check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Dr. Marianne Spamer, DDS

Member since: 2004
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french, german, spanish, danish

Ideal Laguna Beach Cottage - 535 Through Street

73 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Laguna Beach Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 3 bedroom close to Beach, Sleeps 6 adults. All amenities supplied

One of only 34 legally licensed and permitted and tax-paying short term rental units in Laguna Beach. We have been licensed for 11 years, after getting neighbors' approval. We pay the taxes for short-term rentals every tax quarter. Your rental is safe with us!!!Beautiful smoke-free cottage located in the beach community of Laguna Beach, California, at 535 Through Street. Walking distance to everything.

The Cottage:

Three bedrooms - one and a half bath cottage completely remodeled (2003).Outdoor beach shower

Sleeps 6 adults. Crib (Portacrib)+ High chair + booster seat available upon request. 3 Queens, 1 King, 2 Queen inflatables, 2 huge sofas (not sofa beds)

Annex has a Jacuzzi tub, 2 microwaves, 2 refrigerators, Laundry, queen bed, 2 bunk beds, A/C, heat, ceiling fan. (more info on request).

Fully equipped kitchen. : New Energy efficient Dishwasher; new Gas stovetop and indoor grill; new electric convection oven; new Microwave (fits a turkey). New weber BBQ and 5 propane bottles.

Living and dining room. Dining room table accommodates eight people.

Cottage has front and back yard + covered porch + secluded side yard with patio furniture. : 2 tables, 2 umbrellas, seats 11.

Two car drive way. Fits a camper or RV., off street.

Location:

In the heart of Laguna Beach village. Between Laguna Avenue/ Park Avenue and Legion Street at Third St.

Walk to Main Beach Laguna in 5 minutes. Beach is kid safe with recreation / picnic / park area.

Walk to secluded Victoria Beach in ten minutes. Enjoy the sand and surf!

Walk to downtown Laguna Beach in three minutes and enjoy all amenities: grocery stores, banks, movie theater, public library, countless restaurants, bars and art galleries. During the summer months the Laguna Art Festival and the Pageant of the Masters with its outdoors performances are less than five minutes walking distance from the cottage.

Directions:

20 minutes by car from John Wayne Airport (SNA)

45 minutes by car from Los Angeles International Airport (LAX)

1 hour 15 minutes from Downtown Los Angeles or San Diego

20 minute drive to Disneyland.

All major Southern California attractions (Disneyland, Sea World, Knott's Berry Farm, Legoland...) within 3/4 hour drive.

Keywords:

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible
Dr. Marianne Spamer, DDS (Owner)
Member since: 2004
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french, german, spanish, danish

About Dr. Marianne Spamer, DDS

A family cottage owned by a beach-loving family. Both our children attended college in Southern California, so this was our meeting place. We have celebrated Thanksgiving here with 22 relatives, 3 meals a day, 2 turkeys, and no leftovers! (mashed German potato pancakes for breakfast). We have beach toys, beach chairs, mats, towels, suntan lotion...everything that we need, so we need not bring extra stuff every time.

We even have the lobster pot, electric turkey carving knife, and 2 coffee grinders.

Dr. Marianne Spamer, DDS purchased this cottage in 2004

Why Dr. Marianne Spamer, DDS chose Orange County

This is a lovely beachside village with wonderful year-round weather

What makes this cottage unique

We can walk to the village of Laguna Beach, have off-street (34-foot long driveway, fits a camper as well as 2 large-size cars), parking for 2 cars, and we live on a quiet street. We just park our car and walk everywhere. Ralph's grocery is 4 blocks away, Whole foods is 3 1/2 blocks away, and has the BEST picnic assortments, or quick pre-cooked yummy dinners.

The winery is the longest walk, near the dog park, but they have added a local wine tasting room to the Laguna Beach visitors center 2 blocks from us. There are many churches, meeting halls, 5 live theaters, and too many to mention music and entertainment venues. We can cook, or eat out at a new restaurant every time we get together...and rarely the same one twice!

Lobster rolls at Slapfish beach side restaurant is a must!!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Marianne,



Your place was marvelous! Myself and my family so enjoyed your place, its amenities, and location. We are giving you a great review. Thanks again. If you rent by the month, we will return again. We so enjoyed staying at your place in Laguna.



Take care,

The R Family
Sep 2016
  • 1 of 41

Reviews

4.4
based on 73 traveler reviews

Ideal Laguna Beach Cottage - 535 Through Street
average rating of 4.4383564 based on 114 reviews
5

Z Family Livonia, MI

  • 5 of 5

We could not of stayed in a better place for our family of 7. The location was perfect close to town and trolleys. Very roomy for us all, furnished with all needed items inside and out. Very clean and updated. What a great location to g eery to downtown and beach. We will definitely stay here again. The owners were very helpful and attentive. My family was so happy with the accommodations. We were so happy and pleased with our stay at this costal cottage.

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Las Vegas, NV
5

Location location location!

  • 5 of 5

As repeat visitors to Laguna Beach we value location, comfort, and convenience. Marianne's cottage has it all! Perfect location for a short walk to main beach and all of the dining and shopping. My son enjoyed the many beach toys, especially the boogie boards. We were pleased to find plenty of beach chairs and an umbrella too. 3 bedrooms in the main house were plenty for us, but Marianne has additional space in the annex to accommodate bigger families. The outdoor shower was awesome and we were pleased to find out that it had hot water too! Beds were very comfortable, great wifi, perfect fenced in yard for our 2 doggies to enjoy. The house was very well stocked , and we are picky as we've rented many homes where we've arrived to find not even toilet paper! A lot of love and thought has gone into every detail and it shows. We cannot wait to return and are looking for dates! Restaurants we enjoyed which are walkable: Watermarc, 230 Forest, The Cliff, OceanView Bar & Grill, Gelato Paradiso. Excellent Kid's clothing store also walkable: Little Freebirds. Perfect half day excursion for animal and ocean lovers (you need to drive to this): Pacific Marine Mammal Center. Funky cool store for gift items-also walkable: Buy Hand. Thank you Marianne for your wonderful hospitality, we can't wait to return!

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Best Location, Best Vacation again!

  • 5 of 5

Thanks again for letting us visit your beach cottage. There were many nice changes since our visit last year, although it was great then as well. The kidS enjoyed the beach toys and boards. The adultS still gather around the firepit and barbecue, so all the extra propane was nice. We did not need the refills. We like the new updates to the bathroom and it was much easier with the new glass, tile and lights. Lots of towels and we did try to conserve water again. Next year hopefully we can stay longer than a week and we will reserve ahead again to get our choice of times. Again thank you and enjoy your summer.

Matthews Family

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Not what we expected

  • 1 of 5

I don't like writing negative reviews, mainly because we all have different ideas and views on how things should be ,or what is important to us may not matter to someone else when staying at someone else's property. When I first did my research the things that I looked for was location (which by the way was great ), space, cleanliness. plenty of room for people to sleep, in which in this case, it did. What is however important to me is cleanliness, comfort, and HONESTY.

I understand that it is probably hard to keep up with the cleaning if you have back to back Clients staying at the cottage. Maybey the housekeepers do not have enough time in between clients to keep up with the cleaning. The chair cushions were dirty and it looked like someone threw up on one of them. ( I turned them over). But the worse part for our stay was in fact that there was a sewage leak, from the moment we walked in the door the odor was just awful, and it spread through most of the house. What I don't understand is why the previous renters or the maids did not notify the owner of the property in regards to that smell. Things like that do not happen over night. Once we notified the owner she did take action and drove out to the cottage to address the issue. Once the owner arrived she had someone come out to inspect the situation. Unfortunately nothing could be done at that time until we left. We decided to stay behind that day due to the fact of workers coming in and out of the cottage to inspect the situation. To make a long story short, we contacted the owner after our stay to request some sort of compassion for the inconvenience and the conditions we felt were imposed on us. Needless to say, at first she did not reply and continued to ignore our calls. When she finally did Text us back ,she accused us on having TWICE the number of people using the cottage then had reserved, (1 person). Also that we had day long visitors, also not true. We were there for a family wedding in which case some stopped by to say hello, but it was not all day. Instead of addressing the issue, she made us feel like we did not comply. On a positive note the cottage has everything u need, And everything is within walking distance which makes it very convenient since finding parking is almost impossible. I'm disappointed by our stay, and recommend that for future VRBO you (we) have some sort of guarantee in case of any incidents. It's sad to see people being dishonest

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Good News! We have all new water lines and waste lines at our cottage! Immediately after these renters checked out our Plumbers and Restoration company spent 2 full days replacing out cast iron pipes with new materials through out our home to prevent any further leak. $13,000 for the plumbers and ? amounts for the restoration company, but well worth having everything new. I had stayed myself at the cottage a week before in the bedroom above the leak, and did not smell anything. Other renters stayed the 7 days before and did not complain. We had no idea, or would have acted immediately. As soon as I heard, I drove to the cottage, got a hotel room and stayed nearby. Plumbers looked for a half hour, restoration company looked for a half hour, and insurance adjuster spoke to me by phone only. There was no great disruption. I parked a couple blocks away. When I arrived a Jeep full of people had just left the driveway. The Mom and her dog were at the cottage. Later 3 surfers arrived and with sandy feet and flip flops entered the front door, instead of the side shower/ patio area. As I left, another family of 3 showed up with sandy beach gear and told me they were staying there. That family showered in the patio as well. We were told 5 people renting, but I counted 11 people in just a couple hours. As I checked the house for smells, I noticed 4 king and queen beds being used, and the king bed moved over to accommodate a person on the floor. I was told the sons were sharing a bed too. I had the repair men ready to fix the pipe, but water would have to be shut off to dry it out. I did ask the renters if they could do that, but with 10-11 people, it was impossible. Another hotel would have cost them quite a bit more. My neighbors are aware of extra renters and cars (3 cars) at our cottage and keep me posted. I can understand people can be defensive when they are caught lying about the occupancy of the cottage. I did not charge them extra (or double), although the maids charged me double. I merely let that rent due me act as a credit and "Thank You, I'm sorry". I am very surprised by the review. We have myself often and 2 maids cleaning the cottage. With 4-6 people it is easy to clean in the 4 hours allowed. I also arrive at the cottage to check the cottage for damage and upkeep, wash curtains, cushions, toss out broken items . A renter flipping over a dirty chair cushion is the problem. They can be tossed in the washer and 3 extra exist.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect vacation spot for a family

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time at this cottage! We had 4 adults and 5 kids and it worked out well. The location was great, as you could walk to the main beach easily. The owner was very helpful and accommodating. The bedrooms were nice and the back house was great for overflow. The cottage was equipped with so many beach toys, coffee, pots, pans, etc. We would stay here again for sure!

  • Submitted: May 24, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great location in Laguna Beach!

  • 3 of 5

Let me outline what I really liked about this cottage:

- It is in the perfect location. It is in a quiet area just east of the PCH. It is a 3 minute walk to the beach. It is a 5-10 minute walk to dozens of restaurants and shops.

- It has a quaint little front yard that is enclosed with a white picket fence.

- It has a GREAT fenced back yard area that is perfect for entertaining. There is more than enough seating and has a orange tree that has a ton of oranges on it.

- For those of you with toddlers they even have a pack n play and high chair. Not having to travel with all that is a really big bonus.

- The cottage has a lot of room. It even has a detached bedroom with bunk beds.

There are a few areas that could use improvements:

- The interior is very cluttered. There is a random non functioning grandfather clock in the living room that serves no purpose.

- I won't say that it was dirty upon arrival but I definitely think that it could have been cleaner

In summary I would definitely come back. I highly recommend it to families with children. If you are looking for a fairly priced cottage in a prime location I suggest you book this.

  • Submitted: May 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for all the positive feedback. We have beach chairs, toys, towels, mats, umbrella and boogeyboards for family use and enjoy sharing. Traveling light is a plus at our cottage, as we have all the hotel amenities, plus toothbrushes, toothpaste and suntan lotion. Our heirloom (28-year-old) grandfather clock was the last gift from our elderly parents, so it has sentimental value. It is very functional and loud, so the pendulum and quarter-hour strikes and chimes were interrupting naps and TV watching. We can turn off the evening chimes, but daytime sounds were annoying renters. You can wind it ans use it if you wish. The maids clean the cottage 3-6 times a month. They sweep away sand, vacuum and mop floors. Sand is always a problem, but leaving shoes at the front or back doors does help. The outdoor hot shower and hose are also good for removing and rinsing off sand. Sand comes with the territory. I always provide the dishwasher rinsing aid JET DRY, so if you notice an empty door dispenser, just fill the inside dishwasher slot again. It helps a lot with glassware and dishes that are not completely rinsed ahead. The maids clean every hard surface in the cottage, do all the laundry, clean all the furniture. The kitchen and bath kickboards and baseboards are old and probably look dirty, but all of those will be replaced with the new Travertine ceramic tile this month and be easier to keep clean. I added new towel racks in the bathrooms and bedrooms, to reduce towel use by half and remove the clutter of extra towels. Memorial Day weekend is always the semi-annual de-clutter long weekend. We currently have 6 sheet sets per bed (in case renters want daily clean sheets), but will reduce it to 3 sets per bed of the highest-thread-count. The outdoor patio seats 12, which has been adequate for celebrations and parties, so our folding banquet table and folding chairs are going back to storage. The extra lamp in master bedroom (7 light bulbs already) will move to the annex, so there will be 14 light bulbs in the bright yellow-painted, white wainscoated space. The bunk bed is dark wood still, but the animal and flower sheets and quilts are very bright. If you need any extra chairs or bed sheets, please let us know. Replacement light bulbs are in the kitchen cabinets and annex drawers. If you have any questions on locations of items, you can text me. We are always happy to be of help. Owner and Family
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Santa Ana/ John Wayne/ Orange Co.
Nearest Barpub
0.2 Miles
Hennessey's Irish Bar
Nearest Ferry
35 Miles
Catalina Island
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Irvine Coast; Pelican Hill Newport Beach
Nearest Train
22 Miles
AmTrack
Nearest Motorway
0.3 Miles
Laguna Highway 133
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
The Whit House, Thai Brothers
Nearest Ski
190 Miles
Mammoth Mountain, Big Bear
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Main Beach, Laguna Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
Main Beach, Laguna
Nearest Point of Interest
Laguna Beach High School & Tennis Courts
Nearest Point of Interest
Laguna Canyon Winery
Nearest Point of Interest
Marine Mammal Rescue Center
Nearest Point of Interest
C'est La Vie French Restaurant, The Greeters Cafe
Car: not necessary

Art Galleries, Home to the Pageant of the Masters in summertime, Home of the Sawdust Art Festival, Museums and Historic Buildings from the Early Artist Colony at laguna Beach.

1. Main Beach

2. Mammal Rescue Center

3. Las Brisas Restaurant and wedding gazebo

4. Main Beach Toy Store

5. Slapfish Lobster Roll and Crab Roll Restaurant & Patio

6. Mozambique Steak house & entertainment

7. The White House Restaurant

8. Heisler Park Memorial and Landscaped strolls

9. Main Beach Volleyball

10. Pageant of the Masters

11. Art Affair Art Festival

12.Body surfing and boogey boarding

13. Dr. Zeuss Art Gallery

14. Whale Murals by famous artists

15. Beach front weddings

16.Laguna Canyon 3 acre Dog Park

17. Laguna Canyon Winery

18 Brussell Belgium Restaurant

19. Orange Coast shopping Mall

20. Top of the World Playground and hiking trails

21. French 75 Restaurant

22. Marine Room Tavern and live Music

23. THE GREETER statue, Ice Cream and Café

24. C'est La Vie Fresh baked/ fried Cronuts at 9 am daily

25. Envy and Hobie and Muse Clothing stores

26 Laguna Beach Cyclery

27 Gina's Pizza (best Caesar salads)

28. Thalia Street beach and Surf shop

29. The Bead Place.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Laguna Beach Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Autumn 2016
Sep 6 2016 - Nov 16 2016
2 night minimum stay
$300
$2,100
$5,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$350
$2,450
$6,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $200
Large group extra maids $50
Pet Fee $40

Credit card fees are included in rent for summer and holidays.
Check in is 3 pm.
Check out is 11 am.

Deposit of $150 cleaning fee, and first 3 nights ( if 6 days or more)
(One night rent and cleaning fee due if 2-5 nights)
Due at time of reservation to hold rental.
Final payment due 3 weeks before travel to ensure a
Key can be mailed, and lease signed,
And all amenities needed are ready:
Portacrib, high chair, etc.

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Laguna Beach Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Computer Available
  • Dialup Access
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Master bedroom has half bath, Full bath has full large shower; Hot water enclosed outdoor beach shower (wood cabinet); Hot jetted Jacuzzi bath tub in the sleeping annex.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , TV, Internet, Games and puzzles, Attached bathroom
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , 1 child bed , 1 baby crib , Pack n Play for kids, Television
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Attached bathroom, television, extra linens
    Attached Unit - 1 queen , 2 bunk bed , Has a jetted Jacuzzi tub, w/d, frig, microwave, heat,A/C
  • King size beds (1) one king bedroom, Queen size Beds (1) 2 queen bedrooms, and a fourth bedroom with a new queen bed and 2 bunk beds;, Double Beds (1) inflatables: 2 doubles and 2 queenbeds if needed, Child Beds (1), Porta crib is available for use free, plus high chair
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Check-in time is 3 pm. Check-out time is 11 am. Our cottage is just 2 1/2 blocks walk from The Laguna Main Beach and Pacific Coast Highway. Public Tennis Courts and Olympic pool are 2-3 blocks away at Laguna High School. Digital Cable TV, 2 TVs, 2 DVD players, Full Laundry in Garage, Linens provided, including beach towels and beachmats. We have 3 queen beds, king bed, portacrib, inflatable queen bed in studio, and 2 huge sofas (not sofabeds).

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties