check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Waterfront home with magnificent sunsets on tranquil lake

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
8
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
2 - 7 nights

Description

Unity House Rental Photos and Description

Enjoy lake front living in this pristine cottage-esque home on beautiful Crescent Lake; a location away from the hustle and bustle, yet well situated for many four-season outdoor activities.

This newly renovated family-friendly home faces West which allows for phenomenal waterfront sunset views. An expansive deck leads down to a sandy beach area with walk-in water access (perfect for younger children and launching your kayak), and a large dock (which can hold a boat up to 20-25 ft).

The open-layout (living room, kitchen, dining area and 4-season porch seating) is perfect for comfortably hosting 8 people (perfect for two families) and offers lake views from just about every seat. The entire home has been newly renovated; new carpet (in bedrooms), new hardwood floors downstairs, updated, fully-equipped kitchen with dishwasher, and fresh paint in every room.

Amenities include: gas grill, 2 kayaks, 1 canoe, linens (sheets, towels, beach towels), wireless internet, netflix, and washer/dryer.

3 bedrooms / 2 bathrooms, sleeps 8:

Bedroom 1 (downstairs): Queen bed and full-sized futon.

Bedroom 2 (upstairs): The "bunk room" - two standard twins and a bunk bed (4 twins total)

Bedroom 3 (upstairs): This is a huge master suite with a small deck overlooking the lake. It includes a queen bed and a sitting area with a pull-out bed (unfolds to queen bed). The sitting area is great for game-playing, watching TV, and/or quiet relaxing. Perfect spot for children to hang out for some down time!

Bathroom 1 (downstairs): includes shower stall

Bathroom 2 (upstairs): very large bathroom, includes bath tub and shower combo.

Great location for all seasons. In addition to summer water activities enjoy: great trails for hiking (right out your front door); summer activities and winter skiing at Mount Sunapee (just 20 minutes away); leaf peeping in the fall; ice-skating & snowmobiling in the winter.

Crescent lake is located in Acworth / Unity, NH, near Sunapee, Clarement, and Newport. Shopping and antiquing just a short drive away!

Additional photos and details can also be found at: https://mylesawaynh.wordpress.com/

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Owner
Chris & K.T. Myles
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 9, 2016
Call Owner

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

Waterfront home with magnificent sunsets on tranquil lake
average rating of 4.5 based on 8 reviews
5

Very clean and beautifully decorated. Exactly as seen in pictures. Sunsets...amazing!

  • 5 of 5

When we first stepped in the house we immediately felt at home. From the welcome goodie bag to guest slippers and complimentary toiletries the owners special touches were felt. Being on the water was amazing as we spent most of our days there. At night we would settle down to a fire, take out the guitars and have a family jamboree. Pollards Falls was a favorite stop, Cornish Windsor covered bridge, local brewery and some hiking on border of Vermont.

The perfect getaway!

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you had such a wonderful time! Pollards Falls is one of our favorite spots too :) We look forward to having you back.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

A little disappointed!

  • 3 of 5

A little disappointed in the lake. It was not really swimmable. Also disappointment with the owner. While there the stove was broken and we received a msg stating the repair man would show up to repair. It never got repaired. Told we would receive $ back along with our deposit. After, we left; we received an email stating that due to excessive sand and dog hair on the furniture that we would be charged extra. Also due to a family member coming up for the day with her dog we would be charged an extra fee. So, we received only our original deposit back minus the $ for the broken stove we should have received.

Here is a list of the issues we were provided with from the owner along with my response.

*excess laundry: There was no excess laundry. All laundry was cleaned/folded and put back. Only laundry left were the sheets we stripped off the beds and put in the washing machine when we left. (We also bought new laundry detergent as there was none left for us. which we were told there would be)

*Excess sand. We swept the morning we left. Including the outside porch.

*additional dog fee. This dog was there one day and is 13 yrs old and does not shed. As for the excess dog hair. We had slip covers on all the furniture just in case the dog did get on it.

*additional cleaning fee – All dishes were done and put back in proper place. Upstairs bathroom was cleaned including sink and mirror. Counters /stove tops all cleaned and washed. All towels cleaned and folded.

I believe we paid for the cleaning fee. HMMMM why charge extra for sand and dog hair... if there in fact was any. When that house was cleaner when we left than it was when we arrived. (when we arrived, we arrived to a ton of trash that needed to be cleaned up from the prior house guest after a storm), tons of cigarette buts and dog poo on the law around the house, and the screen door was broken so the glass door had to always be closed so our pets would not come in the house wet.

One other thing, I noticed there where complimentary slippers. However, there was only one pair for 6 guests. You may want to ask your cleaning lady regarding this.

And just because we were nice neighbors while vacationing in your home. We gave a nice gift card to your neighbors for letting us use there electricity so our food would not spoil during the storm/no power/no water. (which I believe you never even checked on us to see if we need anything)

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are extremely sorry you were disappointed in your stay and especially with us. We strive to please our guests, stay in communication and be fair. We feel this review is missing quite a bit of detail and accuracy. **Without prior notification, the guest arrived with 3 extra people & pet. We waived our normal nightly charge for the extra guests, however did feel it was fair to charge for the extra pet, as it is not the age of the dog or their hair that causes xtra wear & tear to the home (rather claws, water, & sand). The guest was aware of our pet fee (as they brought two of their own pets). According to a text from the guest these additional people/dog stayed for the weekend (vs a single day). **The extra cleaning fee came directly from our cleaner. Our cleaner charges a flat rate, which the guest pays, and which covers an ~4 hour cleaning. This seems to be sufficient for the majority of our guest. If it takes the cleaner longer, she passes that charge to us, which we, per the rental agreement, pass along to the guest. In terms of the house being left clean: my husband arrived before the cleaner and had to sweep the floors and wipe fresh coffee from the counters (he even took photos of the excess dirt). He and the cleaner both noted the hair/sand in the couch. **We are sad you didn’t find the lake swimmable. This has not been an issue for our family, other guests, or our neighbors. If there is a way we can more accurately describe the lake on HA we will happily do so. **We did indeed contact the guest re the power outage: we sent a message as soon as we knew the power was out, and a 2nd message when the power came back on (to which the guest replied everything was fine and that they didn’t need anything). **This is the first we heard of any dog waste or other trash. Had we known, we would have immediately sent out someone to pickup the waste. **The guest did communicate the screen was broke. I asked if it was "off track & fixable", she replied "yes". We offered to send someone if they couldn't get it back on track and never heard back. **We did everything in our power to get the oven fixed and communicated every detail of our attempts to the guest. Due to an error on Whirlpool’s part, the serviceman was delayed and to further complicate things the part was back-ordered. We credited the guest for the inconvenience of not being able to use the oven. **Trash is no longer a problem as we added a 2nd tote, which was delivered during their stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 3
4

Beautiful views, comfortable and spacious home!

  • 4 of 5

This was our first time at Crescent Lake, the Myles Away home was beautifully renovated and spacious. Perfect for our two families. The dock was great, and lots of fishing fun to be had! One of our favorite destinations were the waterfalls, this is a perfect spot for a fun outing just down the road. We also took all the kids to Mt. Sunapee, and bought the day pass for the ropes course, disc golf, etc. it was a blast for the kids and adults!

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It's great to hear you enjoyed yourselves and we look forward to having you back.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Our stay at Myles Away property on Crescent Lake, New Hampshire was perfect for our family of six.

  • 4 of 5

The weather was perfect for most of the week and we all enjoyed the outdoors experience. The canoe, kayaks and pedal boat together with lifebelt for our year old grandson Oliver, were all wonderful. The children's toys under the deck and on the beach were ideal for his stage in life. Our lunches on the deck and the restful afternoons in a hammock or hanging chairs were delightful and the sunsets gorgeous. The seating areas on the deck and dock were well set out and we were grateful for the safety gate installed on the deck, keeping our grandson safe.

The spaciousness of the interior of the very attractive lake house made our stay very comfortable and the very well equipped kitchen a pleasure to be in. The bedrooms and beds were comfortable, the décor pretty and the bathrooms were adequate for all the family needs. We enjoyed the closed in porch area for our family breakfasts and dinners and the beautiful views out to the lake with fireworks on the fourth!!

The laundry area was very useful with a well appointed washer, drier and tub and the general cleanliness of the house very good. Thank you for the many comforts, the TV for the evenings, the games and the internet, though reading was bliss too!

As far as comments and suggestions, here go a few:

We noticed on various uses of the dishwasher that the latch or locking system did not always hold, hence the programs did not always work and performance at times erratic. The odor from the drains was also very strong.

The mesh sliding screen on to the deck was at times snagged in the top plastic runner and might have to be changed?

On arrival at the lake house we found the deck, dock and front stoop to be very covered in tree debris and needed a good sweep and hose down. Also the window frames on opening the windows for air needed a good clean.

A few ceiling fans would have been appreciated just to circulate the air and remove some of the afternoon heat.

On a final note we wish to thank KT and Chris for a very cute Lake House and to say we thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Best wishes to you and many happy days on Crescent Lake.

The Hughes Schaefer family (party of six) from Florida and Mas.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review and for staying at Myles Away. We appreciate your feedback. We have fixed the dishwasher (turns out it is a design flaw by the manufacturer that required an installation "workaround"). We are exploring some options to get the outside more tidy between guests, however at different times of the season, cleaning pollen & pine needles can be a losing battle!!! And this fall we will replace the screen track. Again, we appreciate hearing from you as we are always looking to improve the home for our guests!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Fantastic!!

  • 5 of 5

The Myles Away lakefront property is beautiful as well as functional! The home was exactly as it appears in the photos. Spacious, immaculate and fully equipped with all the amenities you could think of. It was so wonderful to just head out back and be able to have access to the clean lake, kayaks, canoe and paddle boat. Everything was in excellent working order and the communication provided by K. T. prior to our trip was exceptional! I have rented several properties and this one was the total package! The owners have gone above and beyond in creating a welcoming atmosphere for their guests. I felt as if we were staying in the home of a family member who personally knew me and anticipated all of my needs before I even asked. I spend many hours looking for the perfect vacation spot and I truly found it at Myles Away! I would not hesitate to recommend this property and I look forward to returning in the future.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and our home! We look forward to having you back :)
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Magnificent and tranquil - Indeed!!!

  • 5 of 5

We had an amazing time in this property. It is highly recommended and worth every minuet of the 4 hours drive from NJ.

The lake is calm and beautiful. The dock is specious . Kayaks, pedal boats, life vest-all in great condition and enough for 2 adults, three kids and one dog to spend 4 days (without going out for anything but groceries).

The house is beautiful, charming and equipped to the last smallest detail (including dog water toys). I can't think of anything that we needed and didn't have.

If you're looking for a relaxed vacation with lake activities for adults and kids-that's the place.

Not much to do around this area. but who needs to get out when you have everything right there?

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review and staying at Myles Away. We are happy to know you had a great time and look forward to having you back.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Ski
16 Miles
Mount Sunapee
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Unity House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Winter Break
Dec 24 2016 - Jan 7 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,925
 
 
Feb Break / Ski
Feb 17 2017 - Feb 27 2017
4 night minimum stay
$275
 
 
Summer 2017
May 20 2017 - Jun 17 2017
3 night minimum stay
$2,500
 
 
Peak Summer 2017
Jun 18 2017 - Sep 16 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$1,700
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $80 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $750
Cleaning Fee $135 + Tax
Tax Rate 9.0%

Cash/Check discount offered.
Rates subject to change until reservation confirmed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 0% refund if canceled at least 0 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Unity House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Downstairs Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , small bathroom with stall shower
    Upstairs Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , very large bathroom upstairs
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bunk Room - 4 twin/ single , Upstairs. 2 twins + bunk bed (4 twins total)
    Guest Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Downstairs: Queen + full size futon
    Master Suite - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Upstairs: queen size bed, plus pull-out queen sleeper sofa
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Television ...
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties