Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Ahuimanu Cottage, Family Friendly, Clean & Affordable!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Cottage,, Kitchen, 2 Bedrooms w/AC, King & Full bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps up to 6)

Highlights:

*1 King bed, 1 Full bed-1 Queen air mattress

*Infant playpen/crib available

* AC, TV, and standing fans in bedrooms

* WIFI

*Beach towels, coolers, boogie boards, snorkels

*Washer/Dryer at back of house

*Outdoor seating

*Parking pad for 1st car, street parking for 2nd

*Cottage at the top of property, must be able to walk up steep driveway & stairs

*Banana, lychee, mango, papaya, guava, and black cherry trees

*Hiking, kayaking, bay tours, ranch activities near by

*Check in 3pm/out 11am (early & late arrangements possible)

*50% deposit holds dates with remainder due 30 days from arrival

*30 day cancellation notice for full refund of deposit

*Taxes included in nightly rate

Enjoy the real Hawai'i 'local style' and discover all that the windward side of the island has to offer. With beautiful beaches, majestic waterfalls, scenic drives and an array of restaurants, farmers markets and local delicatessens, you will be glad you stayed in the country.

The Ahuimanu Cottage is 30 minutes from the airport, located in the heart of Kahalu'u with nearby waterfall hikes, beaches, shopping, restaurants, and grocery stores.

The house features a spacious open beam living room and dining area. A full kitchen with counter bar, a bathroom with tub, two large bedrooms and a washer and dryer. It is tastefully decorated with AC and, LCD TV's in each of the bedrooms and all the comforts of home.

One uncovered parking stall is located on the bottom of our driveway. A steep driveway and stairs lead up to the cottage that is tucked away from the main road. And we have two friendly dogs who will greet you at the gate and a land tortoise in the yard.

The rental is situated in a residential neighborhood. This is our home, not a party house. Please no smoking, loud noise or late night partying.

Attractions and distance from the Cottage:

Movie Theater 1 mile

Supermarket/Grocery Story 1 mile

Byodo In Temple 1 mile

Waihe'e waterfall 2 miles

Windward Mall shopping, food court, movies, farmers market 3 miles

Haleiwa Joes Restaurant and Bar 3 miles

Bayview Golf, Mini putt, zipline 5 miles

Kaneohe Marine Corps Base 6 miles

Kualoa Ranch horseback, ATV and movie tours 6 miles

Chinaman's Hat (Kualoa Beach) 6 miles

Kaaawa Beach tan, swim and snorkel at 8 miles

Crouching Lion Restaurant and Bar 10 miles

Kailua beaches, hikes, waterfalls, specialty shops 10 miles

Arizona Memorial, USS Bowfin, Pacific Aviation Museum 15 miles

Polynesian Cultural Center 18 miles

Hanauma Bay fish and snorkeling 21 miles

Northshore shrimp trucks, big wave beaches, 28 miles

Keywords: Ahuimanu, Kaneohe, Cottage, House, Country, Spacious, Home

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 25, 2017

About The Owner

My family and I have lived on the property for over 30 years. My dad is a retired firefighter, my husband works at the local newspaper and I work at a non-profit community center. Our family also includes our two teenagers, 2 dogs, and tortoise. When we are not working, you can find us at Sandy Beach where we enjoy bodysurfing, picking shells, and playing with our pets. We also enjoy hula, hiking and spending time with our friends and family.

Why The Owner chose Oahu

My grand parents built the ohana cottage when I was born to accommodate their growing family. Now that everyone has grown up and moved out we share the house with visiting family and friends like you who want to experience Hawaii like a local instead of a tourist. Since Honolulu is one of the most expensive places to visit we wanted to offer budget and family friendly accommodation for malahini and kama'aina alike.

What makes this cottage unique

We live below the majestic Koolau mountain range. When it rains heavy here the water falls spill out and line the the entire mountain range from Kahalu'u to Likelike. The windward side is also blessed with beautiful greenery, sandy beaches, scenic drives and a much slower island pace.

Guestbook comments from the owner

TKS again for your house. Our family had a great vacation in Oahu!



The kids say HI to Roxy and Tie and Teddy of course ;-)))



The THERIAULT family
Mar 2013
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Kaneohe Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 850 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 6
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 7 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1 full bathtub, toilet and vanity
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 baby crib
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
  • King Bed (1), Full Bed (1), Inflatable Full Bed (1), Playpen/bassinet (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(56 traveler reviews)

Ahuimanu Cottage, Family Friendly, Clean & Affordable!
average rating of 4.464286 based on 57 reviews
5

Nice Place to Stay

  • 5 of 5

The house was well stocked with things you would need to be comfortable! There were even extras like a pack and play, books, movies, shampoo, reusable grocery bags, a rolling cooler, beach supplies, and cleaning supplies. Both bedrooms had ac units that worked really well and there were floor fans as well. The wifi was fast. When there was an issue Val was quick to respond and fix the problem. Val and her husband even helped us jump our car when it died! The only thing I would want to give a heads up about is the drive way is very steep and the road is narrow so the parking spot is a little tricky to get in and out of. Over all we loved staying here and Val and her husband were really nice and helpful!

  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Kim!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location, fun feel cozy cottage for 4

  • 5 of 5

Our party was 2 couples. We slept comfortable. The cottage was clean, beds comfortable. We enjoyed the facility, location, and amenities, like the boogie boards. Could use more hot water when at highest demand. Overall loved this place. Would recommend to friends and would return here again if ever in Oahu.

  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Not impressed- broken and dirty is different than my expectation of simple and clean

  • 2 of 5

We stayed on this property for 10 days in Feb 2017. I took a chance on it since it met several of my criteria, and, with a 4.5 star average review (with 50 reviewers) I took a chance on it. I ended up spending 10 days wondering how it could have gotten that high of a review.

When staying on Oahu, my family of kids and adults could have stayed in a hotel, naturally. But I wanted: laundry facilities, beach items avail for use, a yard and a kitchen. On all 4 of these items this property struck out.

The most troubling issue was the dirty dishes. Upon arrival, we were hungry, but the first 3-4 items I took out of the cupboard were dirty. Yes, dirty dishes in the cupboard. It was not a good first impression, and we later found the rice maker hadn't been cleaned either. There are frying pans there to use, but the the Teflon coating is all chewed up so you may end up eating some in your food. It was just easier to buy paper plates and only eat out of the microwave. Which we could have done in a hotel, of course.

We used the washer twice while we were there, and both times the dryer was broken despite having reported it as such the first time and being told it would be repaired in the next 24-48 hrs. It wasn't. We ended up hanging clothes out to dry- which is fine- but given the humidity, we ended up wearing damp clothing after 2 days of air-drying them. (and packing damp items)

The yard had dog waste on it constantly and thoroughly, my kids couldn't really mess around out there much. Which again, made it seem like we'd be better off at a hotel.

There were beach items there for us to use, however the snorkel gear was so old, the straps were deteriorating- to the point it was unusable. Opaque, scratched masks. Bring your own. Boogie boards were showing wear, and had been repaired with duct tape. (But there is a difference between broken/unusable and looks) The towels and cooler/chilly bin were great.

Other more minor items: I plugged my phone in to charge overnight- but apparently that outlet was broken. There isn't a light over or on the table, so that would have been nice. Nuts fall on the roof and roll down, which woke us up occasionally. And the parking spot was precarious, there is always the feeling upon leaving that our car might roll over (steep).

I am giving it two stars, since it was safe and quiet. Also, the dogs were sweet and it was fun having a pet tortoise. Other than the items mentioned, it was clean & neat.

  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We apologize that you felt your stay was less than desired. Almost all of our guests are happy with the accomodations and we feel terrible when a guest is unhappy. We appreiciate your feedback and will use it to provide a better experience for future guests. We have asked our housekeeper to pay attention to each of the items you mentioned in the kitchen and purchased new dishes and pans. We threw out all the beach gear left behind by other guests and continue to offer beach towels and a cooler. We are happy to report thtat the dryer is back up and running. We will check around the house for the plug that is not working so we can repair it. Additional lighting at or near the dining table is wonderful idea and we will look into purchasing a lamp too. Sorry about the mango's. They are prone to fall off the tree and sometimes hit the roof. The yard is something we do not publish as an amenity. The dogs live outdoors and they enjoy moving around the property. We pick up poop regularly, but you are correct our yard is not ideal for children to run around and play. We are not a hotel with staff. We are family that opens up our home and property to other families and guest from around the world. We will continue to provide a safe, clean, affordable accomodation so that you can spend more of your resources on creating memories. Please know that I am just a call, text or email away and if you bring your concerns to my attention, I will do my best to address them in a timely manner.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Happy stay

  • 5 of 5

We lived in Ahuimanu Cottage for 4 nights in Oahu during Christmas and New Year vacation. It was a wonderful experiences. The location is not at the busiest west side of the island but it only took about 20~25min drive to wakiki beach. And you got the take a look of the beautiful mountain along the way. The cottage is cozy, clean and has everything you ever need in a vacation house. Val also provides beach towels, chairs and snorkel gears for kids to use which is very convenience for us. There are some steps to take to get to the cottage which is built on a slop; my Dad did need to take precautions on walking on the steps but for the rest of us it has no issues. Overall it is a good stay and if we would come back we would consider staying there again.

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great getaway and stress free

  • 5 of 5

My family of 5 stayed for 2 weeks at this wonderful little cottage and it was so nice to feel like we came home at the end of a long, busy day! The dogs were wonderful greeters and my 3 kids just adored them, going out every morning to say hi to them and pet them. One of my kids even asked if we could take them home with us.lol The place was clean, comfortable, and laid back. The area was quiet and I slept so soundly when it rained at night. I woke up every morning feeling like I was in heaven. It was a sad day when we left to the airport to come home. My kids asked if we could just live there forever. Also just be aware, the parking spot is a little awkward next to the driveway of the place. It may feel lopsided, but it's sturdy. Be careful when walking down the driveway when wet. It's Hawaii after all. It didn't bother us though, we were just grateful to have a place to park!

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
houston,tx
5

sweet home on the quiet countryside of Oahu

  • 5 of 5

The sweet two bedroom house fits our family nicely and warmly on this thanksgiving. Both bedrooms equipped with TV, queen bed and crib for baby. Large comfortable air bed is provided too. Owners are just steps away for any questions but never come up to interrupt.

No air conditioner needed, and electric fans are definitely helpful. Full kitchen and restrooms.

Beach chairs, snorkel equips and even surf boards are ready and free. Thanks for the accommodation, love Oahu.

Only thing that other reviews suggested already is the steep ramp and stairs up to the room from the parking spot, could be slippery when wet. Thanks,

  • Submitted: Dec 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Point of Interest
Temple Valley Shopping Center
Nearest Point of Interest
Haleiwa Joes Restaurant
Nearest Point of Interest
Windward Mall
Nearest Point of Interest
He'eia Pier Boat Tours, General Store and Deli
Nearest Point of Interest
Stone Pond and Hike to Waterfall
Nearest Point of Interest
Senator Fongs Plantation and Gardens Tour
Nearest Point of Interest
Waiahole Poi Factory
Nearest Point of Interest
Waikane General Store and Fruit Stand
Nearest Point of Interest
Kualoa Beach Park and Chinamans Hat
Nearest Point of Interest
Kualoa Ranch

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kaneohe Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$150
$1,050
$3,750
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $75

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties