check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Cozy Cabin on Pickerel Lake: Dock,Firepit, Deck, Ski,Sled,Swim

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
cabin
Sleeps
12
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
3 nights

Description

Petoskey Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms + Loft + Den, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 10-12)

Charming 3 bedroom log cabin on beautiful Pickerel Lake. Spacious great room, sun room, and kitchen open to living room. Gas fireplace, 2 garages and playhouse with a Ping Pong Table. Giant deck with seating for 12 and gas grill. Private setting adjacent to 1000 acres of state land.

Lakeside firepit, sun platform, beach, and dock. Boat launch at the end of the road. Exceptional lake for skiing, tubing, and swimming. Sail through the nearby channel to Crooked and Burt Lakes, or to your favorite fishing hole. Spend the day skiing or snowboarding from nearby Boyne Highlands, Nubs Nob, or Boyne Mountain. Groomed snowmobile trail system minutes away. Close to casinos, well known golf courses, and exceptional dining venues.

Putt-putt, bowliing, winter sports park, sledding, ice skating, hiking, shopping, antiquing. The choices never end.

Keywords: Cottage, lake house, cabin, beach house, northern, cozy, quaint, large, roomy, private, charming, woods, forest, ski, lodge, snowmobile, swim, playhouse

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible

Owner
Lynette Drumhiller
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 27, 2016

About Lynette Drumhiller

We are a family of 6 from Mid-Michigan and love a variety of activities and the great outdoors.

Lynette Drumhiller purchased this cabin in 1998

Why Lynette Drumhiller chose Northern Michigan

The natural beauty, and wildlife on the property were an extra draw. The perfect location to enjoy the Great Lakes!!

Unique boutiques, art galleries and a variety of restaurants are located in Petoskey's Gas Light District, or nearby Bay Harbor, and Harbor Springs.

There is something to do for every sport enthusiast or lover of nature. And it's a perfect location for those seeking rest and relaxation too.

What makes this cabin unique

Relax on the deck and read a book, or watch your favorite movie from one of several tv's. Play Board games or do arts and crafts in the sunroom.

Explore the woods and pick Morels in the spring, or visit a local farm during Harvest. Spend the day at Mackinac Island, or head off to one of two area water parks. Frequent the many local art fairs and festivals.

Enjoy the paddle boat or fish from the end of the dock. The choice is yours.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi Lynette,



Just wanted to say thank you and to tell you how much we enjoyed the cozy cabin. Everything was clean and well thought out, making our stay even more enjoyable. Will be sure to leave a great review on HomeAway.



Thanks again,

The T-----s Family
May 2016
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

Cozy Cabin on Pickerel Lake: Dock,Firepit, Deck, Ski,Sled,Swim
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 19 reviews
5

Very clean and a perfect set up for our family. We will definitely be back!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time in this cottage. Everything was clean and set up very nicely. We rented a pontoon from Windjammer and kept it right and the dock. It was the perfect amount of room for the 6 of us and the dog.

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Amazing vacation

  • 4 of 5

Property was very private Well maintained Well stocked kitchen Disappointed in the lake at the property as it was mucky but understandable given the hot dry summer. We made the most of it as we rented a pontoon for the week and cruised the canals and found awesome sandbars. The ping pong table was a bonus!

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So happy you had an 'amazing vacation' and enjoyed the ping pong, and pontooning on our chain of lakes. Our family always enjoys time at one of the various sandbars on a hot summer day. Our kids (and even our dogs) love spending an afternoon there tossing a frisbee and making new friends. This hot hot summer may have impacted our lake, as Pickerel lake flows into Crooked Lake. I am happy that we have finally gotten some much needed rain and comfortable temps again, to set things back to normal. Pickerel lake is spring fed, so it won't take long for fresh water to balance it back and restore the lakebed. For more information on the chain of lakes, check out this link: http://irchamber.com/our-community/inland-waterway-michigan/ Pickerel lake: http://irchamber.com/visitor-information-2/pickerelcrooked-lakes/
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Clio, MI
3

It was a nice area but a little pricey for what it is.

  • 3 of 5

We were disappointed to find out there were not Jet Ski hoists as shown in the listing. We have two of them and this was one of the reasons that we rented this place. The owner said that she was sorry and to enjoy our vacation ????? The air conditioner do not work very well and the internet was very slow. The house was not very clean. There were cob webs in several areas and the paper towel under the kitchen sink had been chewed up by some type of critter. The location is nice but the place is not as clean as it appears in the pictures.

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry you are disappointed we sold our jet skis and hoists. My mistake for mentioning them when we spoke after you booked last November! I was just trying to be generous, as no rental cabins I know of can afford to offer empty hoists as part of their amenities. Again, I apologize. I was shocked to hear you felt the cabin wasn't perfectly clean, as we have had rave reviews with our new crew! If only you had let me know, they would have come right over to rectify anything you felt was amiss. Same with the air conditioning not keeping up. Maintenance is checking it over now, but the crazy heat index in northern Michigan of 104 degrees during your stay was likely a factor! I apologize we weren't able to rent you the additional days you requested either. Northern Michigan Inland lakes are very popular in the summer, especially the week of July 4th. Non holiday weeks are more affordable. The Internet is the fastest and best available in Northern Michigan, and most renters love that it reaches all the way to the dock! Quite a feat for a large property at the end of a private road, adjacent to over 1000 acres of state forest. (I love being able to sit by the lake on the extra sundeck while catching up on social media)! Best wishes, Lynette
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Secluded beautiful location

  • 5 of 5

We couldn't have asked for a better up north experience. The opportunities via the inland waterways, the views, the seclusion and absence of traffic were wonderful! The bed we slept in was very comfortable and all the guests complimented their sleep as well. The stove worked great and what charm! Even though it was a short stay it was a just right. The deck, the dock, the firepit all came into play for us. The pullout sofa's also were great. Thanks!

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are happy to hear you had a great time, and look forward to your next visit!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very Clean and Private

  • 5 of 5

The home was very clean and updated with a rustic cabin decor. There is a lot of space and seating on the deck outside and down by the lake too. The setting is very private at the end of the road and you can barely see the only neighbor...not typical for a lakefront home. We rented a pontoon boat from the nearby marina which ended up being great for cruising between Pickerel and crooked Lake. Crooked Lake has an awesome shallow sand bar to anchor and swim off the boat. Having the paddleboat and kayak was a plus and the water around the cabin was always very calm as it is tucked away with surrounding trees. The owners have really thought of most everything to make for a relaxing stay. Would definitely recommend the cozy cabin.

  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to hosting your family again someday!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great layout, location, and amenities

  • 4 of 5

It's hard to find a place that is big enough to allow our family to spread out, that's in a highly desirable area, that allows us to bring our dog instead of boarding her for a week, and that has amenities to keep everyone happy. But this is the place! Situated at the end of a dead-end street, surrounded by trees and vegetation, the cabin (house, really) is semi-secluded and very peaceful. We enjoyed the beachside firepit, the shallow lake for swimming, boating, and fishing, the wooden swing for lazy days of reading, the ping pong table, the big deck with grill, and the proximity to Petoskey for dining, shopping, and entertainment options. The house itself is warm and welcoming, and includes many extras, like paperbacks and toys for the kids. The bonus: the owner is very open and easy to work with. We're definitely looking forward to going back!

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Golf
4 Miles
+ Little Traverse Bay, Boyne Highlands, Bay Harbor
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Many to chose from: Petoskey, HSprings, Alanson
Nearest Ski
15 Miles
Boyne Highlands, Nubs Nob, Boyne Mountain
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Camp Petosega
Nearest Point of Interest
Party shoppe
Nearest Point of Interest
Boat Launch
Nearest Point of Interest
State Forest
Nearest Point of Interest
channel to crooked lake
Nearest Point of Interest
Public beach at Camp Petosega
Nearest Point of Interest
Ski area
Car: necessary

Mushroom hunting, Birding, Artesian well, ping pong table and playhouse

Rates & Availability

Petoskey Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$450
From
$450
Fri,Sat
$3,025
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Pet Fee $100
Extra person Fee (10+) $100
Cleaning Fee $150
Tax Rate 6.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Petoskey Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront ...
  • Rural
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (4), Sleep Sofa or Futons (2) 1 sofa-bed located in the downstairs sunroom, and another in the upstairs great room.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 2 garden chairs
  • 6 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
Beach, Dock w bench & ladder, Firepit, Playhouse with Ping Pong Table, Basketball net, trail access.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties