Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

5BR Cloudcroft Home w/Wraparound Deck & Gas Grill

Bedrooms 5
Space 2,400 sq. ft.
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights


About the property

Cloudcroft, New Mexico

If you're searching for a peaceful alpine getaway, complete with wonderfully comfortable accommodations and an abundance of luxurious, resort-like amenities, this lovely Santa Fe style Cloudcroft vacation rental townhome, called "Sleepy Bear Townhouse," is just the place for you! With 5 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms and enough sleeping arrangements for 13 guests, this spacious 2,400 square-foot abode is perfect for a large family or a group of close friends escaping to the mountains of New Mexico.


Look forward to spending plenty of time out on the massive, private wraparound deck, overlooking breathtaking views! Here, you can relax on the ample outdoor furniture, while breathing in the crisp mountain air and admiring the picturesque scenery - this property is surrounded by more than a million acres of the Lincoln National Forest and the Sacramento Mountains and overlooks the beautiful Lodge Golf Course, creating an absolutely spectacular backdrop for your stay.

Inside, this 3-level condo boasts towering cathedral ceilings with real wood beams, slate tile floors, a cozy gas fireplace and plenty of vibrant touches, evoking a distinct New Mexico feel throughout the residence. Additionally, this unit boasts the luxurious feel of a fine hotel, with amenities like hydronic heat, high-speed wireless internet access, and 2 satellite TVs with Dish Network and DVD players. Each floor has its own lovely bathroom, stocked with wonderfully soft bath towels - the master ensuite even features a jetted spa bathtub.

You'll love utilizing the townhome's fully equipped kitchen, complete with all necessary appliances and cooking tools. After preparing a delicious meal in the kitchen, or on the gas grill located out on the deck, gather around the gorgeous glass table in the dining room, which offers seating for 6 people and beautiful views out the surrounding windows. When you're finally ready to call it a night, retreat to the beautiful master bedroom, to enjoy a nightcap on the private deck before settling into bed for the night.


This townhome's location is simply unbeatable! Nestled high in the Southern Rockies, at an altitude of 9,000 feet, Sleepy Bear Townhouse is nestled within a spectacular mountain setting that still allows easy access to all of the area's most popular attractions. Cloudcroft offers an array of fantastic shopping and dining options, as well as arts and craft fairs, street dances, melodramas, a bluegrass festival and plenty of Christmas celebrations that can be enjoyed at various times throughout the year. The property is also just 33 miles from the neighboring town of Ruidoso, 45 miles from White Sands and 17 miles from Sunspot Observatory.

For the outdoor sports enthusiast, there are 2 nearby golf courses along with several hiking trails. This is the perfect vacation spot for any time of year! Summertime temperatures are delightfully and an average of 10 degrees cooler than nearby Ruidoso, making it easy to enjoy outdoor activities like golf, tennis, horseback riding, mountain biking, hiking, and fishing. Hunters will enjoy coming here in the fall when there is usually an abundance of deer, elk, bear, and turkey in the area. During the snowy months, you'll find prime opportunities for skiing, snowmobiling, ice skating, and tubing. Regardless of how you choose to spend your time here, this incredible Cloudcroft vacation rental townhome will quickly become a place you want to return to year after year!


Evolve Vacation Rental Network is on a mission to make vacation rental easy for guests. Every property in our network has been vetted and verified so you can book with confidence. If you have questions prior to your trip, we are happy to assist you 7 days a week. During your stay, your designated Guest Contact will be available 24/7 to help with any issues that may arise.


Key Residence Features:

- Amenities include a private wraparound deck, gas fireplace, hydronic heat, high-speed wireless internet access, 2 satellite TVs with Dish Network and DVD players, jetted spa bathtub, fully equipped kitchen, gas grill, and much more

- Fantastic Southern Rockies location - nestled in the Lincoln National Forest and the Sacramento Mountains, overlooking the 8th hole of the Lodge Golf Course

- Easy access to a wide array of year-round outdoor activities

Bedroom Configuration:

- Master Bedroom (Master's Suite): King-sized Bed

- Bedroom 2 (Sleepy Bear Suite): King-sized Bed

- Bedroom 3 (Aztec Suite): Queen-sized Bed

- Bedroom 4 (Ranch Suite): Queen-sized Bed

- Bedroom 5 (Navajo Suite): Queen-sized Bed

Additional Sleeping:

- A Twin-over-Full sized Bunk Bed in the Half-Bedroom off the garage can accommodate 3 guests


- No smoking

- Pet-friendly with a fee (2 dogs max, no cats).

- Pet Fee: $30 Per Pet, Per Stay (2 Dogs Max, No Cats Allowed)

- Must be at least 25 years old to book

- Additional fees and taxes may apply

- During winter weather conditions, a 4WD or AWD vehicle is strongly recommended

More Details

Property Manager
Evolve Vacation Rental Network
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english, french, german, spanish
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
January 21, 2018


Bear Park Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 13
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • Bedroom 2 (Sleepy Bear Suite) - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 (Aztec Suite) - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 (Ranch Suite) - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 (Navajo Suite) - 1 queen
    Master Bedroom - 1 king
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis
  • wheelchair accessible
  • festivals
  • live theater
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • sledding
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • skiing
  • tennis


3.6/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

14% Complete
57% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
14% Complete
5BR Cloudcroft Home w/Wraparound Deck & Gas Grill
average rating of 3.5714285 based on 14 reviews


  • 4 of 5

Beautiful home with an amazing view. Only complaint I have is it was too hot from the heater. Other than that it was wonderful.

  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

This was not at all like the pictures. No star recommended wasn't able to delete

  • 1 of 5

The house was filthy. The walls and carpets were disgusting. There was broken bed in master suite. The odor was of beer and body odor. This house has not been well maintained at all not the experience we had hoped for. Very disappointing!!!!

  • Submitted: May 18, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to let us know about the issues that arose during your trip. We take feedback from our guests very seriously, and we are looking into how best to address this problem. We are very sorry your stay fell short of expectations, and assure you we’ll do everything we can to make sure these issues are addressed so these issues don't recur for future travelers. Best, The Evolve Team
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
New Waverly, Texas

I was going to give it 2 stars because it does have potential. But couldn't bring myself to...

  • 1 of 5

We had 8 people going up to and ATV trip in the Mountains I arrived a little early to the rental and were waiting for the rest of our party to arrive. 1st thing I noticed was the hole in the wall in kitchen by the door from the door smashing into it. A door stop is just a few bucks at the local hardware store, takes 5 minutes to install. But that's just me...

I noticed the house was quite cold as to be expected it was in the 30's outside. I read that the heat was in the floors and set it no higher than 70 on thermostats. Did that and waited and waited the living area was still ice cold after a few hours. Turns out the window next to the TV had been ripped open and broken off It's hinge. I had some large tape and taped the window shut.

Then my eyes started scanning the entire place. There was dust EVERYWHERE. The fridge and freezer had not been cleaned there was food debris in the drawers of fridge and freezer and stains present. Each bedroom has stained carpets. The entire house is in need of a coat of paint marks and stains on all walls. Empty coke cans and chip bags were in some of the chest of drawers in bedrooms. Sand in one of the beds downstairs. TV remotes were missing parts. The BBQ pit was nasty and needs a good cleaning. The lower bedrooms get boiling hot due to the double water heaters pumping heat into the lower levels. Even with the heat off the rooms were still extremely hot and none of the lower floor windows could be opened as the cranks were broken.

The kitchen light had bugs all in them. This was noted in a previous review and still was not cleaned or maybe they came back who knows. But it was quite unsightly.

Moving on to the master bedroom. The ceiling fan was horribly unbalanced and looks to be almost falling down. The master bed was basically destroyed. The box springs were sitting on the floor one bed post was snapped in half and the bed frame was taped together with clear tape and being held up by a concrete brick. The garage had a broken window and garbage bags piled up and trash laying in there. The dryer vent empties into the garage and dryer lint was all over the place.

I attempted to contact the listed email address given to us for issues but it was returned. Shortly after that I had an accident with my phone and it was destroyed so I had no further communication with anyone for the rest of the trip.

I won't be staying again house was NASTY! I vacation regularly at 4 star establishments. THIS PLACE IS NOT!

  • Submitted: May 11, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to let us know about the issues that arose during your trip. We take feedback from our guests very seriously, and we are looking into how best to address this problem. We are very sorry your stay fell short of expectations, and assure you we’ll do everything we can to make sure these issues are addressed so these issues don't recur for future travelers. Best, The Evolve Team
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Nice townhouse that was able to accommodate 8 people for a quick weekend getaway.

  • 4 of 5

The townhouse was quite large and spacious. As some others have commented, this listing could use some updating-some windows wouldn't open, some wouldn't shut, the carpet was stained, and the kitchen light fixtures had an abundance of dead insects stuck in them. Overall though, this listing was a decent price for the weekend. We were all amazed at how well the heating system worked. We only left it in for a few hours when we arrived, and after turning it off we stayed almost too warm the entire weekend. The kitchen was well stocked with cooking utensils, and the wifi was fast and reliable. Netflix was also available.

  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
El Paso, TX

Great home for family trip!

  • 4 of 5

House super roomy for a large family. House needs some updates, particularly the kitchen. Carpet is old, and walls need some paint work, but house was clean and heat worked good for February in Cloudcroft. We had a great visit and would definitely come back. With a little work, this could easily be a 5-Star place, especially with the awesome location and quiet neighborhood.

  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great home with plenty of room!

  • 5 of 5

This was our second year staying at this property for our annual trip to Cloudcroft! We love the layout of the house as it works perfectly for our group of friends and the kids! Look forward to coming back next year!

  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: recommended


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional


  • Additional fees and taxes may apply

You might like these similar properties