check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Kate

Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Unique 1, 2, 4 or 6 bedroom private home w/POOL just steps from the beach

35 Reviews
Sleeps19
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms5
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Laguna Beach House Rental Photos and Description

House, 6 Bedrooms + Sunroom, 5 Baths, (Sleeps 2-19)

THIS IS A BEAUTIFUL AND UNIQUE RENTAL HOME that sits directly across the street from one of the world's most gorgeous beaches. You can walk to the beach in less than one minute utilizing either of the 2 boardwalk access points 79 or 80 across the street. You will be right on the quiet west end of Panama City Beach on Front Beach Road and the landscaping will make you feel like you’re on a tropical island. This unique home features the main house which has 2 two-bedroom apartments that can either connect together by a spiral stairway in the first entrance or be closed off from each other. There are also two very nice efficiency apartments. The top efficiency connects to the main house by a balcony and the second efficiency is below the top one and opens up into the pool area. These apartments can be rented seperatly during off seasons or combined to make 1 great 6 bedroom 5 bath home. It's like having your own little family resort.The nicely furnished main house has the two 2 bedroom apartments. The upstairs apartment has two bedrooms / two baths. The bedrooms both have king sized beds and walk in closets. There is a queen size sleeper sofa in the living room and six can sleep comfortably. The full kitchen seats six and includes a dishwasher and opens up into the living room. The balcony runs the length along both the living room and master bedroom, both of which have partial ocean views. The main house also features a connecting spiral stairway that is in the first entrance and leads to an additional lovely 2 bedroom / 1 bath apartments first entrance downstairs. The downstairs apartment features a full kitchen with dishwasher as well that opens up into the living room. The bedrooms have a queen bed in one and a twin over double bunk in the other. This apartment also has an additional sun room that is in the front of the home and includes a sleeper sofa. There is also a sleeper sofa in the living room so 9 can sleep comfortably. Partial ocean views can also be seen from the connecting top balcony that leads to the upstairs efficiency apartment from the upstairs 2 bedroom apartment. The efficiency apartments each feature a queen sized bed, a full-sized kitchen with dishwasher and a full-sized bath. The second efficiency apartment below the top one opens out onto the pool deck and the bed in that apartment is a Murphy Bed that can be left open or closed into the wall. A stackable washer and dryer are on ground floor by the pool and there is also an outside shower in back of the home where there is additional parking as well. Enjoy a cookout by the private tropical pool after a hard day at the beach. Enjoy this quiet side of Panama City Beach or drive 4 miles to Pier Park and enjoy the many attractions that Panama City Beach has to offer. This unique home is perfect for large family getaways while affording single family vacationers complete privacy. Please call owner to find out how to save $$$ on this rental.

Keywords: affordable, beach, family, reunion, laguna, dog friendly, west end, quiet, pool, front beach, blue house, kid friendly, tropical, sunset, ocean, gulf

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Kate (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Why Kate chose Laguna Beach

We had visited our Dad in Panama City Beach for the Thanksgiving Holiday. As we were sitting on the beach, it dawned on us that we were in one of the most beautiful places on earth. We are definate beach-people and most of our past vacations, have been spent in tropical destinations. There is nowhere that we have found that has sand that squeaks beneath our feet, perfect water, and a fun town like Panama City Beach. It took all but an instant for us to realize that this is where we wanted to retire.

What makes this house unique

Our beach house is very unique because it sits right on Front Beach Road, on the quiet West End, and includes a tropical swimming pool. It is also unique because it has differing units that combine to make up one amazing home. An example being an interior connecting stairway that affords families the ability to have a fantastic vacation together, while still affording them a healthy amount of privacy.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a professional woman staying in the downstairs studio full time. While the majority of my guests liked her very much, I did have two guests that felt uncomfortable with that arrangement. She has since found a different place to live and is no longer on the premises. We also will be updating our televisions in August of 2012 when there is an opening in order to cause the least amount of disruption to our guests.
Jul 2012
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.4
based on 35 traveler reviews

Unique 1, 2, 4 or 6 bedroom private home w/POOL just steps from the beach
average rating of 4.428571 based on 36 reviews
4

Great Family Beach Home!

  • 4 of 5

We had a wonderful week at the Blue House! This is awesome home for multiple families to stay! It was beachy and comfy. Love the tile floors and new beds were soooo comfortable! The beach was a 2 minute walk and easy to come and go from! It sits next to a Christian retreat center which was busy, but very quite. The only reason I'm removing a star was for the cleaning crew which was mediocre. The place needed a good dusting, the pool had a lot of sand on the bottom and the garbage cans were overflowing so we had no place to put our garbage the first 3 days. There were some other minor cleaning issues but I'm not nit picky so I won't go into those. This did not damper our stay but the owner should know that the cleaning crew is not stellar. We would definitely stay again! The Blue house was great and fits all our needs!

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Meghan, I always appreciate the opportunity for better understanding of my home for future guests that reviews provide. Upon hearing your review my cleaners asked for more details as they truly want to do a great job. That said, there is absolutely no excuse for dust to be in this rental home. We have hired an additional cleaner to join our staff in order to cover anything that may be missed by our regular cleaners. Our trash service comes twice a week and we have two large receptacles. Twice what most properties have. I specifically ask guests to utilize the Thursday morning trash pick-up since there is always more trash at check-out than one might think. Some do it and some don’t. Large heavy duty bags can be used in place of the receptacles if need be. The pool is cleaned every Saturday morning before check in. My pool man sends me pictures of the pool since we have received several complaints over the years. I also have my cleaning staff report to me on the condition of the pool as well as my handyman who does a walk through every Saturday morning. I could not understand why 3 different parties were reporting a pristine pool and then have guests that complained. We have found that guests are going to the beach before check in and then jumping into the pool before everyone is even out of the car at check in time. Sand on beach toys, bodies and bathing suits (especially in pockets) is then dispersed into the pool. We have an outside shower that many do not utilize. Tree debris may at times fall into the pool during the week. The trees have been cut back and better reporting on the trees will be done. I am glad that the Laguna Christian Retreat was quiet for you. They are generally fantastic neighbors. They own the two story building across the street from us and several properties to the East of us. The majority of their guests sit to the east of us, leaving tons of room on our beach. I did have one guest in all these years that told me that they were loud. I wish that guest had told me while they were staying rather than later as I would have called the owner and put a stop to it. Every guest is entitled to quiet enjoyment of the beach and my property. I am so glad that you liked the new beds and the tiled floors. We did that this spring and every year we try to make it better than the year before. So thank you again Meghan for the feedback. We take your observations and recommendations seriously and are so glad that you loved the house.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice Location, House needs some work.

  • 4 of 5

We picked this house based on the reviews. Our experience was not at the level I had hoped. Some of the problems were out of their control and our experience with the local representative was excellent. She went above and beyond to help us with any issues.

My biggest complaint was the lock system. 4 doors 4 combinations made it impossible to move around the house without someone yelling "What's the code". The house is broken into 4 different rentals, that when needed become one. One code would be nice.

The pool was cloudy and had dirt in it all week. We had two rain storms at the beginning of the week, the pool sits at a point where all the dirt and sand just runs into the pool. We were promised the pool company would be out at least 3 times. He never showed.

Would I rent the house again? Yes, if you have a large group this is the place.

The location is perfect. Just a walk across the street and your at the beach. The pool has great shade in the afternoons.

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Ed, thank you for the review. We put in the keyless entries 3 years ago and everyone loves them. No more losing keys or waiting for someone to let you in or having to go somewhere else to pick up keys. They are also super secure because they are randomly chosen via computer and no two guests ever get the same code. Unfortunately we are not able to choose the codes due to computerized code setting. I am not sure why you had such a hard time of it. Posting the code next to the door when you are there would have been a simple fix and honestly most families prefer the added security. As for the pool neither me nor my property manager ever heard that the pool was dirty. No one promised (let alone three times) that my pool company would be out to clean the pool and I honestly find this disturbing to leave in a review because it just isn’t true. The pool sits in a tropical setting. Unfortunately we do get debris in the pool during heavy rains and had I heard of this problem I can assure you that I would have sent my pool guy. The only thing I heard of during your stay was that in the middle of the week the pull out couch mysteriously was missing some bolts. I sent out a handyman who fixed the problem. I really appreciate the 4 stars Ed and can’t help but feel that it could have been 5 stars had we heard anything about your discontent with the codes and the pool before this review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Loved it!!!

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful home and perfect location! Away from the crowds and the house is awesome!!!

  • Submitted: May 31, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so glad you loved it. We loved having you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

love the blue house!

  • 5 of 5

We had a group going down 4 Thunder Beach motorcycle rally. Most of the group were coupled off but a few were not! This was a great place to stay to have your privacy but then yet to be able to have group together also. We cooked out and ate together but was allowed to sleep in private. Wonderful wonderful stay nice clean house with a nice swimming pool!!!

The only thing I would suggest adding would be more utensils for cooking without having to borrow from the other kitchens!

  • Submitted: May 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hey Mary Lou, Thank you for the nice review. It was great to have you and we definitely hope you come again. You left the place beautiful. I would love to take this opportunity to let you and others know that I have spent the last month here at the house overseeing many upgrades that are taking place. We have purchased several wonderful new beds that make me not want to go home, two more flat screens, replaced all of the stoves, painted all of the exterior and some of the interior, tiled all of the downstairs and most of the upstairs, re-plastered the pool, replaced the filter with a bigger one, and did some awesome new landscaping. We also added a shed for beach chairs and toys. Each kitchen has a coffee maker, microwave, blender, toaster, ladles, ice cream scoops, spatulas, tongs, can openers and pots and pans etc. All units have a hair dryer, iron, ironing board, broom and dustpan, and mop. We actually eliminated some of the kitchen ware and dishes due to an overabundance of stuff building up in the drawers and cabinets. Before I leave I will replace some of the things we eliminated so that there is more in each unit. Thanks again and Thunder Beach was fun. Such energy from all the bikes lol.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

The place was very nice and Kate gave good customer service.

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our three weeks staying in the upstairs efficiency. It was the right size for me and my rotating guests. It was clean and well maintained. It is located in a quiet area fairly close to a grocery store and the popular Thomas Donut and Snack Shop. I was having difficulty finding a place to stay last minute and that would also allow pets. Kate was kind enough to let us stay there while the main house was being updated. She is making some nice updates now and over the next few months to the property that people should really like.

  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Rita, Thank you so much for a nice review. I am really glad that we could accommodate you and your dogs. We put off painting the interior while you were there and thanks for your patience with the painting of the exterior. I am glad to report that all the new tiling is done and I'm hoping to have all the interior painting done before the summer. It was great to have you and I am so glad that we could "slip you in." lol
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Blue House

  • 2 of 5

Needs updated pictures on the site. There is a building in the way of any real view of the beach. Pictures make it appear you are only steps from the beach. In fact you are across the road from the beach. Unit very dirty with stains of unknown origin on the furniture. Appeared that no cleaning service had been there in quite some time. No bed linens and bedspreads balled up in the middle of the bed with stains on them. No towels. Pool dirty and one of the stoves had wires hanging down inside where you would be afraid to use it. Utensils looked like they came over on the Mayflower. Arrival was a nightmare with 10 people and no where to sleep. On the good side, when owner was contacted she refunded our money, but we had to find somewhere else to stay and our accommodations were not ideal. Owner promised to work on getting the problems taken care of. We had to split up and the whole reason we wanted the blue house was so we could all stay together. A disappointing time. If problems are taken care of, then would be an ok place to vacation, but don't expect luxury.

  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Brenda you are absolutely correct when you say that my home is not luxury. This home is a comfortable and pleasant family vacation home. We do not have white carpets for people to worry about staining and the cost is not high end either. It was absolutely horrific to me that my property management company had not had their cleaning crew show up for your stay. They were immediately fired for that. I am sure that it was a shock to come into a home that had not been cleaned. Unfortunately it was evening when you called and I was not able to get cleaners in there until the next morning which I did. I also gave you the number of a local person who could help you with a place to stay for the night at my expense until we could get my home ready. You were exceptionally angry and OPTED TO STAY wherever you went and not come back. I apologized as well for the fact that not all of the dishes match which you also complained about but please understand that there are 4 units to this house and people do move the plates from one unit to the next. We do updates on this home every winter. As we speak we are having new flooring installed, painting done both inside and out and cabinets refinished. If we were to update pictures for the site that’s the only change that folks would see. We are also replacing many of the beds this year. Last summer we spent well over 1500.00 on kitchenware alone so I’m sorry that you didn’t like my silverware choices but I guarantee that the 60% returning guest rate of this home does like it. We are directly across a 2 lane road from the beach which IS just steps from the beach and while our view is somewhat compromised by a building that is directly on the beach you still have ocean views from the balconies. Brenda, I did everything in my power to make up the fact that the cleaners didn't show for you. I had cleaners in less than 12 hours later, I found someone who could help you find a place to stay, I was willing to pay for your inconvenience. I gave you a 100% refund and I flew to Panama City Beach to hire new property managers. I felt absolutely horrible about what happened but I would suggest moving on now. We have a great management team and I have apologized a million times. I hope you can find some peace now. Kate
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Airboating, Imax, Gulfworld, Helicopter tours, Ebro Raceway, Dolphin Tours, Swim with Dolphins, Saint Andrews State Park, Racing Boats, Shell Island Tours, Ripleys Believe-it-or-Not, Wonderworks, Glass Bottom Boats, Sea Screamer, Festivals, Concerts, Pier Park

Photos

Rates & Availability

Laguna Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
fall
Aug 6 2016 - Oct 29 2016
3 night minimum stay
$345
$2,100
 
 
winter
Oct 30 2016 - Feb 25 2017
2 night minimum stay
$197
$1,200
 
 
Spring break
Feb 26 2017 - Apr 7 2017
3 night minimum stay
$411
$2,500
 
 
Spring
Apr 8 2017 - May 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
$345
$2,100
 
 
summer
May 27 2017 - Jun 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$509
$3,100
 
 
4th of july
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 7 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,300
 
 
summer
Jul 8 2017 - Aug 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$509
$3,100
 
 
late summer
Aug 5 2017 - Oct 27 2017
3 night minimum stay
$345
$2,100
 
 
winter
Oct 28 2017 - Feb 23 2018
2 night minimum stay
$197
$1,200
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$350
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $10 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $400
cleaning $300 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.5%

300.00 + "service fee" to hold reservation. 50% of remaining fee due 60 days prior to check in and 50% + damage deposit due 30 days prior to check in. VRBO/Home away is not equipped to break up payments into multiple smaller payments automatically. Please call owner if you would like this option. Weekly rates are Sat. to Sat. Additional days are priced at daily rate. Broken weeks are subject to daily rate prices

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Laguna Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , on suite
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , 2nd upstairs 2 bedroom bathroom
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , downstairs 2 bedroom bathroom
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower , upstairs effiency bathroom
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , combination tub/shower , downstairs efficiency bathroom
  • 5
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 19
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , King bed, walk in closet, balcony, on suite bathroom
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , king bed, walk in closet
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Queen bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 bunk bed , twin over double bunk
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , queen sized bed
    Bedroom 6 - 1 queen , 1 murphy bed , Queen sized murphy bed
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (3), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (3), Bunk Beds (1) Twin over double
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Outside shower, 4 kitchens, indoor storage area, fenced -in yard, iron & board, TVs in every room, alarm clocks, ceiling fans, hair dryers, 2 boardwalk access points to beach right across the street, coffee maker, toaster, blender, interior connecting spiral stairway, walk-in closets, tropical landscaping, LOCATION-LOCATION-LOCATION

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties