check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

A Jewel on Cabarete Bay Beach (Oceanside) with Private Pool

15 Reviews
Bedrooms 4
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 3 - 6 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
3 - 6 nights


Cabarete Villa Rental Photos and Description

Villa, 4 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 4 Baths, (Sleeps 5-8)

Barely 25 minutes east of Puerto Plata International Airport, on the Dominican Republic’s north coast, nestled among swaying palms and directly on Cabarete Bay beach is the lovely gated community of Bahia de Arena. Within this safe and well maintained community is our home we affectionately refer to as the Jewel of the Bay- Joya de la Bahia!

You and your guests will love your stay in this authentic Dominican styled home. The main house has three air-conditioned bedrooms each with it's own en suite washroom, and each with it's own exit to small private terrace! For extra privacy there is a brand new Guest House that adds 1 more bedroom and private bath. Bright Spanish style décor and colors complete the interior of this charming home. Smell the ocean breezes from the

front verandah and take just a 60 second walk to the stunning Cabarete Bay beach!

Cool off in your very own private pool in our back yard.

Expect to be pampered with: Daily maid service (except on Sunday). Water and electricity 24 hours a day. Airport pick-up (US $35 on request). Information Session on arrival. We can arrange a cook or fill up your refrigerator!!. You can easily walk to all the restaurants and stores in Cabarete --- so a car is totally optional but can be arranged. Information and booking of tours. Restaurants. A gracious host to answer your every question.

From the moment Manuel, our security guard, has raised the gate to allow you entry you will marvel at the cleanliness and the well-maintained grounds of the small community of Bahia de Arena. Surrounded by palms and luxuriant tropical vegetation you will immediately begin to see why this very private enclave is such a desired location for vacationers from all over the world.

Step on to the boardwalk, just seconds from Joya de la Bahia, and you will be startled by the amazing beauty of Cabarete Bay Beach. Stroll along the seemingly never ending beach, or stop for a cocktail or a sumptuous meal at a number of ocean side restaurants. Along the way get your hair braided or for the more adventurous get a quick lesson in kite boarding or windsurfing. In just moments you will arrive at the quaint but bustling town of Cabarete where you will find unique shops and restaurants or just relax at an outdoor café and immerse yourself into the wonderful culture of this dynamic Dominican town.

For the nighthawks the beach strip comes alive with any number of ocean front discos tempting you to participate in the passionate beat of Salsa and Meringue.

Don’t just be a number at an impersonal all-inclusive hotel. Come, be yourself and experience a vacation that has something for everyone, all within the very close confines of your home- Joya de la Bahia!

Keywords: Villa and Guest House

More Details
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only

Member since: 2004
Speaks: english, English only. I use Google translator for emails.
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 17, 2016
Call Owner

About The Owner

Talking about myself has never been easy for me but let's give it a try. I left corporate life 12 years ago and have been self employed since with my vacation rentals. The above picture is me, my wife and youngest daughter on the beach in front of our villa in Cabarete. Love it here and spend as much time here as possible. I really think you will love it as well.

The Owner purchased this villa in 2007

Why The Owner chose Dominican Republic North Coast

I wish there was more room for pictures so I could actually show you. This property is unique with horse back riding on the beach out front. Local management will arrange mountain tours, diving tours or anything in between with pick up at the door.

What makes this villa unique

To me the private back yard pool and Tiki bar is the neatest. It's an easy 10 -12 minute walk along the beach to the village of Cabarete with dining, bars and shopping right on the beach. Walk in for dinner, drinks and dancing then take a late night cab home for only $5.00

Guestbook comments from the owner

This is not a review but is an apology on my part. I have been answering all VRBO requests within an hour's time, however my mistake was in answering them directly in email not through the VRBO system thus creating an incorrect "average response" time. Please be assured your requests are important to me and will be answered promptly. Dan
Jun 2016
  • 1 of 2


based on 15 traveler reviews

A Jewel on Cabarete Bay Beach (Oceanside) with Private Pool
average rating of 4.5333333 based on 17 reviews

Making old young again

  • 5 of 5

Sunshine, blue water, a nice pool and the ever present Mojito. It doesn't get any better. A short walk down the beach brings 9(?) beach front restaurants as options. Living on the

East coast, we would love to have these possibilities. A gated community with 24/7 security (I don't know why it's needed)a totally private pool, and a super tanning location over the pool house is just the for starters.. For a truly beautiful sight, a walk on Kite beach in the afternoon is a must for great pictures and brilliant colors

It was a great week that we are still talking about. Oh yes, one of the better French

restaurants you will find this side of France. Thanks for a great week, you can bet we will tell our friends and family about your home.

Terry & Sandy

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Spring Break on the beach

  • 3 of 5

The location of this property almost bumps it up another star, however the house, while there was nothing terribly wrong with it, shows a lot of wear and had several "fixes" that are needed. The tile in all of the bathrooms except the pool house were cracked and falling off in spots. The shower in the front bedroom had drainage problems.

The stove had to be lit with a match and many of the lights were not working. One example of this was the lights in the pool that gave off a slight shock when you got near them, however did not give off light. The stairs to the rooftop deck were also falling apart.

That all being said we really did enjoy our time at the house. The location was amazing with just a couple minute walk to the beach. The pool was nice and deep for our adult children that were with us. We also loved the table in the pool for our drinks. The rooftop deck was awesome for evening meals as was the front porch. With a few updates and maintenance this house would be a five star rental property!

  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Not sure if this is my 2nd response or not...may have hit the wrong button. SORRY Anyway: thanks to "spring break" for their comments. I just came back from Cabarete and we did need some updating again. We currently have new stairs to the sun deck. Additionally we updated the electric circuit boxes with new wiring and new circuit boards. As I write my wife is picking out new tiles and all new fixtures for all 3 baths in the main house, contracts have been issued and work will start soon. Pictures of the stairs and electric boxes are being posted now, pictures of the baths will be posted as soon as completed. Our Thanks to all for your prior and hopefully future business.. Dan
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
New Jersey USA

Great Time was had by all

  • 4 of 5

Perfect spot for a girls vacation!! 8 friends rented this villa and could not be happier. Villa was in a very safe gated community - never felt unsafe at all. Less than 1minute and you are at the beach, almost a private beach away from the people trying to sell you something every minute - could not ask for a prettier spot. House was recently painted and other repairs done so it was in great shape. Perfect combination of sun and shade for those who want both. Without a doubt hire the chef. We had 2 different ones during our stay and they were both superb. We ate like royalty every day. Jose the driver goes out of his way to help you and is very sweet. We had one issue and it was immediately taken care of by the owner and Peggy the manager. Everyone goes out of their way to make sure you are enjoying yourself. Town is a 10-15 minute walk away or a quick cab ride and there a re great restaurants and bars. Don't hesitate to stay here you will not be disappointed.

  • Submitted: May 26, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Atlanta, GA

Gem in the heart of Cabarete

  • 5 of 5

This villa is perfect for a family or group of friends traveling to Cabarete! The service was amazing! There was security present so it felt safe at all times. The villa is a brief walk to the beach- and transportation is available very expeditiously if you desire to go anywhere! The villa is cozy and has a private pool and patio. We enjoyed the privacy and the service. Peggy was so helpful and friendly- she does an amazing job managing all of the staff that was there to help us! We had one minor issue in the villa and Peggy had it fixed immediately even through it was on a Sunday! This villa is perfect if your traveling and want affordable accommodations without sacrificing location and service.... We will be back!!

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to complete this review. It's always rewarding to hear good things about our villa as well as the service that was provided. We look forward to serving you again in the future. Thanks again... Dan
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Ladies Week In Cabarete

  • 3 of 5

Just returned from a week in this lovely home within a secured community, beach, shopping, bars, etc. is in walking distance or you can call Jose (driver) and he would be gladly to take you where you wanted to go. This is a small community with homes very close together so if you’re a loud group or need distance between homes you will not get it here.

I have more cons than pros so I will let you visit and decide on your own because my experience wasn’t as good as the last two and I do agree with the visitor from Las Vegas 2011 (Ta Ta) pictures need to be update because some repairs & appliances are still needed but again a lovely home.

I’m not sure if it’s just this side of Dominican Republic (Punta Cana, it’s like this) but it would have been nice to know in advance that you can’t flush toilet tissue after being used, I don’t find that to be sanitary plus you have to wait for house keeper to dump the trash which is the next day or you dump it yourself, ladies plan accordantly.

Dan (owner) thanks for allowing us to stay in your lovely home and responding to several of my e-mails but Peggy didn’t show up until the morning before our departure, which to me is too late, I use this site for many years and normally the manager is seen within 48 hours of our arrival.

Over all our trip was good and if asked I will inform my friends of my experience but for me I will continue to visit Punta Cana instead of this side of Dominican Republic.

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I purposefully waited a week before responding to this review. Hopefully that was long enough. The issue here is the flushing of feminine products. I was asked to advertise on VRBO the fact they cannot be flushed in my villa, if I refused then I could expect a bad review. I refused. Maid service is daily with the exception of Sunday and holidays. Like any hotel they clean the villa, make the beds, remove the trash and etc. We do not offer a concierge service or maid service on a 24/7 basis. We are not nearly as large as the 4 Star hotels of Punta Cana and really can't compete with them; most people don't expect us to. We are a free standing villa in a neighborhood of similar family style villas with a 10 foot high stone privacy fence around the property. We are not equipped with a washer/dryer as we have found most people staying here do not use them. Therefore we do not have an ironing board or iron and were unable to supply same for this guest on short notice. As an alternative we do offer a laundry service, the maids will take the laundry and return same that night for a small fee. Peggy is our onsite manager with over 20 people working for her. She is not available to personally greet each guest upon arrival however she does make an effort to meet everyone during their stay. She is not a personal concierge. She is always available by phone or email and one of her staff is usually in the immediate vicinity to help with questions or problems. Although I'm not usually there personally I am available by phone or email and like Peggy I will make every effort to fully satisfy any reasonable request or complaint. Thank you all for your understanding in this delicate matter. Dan Reid e-mail:
Did you find this review helpful?
3 3


  • 5 of 5

Where to start...This beautiful gated community is only one half hour from the airport. For $35 US Jose will pick you up and take you to the villa. He will even stop for groceries if you want on the way to the villa. He was so friendly and nice. The small community is gated and watched 24 hours a day. Both at the entrance to the community and the walkway to the beach. the Villa is even more beautiful than the photos. Must more lush with tropical plants and it was VERY CLEAN. Our housekeeper Edy, was so sweet and put fresh flowers in our villa daily. The pool is a DREAM. There is a small built in table in the pool with a underwater seating so you can sit and drink and enjoy the privacy of the pool behind the Villa. All the other villas in the community had the pools out front, we loved that it was PRIVATE. The white marble floors were cool on your feet and felt great. Lots of storage space for our things. Big dining room table, the kitchen had most anything you wanted. the wifi worked great, and there was a TV in the living room and in one of the bedrooms. The porch out front with the rockers was very nice. It only rained once, but it was great to have a place outside to sit. Each bedroom has it's own A/C unit and they worked very well keeping it cool. The pool man came by each day checking the pool. He was also very friendly. I agree you do not need a car. With the way the Dominican people drive, you would not want to be on the roads with them. All we did was walk down the beach and there was anything you wanted. it was such a wonderful villa and such a great location and I felt sorry for the suckers who were stuck in a hotel with all the noise and congestion. I am now spoiled rotten and will be hard to stay in a hotel again. If you are lucky enough to book this villa, you will feel like you just hit the jackpot. Such a wonderful place, kind and friendly people, and a bonus was the binder in the villa explaining things. Even got pizza delivery within 5 minutes from ordering it. The guards at the gate were kind enought to order for us as we did not speak spanish. There is a coffee place right outside the front gate with amazing food for a good price. I would highly recommend this villa to anyone who wants a slice of paradise. It truly was an amazing place to stay and it is kept up very nice and clean. I can't think of one negative thing about this villa or community. BOOK IT YOU WILL LOVE IT!!!!!!

  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0


Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Puerta Plata (POP)
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Many to Choose from
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Many to choose from
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Many to choose from
Nearest Beach
Car: not necessary

Out the back door to private pool and Tiki Bar or out the front door and on the beach in less than a minute. About a 10 minute walk along the beach takes you into the village of Cabarete with restaurants/bars, casinos and shopping right on the beach.


Rates & Availability

Cabarete Villa Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Dec 15 2016 - Jan 15 2017
6 night minimum stay
High Season
Jan 16 2017 - Apr 17 2017
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 18.0%

Daily (except Sunday & holiday) maid service is provided. Airport transportation can be arranged from Porta Plata (POP) is about 1/2 hour ride or $30.00 (US$) cab fare. New Washer/dryer combo has just been installed for your convenience.

Holiday dates (12/15 - 1/15) are rented weekly (7 days) at the rate of $2200.00 weekly. Please advise if any questions.

50% deposit to hold reservation with balance in full at least 2 weeks prior to arrival. Sorry no credit cards, personal checks are acceptable.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Cabarete Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
  • As of 12/2015 all bathrooms in the main house were totally renovated. New pictures are now in the main photo area of this site. Professional photos are on order and will be posted as soon as possible.
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen size Beds (3) Main house has 2 queen/1 double - Guest House has 1 queen bed, Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1) Alcove has twin bed, Baby Cribs (1) Available upon request
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Private swimming pool, tiki bar, tropical gardens,

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties