different cities throughout the country and enjoy meeting new people and clients coming into Austin.

Chris and Misty Marmolejo purchased this cabin in 2015

Why Chris and Misty Marmolejo chose Austin

Our Motto: Relax and Enjoy!

We have included a private deck with our cabins so that you can enjoy a relaxing morning cup of joe or an evening adult beverage of choice! The in ground swimming pool provides for a refreshing and cool swim and the overlook is something to enjoy for watching an evening sunset or stargazing. We've created the space for you to truly get away, relax and enjoy!

You get the best of both worlds by being within 20 minutes to downtown Austin and within 5-10 minutes to Hill Country Wineries, Brewery's and live entertainment at the Nutty Brown Amphitheatre.

We think you will enjoy this property because it is absolutely quiet and relaxing out in Hill Country.

Whatever you decide to embark on for your trip; the cabin is a great choice providing a relaxing and unique option for your stay.

What makes this cabin unique

You get the best of both worlds by being within 20 minutes to downtown Austin and within 5-10 minutes to Hill Country Wineries, Brewery's and live entertainment at the Nutty Brown Cafe. You will enjoy this property because it is absolutely quiet and relaxing out in Hill Country. Most guests start the day by enjoying a cup of coffee on the private deck or gazebo. Then after a day out enjoying everything that the area has to offer, or just chilling by the pool; guests typically enjoy the beautiful sunset with a glass of wine or beer from a local winery or brewery. Whatever you decide to embark on for your trip; the cabin is a great choice providing a relaxing and unique option for your stay.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Being here for holiday was a very nice experience. We definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a relaxing environment. Coffee on the private porch was very nice and the owners were very accommodating. We hope to stay here again on our next Austin visit.
Dec 2015
  • 1 of 2


South Austin Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: Noon
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • Away From It All
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Stove ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Walk in shower with built-in seats in shower (no bathtub)
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Queen Bed - Pillowtop Mattress, Nightstands with individual reading lamps, Bedroom Closet, Dresser Chest, and Ceiling Fan Queen Sofa Bed in Living Room
  • Books
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • swimming
Extended Stay 7 days or longer - Laundry Service Option Available for Bed Linens and Towels (Every 7 days for $25 fee) Check in 3pm or thereafter Check out 11am


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(21 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
Hill Country Cabin(s) with pool access (La Escapada)
average rating of 4.6190476 based on 23 reviews

Perfect little cabin outside of Austin

  • 5 of 5

Perfect getaway cabin to feel like you're outside of the city & enjoying nature! We saw bunnies & deer on the property daily. The cabin was neat, clean, & organized well. The owners were responsive & helpful as well! The pool was lovely and we truly enjoyed our stay. Thank you Chris & Misty ❤️

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Cool Getaway

  • 5 of 5

Absolutely fell in love with the place. Cabin #4 accommodated four ladies on a getaway weekend. Just loved the entire set up. We sat on the deck every morning with our coffee..... much better than any hotel. The cabin had all we needed and more. Had an issue with the smoke alarm battery going off and notified the owners. They popped in the next day and took care of it as well as visited with us by the pool to introduce themselves.

Can't wait to return!

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Charming cabin located in a quiet area of hill country but still accessible to everything.

  • 5 of 5

Lodging is a cute cabin reminiscent of an RV outfitted with everything that was needed for a lovely stay.

  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Loved the location

  • 4 of 5

It was a nice little cabin in a quiet area and we enjoyed the privacy. The cabin was nice but needed some attention to a few little things. It needed a really good cleaning and a few hooks to hang a jacket. We would stay there again if in the area.

  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review. We have changed to a different cleaning company that is amazing and have added those extra hooks for hanging items. Thanks again! Hope you'll come back and see us again. Sincerely, Misty and Chris
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Weekend getaway

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely loved this place! So cute and cozy! It was perfect for us. The place was so peaceful and quite. Would definitely stay here the next time we visit Austin, Tx.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Halie! We look forward to your return and so happy to hear that you had a nice vacation. Come back anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not secluded, not what we expected.

  • 2 of 5

We got to the cabin, and there were 8 cars parked visibly within a stones throw from my cabin, along with several nearby cabins. Too many people too close, and the blinds were broke on the patio door. That doesn't sit right with me, at all.

The cabin was super small, unfinished, and cheap. It looks much nicer/bugger in the pictures.

The cabin also had a very odd smell, neither pleasant or unpleasant. It didn't smell "good".

I contacted the owners 5 mins after I checked in to discuss a refund. This is where I have my biggest issue. There is a NO REFUND policy on a cabin that I genuinely feel was misadvertised. The owners very generously offered me a 75% refund... I accepted and left immediately.

BUT, they only refunded me 50%. This included me paying taxes, not including the deposit, etc. I questioned their math, and they ended up charging me THEIR portion of the sales tax and booking fees, leaving me with less than half of the cost of the cabin. Their response was "be happy with what you got, we didn't have to give you anything."

Just because you have a policy on something, doesn't mean you're in the right. We both had an agreement. You got my money, and I got a shack with hardie siding painted to look like wood with no privacy. We also agreed on a 75% refund, and they swindled their way out of that as well. They were courteous and sounded accomodating (which is the only reason I didn't give 1 star), but it doesnt make up for their bad business practices.

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: First of all, this is a very disappointing review. We were very considerate and accommodating to you; however upon arrival you were very rude and verbally attacking to us. Our cabins are brand new with full amenities, private deck and filled with many upgrades, including a high quality exterior siding. As owners of the property; we do live on site, as we explained to you and we own a limo company. Not sure why you are stating 8 vehicles....there were 5 vehicles all of which were parked at the rear of the property which was not part of the cabin area that you rented. Again, as advertised, we have Texas Hill Country Cabins, (plural) all of which are separated for individual privacy and are stated with the square footage. Also, as advertised, we comply with a standard cancellation policy which is a 50% refund if you cancel before 14 days. Less than 14 days there is no refund. This policy is clearly posted and not misrepresented. As agreed, we gave you a 75% refund, less any fees that we are charged by HomeAway. This was extremely fair, because again the policy states you get a zero refund if you cancel in less than 14 days. It was your decision to cancel and you agreed to this upon departing the property. We honored our terms and refunded you as we stated we would. We do not appreciate your misrepresentation of our property and the way we conduct business; as what you have stated is inaccurate. We are very gracious people and go out of our way to ensure our cabins and guests are well accommodated. As anyone can see on our reviews, our cabins are very well enjoyed by many guests. In regards to the window blind, we were not aware of any issue with the cabin blind until now upon reading your review. We feel we did the right thing by issuing you the majority of your refund even though we were left hanging because we were not able to rent out our cabin for the weekend, which ultimately cost us a significant loss. As stated before, we wish you and your family the very best.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1


Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Austin-Bergstrom International Airport
Nearest Barpub
1.6 Miles
290 West Bar & Grill
Nearest Golf
10.1 Miles
Grey Rock Golf Club
Nearest Motorway
37 Miles
Circuit of the Americas
Nearest Restaurant
1.9 Miles
Nutty Brown Cafe
Car: recommended

While enjoying your stay, we highly recommend the Nutty Brown Café and the Salt Lick BBQ. Both have great food and entertainment. We also recommend taking advantage of the many wineries, breweries and vodka distilleries...there are so many within a 10 mile radius of our location.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $75
Damage Deposit $150

Extended stays beyond 7 days require additional terms and policies (inquire with owner)
Check in 3pm or thereafter
Check out 11am

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties