Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Spectacular Ocean View Loft Overlooking Lunenburg Harbour in the Heart of Town

Bedrooms 2
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

2 Bedroom apartment with a large deck

Explore the unique UNESCO heritage town in this bright, newly renovated, loft style apartment. You won't miss any of the action sitting on the large, sunny deck overlooking Lunenburg Harbour & the Bluenose II. Whether it's the comings & goings of the majestic schooners; the dory or sailboat races; the arrival of new vessels which have come from afar; or simply the daily activity of the harbour; everything happens on the Bluenose wharf.

The shops, restaurants & art galleries are only steps away or around the corner. After dining in one of the many fine or family restaurants, you can walk the streets, steeped in a fascinating history and explore the intriguing architecture which gives Lunenburg it's special charm.

Beautiful beaches are only a short drive away, with either calm waters for toddlers or wavy surf providing endless enjoyment for teenagers & more adventurous sorts.

Summers in the town are filled with music, art & street festivals.

Our 2nd floor apartment below is also available for rentals at a rate of $200 to $210 CAN per night. This self contained unit provides an additional 2 bedrooms (sleeps 4) with complete kitchen facilities & living area.

If you're a larger group, we can offer both units & can accommodate up to 10 people comfortably.


More Details

Owner/Property Manager
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 10, 2017

About Owner/Property Manager

Renovating this historical 3 story Dutch gambrel building has been a labour of love. It's location in this UNESCO heritage town brings one back in time to a gentler place.

Owner/Property Manager purchased this apartment in 2005


Lunenburg Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 3
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Golf Course View
  • Ocean View
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 double
  • Our 2nd floor apartment which also provides 2 bedrooms with complete kitchen facilities (except no dishwasher) & living area. We can accommodate up to 10 people comfortably on the 2 floors.
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Balcony
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

92% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Spectacular Ocean View Loft Overlooking Lunenburg Harbour in the Heart of Town
average rating of 4.923077 based on 13 reviews
Arlington, TX

Get off the deck!

  • 5 of 5

That's what we had to keep telling ourselves during our 3 night stay with Irma and Richard. Just sitting on the deck and taking in the beauty of the bay is reason enough to stay here. Nothing fancy, yet all 2 or 3 people would need for a comfortable stay (may be a bit crowded for 4 adults). Irma was very accomodating, meeting us upon arrival, familiarizing us with the apartment and the area, and being available to provide an occasional answer to a question. We have done many VRBO stays, and this one is certainly in the top group.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Wonderful View!

  • 5 of 5

The Bluenose II ship is the centerpiece of Lunenburg Bay and you have a fabulous view of the ship and pier from your 3rd story deck. We watched it and many other ships enter and leave port throughout the day. While we spent the majority of our time relaxing on the deck, the house was also enjoyable. Two separate bedrooms gave us each our own space. There is also a small living room and large bathroom. The huge open kitchen was greatly stocked with everything we needed. It also had a wonderful bar where we enjoyed watching a storm one evening. The decorating was charming with adorable marine themed objects everywhere. The building is in the center of one of three of the main streets of shops, restaurants and inns. The only better view you might get would be a Harbour Street room in right down on the pier. We were able to walk everywhere and loved our home base. Our hosts (Stephen & Irma) were always available with any needs/questions we had. We never wanted to leave! Also great value for the price. Only concerns would be third floor means lots of stairs and there is no AC. You can open the windows but street noise (from the cars trying to climb the steep hills) was pretty loud. We'd recommend to anyone and we hope to be back!

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Amazing-Awesome-Incredible-Immaculate-Breathtaking view-Brilliantly decorated-Profoundly comfortable

  • 5 of 5

Beginning with the only weak area is the stairs. I don't know why I didn't consider that Lunenburg is built on a steep grade - duh! But as a 60 yr old woman who has some joint problems, coming from the waterfront and up the steep sidewalks, by the time that I started climbing the stairs to the 3rd floor loft, I thought I might die. If you have knee, foot or hip problems, it becomes necessary to plan your day so you aren't returning frequently. Everything about this apartment is pleasing to the eye. We brought 2 grandchildren ages 9 and 11 and we found ourselves extremely content here. The location was perfect. Endless opportunities to explore and dine. We could see the Bluenose from the deck and watched it go out - WOW. Together we snapped 500 photos from the deck and they are all masterpieces suitable for framing. The kitchen is nicely set-up for cooking with plenty of room. Though we didn't use it, it was nice to have a washing machine available. We had a great sense of being welcome in this well-thought-out rental unit. I plan to return.

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great location!

  • 5 of 5

Spent a wonderful three days here - very comfortable and relaxing - owner extremely helpful.

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Special place

  • 5 of 5

We (parents with two four-year olds) had such a lovely time at this place! Loved everything about it: the balcony with the view on the harbor, its charm and various art pieces throughout the apartment. Thank you for making Lunenber a place that will always stay in our hearts.

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely, but kitchen/dining need work.

  • 4 of 5

Four of us stayed in the Loft for a week.

As other reviewers note, the view from this Loft is fantastic. And the apartment is lovely with beautifully restored old floors, nice colors in kitchen and bathroom tile, and tasteful decorations. And it is well situated in the middle of Lunenburg for easy access to restaurants, shops, wharf, and galleries.

However, we would note a few concerns. First, we planned to cook dinner "at home" about half the time. The kitchen was so under-furnished (inadequate supply of pans, glasses, utensils; no broiler pan at all) that cooking was challenging. If you use a fork in food prep, you have to wash it to set the table for 4. And if the weather doesn't permit you to eat outside on the deck, you have to move furniture around and bring in outdoor chairs to create a dinner table for 4. An aside: the 3 stools at the kitchen counter are too high for the counter and have no padding left in the upholstered seats. Very uncomfortable. So, if your intention is to do serious cooking, be forewarned to try to keep it simple.

The second concern is sleep quality. I guess it is the flip side of being in the center of town, but the surrounding inn and restaurants have garbage pick-up early in the morning. And other trucks come by grinding uphill at early hours. We had the bedroom window open for air, and we were routinely awakened by early morning garbage/traffic noise between 4 and 6 a.m. In fairness, my sister in the other (equally exposed) bedroom did not get awakened by noise.

We were glad to have WiFi, but the connection was slow and sometimes failed. We found that the payment procedures were not convenient for international travelers. Upon arrival, we paid in full, in cash. Yet, our deposit was returned as a check which the owner's bank refused to cash for us. This would probably not be an issue for Canadian renters.

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We thank you for the 4-star rating and we’re sorry your stay was not to your complete satisfaction. We were unaware that you were experiencing these inconveniences and had we known, we would have made every effort to accommodate you. As we say to all our guests upon arrival, ”If there is anything you need, please don’t hesitate to ask us!” I’ve tried to address a few of your concerns below for future guests. We outfit our 2 apartments with basic kitchen utensils for simple in-house meals. We do have an assortment of additional supplies on the main floor and are very happy to provide our guests with any supplementary items that they feel they may need. The WiFi we provide is a high speed internet connection that we are personally dependent on and it is extremely stable. In our experience, the source of the problem mentioned is that the computer is continually scanning & trying to pick up one of the many other network signals in the area. This can be easily rectified by managing the WiFi settings on your personal computer. Our policy with regard to the security deposit is to return it to our guests in the same method of payment as it was received, either by PayPal, bank e-transfer or check (US or CAN), since these are the accounts in which the deposit funds are held. Unfortunately, Canadian Banks will not cash a check unless you hold an account with that institution. We hope that these inconveniences didn’t take away from your stay in Lunenburg and that you had an enjoyable time nonetheless.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1


whale watching, boat & sailing tours


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $32.44
Damage Deposit $162.19

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties