check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Mango Cottage- Island Style with View

Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
3
Bedrooms
1
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
2 nights

Description

Kailua-Kona House Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 3)q

Drenched in sunlight and fifteen minutes from the beach, Mango Cottage is a Bali inspired retreat nestled on the slope of the now dormant volcano, Hualalai. The house has a large private yard filled with tropical plants, fragrant flowers, outdoor sitting areas and private hot tub. It is situated on a quiet single lane in a peaceful old neighborhood, complete with meandering turkeys and the wild parrots that occasionally visit the adjacent mango tree.

From the door of Mango Cottage to the crystal waters of Kua Bay is a 15-minute drive and another few minutes delivers you to the renowned beaches of the Kohala Coast. It’s just a quick 10-minute drive to Kailua-Kona where you will find supermarkets, a natural foods store, restaurants and other trappings of “Town.” There is much to explore from this central location and we are happy to share our life-long local knowledge.

Mango Cottage has been restored with new flooring, many windows, an efficient kitchen, and a lanai for relaxing outdoor living. Float in the hot tub and enjoy the Hawaiian starry night. The lush gardens surround the home and the feeling of separateness between outdoors and in is minimal. Mango Cottage is gated and private, offers WiFi, a dishwasher, and two flat screen TV's. A washer and dryer are available and in-house maid service is available upon request during your stay. The bedding and queen size mattress, including the additional single day bed in the living room, are high quality for a comfortable sleep amidst the tropical breezes and sounds of the distant water feature. Views from the house include the ocean and a park like setting, perfect to witness the green flash moment.

The concept of the space is to provide a totally serene indoor/outdoor experience with all the luxury of good, comfortable design mixed with Indonesian antiques and art. It is perfect for your Hawaiian vacation and to re-charge all of your senses… enjoy!

Keywords: quiet, house, ohana, yard, garden, private

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • smoking allowed

Owner
Christine
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
December 4, 2016

About Christine

We have lived in Kona for thirty-five years and have called Hawaii our home! Our property has been a labor of love and we are delighted to offer the cottage as a vacation rental. My husband and I are now retired and spend much of our time in the garden, creating jewelry, or traveling to California to visit our grandchildren.

Christine purchased this house in 1986

Why Christine chose Kona Coast

The cottage, which is privately situated on it's own 1/4 acre of tropical gardens, large lawn area, beautiful sunsets, water feature and hot tub to relax and watch the stars.

What makes this house unique

I take enormous joy in landscaping and gardening. I've planted many fragrant plants and trees along with fruit trees. The interior decorations and many of the garden statues are inspired by Indonesia. The property is very private, not your usual tourist flare!

We are 8 minutes from the Kailua-Kona airport and 10 minutes to Kona town. If you drive 15 minutes in the other direction, you are at renowned beaches of the Kohala Coast 'Kua Bay'. We are close to everything and yet feel worlds away from it all.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

Mango Cottage- Island Style with View
average rating of 4.9333334 based on 15 reviews
5

Charming, secluded cottage on the big island

  • 5 of 5

We loved our week at Mango cottage, and would stay again next time we go to the big island. It's only a 10-minute drive into Kailua but you feel dropped out once you are up the mountain and on the gated grounds. Christine had everything ready for us, including fresh fruit and various treats in the fridge. She was available but unobtrusive- perfect! The home was well-appointed and kitchen easy to cook in. Our favorite thing was having a private hot tub in the garden- we enjoyed it every day.

  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for coming to stay at mango cottage, we are so happy you had a great time! You are welcome anytime and have a wonderful holiday! Much Aloha, Great guest!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Quiet and serene

  • 5 of 5

Lovely spot to escape. Nice little ride up in the hills that wind to the sweet retreat. Quiet lot, garden and cottage hidden behind gate with beautiful plantings, fountain hot tub and distant ocean view because of the height from the deck. Cottage is well appointed with lotions, shampoo, loads of kitchen extras. Under cottage is snorkeling equipment body boards, chairs etc. No complaints, enjoyed our stay!

  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Samuel! So wonderful to have you both and you are welcome anytime. You were a joy to have and we wish you the best holiday season! Much Aloha
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great secluded place on the hill

  • 5 of 5

We didn't know much of Kailua-Kona when we booked this place and we glad we booked it! The place is a very nice, cozy, quiet and private space. We felt very relaxed and wished we spend more days here! The picture doesn't do justice! The only deceiving things in the post is that there's no mango tree :( (It's totally fine, just thought it was funny that the place is named Mango Cottage, but there was no mango)

The place was clean, plenty of space, full bathroom with some small items if you need them (tooth paste, shampoo, soap...etc), she even has towels and multiple beach towels for us. There is no AC, but you do not need it at all.

Christine was very awesome in giving us direction, communicative before our trip starts and was very welcoming for us. The amenities there were pretty good (washer, full kitchen, hot tub, and even beach items under the house). I would advice you to not book it if you're afraid of gecko (they are very friendly though.... ). You will definitely need a car if you book this place.

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Stavanger, Norway
5

Charming and peaceful

  • 5 of 5

A wonderful retreat in a quiet area with views of the coast. A place that I would be happy to spend weeks at. A great base and superb alternative to hotel life. Lovely garden area, commanding views from the lanai. Step indoors to the thoughtful and tastefully decorated interior. Totally functional well equipped kitchen. Comfy bed with good cupboard space. We felt totally welcomed by our attentive host who made sure that we had all the information we needed. Mahalo Christine!

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely review of mango cottage, very nice! You are welcome anytime and thanks for those nifty candles. You were great guests, just too short of visit. Kind regards, christine
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

This home is perfect for a couple looking to relax in a beautiful private home.

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed 3 nights here and enjoyed every minute of our stay. When we arrived Christine had waiting for us a bottle of wine on the lanai, a lit candle, fresh flowers, Hawaiian music playing and a bowl of fresh fruit! Everything was amazing including the ocean view and fresh water hot tub. We will be back soon!

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
SANTA CLARA, CA
5

Beautiful, relaxing, and clean

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time at Mango Cottage. Everything was perfect. There is not one thing I would change about this rental. It was beautiful inside and out.

Relaxing garden with green lawn, fruit trees, plants, flowers, and multiple sitting areas. BBQ area, spa, and lanai were all clean and ready for use. We watched the sunset from the lanai every night, it was gorgeous.

The location is a short drive to Kona Town, beaches, and food. This location is also convenient for day trips and sight seeing on this side of the island.

The bed was comfy, bathroom was spacious, and there were ceiling fans in every room. We stayed here mid July and the cottage was always a nice temp.

If you are headed out to the beach take advantage of all the beach supplies stored under the cottage. Chairs, ice chests, umbrella, boogie boards, noodles, fins, masks, and even a small pop up sun shade. All clean and organized nicely. There are beach towels upstairs in the house as well.

The hosts Bob and Christine were so nice. They have a great eye for landscaping and interior design. Everything from arrival instructions, check in, and check out was a breeze. Bob greeted us with a smile and inside the cottage there was some cold beer in the fridge and some fresh bananas and avocados in the fruit bowl.

I can't say enough nice things about this place. We have been telling everyone who will listen to us how awesome Mango Cottage is. We hope to return soon with our son and stay here again.

Thanks again Bob and Christine!!

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so very happy you both had such a wonderful time at mango cottage! I am grateful you enjoyed my gardens, I never get tired of making it beautiful. We work on giving our best to our guests, the appreciation is worth the work! You are welcome anytime, what a lovely couple and hope to see you again. Much Aloha Bob and Christine
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

We are a short drive from wonderful beaches, hikes, snorkeling, surfing, golf courses, and shopping. Take a short walk on Kohanaiki road to 'Zen Retreat' for facial treatments with appointment.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kailua-Kona House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$145
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Flat Rate $60 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.25%

TA tax 9.25%. GE tax 4%
TA-165-534-7200-01. GE-165-534-7200-02

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Kailua-Kona House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Golf Course Front ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Tub, Shower, Shampoo, Soap, lotion, sun burn products, tooth brushes and tooth paste, bandaids and extra products.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single bed (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • smoking allowed ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Stone water feature, many sitting areas throughout gardens, quiet, gated and private, parking for two cars

Partner Offers