Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Snowy Range Home Away From Home with Four Season Recreation

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 850 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Cozy Home with Mountain Views, Large Deck, Full kitchen, Wood Stove, Sleeps 6

Located just outside the entrance to the Snowy Range, this beautiful home features a large deck with mountain views and easy access to multiple recreation opportunities just minutes away. Vaulted beamed ceilings and numerous windows provide a bright space with cool summer breezes and a wood burning stove for chilly winter nights. A full kitchen features all the comforts of home and there is a gas grill on the deck. A game room is stocked with board games, puzzles, playing cards, videos, books, and a Nintendo video game console. The living room features 2 comfy recliners to relax or watch a movie after a day in the mountains. The bathroom is stocked with everything you need, and the bedroom features a loft where kids can play or sleep. Sleeping accommodations include a full sized bed, twin bunk beds, 2 sleeper sofas and a full sized futon. Bedding is available for our guests.


Owner
Karen Kochanski
Member since: 2015
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english, french, a little Spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
January 22, 2018

About Karen Kochanski

I'm originally from Buffalo, NY but have lived in Longmont, CO for 12 years. I work as a physician assistant in Pediatrics at Kaiser Permanente. I love all outdoor activities especially hiking, snowshoeing, biking and swimming. I'm a fanatic for wildflowers and have never seen any more spectacular than the ones in the Snowy Range. I do photography and most of my best shots were taken there.

Karen Kochanski purchased this house in 2015

Why Karen Kochanski chose Centennial

I have been visiting the Snowy Range several times a year and decided it would be great to have a vacation property there. After looking for about a year, this house came on the market and I fell in love with it. The location is perfect and I enjoy having the full kitchen and beautiful deck.

What makes this house unique

Home away from home for about the cost of a hotel room in a spectacular location.

Amenities

Centennial House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 850 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Shower, toilet, sink with hair dryer, soap, shampoo, conditioner
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double , 2 twin/ single
  • 1 full size bed and twin bunk beds
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • festivals
  • forests
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • skiing
Notes:
4 wheel drive is required for visits during snow season. I will do my best to get plowing, but you may need to do some shoveling when there is active snowing and drifting.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(36 traveler reviews)

91% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Snowy Range Home Away From Home with Four Season Recreation
average rating of 4.861111 based on 36 reviews
Saint Charles, Iowa
5

Great Home Away From Home in Centennial,Wy

  • 5 of 5

Lovely and cozy home. It had all the comforts of home!

Great location to Snowy Range Ski Area and Medicine Bow National Park.

Karen was very helpful and answered all of our questions. Thanks Karen for your hospitality!

  • Submitted: Dec 22, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Just as described

  • 5 of 5

Very cozy and accommodating, we had everything we needed and were minutes from the ski resort and other outdoor activities which made it very convenient! Woke up to a beautiful mountain sunrise every morning and winded down evey evening with a cozy fire and mountain sunset... this weekend is extra special for us because we got engaged! Extra special memories for us there now :)

  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Congratulations! I'm glad that you had a nice time. Karen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Potential...needs a deep, deep cleaning

  • 2 of 5

The house has great potential and was thoughtfully stocked...However, it was not clean at all - We spent two hours our first day just wiping down all the dust-caked surfaces and the cobwebs that hung from the ceilings and walls. The bathroom and kitchen were equally dirty. Spent a good chunk of time cleaning the kitchen, just so we could prepare our Thanksgiving dinner. Left a full day early due to allergies.

  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm very sorry this guest did not have a good experience. I wish that this wasn't the first time I'm hearing their concerns. If they had contacted me during their stay, I would have sent my cleaning person to address the issues they found and refunded their cleaning fee. I work very hard to make sure my guests have a good experience but can't remedy a problem I don't know about. I was there with 2 friends prior to this visit. We spent 2 hours cleaning including vacuuming all of the floors, mopping the bathroom, wiping down the counters, tables and bathroom with cleaner/disinfectant and dusting the other surfaces. Unfortunately with well water that has a high mineral content some brown staining of the shower, toilet and sinks occurs. It's not dirt but can be very tough to completely remove. We also went over the couches with a lint roller due to having pet hair from the prior guests. If you read prior reviews, most guests are satisfied with the cleanliness of the house.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Always a great vacation

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time, once again, in this nice and comfortable house. Plenty of wood to stay warm, a welcoming kitchen, and a host that thought of everything. Thank you!

  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Always glad to have you! Karen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Felt Like Home

  • 5 of 5

We brought our young kids up for a couple days and everyone really enjoyed the property. They have thought of everything and the place was very clean and user friendly. It really felt like we had been there before with how they had it setup, the instructions provided, tips on local attractions, and last but certainly not least the wine and chocolate that greeted us when we arrived. We cut our stay short due to the 18 inches of snow that was supposed to be moving in. Looking forward to getting back.

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you had a nice time ! Hope you get nicer weather next time !
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

All we could ask for!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great long weekend at Snowy Range. The cabin is a perfect spot for early morning hikes and cozy to relax in. We've stayed here before and definitely will stay again. The scenery is beautiful and the weather was great.

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
80 Miles
Cheyenne
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Centennial
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Centennial
Nearest Ski
3 Miles
Snowy Range Ski Area
Car: necessary

Located just outside the entrance to the spectacular Snowy Range Mountains, visitors will enjoy scenic vistas and many recreational opportunities. Summer hikes feature fields of wildflowers, mountain lakes, scenic viewpoints and wildlife sightings. Countless lakes and streams are a fisherman's paradise.

In Autumn, the aspens turn spectacular shades of gold and red for uncrowded scenic drives and hikes. Many hunting opportunities are also available.

Winter puts the snow in the Snowy Range. Snowmobiling conditions are ideal and a family of four can ski for about $100. The Snowy Range Ski Area is only 3 miles away and features free skiing for kids <5 and seniors >70! Snowshoeing and cross country skiing are also available from your doorstep.

The town of Centennial offers several dining options, live music, bars and a convenience store/gas station <1 mile from home. Many more restaurants, cultural activities and shopping options are available in Laramie, less than 30 min away. The historic town of Saratoga on the other side of the Snowy Range features a free hot spring pool with changing rooms and natural river access. Note that the Snowy Range Scenic Byway is only open as a through road in summer and early fall. In winter, it is open up to the ski area and several access points to trails.

Visitors from Colorado's Front Range will appreciate access to the mountains without the crowds and driving hassles in Colorado. The Snowy Range is reminiscent of Colorado 50 years ago before the population explosion, pricey resort towns, and traffic jams. It's a wonderful place to enjoy nature and less than 3 hours from the Denver area.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $25 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $100
cleaning $35 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 10.0%

Pets are negotiable. Please call to discuss your pet(s).

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties