Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

2 bedroom Oceanfront Cottage on acreage, Halfmoon Bay Pet friendly

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,000 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


About the property

Entire House, 2 Bedrooms, pullout queen,1 Bath, (Sleeps 8)

Destiny Getaways has both a 1 bedroom carriage house and a 2 bedroom cottage that we rent. Our rural waterfront property located in the heart of Secret Cove, Halfmoon Bay BC. Located 20 minutes north of Sechelt in the Secret Cove district. The property is unique in that we host a wetland and a wetland recovery area with many birds, ducks and geese, forested acreage and open low and high bank oceanfront. Tucked into a little cove, we have named Longhouse Bay, we lay protected from the storms. The little bay is a beautiful swim area in the summer. Most of our entertaining and living area is located along the waterfront, Willis creating a beautiful flow. A little BC history still remains and you can see the old boom anchors along the shoreline that take us back to an earlier era. This unique property has historical value of the post-depression era and the original 2 bedroom cottage; still maintains the central 400 square foot depression cabin easily outlined with its curved ceilings; now fully renovated and modernly decorated, but in its’ day, if you were unemployed, you and your family would be sent to a work camp and be given a home for your family to live in. Small 400 square foot cottages dotted this 1 mile stretch of coastline but very few remaining today. You will enjoy this historical cottage, fully restored into a beautiful 2 bedroom home that we lived in for 18 years.

Our expansion added the master bedroom, featuring vaulted cedar ceilings, double mirrored closets and cedar lined closets and small built in entertainment center. a latticed garden seating area with large sliding doors that access the Longhouse (common area) and other outdoor areas. The 2nd bedroom features double sized bunk beds, with separate entrance and garden views.

A bright modern central bathroom features full tiled glass shower, and two piece bath, skylight and lots of storage.

The kitchen area, part of the main depression cottage, now fully renovated in bright white cabinetry, and stocked with everything you will need for your vacation; if required, the longhouse holds additional kitchen items. In addition, your 2 bedroom cottage has a flat screen TV and cable with couch and love seat, featuring original art throughout the property, a desk, WIFI, and hardwood floors. The lower sun room has additional Queen pull-out; with semi-privacy curtains; coffee table and pine dining table and chairs for 6.

One of the most striking waterfront views on the coast, you can see the water from the kitchen dining and living areas. In all weather, you will enjoy the Longhouse, Decorated in comfy furniture that you can cuddle up in, lots or original art pieces and dining for 10.

This natural post and beam and glass area Expands and brings nature in. Build by Willis 2005 the trees came from our forest, we fell, hand peeled and timbered the posts, milled some for the beautiful ceiling creating a warm and inviting entertainment area. The Longhouse is a peaceful and unique place to spend your time, close to the water and in local eagle nesting grounds, watch the sea life out front. This central gathering area (common)joins the octagon deck with its massive outdoor fireplace, dining and lounge chairs, further to the left, the hot tub deck, AND path leading to our waterfront patio. Additional dining and lounge area attached to our seasonal dock. All common area that registered guests are able to enjoy with guest in our 1 bedroom carriage house. Our getaways can host up to 13 people.

Our property also has a Peat lake. Meaning it is filled with healthy micro-minerals that leave your skin silky. We have another deck and deck chairs here, along with a diving board and ladder. (Kayak rentals close by, lots of local hiking trails and two beautiful waterfront restaurants; (one seasonal); or have a personal chef called in for a special evening.

Both entrepreneur’s, Willis a builder and Adele was a restaurateur, Art gallery owner, now a human and Veterinary Homeopath. We enjoy our lifestyle on the Sunshine Coast, a place we chose to live long ago and still enjoy today.

Keywords: Modern west coast home, extensive decks, patio, hot tub, outdoor fireplace, Longhouse common area, and adventure hut.

More Details

Adele Anderson
Member since: 2012
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 24, 2018

About Adele Anderson

Adele and Willis Horst are both long-time residence of the Sunshine Coast. Willis was a contractor builder for the past 35 years and has constructed most of what you will enjoy at longhouse Bay Getaway. Willis also dabbled in acting and still has interest in the arts.

Adele has been an entrepreneur and has enjoyed success in the art, entertainment and health fields where she is a licensed Homeopathic practitioner. Adele currently operates a Property Management company and practices Human and Veterinary Homeopathy

Adele Anderson purchased this house in 1992

Why Adele Anderson chose Halfmoon Bay

Willis and Adele purchased the property in 1992 and have slowly developed the property over time.

What makes this house unique

The property is unique, as it is acreage on the waterfront, with a natural wetland area that we now have a beautiful lake!

The waterfront is developed as our living area. There are 2 homes; a one bedroom and a 2 bedroom home, build around the central gathering area, we call the Longhouse. Willis has constructed boardwalks and decks that join each other as they flow across the waterfront, including a lower patio that joins our dock. You can also launch a boat right from the property! There are many interesting and varied areas for guest to enjoy. You can always a quiet spot away from others or common area to engage with friends and other guests.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank-you for an amazing week. Our family thanks you for your kindness and generosity. We appreciate everything! We would consider ourselves lucky if we were able to come back again one day
Aug 2014
  • 1 of 22


Halfmoon Bay House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain View
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Rural ...
  • Village ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Fully tiled bathroom. Glass and tile shower with toilet and sink
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Other (See Description) - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen size pull-out in lower living room with curtain
    Bedroom 3 - 2 double , bunk beds
  • Queen size Bed (1) Master bedroom, 2 bedroom cottage, Sleep Sofa (1) in lower living room with curtain for semi-privacy, lovely leather look coffee table. Bunk Beds (1) second bedroom are Double sized, easily sleep 4 people in this comfortable room
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gazebo ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 4 bicycles
  • limited accessibility
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
Massage, sessions, Natural health consultations, Neuro-Linguistics programming for weight change, happiness recovery or personal growth. Vision quests and coaching sessions available. Most sessions can be in your accommodation or for family sessions, in our massive post and beam and glass common area, called the Longhouse, with full outdoor living and dining, dock, boat launch for summer guests. We have added a laundry room that guests may use, along with a toilet in this room for outdoor accessibility. We are much more than accommodation and many people visit for personalized retreats. Ask us more about our wellness offerings.


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

58% Complete
25% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
8% Complete
2 bedroom Oceanfront Cottage on acreage, Halfmoon Bay Pet friendly
average rating of 4.25 based on 34 reviews
Delta BC Canada

Lovely property perfect stay

  • 5 of 5

This was exactly what we were looking for, the two of us and our 20 something kids and our old dog. Lots of great hikes around the area, and an amazing restaurant though you don't need it, the kitchen is wonderfully stocked (not just your classic 4 wine glasses, 4 plates). Lots of pot, serving dishes, everything you need and a gas stove too. We hung out on the deck of the long house and on the dock a lot, and swam in the ocean. The reclaimed lake was very well appointed with a nice canoe, deck chairs, diving board and patio; not my cup of tea for swimming, but great for a little toodle around in the canoe. Lots of quiet time for us to play board games and cards at night. There were a few other guests but not intrusive at all. The garden is lovely and natural and well kept. There is some construction happening on the other side of the property that I was nervous about but no need. All was quiet and great. Adele is a good host.

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank-you for the lovely review Kimberly. It was lovely to have you and your family here and enjoy the cottage. We appreciate you taking the time to write. Enjoy the rest of summer. kind regards Adele and Willis
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A perfect place to decompress

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed the peace and tranquility of this lovely location.

  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks J, hope to have you stay again. Enjoy the spring! Adele
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fantastic place to stay with a gorgeous view!

  • 4 of 5

My husband and I stayed 2 nights in the 2 bedroom cottage and enjoyed the nice relaxing atmosphere. Lots of room on the property to explore. We were lucky in that we had the whole thing to ourselves! Hot tub, relaxing on the huge deck overlooking the ocean in the front, hanging out at their own lake at the back. We could have taken advantage of the canoe if the weather was better and warmer, but our one full day was overcast and chilly. There is some construction going on on the property, but hardly even noticeable. At night we played cards and listened to music in the longhouse that’s full of character. A Very welcoming place for us and our dog! Thank you so much Adele and Willis for sharing your place with us.

😊� Christine & Steve Christine Christine Christine

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the lovely review Christine, Hoping to see you again. stay well Adele
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The pictures were very misleading, not at all what we thought when we got there.

  • 1 of 5

Still very much a construction zone. We had to sweep the floor upon getting there, before moving our stuff in, as the floors were so dirty, even took pictures as we couldn't believe how much dirt we got off the floor in just the dining room area alone. The decor was dark, dingy, and very 70's mismatched style. It was very poorly decorated, not relaxing at all.

We are used to well water, however, we could not believe the stench that came from the water, it was truly gross. There was a water filter to help with the drinking water, but we didn't even want to shower the well water had smelled SO bad, it made us gag. There were no lights going down to the hottub as well as no lights down there. Quite dangerous actually and not very good to actually have a conversation as you could barely see each other, we had to ask for a flashlight to walk down there in the evenings. In the four days we were there we had three burnt out light bulbs, ( two of which we had to change ourselves ).

Talking to the other couple that was staying there at the time, she said their unit was "way" better as it was a newer unit. She had looked at ours before we got there and she was surprised how "dark and dingy" it was.

Adele had go away while we were there for a couple of nights and Will had gone somewhere for the night, so whoever was "housesitting" was no where to be seen. Had it booked for 8 days, left after 4. Leaving us very stressed to find another place in peek season.

Adele was quick in getting us a refund for the four days we didn't stay. However, we had to clean "everything" before we left, leaving it in better shape then when we got there, and still got charged the cleaning fee. Also, an additional fee of 154.00 that we have no idea what that was for.

Lastly we had the blinds pulled all the time as there was ZERO amount of privacy for our unit.

The only thing that was absolutely gorgeous was the view of the ocean and being able to sit out on the deck at night to watch the stars. However, when you are booking what you "think" is going to be a beautiful place to stay and you are that disappointed upon arrival, it's hard to enjoy that view. We did make the best of it and stayed as long as we could.

Won't return and won't recommend.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Regardless of all the exceptional guest reviews all year, this guest was unhappy. Willis and Joanne spoke on the forth day of their stay. I was returning that evening and immediately spoke with both him and her. However, after a conversation where I listened to all her complaints. I could tell that nothing was going to change and offered them an exit. During our conversation Joanne had informed me the neighboring resort had space, at the same price as our space. I said great but FYI: without kitchens, living, dining areas. But if they chose to stay there it's a short 2 minute drive. I offered to refund of the money for the remainder of their stay from the funds we received from VRBO. I explained less the VRBO fees and taxes. When I made Joanne the offer, she was taken back, and said that was very generous and unexpected. She thanked me. After our conversation I phoned VRBO. WHY? To ensure that nothing could go wrong or delay their refund. To clarify my position. We live on the property. We rent 2 spaces. Guests interact. And a unhappy guest disturbs the harmony we live by. The peace and enjoyment is utmost importance for all guests and ourselves. We are NOT absentee owners! We rent and are therefore surrounded by guests all year long! And 99.9% of the time, we enjoy each and every guest. Yes we do have well water and have used it for 25 years. Sulphur is a natural occurring mineral and the smell dissipates after 5 minutes in a glass. However when you are not used to the water there is a Sulphur smell at times. I remedy much of the odor by placing chlorine in the well each week. AND THERE IS A VERY GOOD WATER FILTRATION SYSTEM available for guests to use for both cooking and drinking. The entire front of the cottage is glass that faces the ocean. The side wall boasts another window above the light tan pullout couch. Another slider in the upper living area. With white leather furniture. There is both a window and a skylight in butter and white kitchen, plus another skylight in bathroom and sliders in both bedrooms. As far as the supposed dirt, I personally vacuumed and wet mopped the floors prior to every guest arrival, and so can not explain the so called dirt that was mentioned. A couple hours after we spoke they confirmed they had found a place. I processed the promised refund. In closing, we try our best to ensure that everyone enjoys the accommodation and stay. I believe this is reflected with our overall rating even after this 1*. Stay well.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

One could not ask for a better setting!

  • 5 of 5

One could not ask for a more fabulous setting. The lake was perfect for daily swimming with kids followed by relaxation in the hot tub with an amazing view of the ocean. The house was spacious even with 8 people and we made use of the longhouse for dinners. There were several lovely places to read including the deck which overlooked the ocean. A walk to the nearby island was a fun outing. There is a general store about 10 minutes away that has basic items with an ice cream store next door.

A perfect vacation with kids.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review. We truly love when guests enjoy our property as much as we do. Hope to see you and your lovely family again. stay well Adele
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great people and a great location

  • 5 of 5

We spent 4 amazing days (3 nights) at this Oceanfront Cottage. We were not sure what to expect and we were pleasantly surprised. Yes, the entrance is a little bit of a construction zone but the ocean view, the private lake, the gardens and the cottage more then make up for it. The views from the cliffs are amazing - in any time of the day. We enjoyed morning and evening walks on the beach - exploring the near by island and the shore.

Willis and Adele are very friendly hosts and made sure we all felt very welcomed. The cottage is rustic and just fits perfectly with the surroundings. Originally we thought we would only spent nights at the cottage and do trips around during the day but the place had such a relaxing vibe that we spent one whole day just soaking all the sun and the views - and we swam a lot in the lake and the ocean.

We would recommend this place to any family or someone who just wants to read and relax. The flower garden around the place is just lovely and the only thing you have to decide is where to sit and drink your coffee.

Thank you again for making our Sunshine trip the perfect family getaway! Hopefully we will be able to come back again next year :)

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review Matthew. We enjoyed your family very much. And we always love when families embrace the lake as Willis "had a dream". Hope to have you stay with us again. Until then stay well. Adele and Willis
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
12 Miles
Nearest Barpub
14 Miles
Nearest Ferry
40 Miles
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Nearest Motorway
0.01 Miles
hwy 101
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Nearest Ski
20 Miles
Dacota Rodge cross country

Any water spot is accessible from the property.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $46.78 + Tax
Pet Fee $19.49 + Tax
Tax Rate 5.0%

The Kitchen must be cleaned at the end of stay. Dishes in dishwasher, pots and pans cleaned and placed into cupboards.
Surfaces cleaned. stove and oven surfaces cleaned, garbage into trash bin and recycling placed into recycle area. If these items are left, a $40 per hour cleaning fee will be charged for the additional cleaning time required.

If Propane BBQ is left on charges will apply.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties