check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

HOT TUB! POOL TABLE! TOP of the mtn! Spectacular views! $100 off/nt during Mid

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
14
Bedrooms
5
Bathrooms
3
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
2 - 3 nights

Description

McGaheysville House Rental Photos and Description

Grey Rocks Lodge- 5 bdrms! 3500 sq ft

GREY ROCKS LODGE SPECIAL!!

We'll take $100 off per night (Sundays, Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays & Thursdays ONLY) during Mid Rate Dates (Summer, Fall Peak & Ski Season), holidays excluded!

This special is valid for reservations made after April 1, 2015, and is not valid with any other discounts.

This home, Grey Rocks Lodge, is professionally managed by Massanutten Vacation, a local vacation rental home company.

Reservations must be made on our website. We'll email the link to you when we receive your email inquiry. We do not have reservations enabled on HomeAway.

Home Description:

4 Queen beds. 4 Twin beds (2 sets of bunk beds).

HOT TUB. POOL TABLE. WIFI. FIREPLACE. XBOX.

Grey Rocks Lodge is Massanutten's most dramatic and exclusive private lodging. Nestled on a natural rock overlook high above the ski resort and slopes, Grey Rocks is the highest rental home in elevation at Massanutten, and boasts unparalleled views of the slopes and valley.

No expense was spared in the construction of this 3500 square foot lodge. The spacious ski chalet design allows for excellent entertaining in the great room, loft, lower level great room, and pool room, while providing private bedrooms for up to five couples.

The spectacular main great room has vaulted ceilings, a wall of windows, and a two story stone gas fireplace.

A welcoming covered front porch and a magnificent two level rear deck complete with a hot tub facing the slopes will provide you with plenty of room to admire the ski slopes, the kettle and the Shenandoah valley beyond.

Grey Rocks Lodge has five bedrooms (4 - queen size, 1 - w/two bunk beds) and each room has a spectacular view of the slopes.

The upper level has two bedrooms, a full bath, and a TV/sitting area in the loft.

The main level has a master bedroom with a large bath featuring a whirlpool tub and a separate shower stall. There is a powder room and laundry room just inside the front door. The fully-equipped kitchen opens into the dining room and a fabulous great room.

The lower level features two bedrooms, another great room, a pool table room, and a large bath featuring a large tub and separate shower.

Wireless Internet and free cable with movie channels. There is parking for four cars at Grey Rocks Lodge.

While Grey Rocks Lodge is what everyone envisions in a dream ski vacation, it is also the perfect place for the getaway summer vacation.

Grey Rocks Lodge is near our Blue Ridge Overlook, Hollow, Shenandoah Sunrise and Alpine Vista homes on Wilson Way. Grey Rocks Lodge is also near our Acorn Lodge, Peak Retreat, Stone Splendor and Rainier Lodge homes on Rainier Road. These homes are ideal for family reunions.

NO PETS ALLOWED ON THIS PROPERTY.

SMOKING IS NOT ALLOWED ANYWHERE ON THIS PROPERTY.

LINENS FOR ALL BEDS INCLUDED. GUESTS MUST BRING TOWELS.

MAXIMUM CAPACITY: 14

From the front porch you will step into the foyer. There is a half bathroom off the foyer.

The open stairway lets you see the massive grey stone fireplace and the amazing view out the wall of windows straight ahead in the living room. The living room has cable TV, a DVD player and a stereo.

To the left of the living room is the kitchen & dining area. The kitchen has stainless appliances, including a gas range, and granite countertops. There is seating for 4 at the breakfast bar and seating for 10 around the dining table.

Step out the door from the dining area to the wrap-around deck. There is a gas grill so you can cook-out while you take in the views. Dine outside, sit in one of the deck chairs and enjoy a favorite drink...

To the right of the living room is a bedroom with a queen bed, cable TV, a door to the back deck and a full bathroom with a step-in shower and a jetted bathtub!

Upstairs there are 2 bedrooms, each with a queen bed and cable TV. There is a loft with plush furniture and a cable TV, and that fabulous view out the wall of windows in the living room! A full bathroom is off the loft, between the 2 bedrooms. The bathroom has a tub/shower combo.

Let's head back down to the foyer...

From the foyer, go down the stairs to the lower level. Now you are in the huge family room that is split into 2 sections - the TV area and the pool table area. The TV area has a cable TV, DVD player and original XBox and a wall of windows so you can enjoy that stellar view. There is an 8 foot long pool table on the other side of the stairway. Off the pool table area is a full bathroom with a step-in shower and a bathtub.

Off one side of the family room, (under the kitchen), is a bedroom with a queen bed, cable TV, and doors to the lower deck. The hot tub is just outside this bedroom!

On the other side of the family room is a bedroom with 2 sets of twin bunk beds, cable TV, and doors to the lower deck.

The lower deck has furniture so you can relax and enjoy the views, the sounds of the birds and the gentle breezes.

This Massanutten Vacation Home is approximately 3500 square feet, and is ready for your visit with the following items:

* Central air & heat

* Linens for all beds

* Toaster or toaster oven

* Coffee maker and filters

* Cookware, bakeware and dinnerware

* Washing machine & dryer

* Microwave oven

* Cable TVs

* Dishwasher

* Books & DVDs

* Gas grill

Items you will need to bring:

* Bath towels, hand towels and washcloths

* Cell phone (no landline phone at this home)

* Dishwasher & dish detergent

* Laundry detergent

* Camera & film

* Trash bags

* Paper goods (bathroom tissue & paper towels)

* Baby items

* Toiletries

***10% MILITARY DISCOUNT on the rental fee given when you reserve this home. Holidays are excluded. Thank you for your service!

Stipulations:

1) The reservation must be in the name of the person whose name is on the military ID.

2) A copy of your unexpired U.S. military ID card, current orders, or Veteran's Administration ID must be submitted with your signed rental contract to get this discount.

Mark through all social security numbers on the military ID copy.

Write MILITARY next to the Payment Details on page 1 of your rental contract.

Your rental contract will not show the discounted amount. Military discount will be applied once your rental agreement & military ID are received in our office.

3) Military IDs received after payment has been made will not be honored for the discount.

4) This discount is given to active duty, reservists and retired military persons.

5) Military discount is not given to civilians, civilian affiliates, contractors, Senior Executive Service (SES), Federal affiliates or Military affiliates accompanying the Armed Forces.

All Reservations: Refundable security deposit and cleaning fee additional.

ALL DISCOUNTS & SPECIALS:

1) Not valid in combination with any other discounts.

2) Not valid on reservations made previous to special rates being posted.

Please call 540-289-9033 for more info.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Property Manager
Katrina, Laresa, and Kathy
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 9, 2016
Call Manager

Reviews

4/5 -
(3 traveler reviews)

HOT TUB! POOL TABLE! TOP of the mtn! Spectacular views! $100 off/nt during Mid
average rating of 4.0 based on 3 reviews
2

Not as relaxing as it could have been

  • 2 of 5

They weren't kidding when they said top of the hill and great views! Be prepared for a very steep climb to the house and parking your car on a steep hill. A bit psychologically intimidating to some in our party, and tough for our elderly parents to get in and out. While a nice layout with room for our whole party, we had problems from the start. The air conditioning was broken upon our arrival. Management / Maintenance quickly notified, but it was not repaired and took much of our vacation time dealing with the issue instead of relaxing. And we were HOT! While the management attempted to have someone come repair it, the service folks ended up arriving at midnight when the entire house was asleep! We didn’t feel comfortable letting them in at that hour, and asked them to come back in the morning, which they did not. From that point on, we were told that we had sent the repair folks away and that it was our problem that it didn't get fixed. The management never owned up to the fact that the house wasn't ready for our arrival per the contract, and refused to give us any consideration on the rental price. This place could be really nice with a little more routine maintenance and cleaning. For example, many surfaces were sticky, a few of the entertainment systems did not work, some shower doors didn’t close which caused water to leak on the floor (a problem for the elderly parents), some blinds were broken, and bathroom exhaust fans didn’t work. Many of these issues could be easily overlooked, but the real issue for us was a non-customer oriented management company when we had a problem. They were great when we were booking the property and checking in, as well as following up after our stay with the damage deposit. Massanutten overall was very relaxing and had activities for the whole family to enjoy.

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We apologised for the air conditioning malfunction, sent our maintenance man who showed up the same day and assessed the problem. He told us he could not repair it and we needed to call the HVAC company, which we did. Further, our rental manager gave up her appointment with the HVAC company to work on the air conditioning at her house so they could get to Grey Rocks Lodge to fix the air conditioning for you. You've changed your mind a couple times about the time the repairman arrived at the house. His log shows 10:30 p.m.- amazing considering most HVAC companies stop work hours before that. Your father, who you told me was awake and watching TV when the repairman arrived, verbally aboused the repairman through the closed front door and did not allow him to enter. He could not come back the next morning since his appointments were already scheduled, so by turning him away you refused to have the problem fixed. This was not our fault. This was not the repairman's fault. As for the drive to the house, it is explained in great detail in the lease. This is the lease you had opportunity to read before you signed it and returned it to us. If you needed a home that is easily navigable by persons with mobility issues, we could have suggested those homes to you if you had only asked us. As for the cleaning issues and the things you claim did not work or were broken, if you had mentioned these things to us after you checked in we could have had them taken care of. In our check-in packet, given to all guests, we state for you to call or email us with any problems, upon arrival. You did not let us know about these things. The house was cleaned and the cleaning inspected, before your arrival, and everything passed our strict standards. The electronics you say did not work, worked perfectly for all families who arrived after your stay, and we didn't know about your complaint so we didn't have anything done to them. We want all our guests to have a great time while they are in our homes, and it is unfortunate that you did not have a perfect vacation, despite our efforts. Sincerely, the Massanutten Vacation team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great house!

  • 5 of 5

The house was great - really big and super nice!! We fit 11 girls with tons of room to spare. Great location for snow tubing or skiing! I will definitely rent again if we are in the area!

  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely review! We are so pleased you liked the Grey Rocks Lodge house and had such a good time. We'd love to have you come back to stay with us! Sincerely, the Massanutten Vacation Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great space for large family groups

  • 5 of 5

This large space was excellent for our large family group! Each couple was able to have private space; there were plenty of bathrooms for our group of 14; and the three common areas let the kids play together during the day, and the adults to gather somewhere after all the kids went to bed! The staff was very friendly and communicative about check-in.

As other reviewers noted, the hill to the house is steep! However, all our cars made it up easily in first gear. The only frustration during our stay was that the Internet service routinely cut out, which was tough for people in our group who needed to attend to work during the vacation.

Overall a great stay - we would come again :)

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in Grey Rocks Lodge. It is truly a magnificent home with amazing views. The owner of this house has put a lot of thought into what makes a great vacation home. We apologize for the internet service turning off. When there are strong storms and when there is construction nearby (as there is now) the service can be interrupted. It isn't out for long, fortunately. We hope you will return to Grey Rocks Lodge, soon! Sincerely, the Massanutten Vacation team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

For decades Massanutten has been popular for having beautiful vacation homes, located near the recreational facilities in the resort.

Winter, Spring, Summer, and Fall there is plenty to do in Massanutten to keep the whole family busy and entertained. Outside Massanutten there is much to do, as well. President Woodrow Wilson's Birthplace, Frontier Culture Museum and more are in the City of Staunton about an hour away. In Charlottesville, about an hour away, is the University of Virginia, President Thomas Jefferson's Monticello, and more. President James Madison's Montpelier, wineries, craft breweries and loads more attractions are nearby, within a 1 hour drive. Skyline Drive, in the Shenandoah National Park, is an 11 mile drive from the entrance into Massanutten off U.S. Highway 33!

Rates & Availability

McGaheysville House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Late Fall
Nov 28 2016 - Dec 8 2016
2 night minimum stay
$375
$2,500
 
 
Ski Season
Dec 9 2016 - Dec 17 2016
2 night minimum stay
$500
$3,000
 
 
Christmas week-New Years
Dec 18 2016 - Jan 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
$550
$3,500
 
 
Ski Season
Jan 2 2017 - Jan 12 2017
2 night minimum stay
$500
$3,000
 
 
Martin Luther King Jr weekend
Jan 13 2017 - Jan 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
$550
$3,500
 
 
Ski Season
Jan 17 2017 - Feb 16 2017
2 night minimum stay
$500
$3,000
 
 
Presidents' Day weekend
Feb 17 2017 - Feb 20 2017
3 night minimum stay
$550
$3,500
 
 
Early Spring
Mar 19 2017 - Apr 13 2017
2 night minimum stay
$375
$2,500
 
 
Easter
Apr 14 2017 - Apr 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
$550
$3,500
 
 
Spring
Apr 17 2017 - May 3 2017
2 night minimum stay
$375
$2,500
 
 
JMU Graduation weekend
May 4 2017 - May 7 2017
3 night minimum stay
$550
$3,500
 
 
Spring
May 8 2017 - May 25 2017
2 night minimum stay
$375
$2,500
 
 
Memorial Day weekend
May 26 2017 - May 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$550
$3,500
 
 
4th of July
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$550
$3,500
 
 
Labor Day weekend
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$550
$3,500
 
 
Early Fall
Sep 5 2017 - Sep 28 2017
2 night minimum stay
$375
$2,500
 
 
Fall
Oct 30 2017 - Nov 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
$375
$2,500
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 22 2017 - Nov 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
$550
$3,500
 
 
Late Fall
Nov 27 2017 - Dec 7 2017
2 night minimum stay
$375
$2,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$500
$3,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning fee $100

We accept VISA, MasterCard and Discover.

If you are arriving within a month the entire amount must be paid.
If you are arriving in more than a month away, a $200 down payment must be paid and the balance paid one month before you check-in.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

McGaheysville House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Entry Powder Room - toilet , Just inside the front door.
    Entry level- master - toilet , shower , jetted tub , This bathroom is part of the master suite.
    Upstairs - toilet , combination tub/shower , Top floor, off the loft nearest the green bedroom.
    Downstairs - toilet , tub , shower , Next to billiards room and near queen bedroom.
  • 3 full bathrooms and 1 half bath/powder room.
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Upstairs - 1 queen
    Upstairs - 1 queen
    Entry level - 1 queen
    Downstairs - 1 queen
    Downstairs - 4 twin/ single , The twin beds are 2 sets of bunk beds.
  • 5 bedrooms. 4 bedrooms have a queen bed in each. The 5th bedroom has 2 twin bunk beds.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain climbing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Partner Offers