Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

HOT TUB! POOL TABLE! TOP of the mtn! Spectacular views!

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Space 3,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Grey Rocks Lodge- 5 bdrms! 3500 sq ft

This home, Grey Rocks Lodge, is professionally managed by Massanutten Vacation, a local vacation rental home company.

To book this home you need to complete one of our leases. We will send it to you once we have your home address, email address and cell phone number.

Home Description:

4 Queen beds. 4 Twin beds (2 sets of bunk beds).

HOT TUB. POOL TABLE. WIFI. FIREPLACE. XBOX.

Grey Rocks Lodge is Massanutten's most dramatic and exclusive private lodging. Nestled on a natural rock overlook high above the ski resort and slopes, Grey Rocks is the highest rental home in elevation at Massanutten, and boasts unparalleled views of the slopes and valley.

No expense was spared in the construction of this 3500 square foot lodge. The spacious ski chalet design allows for excellent entertaining in the great room, loft, lower level great room, and pool room, while providing private bedrooms for up to five couples.

The spectacular main great room has vaulted ceilings, a wall of windows, and a two story stone gas fireplace.

A welcoming covered front porch and a magnificent two level rear deck complete with a hot tub facing the slopes will provide you with plenty of room to admire the ski slopes, the kettle and the Shenandoah valley beyond.

Grey Rocks Lodge has five bedrooms (4 - queen size, 1 - w/two bunk beds) and each room has a spectacular view of the slopes.

The upper level has two bedrooms, a full bath, and a TV/sitting area in the loft.

The main level has a master bedroom with a large bath featuring a whirlpool tub and a separate shower stall. There is a powder room and laundry room just inside the front door. The fully-equipped kitchen opens into the dining room and a fabulous great room.

The lower level features two bedrooms, another great room, a pool table room, and a large bath featuring a large tub and separate shower.

Wireless Internet and free cable with movie channels. There is parking for four cars at Grey Rocks Lodge.

While Grey Rocks Lodge is what everyone envisions in a dream ski vacation, it is also the perfect place for the getaway summer vacation.

Grey Rocks Lodge is near our Blue Ridge Overlook, Deerhaven, Hollow, Shenandoah Sunrise and Alpine Vista homes on Wilson Way. Grey Rocks Lodge is also near our Acorn Lodge, Peak Retreat, Stone Splendor and Rainier Lodge homes on Rainier Road. These homes are ideal for family reunions.

NO PETS ALLOWED ON THIS PROPERTY.

SMOKING IS NOT ALLOWED ANYWHERE ON THIS PROPERTY.

LINENS FOR ALL BEDS INCLUDED. GUESTS MUST BRING TOWELS.

LEGAL MAXIMUM OCCUPANCY: 14 PEOPLE

From the front porch you will step into the foyer. There is a half bathroom off the foyer.

The open stairway lets you see the massive grey stone fireplace and the amazing view out the wall of windows straight ahead in the living room. The living room has cable TV, a DVD player and a stereo.

To the left of the living room is the kitchen & dining area. The kitchen has stainless appliances, including a gas range, and granite countertops. There is seating for 4 at the breakfast bar and seating for 10 around the dining table.

Step out the door from the dining area to the wrap-around deck. There is a gas grill so you can cook-out while you take in the views. Dine outside, sit in one of the deck chairs and enjoy a favorite drink...

To the right of the living room is a bedroom with a queen bed, cable TV, a door to the back deck and a full bathroom with a step-in shower and a jetted bathtub!

Upstairs there are 2 bedrooms, each with a queen bed and cable TV. There is a loft with plush furniture and a cable TV, and that fabulous view out the wall of windows in the living room! A full bathroom is off the loft, between the 2 bedrooms. The bathroom has a tub/shower combo.

Let's head back down to the foyer...

From the foyer, go down the stairs to the lower level. Now you are in the huge family room that is split into 2 sections - the TV area and the pool table area. The TV area has a cable TV, DVD player and original XBox and a wall of windows so you can enjoy that stellar view. There is an 8 foot long pool table on the other side of the stairway. Off the pool table area is a full bathroom with a step-in shower and a bathtub.

Off one side of the family room, (under the kitchen), is a bedroom with a queen bed, cable TV, and doors to the lower deck. The hot tub is just outside this bedroom!

On the other side of the family room is a bedroom with 2 sets of twin bunk beds, cable TV, and doors to the lower deck.

The lower deck has furniture so you can relax and enjoy the views, the sounds of the birds and the gentle breezes.

This Massanutten Vacation Home is approximately 3500 square feet, and is ready for your visit with the following items:

* Central air & heat

* Linens for all beds

* Toaster or toaster oven

* Coffee maker and filters

* Cookware, bakeware and dinnerware

* Washing machine & dryer

* Microwave oven

* Cable TVs

* Dishwasher

* Books & DVDs

* Gas grill

Items you will need to bring:

* Bath towels, hand towels and washcloths

* Cell phone (no landline phone at this home)

* Dishwasher & dish detergent

* Laundry detergent

* Camera & film

* Trash bags

* Paper goods (bathroom tissue & paper towels)

* Baby items

* Toiletries

***10% MILITARY DISCOUNT on the rental fee given when you reserve this home. Holidays are excluded. Thank you for your service!

Stipulations:

1) The reservation must be in the name of the person whose name is on the military ID.

2) A copy of your unexpired U.S. military ID card, current orders, or Veteran's Administration ID must be submitted with your signed rental contract to get this discount.

Mark through all social security numbers on the military ID copy.

Write MILITARY next to the Payment Details on page 1 of your rental contract.

Your rental contract will not show the discounted amount. Military discount will be applied once your rental agreement & military ID are received in our office.

3) Military IDs received after payment has been made will not be honored for the discount.

4) This discount is given to active duty, reservists and retired military persons.

5) Military discount is not given to civilians, civilian affiliates, contractors, Senior Executive Service (SES), Federal affiliates or Military affiliates accompanying the Armed Forces.

All Reservations: Refundable security deposit and cleaning fee additional.

ALL DISCOUNTS & SPECIALS:

1) Not valid in combination with any other discounts.

2) Not valid on reservations made previous to special rates being posted.

Please call 5402899033for more info.

More Details

Property Manager
Katrina, Laresa, and Kathy
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 19, 2017

Map

For decades Massanutten has been popular for having beautiful vacation homes, located near the recreational facilities in the resort.

Winter, Spring, Summer, and Fall there is plenty to do in Massanutten to keep the whole family busy and entertained. Outside Massanutten there is much to do, as well. President Woodrow Wilson's Birthplace, Frontier Culture Museum and more are in the City of Staunton about an hour away. In Charlottesville, about an hour away, is the University of Virginia, President Thomas Jefferson's Monticello, and more. President James Madison's Montpelier, wineries, craft breweries and loads more attractions are nearby, within a 1 hour drive. Skyline Drive, in the Shenandoah National Park, is an 11 mile drive from the entrance into Massanutten off U.S. Highway 33!

Amenities

McGaheysville House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Entry Powder Room - toilet , Just inside the front door.
    Entry level- master - toilet , shower , jetted tub , This bathroom is part of the master suite.
    Upstairs - toilet , combination tub/shower , Top floor, off the loft nearest the green bedroom.
    Downstairs - toilet , tub , shower , Next to billiards room and near queen bedroom.
  • 3 full bathrooms and 1 half bath/powder room.
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Upstairs - 1 queen
    Upstairs - 1 queen
    Entry level - 1 queen
    Downstairs - 1 queen
    Downstairs - 4 twin/ single , The twin beds are 2 sets of bunk beds.
  • 5 bedrooms. 4 bedrooms have a queen bed in each. The 5th bedroom has 2 twin bunk beds.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain climbing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
HOT TUB! POOL TABLE! TOP of the mtn! Spectacular views!
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 6 reviews
5

Relaxing atmosphere and great choice for groups!

  • 5 of 5

We (14 people) stayed at Grey Rock Lodge in late August. We loved this stay a lot!! The lodge was great. The living room has high ceilings and a wall of windows, feeling spacious and relaxing. The pit fire creates a warm and cozy atmosphere while we were playing board games, chatting during night times. We also give 5 stars to the amenities. Guys enjoyed the billiard games downstairs. There is a gas grill on the deck. CD players with great Jazz selections. etc.

We definitely will come back!

  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your very nice review. We are so pleased you enjoyed the house and had a great getaway. We're a bit confused, though, as there is no firepit at this home. We hope you will come stay with us, again! Sincerely, the Massanutten Vacation team
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Beautiful Mountain Getaway

  • 4 of 5

Spent a long weekend at Grey Rocks Lodge with my extended family of thirteen. House was beautiful and perfectly laid out for multiple families to stay and still have some privacy. Really close to Massanutten amenities (go-carts, mini golf, pool, water park) to keep the kids busy. Would definitely stay here again and would love to return in colder months so we could use the awesome stone fireplace. Word of caution on only two things- LOTS of steps if you have little ones (although we were able to use baby gates), and the road leading up to the house is super steep and narrow. Overall, very pleased with our stay.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect in every respect!

  • 5 of 5

Our family vacation for all 9 of us could not have been any more perfect! House was great with all the amenities, activities at Massanutten were perfect for all ages. Property manager was prompt in responding to any needs. Have already recommended this property and management company to friends! We especially loved the zip lining, tubing, rope climbing and the water park.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your wonderful review of our Grey Rocks Lodge, and our office staff. We really appreciate it. We are so glad your family had such a great time in the house and in Massanutten, and we hope you come stay with us again, soon. Sincerely, the Massanutten Vacation team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Not as relaxing as it could have been

  • 2 of 5

They weren't kidding when they said top of the hill and great views! Be prepared for a very steep climb to the house and parking your car on a steep hill. A bit psychologically intimidating to some in our party, and tough for our elderly parents to get in and out. While a nice layout with room for our whole party, we had problems from the start. The air conditioning was broken upon our arrival. Management / Maintenance quickly notified, but it was not repaired and took much of our vacation time dealing with the issue instead of relaxing. And we were HOT! While the management attempted to have someone come repair it, the service folks ended up arriving at midnight when the entire house was asleep! We didn’t feel comfortable letting them in at that hour, and asked them to come back in the morning, which they did not. From that point on, we were told that we had sent the repair folks away and that it was our problem that it didn't get fixed. The management never owned up to the fact that the house wasn't ready for our arrival per the contract, and refused to give us any consideration on the rental price. This place could be really nice with a little more routine maintenance and cleaning. For example, many surfaces were sticky, a few of the entertainment systems did not work, some shower doors didn’t close which caused water to leak on the floor (a problem for the elderly parents), some blinds were broken, and bathroom exhaust fans didn’t work. Many of these issues could be easily overlooked, but the real issue for us was a non-customer oriented management company when we had a problem. They were great when we were booking the property and checking in, as well as following up after our stay with the damage deposit. Massanutten overall was very relaxing and had activities for the whole family to enjoy.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We did everything we could to accommodate this guest including calling out an HVAC technician late at night to try to solve this problem. We regret that any guest leaves unhappy but we feel as if we did everything we could to try to rectify this situation Sincerely, the Massanutten Vacation team
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Great house!

  • 5 of 5

The house was great - really big and super nice!! We fit 11 girls with tons of room to spare. Great location for snow tubing or skiing! I will definitely rent again if we are in the area!

  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely review! We are so pleased you liked the Grey Rocks Lodge house and had such a good time. We'd love to have you come back to stay with us! Sincerely, the Massanutten Vacation Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great space for large family groups

  • 5 of 5

This large space was excellent for our large family group! Each couple was able to have private space; there were plenty of bathrooms for our group of 14; and the three common areas let the kids play together during the day, and the adults to gather somewhere after all the kids went to bed! The staff was very friendly and communicative about check-in.

As other reviewers noted, the hill to the house is steep! However, all our cars made it up easily in first gear. The only frustration during our stay was that the Internet service routinely cut out, which was tough for people in our group who needed to attend to work during the vacation.

Overall a great stay - we would come again :)

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in Grey Rocks Lodge. It is truly a magnificent home with amazing views. The owner of this house has put a lot of thought into what makes a great vacation home. We apologize for the internet service turning off. When there are strong storms and when there is construction nearby (as there is now) the service can be interrupted. It isn't out for long, fortunately. We hope you will return to Grey Rocks Lodge, soon! Sincerely, the Massanutten Vacation team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $100
Refundable damage deposit $300

We accept VISA, MasterCard and Discover.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties