check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Corinna

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english

Oceanfront Paradise- 1/2 mile from Paia! Walk to shops and beach!

11 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Maui Villa Rental Photos and Description

House, 4 Bedrooms, two w/ King Bed & two w/ Queen Bed, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

The villa is part of an exclusive oceanfront property with shared pool, tropical garden setting and laundry facility.

There are four bedrooms, 1 king and 1 queen on each floor. The house is perfect for a family or group holiday and offers the option of added privacy for segregated groups by way of separate entrances to each floor.

Listen to the waves and watch the sunset from the huge wrap-around deck. This tastefully designed unit features high open-beam ceilings and is decorated with solid wood furniture. The fully equipped kitchen has granite countertops and stainless steel appliances including a gas stovetop/oven and kitchen utensils as well as a private BBQ grill. INTERNET/WIFI, and 3 flat screen televisions - one in living area and one in each master bedroom bedroom.

There is a white sand beach perfect for sunbathing and swimming within 150 yards of the property. The shops and restaurants of charming Paia town are close by.

The area offers a wide range of watersports including world class surfing, windsurfing, kiteboarding and paddleboarding. You can also explore the beaches, rainforest and nearby waterfalls.

PERMIT NO. STPH 20140002

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • smoking allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Corinna (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english

Reviews

4
based on 11 traveler reviews

Oceanfront Paradise- 1/2 mile from Paia! Walk to shops and beach!
average rating of 4.0 based on 11 reviews
Cochrane, Alberta, Canada
1

Rat feces everywhere!!!!

  • 1 of 5

The accommodations sounded brilliant for my dear friend who was with her teen boys. They stayed in the 2 bedroom unit below, and me and my teen girls slept in the two bedroon unit upstairs. The views and wild life were breath taking. The accommodations were rustic and the kitchen was poorly stocked. The BBQ never worked even though we brought it to the attention of the manager twice. Our unit was rustic with geckos, ants, beetles and spiders crawling around in the flat, which i did not mind and expected. The closet doors were hard to close, cupboard doors not closing well, the laundry facility rusty, the garbage area overflowing with rubish attracting rats and mice, window screens not opening and screens having holes from rats chewing holes so they could come and go in and out as they pleased. Keep in mind there is no air conditioning so you totally relied on the breeze to cool the unit. We stayed during a heat wave. The second night of our 6 day stay the rat(s) appeared and I brought it immediately to the managers attention. She seemed put off to have to come to lay a trap. We were scared to leave our bedrooms so we put towels under the door. Most of the night we were up hearing the rats playing, one being caught in the trap flapping around in the trap. The next morning the manager strolled in around 10:30 knowing I nor my daughters would not leave the room afraid of what we may see.... well there was a live rat in the trap, rat hair and rat dung everywhere !!!! It seemed a big deal to come clean the unit, which I insisted on. She said they should cut back the trees touching the upper unit as they have had this rat problem before in the unit. The next morning there was evidence of the rat or rats all over the counter, sink, floor ect. This is when I asked to move to another unit or get a refund. She said she was not autherized to do either and needed to speak to the owner..... she put me off with various excuses ranging from he is not available, to its a Jewish holiday, to its my day off. So for 6 days we could not fully utilize the unit because who wants to eat or cook in rat crap or be in the way of the unit being cleaned again!! Not to mention poor sleeps every night hearing rats on the roof and in the unit. Now if I could afford to walk away from thousand I would have. In the end she gave me 10%...totally not worth the extra stress and inconvenience. On our departure they finally came to trim the trees...

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha! This is Corinna, the new property manager at Lani Paradise. I am sorry I did not have the pleasure of meeting you. I am now on site Monday - Friday and here to help make your vacation extra special. If a guest feels the unit is missing something or needs immediate attention I am here here to help! Lani Paradise is located on the edge of the ocean and and surrounded by tropical vegetation. Both are very scenic and make our property very special. However the beach and tropical landscape are home to much wild life and many pests. It is a constant battle to keep them out of our home. We do regular pesticide maintenance and constant screen and landscape maintenance to help keep them outside. They are a part of our surrounding we have no real control of. It really helps if our guests keep the screen doors closed, but while on vacation people want that awesome ocean view that we have and leave the doors and screen doors open. Of course our pesky neighbors are going to let them selves in. Other factors such as weather also brings those unwanted guests searching for shelter…. Here at Lani Paradise, we pride our selves on the beauty and upkeep of our charming and rustic ocean front property.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Good, bad, and ugly....

  • 3 of 5

First the good: It's in a beautiful location, on a cliff overlooking the ocean. There were regular turtle visitors on the rocks below. There is an access to go down, but it's literally large rocks and a long steep incline.... We did it, and it was fun, but it's not for everyone.

The house was beautifully designed, with separate entrances so that two families traveling together can each have their own space. The beds were comfortable. Despite a heat wave, we were mostly comfortable with the ceiling fans.

The pool and jacuzzi were clean, and nice.

The bad: the kitchen lacked some basic essentials (I've got a nice burn scar to remind me of the lack of oven mitts, for example). Not enough wine glasses. Only enough plates for a good meal, so we had to run the dishwasher plenty. And the dishwasher---old and decrepit, with rusty missing dividers, clogged with broken glass and foodstuff. All this made me think that the owner was cutting costs. For a unit this beautiful and pricey, I would have expected a bit more attention to these sorts of details.

In order to use the washer and dryer on-site, they charged $35 extra! Again, reeks of nickel-and-diming.....For a unit of this caliber, this is ridiculous....please, open the washer room to the tenants; we can bring our own soap so there's a savings for you already....

The ugly: My dear friend in the top unit had rats in her unit. (See her review). I was disappointed with the attitude of the manager.... It was not "yikes, let's help you out with that right away..." It was more "Oh yeah, rats again....I'll come by when I can and leave a trap..... ". She literally wrote my friend a text the following morning "Why are you afraid to leave your rooms?" She arrived much later to discover the still-alive rat in the trap, and seemed put out that she had to deal with it.

I wondered about this manager when my pre-visit emails weren't answered.... She is a be-flipflopped girl barely out of her teens (if you're older, take that as a compliment), and has a laid-back island mentality; a compliment if you live there, but not necessarily an attitude that inspires confidence in us mainlanders who are used to quality service when we rent a unit such as this. "It's my day off. Only contact me if it's an emergency... " Me, I am generally flexible and non-demanding, which meshed well in this circumstance. But alas, for my friend with the rat problem, not so much.

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha! This is Corinna, the new property manager at Lani Paradise. I am sorry I did not have the pleasure of meeting you. I am now on site Monday - Friday and here to help make your vacation extra special. If a guest feels the unit is missing something or needs immediate attention I am here here to help! Lani Paradise is located on the edge of the ocean and and surrounded by tropical vegetation. Both are very scenic and make our property very special. However the beach and tropical landscape are home to much wild life and many pests. It is a constant battle to keep them out of our home. We do regular pesticide maintenance and constant screen and landscape maintenance to help keep them outside. They are a part of our surrounding we have no real control of. It really helps if our guests keep the screen doors closed, but while on vacation people want that awesome ocean view that we have and leave the doors and screen doors open. Of course our pesky neighbors are going to let them selves in. Other factors such as weather also brings those unwanted guests searching for shelter…. Here at Lani Paradise, we pride our selves on the beauty and upkeep of our charming and rustic ocean front property.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Dayton, OH
4

Great Location - Enjoy Paradise

  • 4 of 5

We wanted a fall getaway from the Midwest, and this was the perfect fit. The view to the ocean is fabulous, but you will have to walk a bit to get to a safe place to access the beach or play in the ocean.

It was clean and although a bit "rustic" - worked for an island getaway. Certainly not a high-end hotel feel, but generally clean.

We would very much recommend this Paia as your destination if you don't need the touristy action all the time. It's a convenient drive to a lot of great day trips including Makawao, Kihei, and Lahaina. Is you like snorkeling, don't miss Pacific Whale Foundation's trip. We rented bikes for the week, and you have to be a pretty fearless biker, but it's worth it! The hills and lack of dedicated trails (seriously - you are essentially on a highway shoulder) are a big challenge, but the tradewinds make a ride nice and it helps with quick and easy access to Paia center of town.

Specifically about the house's location: The driveway is on a main road where people do go pretty quickly, but once you're in the lot, the house itself is back from the road and feels private. Renting the full complex would be great for a large group, but we were just in part of it and sometimes felt in close quarters to our neighbors in the other units on property. The pool is small, but relaxing and a great perk. And you're close enough to Paia for quick lunches and dinners and great restaurants if you don't feel like cooking.

For the challenges of the location (water, bugs, general tropic environment, etc) they seems to do it right. It was far from glamorous, but we would stay again. Thanks to all!

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
West Chester, PA
1

Deceptive Description Of Property

  • 1 of 5

April 8, 2014

Generally I do not complain or post negative comments on rental properties I lease. My wife and I have been taking five week "beach" vacations the past six years. All over the world. I understand that owners can’t control weather, insects, pests, noisy neighbors, etc. However, they do have control over quality standards of the units they rent and their outside property. We rented 30 nights from Lani Paradise during February 2014. The unit was advertised as an EXCLUSIVE, LUXURY, PENTHOUSE. In reality, it’s a “rustic”, rather tired, two bedroom, 2nd floor, apartment. The outside can be described the same. It appears the owner is only investing minimal and charging top dollar before they sell these four units. Just my guess, I have no proof. Furniture appears purchased separately at garage sales. The interior and exterior needs a fresh coat of paint/sealant; both walls and floors. The tile grout on the outdoor pool is dirty and in some areas missing. It needs a good power washing. The outdoor cushions had holes in them, well worn, and not inviting to lie on. Furniture in web site photos is not the same as in the apartment. Living room, lanai, bedrooms are not “top quality” as advertised. Lighting throughout is poor. There is nowhere to sit and comfortably read, only in bedroom while lying down. Wi-Fi speeds are extremely slow. Here are problems we encountered. The dish washer leaked. Clothes dryer didn’t work for the last two weeks. Sliding doors had sagging screens with holes that needed to be repaired. Screen door came off the track and needs to be replaced. Interior master bedroom sliding closet doors were broken and difficult to use. Window crank handles in dining area were broken. Ceiling fan in kitchen made loud noises on higher speeds. Ice maker didn’t make ice. Hair dryer was missing. Jetted tub in bathroom does not operate. Cabinet door below sink needs to be repaired (hinge). Direct TV was out three times. Walking to the beach means walking on the side of a very busy highway. Finally, getting in and out of the parking lot onto a very busy road is extremely dangerous. There are large concave mirrors that one must use when exiting. I took photos of the defects I mentioned. We left the rental three days early on March 3rd. I had to write owner on March 16th to request return on my security deposit. I have the feeling if I didn't contact him, he wouldn't have sent me my deposit, which he processed on March17th.

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: They say you can make most of the people happy most of the time but you can never make all of the people happy all of the time. I'm sorry you were not happy in paradise but we did our best to make you and your wife feel very comfortable here. We delivered everything that was promised on the website and more. In some ways I agree about what you said about the fact that there is a rustic character to the property but that is part of the unique north shore rustic island style which is why most visitors love it here. The North shore is a place for people who can appreciate and enjoy the ocean and natural environment here and if you could not appreciate this amazing waterfront property maybe this is just not the right place for you. In regards to the "highway"-I think you exaggerated a bit: it's a road which goes around the island and there is only 1 lane in each direction-not really a highway at all. The things you mentioned have been addressed and repairs have been made where necessary. Our property has 4 high speed wireless internet networks with high power routers in each unit. If you had told us you were having problems with the network connection we would have helped you band recommended that you connect to one of the other networks in the meantime. The issue has been resolved by our internet service provider and the connection is back to top speed. Thank you John.
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0
5

Oceanfront Heaven

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic time. The view was outstanding and seemed to change each day with the weather. The property was everything we had hoped for and more.

  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
rumson nj
5

Lani Paradise

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I have stayed at many seaside houses and condos over 45 together.. But we both agreed that this was one of the best! The view is absolutely gorgeous and the condo itself was beautifully decorated and spotless when we arrived. The beds are great and tastefully done. We couldn't have been more pleased. We are considering booking it for a few weeks next year! Mary Jane and Rick Kroon, Rumson, NJ

  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review! We are very pleased our property and facilities were to your liking. We do our best to maintain a top quality accommodation for our guests. We'd love to see you again next year!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1

Map

Nearest Airport
7.8 Miles
OGG - Kahului Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.7 Miles
Charley's Paia
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Maui Lani
Nearest Restaurant
0.7 Miles
Mamaʻs Fish House
Nearest Beach
0.09 Miles
Tavares Bay Beach
Car: recommended

Experience Maui - less than30 feet from the water's edge!!!

This rustic oceanfront 4 bedroom, two story Villa overlooking Mauiʻs North Shore coastline has a million dollar view! It doesnʻt get any better than this.

Located just out side of Historical Paia Town -

Pāʻia (pah-ee-ah),

once best known for being the last stop on the way to the Road to Hana — is now generally regarded as the hippest place on the Valley Isle.

Paradise truly awaits you at fabulous oceanfront Lani Paradise home!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kuau Villa Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
SUMMER SPECIAL!
Jul 15 2016 - Aug 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
$699
 
 
Last minute special
Aug 5 2016 - Aug 7 2016
3 night minimum stay
$1,650
Flat fee
 
 
Holiday November
Nov 19 2016 - Nov 27 2016
5 night minimum stay
$1,199
 
 
Holiday December
Dec 16 2016 - Jan 15 2017
5 night minimum stay
$1,299
 
 
Whale Season
Jan 16 2017 - Feb 28 2017
3 night minimum stay
$999
 
 
SPRING
Mar 1 2017 - Apr 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
$899
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$799
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $250 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 13.42%

House Rules
1.Cancellation fees: A $500.00 cancelation fee will be charged if 30 days notice or more is given. If the reservation is cancelled with less than 1 month notice -50% cancellation fee. If the reservation is cancelled with less than one week notice, no refunds.
2. Maximum occupancy 8. Any number over this must be approved by Landlord at the time the reservation is made.
3. Check-in time is 4:00pm. Check-out time is 11am. Extended check-in or out times can be arranged upon request if available.
4. All rents are paid in full before or at the time of booking.
5. Quiet hour begins at 9 p.m. - TVs, Music and other loud noises to be reduced and or stopped at that time. No Parties.
6. No Smoking in the house. Outside smoking only.
7. If Tenant(s) is planning a gathering with guests other than those renting the home, Tenant(s) need to get Landlord approval 24 hours in advance and disclose how many people will be attending.
8. Tenant(s) agrees to be responsible for all guests at all times.
9. The premises are to be used only as a private vacation residence for Tenant(s). Tenant will provide Landlord with a complete list of all occupants of premises. Tenant will not allow occupancy in excess of that agreed upon herein.
10. The Tenants and Tenants' Guests shall hereby indemnify and hold harmless the Landlord against any and all claims of personal injury or property damage or loss arising from use of the premises regardless of the nature of the accident, injury or loss. Tenants expressly recognize that any insurance for property damage or loss which the Landlord may maintain on the property does not cover the personal property of Tenants, and that Tenants should purchase their own insurance for Tenants and Guests if such coverage is desired.
11. Landlord provides basic household supplies, dishes, utensils, etc. and a starter of items such as dish soap, paper towels, toilet paper etc.
12. Guests(s) to provide all personal toiletries.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Maui Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Rural ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • One Bathroom - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom #1 - 1 king , Flat Screen TV, Sliding double glass door to deck
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king , Exit through sliding door to private tropical garden
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , Exit through sliding glass door to tropical garden
    Bedroom #2 - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • smoking allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Please acknowledge that Lani Paradise is an open air type villa on an oceanfront property on a tropical island and while staying here you will be very close to the nature of the Maui. There are insects, mosquitoes, spiders, cockroaches, geckos and other critters existing all around us. We try our best to keep them living outdoors not indoors so be mindful and keep screens closed at all times and food wrapped/sealed and put away. MAHALO

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties