check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Great Location Edgartown Retreat- Walk to Town, Bike to Beach!

Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


Half Baths
Minimum Stay
3 - 7 nights

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

Enjoy this family friendly retreat located on the bike path to South Beach and walking distance to downtown Edgartown. It is the perfect location to enjoy all that Martha's Vineyard has to offer. The house is on the #8 VTA bus route between Edgartown and South Beach, providing connections to the rest of the Island as well. Imagine returning from a day at the beach to relax with a drink enjoying the breeze on the back deck. While grilling on the deck you can overlook the large backyard where your children are playing. If you choose to not take advantage of close by restaurants, our large eat in kitchen will be available with it's modern conveniences- microwave, toaster, coffee pot, dishwasher, booster seat, and large pot (for those lobsters). If you prefer a separate eating space, enjoy dinner in the dining room with sliding glass door overlooking the back deck. You may also just choose to relax with a book in the den, or sit and talk with friends or watch TV in the living room.

Upstairs are 4 bedrooms. The master bedroom offers a king size bed and full bath (shower stall). There are 3 additional bedrooms, one with a queen size bed, one with a full size bed and one with 2 twin beds. There is a shared hallway full bathroom with linen closet. All bedrooms are large with large closets. For those small guests, there is a gate which may be placed at the top of the stairs.

We provide the linens for your bed, and towels for the shower. There are also washer/dryer on site.

Keywords: Martha's Vineyard, Island, Katama, Beach, South Beach, on site parking, deck, grill, on bike path, wifi, storage

More Details

Anne Marie Schneider
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 13, 2017

About Anne Marie Schneider

Our parents lived here year round until December 2011 when they moved to be closer to grandchildren. We have enjoyed vacationing here for the past 14 years and did not want to lose that opportunity. We decided to share our joy with others. We hope you enjoy it too!

Anne Marie Schneider purchased this house in 1997

Why Anne Marie Schneider chose Edgartown Area

Our parents moved here for work in 1997. We have been vacationing here since then, allowing our children to 'grow up' summering in Martha's Vineyard. We have loved the experience and were not willing yet to give it up!

What makes this house unique

This location is great. We will often walk into town for dinner or ice cream at night. We can get to South Beach, now that our kids are older, in minutes. Prior to the 'growing into' South Beach we could be at State Beach within 10 minutes. We were close to Oak Bluffs- and have been able to bike there with our kids. We have been able to bike up to Aquinnah and Menemsha as well (be sure to take money for the bike ferry!) We've gone ice skating, to the farmers market, Chilmark Chocolates- anyplace we want to go.


4.2/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

Great Location Edgartown Retreat- Walk to Town, Bike to Beach!
average rating of 4.2 based on 5 reviews

Clean Spacious House

  • 5 of 5

There was more than enough room. It met our needs wonderfully. I wish there were ceiling fans in the TV & Dining rooms, but we managed. The management company was very attentive. They replaced blown bulbs right away, they ensured we had enough propane for the outdoor grill and the place was clean by professionals. The beach was close. Everyone had a great time, Thanks!

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Plymouth, MA

A Wonderful Vacation Retreat!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I had another fantastic vacation! The location is perfect, close to everything! The home is clean, comfy and large! We all can't wait to return again next year!

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are excited for your repeated return stays and look forward to seeing you again next year! Have a great winter!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Guilford, CT

UNCLEAN! Would have been a value if clean

  • 1 of 5

This house was nicely laid out. The size was perfect for our large family. The furnishings were rummage sale quality. It was properly priced if it had been clean. IT WAS NOT CLEAN! They said no pets so we were surprised to find tufts of dog hair on the floors and embedded in the rugs. Our grandchild has asthma! The floors were grimy and dirty and our feet were turned black walking on them. The toilets and counters were dirty. The grill was encrusted in grime and grease.

In the absence of timely owner response we bought cleaning supplies and spent at least 10 hours, mopping, washing, vacuuming. cleaning and trying to make the best of a bad situation. Their final response was $100 off the rental. From our perspective, that was inadequate. In spite of a bad beginning we did manage to have a great time in Martha's Vineyard but would not stay in this house. We have rented other homes and apartments in Europe and the states and all were in "Move In" condition. This was the sole exception in our experience.

  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This renter arrived 5 hours before check-in and expected to move in right away. The cleaners worked quickly feeling the pressure to get out of the house as soon as possible. When we heard about the cleanliness issues we sent the cleaners back to the house. We reimbursed the cost of supplies that the renters chose to buy and clean while waiting for the cleaning crew to return. We are happy they had a great time on vacation and liked the layout and size of the house. We are sorry for their inconvenience.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Plymouth, MA

Great Vacation Retreat!

  • 5 of 5

My family had a fantastic vacation at your Katama home!  The spacious comfort made our stay so enjoyable!  You can't beat the location, with Edgartown and South Beach just steps away .  I especially enjoyed my daily walk to South Beach and the General Store for Iced Coffee. 

All in all a wonderful relaxing time. Thanks again!

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Hanson, MA

Great house, very large

  • 5 of 5

Very large house, exceptionally clean, and the property manager Mike was extremely professional and beyond helpful. This house fit 4 adults and 6 kids very comfortably. The house is very close to downtown Edgartown and equidistant to both State and South beach, only a couple of minutes away for both. The wireless internet was also a bonus for everyone in the house as well. We have all intentions of renting this house next summer. I would recommend this house to anyone with a large family, or to two families to split. It was a great week!

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1


Nearest Point of Interest
Katama General Store
Nearest Point of Interest
Nearest Point of Interest
Downtown Edgartown
Nearest Point of Interest
Beach (and parking)


Rates & Availability

Katama House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
May 7 2017 - Jun 25 2017
3 night minimum stay
Sep 3 2017 - Oct 22 2017
3 night minimum stay
Standard pricing

Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500

Full weeks only June 29 - Sept. 7.
Rental week is Sunday to Sunday.

Rates are subjected to change until reservation is confirmed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Katama House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1)
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
board games for families/kids

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties