check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Kate

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english

Unique 1, 2, 4 or 6 bedroom private home w/POOL just steps from the beach

38 Reviews
Sleeps19
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms5
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Laguna Beach Estates House Rental Photos and Description

House, 6 Bedrooms + Sunroom, 5 Baths, (Sleeps 2-19)

THIS IS A BEAUTIFUL AND UNIQUE RENTAL HOME that sits directly across the street from one of the world's most gorgeous beaches. You can walk to the beach in less than one minute utilizing either of the 2 boardwalk access points 79 or 80 across the street. You will be right on the quiet west end of Panama City Beach on Front Beach Road and the landscaping will make you feel like you’re on a tropical island. This unique home features the main house which has 2 two-bedroom apartments that can either connect together by a spiral stairway in the first entrance or be closed off from each other. There are also two very nice efficiency apartments. The top efficiency connects to the main house by a balcony and the second efficiency is below the top one and opens up into the pool area. These apartments can be rented seperatly during off seasons or combined to make 1 great 6 bedroom 5 bath home. It's like having your own little family resort.The nicely furnished main house has the two 2 bedroom apartments. The upstairs apartment has two bedrooms / two baths. The bedrooms both have king sized beds and walk in closets. There is a queen size sleeper sofa in the living room and six can sleep comfortably. The full kitchen seats six and includes a dishwasher and opens up into the living room. The balcony runs the length along both the living room and master bedroom, both of which have partial ocean views. The main house also features a connecting spiral stairway that is in the first entrance and leads to an additional lovely 2 bedroom / 1 bath apartments first entrance downstairs. The downstairs apartment features a full kitchen with dishwasher as well that opens up into the living room. The bedrooms have a queen bed in one and a twin over double bunk in the other. This apartment also has an additional sun room that is in the front of the home and includes a sleeper sofa. There is also a sleeper sofa in the living room so 9 can sleep comfortably. Partial ocean views can also be seen from the connecting top balcony that leads to the upstairs efficiency apartment from the upstairs 2 bedroom apartment. The efficiency apartments each feature a queen sized bed, a full-sized kitchen with dishwasher and a full-sized bath. The second efficiency apartment below the top one opens out onto the pool deck and the bed in that apartment is a Murphy Bed that can be left open or closed into the wall. A stackable washer and dryer are on ground floor by the pool and there is also an outside shower in back of the home where there is additional parking as well. Enjoy a cookout by the private tropical pool after a hard day at the beach. Enjoy this quiet side of Panama City Beach or drive 4 miles to Pier Park and enjoy the many attractions that Panama City Beach has to offer. This unique home is perfect for large family getaways while affording single family vacationers complete privacy.

Keywords: affordable, beach, family, reunion, laguna, dog friendly, west end, quiet, pool, front beach, blue house, kid friendly, tropical, sunset, ocean, gulf

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Kate (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english

Why Kate chose Laguna Beach

We had visited our Dad in Panama City Beach for the Thanksgiving Holiday. As we were sitting on the beach, it dawned on us that we were in one of the most beautiful places on earth. We are definate beach-people and most of our past vacations, have been spent in tropical destinations. There is nowhere that we have found that has sand that squeaks beneath our feet, perfect water, and a fun town like Panama City Beach. It took all but an instant for us to realize that this is where we wanted to retire.

What makes this house unique

Our beach house is very unique because it sits right on Front Beach Road, on the quiet West End, and includes a tropical swimming pool. It is also unique because it has differing units that combine to make up one amazing home. An example being an interior connecting stairway that affords families the ability to have a fantastic vacation together, while still affording them a healthy amount of privacy.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a professional woman staying in the downstairs studio full time. While the majority of my guests liked her very much, I did have two guests that felt uncomfortable with that arrangement. She has since found a different place to live and is no longer on the premises. We also will be updating our televisions in August of 2012 when there is an opening in order to cause the least amount of disruption to our guests.
Jul 2012
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.4
based on 38 traveler reviews

Unique 1, 2, 4 or 6 bedroom private home w/POOL just steps from the beach
average rating of 4.394737 based on 39 reviews
5

A great family place

  • 5 of 5

The Blue House is a great family place. We were a family of 17 and 6 of those little kids. The pool is a total life saver and there is enough space for everyone to have some private time . It's close to everything restaurants & shopping. It is so great to have each apartment with it's own kitchen! It is easy to get back and forth to one another and the pool area is a great place to congregate. Across the street from the beach is a super nice touch!! If your looking for a place where families can have private space and get together the Blue House is your place!!!! You can call it home away from home!!

Thanks Blue House for a wonderful vacation!!

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Michael it was great to have you and I am so glad that everyone enjoyed themselves. Nothing could make me happier than hearing that you felt comfortable enough to call the blue house a ”home away from home.” I love being able to walk back and forth to the beach so easily as well and the boardwalks are also a real plus. Most of the places have long hikes over the dunes down to the beach and I think that where we are located is probably the easiest access onto the beach than anywhere else along Front Beach Road. Having 4 kitchens has been a life saver for many of my guests as well. With family members coming in and going out at different times as well as waking up or going to sleep at different times one can be brewing a pot of coffee while the other group is making margaritas lol.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Nice property, great beach!

  • 3 of 5

We had had our family reunion for one week starting June 11th. Our family members came from 4 different states and we had a very good time.

When making the reservation and the entire process leading up to our vacation, Kate was great to work with. Very quick to respond.

I really wanted to leave a review with everything being positive, however it isn't possible.

PROS:

-Great sized property, a lot of space for all the cars.

-The little suites were cute and perfect for couples.

-The pool was great (while it was clean) and the kids loved it!

-Little grocery store close by.

-Beach was across the street but you had to walk down and across.

-New(er) flat screen TVs inside the bedrooms and some living areas.

-A/C's kept everything nice and cool

-In the back of the house is a storage area with beach umbrellas, chairs and beach toys for the kids

CONS:

-Floor was not swept when we came in, it was covered in sand and the welcome mats outside leave a lot of debris for you to track in, this was every section of the house.

In downstairs apartment:

-Couch was old and outdated and stained from just general use.

-Mattress was very old, but had a new pillow top on it. Bed made a LOT of squeaking and noise when moving around.

-Washer was a little stinky, we had to run the washer once before using it on clothes. Either the washer or dryer left little stains ON our clothes occasionally.

-Sheets had stains, but when washed no more stains.

-In the main house upstairs and downstairs kitchens had pots and pans that could not be used due to the burnt condition they were in.

-dust bunnies under beds and in corners....in upstairs bedroom main house floor in corners were dusty and had a lot of debris

-underwear and sock in upstairs bedroom under bed....upstairs apartment had underwear and condoms in drawers

-It rained at least 3 times and the pool became too dirty to swim in. We made a request to have it cleaned but no one came. So we had a day and half that we couldn't use the pool and we had children that loved being in the pool

I did contact Kate upon our return and she was quick to respond.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I received this pro and con list OVER A MONTH after this guest left. She sent it to me “before I leave a review”. Why would someone do that do you think? It was originally much worse and I was appalled as it seemed that this family had stayed in an inner city slum rather than a beautiful home at the beach. Never in my life would I stay in the place that she described. As was stated by the guest herself I am always very fast to respond to my guests. It would be crazy for me to not want to have everything nice for every guest. The guest NEVER called during her stay. She reported nothing including a problem with the pool or any other problem for that matter. In her list she was upset over the tiniest things. A closet door hit a water tank, they had to walk over dunes (on a boardwalk), a condom in a drawer (still in foil mind you). We didn’t charge her for that by the way. No other guest has ever reported a problem with the washer/dryer before or since. They are two years old. If the sheets had spots on them that must have passed by both the laundry service AND the cleaning crew both. Since this guest stayed here we have increased pool cleanings as well as the # of our cleaning crew but I have serious doubts on the validity of much of what has been said here
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Absolutely love the house!

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time at the Blue house. It has had alot of up grade since our last stay. The weather got bad on Tuesday and the rain over flowed the pool and it had alot of debris in it from the pool deck area. I called Mrs. Kate and the pool guy was out the next morning. The kids loved having the pool to swim in. We will be staying there again.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I would love to have you come again Regina. It makes me very happy that 40% of my guests are returning guests. Please come again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great Family Beach Home!

  • 4 of 5

We had a wonderful week at the Blue House! This is awesome home for multiple families to stay! It was beachy and comfy. Love the tile floors and new beds were soooo comfortable! The beach was a 2 minute walk and easy to come and go from! It sits next to a Christian retreat center which was busy, but very quite. The only reason I'm removing a star was for the cleaning crew which was mediocre. The place needed a good dusting, the pool had a lot of sand on the bottom and the garbage cans were overflowing so we had no place to put our garbage the first 3 days. There were some other minor cleaning issues but I'm not nit picky so I won't go into those. This did not damper our stay but the owner should know that the cleaning crew is not stellar. We would definitely stay again! The Blue house was great and fits all our needs!

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Meghan, Upon hearing your review my cleaners asked for more details as they truly want to do a great job. That said, there is absolutely no excuse for dust to be in this rental home. We have hired an additional cleaner to join our staff in order to cover anything that may be missed by our regular cleaners. Our trash service comes twice a week and we have two large receptacles. Twice what most properties have. I ask guests to utilize the Thursday morning trash pick-up since there is always more trash at check-out than one might think. Some do it and some don’t. Large heavy duty bags can be used in place of the receptacles if need be. The pool is cleaned every Saturday morning before check in. My pool man sends me pictures of the pool since we have received several complaints over the years. I also have my cleaning staff report to me on the condition of the pool as well as my handyman who does a walk through every Saturday morning. I could not understand why 3 different parties were reporting a pristine pool and then have guests that complained. We have found that guests are going to the beach before check in and then jumping into the pool before everyone is even out of the car at check in time. Sand on beach toys, bodies and bathing suits (especially in pockets) is then dispersed into the pool. We have an outside shower that many do not utilize. Tree debris may at time fall into the pool. Since your stay we have added Wednesdays for an additional pool cleaning making sure that cleanliness is at the highest level. I am glad that the Laguna Christian Retreat was quiet for you. They are generally fantastic neighbors. They own the two story building across the street from us and several properties to the East of us. (Much better that the 15 story condos don the road.) The majority of their guests sit to the east of us, leaving tons of room on our beach. I did have one guest in all these years that told me that they were "loud and everywhere". I wish that guest had told me while they were staying rather than later as I would have called the owner and put a stop to it. Every guest is entitled to quiet enjoyment of the beach and my property. I am so glad that you liked the new beds and the tiled floors. We did that this spring and every year we try to make it better than the year before. So thank you again Meghan for the feedback. We take your observations and recommendations seriously and are so glad that you loved the house.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice Location, House needs some work.

  • 4 of 5

We picked this house based on the reviews. Our experience was not at the level I had hoped. Some of the problems were out of their control and our experience with the local representative was excellent. She went above and beyond to help us with any issues.

My biggest complaint was the lock system. 4 doors 4 combinations made it impossible to move around the house without someone yelling "What's the code". The house is broken into 4 different rentals, that when needed become one. One code would be nice.

The pool was cloudy and had dirt in it all week. We had two rain storms at the beginning of the week, the pool sits at a point where all the dirt and sand just runs into the pool. We were promised the pool company would be out at least 3 times. He never showed.

Would I rent the house again? Yes, if you have a large group this is the place.

The location is perfect. Just a walk across the street and your at the beach. The pool has great shade in the afternoons.

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Ed, thank you for the review. We put in the keyless entries 3 years ago and everyone loves them. No more losing keys or waiting for someone to let you in or having to go somewhere else to pick up keys. They are also super secure because they are randomly chosen via computer and no two guests ever get the same code. Unfortunately we are not able to choose the codes due to computerized code setting. I am not sure why you had such a hard time of it. Posting the code next to the door when you are there would have been a simple fix and honestly most families prefer the added security. As for the pool neither me nor my property manager ever heard that the pool was dirty. No one promised (let alone three times) that my pool company would be out to clean the pool and I honestly find this disturbing to leave in a review because it just isn’t true. The pool sits in a tropical setting. Unfortunately we do get debris in the pool during heavy rains and had I heard of this problem I can assure you that I would have sent my pool guy. The only thing I heard of during your stay was that in the middle of the week the pull out couch mysteriously was missing some bolts. I sent out a handyman who fixed the problem. I really appreciate the 4 stars Ed and can’t help but feel that it could have been 5 stars had we heard anything about your discontent with the codes and the pool before this review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Loved it!!!

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful home and perfect location! Away from the crowds and the house is awesome!!!

  • Submitted: May 31, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so glad you loved it. We loved having you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Gulf World Marine Park
"Great place for the little ones and bigger ones alike"
Ripley's Believe It or Not!
"Great place to visit on a rainy day. So many cool things to see."
Wonderworks
"This place is great. Lie n a bed of nails, design and take a virtual ride on your own roller..."
Sharky's
"Great food, great drinks, lots of fun"
Walmart Supercenter
"Nice and clean, great prices, everything you need."
Zooworld
"This is an adorable little zoo. Very interactive, lots of shade for those hot days. "
Sweet Basils Bistro
"Excellent italian food and the best prices I have ever seen."
Hammerhead Fred's
"Some really good food. Fun place with a nice gift shop. Try the alligator."
Jin Jin 88
"Don't bother. Yuk!"
Airboat Adventures
"Our favorite place in PCB. Owners are a hoot. Airboat is a blast. Brackish water holds both ..."
Boars Head Restaurant & Tavern
"The best blackened prime rib we have ever tasted. Generous portions, beautiful decor. A litt..."
Salty Sue's
"The absolute best wings in the world. Also, try the shrimp Christo. Scrumptious food, owner ..."

Airboating, Imax, Gulfworld, Helicopter tours, Ebro Raceway, Dolphin Tours, Swim with Dolphins, Saint Andrews State Park, Racing Boats, Shell Island Tours, Ripleys Believe-it-or-Not, Wonderworks, Glass Bottom Boats, Sea Screamer, Festivals, Concerts, Pier Park

Photos

Rates & Availability

Laguna Beach Estates House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
fall
Aug 6 2016 - Oct 29 2016
3 night minimum stay
$345
$2,100
 
 
winter
Oct 30 2016 - Feb 25 2017
2 night minimum stay
$197
$1,200
 
 
Spring break
Feb 26 2017 - Apr 7 2017
3 night minimum stay
$411
$2,500
 
 
Spring
Apr 8 2017 - May 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
$345
$2,100
 
 
summer
May 27 2017 - Jun 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$509
$3,100
 
 
4th of july
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 7 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,300
 
 
summer
Jul 8 2017 - Aug 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$509
$3,100
 
 
late summer
Aug 5 2017 - Oct 27 2017
3 night minimum stay
$345
$2,100
 
 
winter
Oct 28 2017 - Feb 23 2018
2 night minimum stay
$197
$1,200
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$350
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $10 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $400
cleaning $300 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.5%

300.00 + "service fee" to hold reservation. 50% of remaining fee due 60 days prior to check in and 50% + damage deposit due 30 days prior to check in. VRBO/Home away is not equipped to break up payments into multiple smaller payments automatically. Please call owner if you would like this option. Weekly rates are Sat. to Sat. Additional days are priced at daily rate. Broken weeks are subject to daily rate prices

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Laguna Beach Estates House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , on suite
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , 2nd upstairs 2 bedroom bathroom
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , downstairs 2 bedroom bathroom
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower , upstairs effiency bathroom
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , combination tub/shower , downstairs efficiency bathroom
  • 5
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 19
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , King bed, walk in closet, balcony, on suite bathroom
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , king bed, walk in closet
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Queen bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 bunk bed , twin over double bunk
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , queen sized bed
    Bedroom 6 - 1 queen , 1 murphy bed , Queen sized murphy bed
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (3), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (3), Bunk Beds (1) Twin over double
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Outside shower, 4 kitchens, indoor storage area, fenced -in yard, iron & board, TVs in every room, alarm clocks, ceiling fans, hair dryers, 2 boardwalk access points to beach right across the street, coffee maker, toaster, blender, interior connecting spiral stairway, walk-in closets, tropical landscaping, LOCATION-LOCATION-LOCATION

Partner Offers