check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Family Friendly Boating & Fishing on Michigan Inland Waterway

Bedrooms 3
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 nights


Minimum Stay
3 nights


Cheboygan Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6-10)

Enjoy the entire INLAND WATERWAY from a nicely appointed cabin with 100 feet of frontage on the Black River.

You may dock your boat right on the Black River with access to 45 miles of Inland Waterway and the Straits of Mackinaw. Fishing is superb right from the dock! Or if you prefer, use the waterway to access the inland lakes [Mullet and Burt etc.] or Lake Michigan to fish and/or cruise to Bois Blanc ( Boblo) or even Mackinac Island.

My Cabin has a 10' x 65' Sun Deck, Full Kitchen with Dishwasher and Garbage Disposal. I have a gas Barbecue with Outdoor Patio Furniture and I have a fire pit down by the river to enjoy warm nights under the stars.

Springtime brings out the migratory birds and water fowl which are rarely seen anywhere else.

Other activities include bicycling on Mackinac Island that is 11 miles from the Cheboygan inlet, [25 minutes by car] water skiing, golfing at world class courses, and mushroom hunting in the spring.

There is also a Restaurant / Bar with entertainment within walking distance. They have a fish fry every Friday night, GREAT Pizza and a full menu for those nights you just feel like relaxing.

Keywords: Cabin, Mackinaw, fishing, boating,

More Details
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Ken Miller
Member since: 2000
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 31, 2016
Call Owner

Why Ken Miller chose Northern Michigan

I bought the Cabin because of the location on the Inland Waterway, it's location to Mackinaw and the Straits of Mackinaw.

I also love to be there in the spring when the migratory water fowl are plentiful.

What makes this cabin unique

The place is quiet, the dock is very relaxing and very nice in the morning with coffee and also at sunset. The beaver swims by promptly at 9PM [you can set your watch by it]

Also, The neighbors are helpful in a fix but not even noticeable on an average day.


Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

Family Friendly Boating & Fishing on Michigan Inland Waterway
average rating of 4.1666665 based on 6 reviews
Metro Detroit

Charming, clean and a great location.

  • 5 of 5

Six of us just returned from this clean and cozy cottage. The land is beautiful and we loved our bonfires by the lake. We fished in Long Lake which is five minutes away but had more luck right off the dock. We caught Small Mouth Bass, Large Mouth Bass, Rockfish, Perch and Pike . What a variety! (and yes, we saw the beaver : ).

The cottage is close to anything you need from grocery stores to tourist attractions. We visited Mackinaw City, Tunnel of Trees, Mackinaw Island, Indian River-The Cross in the Woods, downtown Harbor Springs. and the kids went to see some bear thing in the UP, Best pizza in town-This Old House Pizza on the corner of Main and Jackson. Be prepared to put on a couple of pounds ; )

The pictures really don't do this property justice. The view from the patio is beautiful and enjoyed listening to nature.

Our host, Ken is willing to answer any questions and is quick with emails. I highly recommend this cottage. Thank you Ken. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Denise for taking the time to post your review. I have many nice reviews in my gust book at the cabin but now prospect renters can see your on line. It was a pleasure having you as my guest. Kind Regards, Ken
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Perfect place for me!

  • 5 of 5

I was travelling on my own - with my pet - to northern Michigan and needed access to Mackinaw City/Mackinac Island. This was the perfect place - 24 minutes away! The house was comfortable, fully stocked with kitchen supplies, and the deck on the back was the perfect place to sit at night. I loved this place!! If I ever go up there again and am in need of a place to stay, I hope this is available. Ken was very accommodating.

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank You Karen! I have many good reviews in my guest book on the coffee table but it's very nice of you to take the time to place this on line. I look forward to having you as my guest again, Ken
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Good Family Vacation

  • 4 of 5

Great family vacation for boating, fishing and sight seeing. Our family just spent a week a the rental. Rental has a great view from the deck. Deck has a nice grill and plenty of seating for eating outdoors. The cabin has a well equipped kitchen, although we never found the toaster. Lots of nice bedding and towels are provided. Very friendly neighbors on both sides that are more than happy to give great info on the area. My husband did not even miss any of his sports with Direct TV provided. We had a great time exploring the waterway and even seen Kid Rock in Indian River on his boat. Good pizza at the pines restaurant. Have to add the rental was very clean.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Love this place two years in a row

  • 5 of 5

My family and I love this place !!!!!!!! We have stayed here two years in a row it feels like home to us . Working with the owner is awesome he has always gone out his way to help us . The house is great an comfortable has a well stocked kitchen and nice 3 bedrooms I wouldnt stay anywhere else.

I don't know where the lady in the above post stayed but I know it can't be the same place . This place has a great location almost the center of where you need to be for the UP or anywhere else .

Can't wait till next year !!!!!!🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟😄

  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Staying in this cabin was a NIGHTMARE!!!!! Please do not trust this owner or his family/cleaners

  • 1 of 5

My wonderful family of four traveled to Cheboygan for our last summer trip of 2014. We were traveling with our two dogs and looked forward to what was in store. Our time in the surrounding cities was lovely. This cabin on the other hand was NOT! When we arrived we walked in to find a strong musty smell, only to find a note from the cleaning person explaining that there was a leak in the toilet and we would find a fan in the bathroom. This is where is all started. Next, the lawn crew came and blocked us in the driveway to where we had to drive on the lawn to leave for the island. We were visited by Jehovah's witnesses very early the next morning and the screen door completely broke off the hinges when we opened it. After sending the owner a message about the door, he asked me to measure it and send him the measurements so he could replace it. The deck off the back of the house was in such poor condition, my daughter and I almost fell through the whole thing just walking on it. There are absolutely no outdoor trash cans on the property. You are expected to buy a transfer card to dump your trash, yet the owners of the store they claim sells them, will not sell you one. After all of this, this owner is claiming we left the home "trashed" and used it as a kennel for our dogs. He claims we need to pay for replacing the carpet due to a strong urine and feces smell. Not only is he claiming our dogs ruined his carpets, the neighbors reported that we had four dogs not two. The lies and disrespect this person is spewing is unheard of. My family has rented properties from this site before, with our dogs, and have never had an experience like this. Unprofessional and appalling! Save yourself the deposit and rent a better property with a professional owner that will not make outrageous claims and try to steal your money. It has been claimed that we "trashed" the place, left rancid meat in the microwave, left dirty dishes in the sink, our dogs left two huge bags of dog hair, urinated and defecated on the carpets. These are bogus claims and will be reviewed by my legal team. My husband ran the dishwasher before we left, I personally washed, dried and folded the master bedroom linens and left them on the bed, washed folded and dried the towels in the bathroom, purchased extra laundry soap, toilet paper, paper towel and Kleenex to leave for the next owners (as instructed). These claims are outrageous in nature and completely untrue!

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This person should be ashamed of themselves. I went back over my rental guests since 2001 and out of 77 guests (about half of whom have had pets) this is the only person who left the place so badly I had to forfeit their entire deposit. One of my renter’s sons tore off the accordion door in the 3rd bedroom and at her request she asked that I take it out of her deposit. I charged $35 for the cost of the new door and then I put it on myself. One guest left garbage with, well, you know what happens with week old garbage, and I had to charge $120 to bring in my lawn crew to clean it up. Otherwise there has been no other situation in 13 years where I kept anyone’s security deposit and I have copious records to prove it. This renters complete lack of respect for property and the guests that might have followed (luck was this was not a change over) is a NIGHTMARE. The carpet cleaning bill was $170 the additional hours of cleaning was $90 so the $200 security deposit did not even cover the cost of the mess they left. Perhaps some good can come of this because I can say to everyone who reads this that from time to time normal wear and tear will cause things to break as with the storm door this year (replaced on 9/5/14) The refrigerator went bad 7/10/13 had it delivered and replaced the next day by ABC out of Gaylord, The washer replaced 8/23/11 (that took two days to deliver). I cannot guarantee that unexpected malfunctions will not occur. I am just a guy with a cabin up north that wants families WITH or without pets to come and enjoy the place I love and take pride in. This is why it is so important for guests with pets to take extra care (almost everyone has) so everyone can enjoy a clean place to stay. If you believe this person then I guess you will miss out and that is the real tragedy here…as they say “one bad apple”
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
Farmington Hills, Michigan

Late July 2010

  • 5 of 5

We just got back from spending a long week at the Black River Retreat and are delighted to recommend this cabin both for its amenities and location. There’s plenty of room and the kitchen is well equipped, including a full-size fridge. The deck is large with a table, chairs and umbrella and there’s a nice propane grill. The property is large and the pictures on the web-site don’t do the view justice--except for the tree-line you can see almost from horizon to horizon. You can sit on the deck for breakfast or dinner and look across the river to see deer and wild turkeys, and in the evening you can hear the coyotes howl in the distance.

The breeze off the deck was wonderful, in the shade for dinner, and with hardly any bugs--we didn’t need any mosquito repellant the entire time! We watched the sunrise from the deck, the sunset in Cheboygan, and saw a billion stars.

The corner store is within eyeshot (next to the church) and has hand-dipped ice cream for $1.50/scoop, package liquor, and almost anything you’d need in a pinch and is open from 8am until 9:30pm most days. The local tavern is just down the road with a Friday Fish Fry, famous pizza, karaoke, pool table and a very friendly vibe from both patrons and employees.

We took day-trips to Cheboygan, Mackinaw City, the Tunnel of Trees on M-119, Harbor Springs, Petoskey and Charlevoix--all within an hour’s drive or closer. There are plenty of good restaurants, both adult and family-style, or you can save a bundle by cooking meals yourself. Glen’s and Wal-mart groceries are only about fifteen minutes away. For entertainment you can fish from the dock and at the dam, or watch TV, DVD’s and video tapes or listen to the stereo.

The owner is such a gentleman and so easy to do business with. We had a wonderful and relaxing time and will definitely return in the future. ‘Hoping you enjoy your stay as much as we did ours!

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
13 0


Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Nearest Ferry
25 Miles
Mackinac Island from Mackinaw City
Nearest Motorway
12 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Nearest Beach
6 Miles
Aloha State Park
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Cheboygan Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Rates include cleaning fee. Reserved only once deposit is received

Typically half the rental rate to book dates and the balance on week before stay. Other arrangements can be discussed because of length of time before the stay, etc.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing


Cheboygan Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Water View
  • Waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
  • 1
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , The Futon is a full size bed so two can sleep
    Bedroom 2 - 1 bunk bed , Bunk bed has two twin beds
  • Queen size Beds (1) MASTER BEDROOM, Twin or Single Beds (1) 3RD BEDROOM, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Full Size Futon in 3rd Bedroom, Bunk Beds (1) TWO TWINS IN SECOND BEDROOM
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
2 TV's, 2 VCR's, Gas BBQ, 10' x 65' Sundeck, Patio Furniture Set with Umbrella, Huge 200 square foot/18 x 12ft 'L' shape boat dock

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties