check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Brigitte

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french, spanish

Kayaker & Fly-fisher DREAM, private BattenKill waterfront super charming home

11 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Arlington House Rental Photos and Description

If UR into trouts, kayaks, books, bikes, hikes, photos,cooking... The good life!

380 ft of PRIVATE and grassy BattenKill river frontage: This is a dream location for fly-fishers, kayakers, canoers, bikers, hikers, golfers, equestrians. Skiers, painters, photographers, writers will enjoy this Norman Rockwell's village home. The MASS MOCA, Dorset Horse Show, the outlets in Manchester, the Race track in Saratoga, Lake George.... are all with a short drive. Arlington Village is a 5 minute walk away. Stratton and Bromley ski resorts are ca.12 -16 miles away.

Vermont with Charm, close to the NY and MA borders, 7 miles to Manchester and its outlets, restaurants. Close to Bromley and Stratton ski resorts, in a recreational area. This nicely furnished home is not 'just a rental.' It has a lot of character and style. There is not a better location on the Battenkill: watch the river, fish, and kayak or canoe from your own backyard, cook, enjoy life on the river.

The Home

The Kitchen was an 18th century one room house, the main core was built ca. 1840; the living room and Master bedroom are a 20th century addition.

UNIQUE: ca.100 feet from the water! And packed with a lot of fun, character, and light!

Older, refinished golden wooden floors in older construction, new woods (cherry and oak) in Addition. Brand new oil heat furnace (March 2010) and water baseboard radiators, two zones. Woodstove in Living-Room.

Upstairs: 2 Bedrooms, possibly 3 (using the Artist Studio 13ft/13ft). The Master Bedroom is ca. 13ft/21ft and boasts a new cherry floor, 3 large closets and a deck overlooking the river. Downstairs: Office (9ft/9ft), Dining-Room (12+ft/19ft) opening onto the River, onto the Kitchen through a Bar, onto the Office through French doors; Large and bright Living-room(13ft/21ft) opening onto the River through a deck…. A Bath and a Laundry/utility room are en suite of the Kitchen. Two porches and a deck face the river, the cows and horses, and the Village…

Also: House: ca. 1,700sq.feet, Land only: 0.48 acre but 380 feet of waterfront and the open

lawn looks huge and great. Across from the Recreational Park: Public tennis, golf, ice rink, basketball court, health trail, swimming pool…

Keywords: Delightful, old world, French, Hawaiian, Victorian, tri-centennial home!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Brigitte (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french, spanish

Reviews

4.8
based on 11 traveler reviews

Kayaker & Fly-fisher DREAM, private BattenKill waterfront super charming home
average rating of 4.818182 based on 11 reviews
5

Cozy and romantic house on the river

  • 5 of 5

Our family stayed at Brigitte's house during the coldest days of Vermont in 2015. So cold that the ski mountains were closed. We were so happy in this charming house which kept us warm and together. The kitchen is fully functioning and looks out to the dining room. The master bedroom was large quite luxurious with the four-poster bed. There's one more bedroom which is very cozy and an open area with a mattress so it worked out perfectly for my two kids. The house is also filled with artifacts from around the world and gives it lots of personality. Brigitte is a very responsive owner and goes to great lengths to ensure a positive experience for her renters. We would come back in a heartbeat.

  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Heaven

  • 5 of 5

My 2 kids and I stayed at this wonderful spot during memorial day. The house was spotless, quiet and of course had the best view ever. Right on the Battenkill... the way life should be.

Highly recommended

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Wake Forest, NC
5

Arlingthon house

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in this house with my parents and enjoyed it very much. It is well laid out, is light and uplifting and in a great location with regard to Arlington, VT. It is right on the Battenkill River. We could bike ride into Arlington, Kayak many miles of the river and fly fish adjacent to the property. Although on 313, traffic sounds did not detract from the experience. We have stayed in 3 other houses in VT over the past 8 years and if available, we would be returning to this one next year. A word about the Battenkill. It has the reputation of being one of the most difficult fly fishing rivers in the world and that reputation is well deserved. However, the owner recommended Tom Goodman a fly fishing guide with Battenkill Anglers who has fished the river for 40 years as a guide and I hired him. I would highly recommend anyone planning on fly fishing this river to Tom. He helped unlock mysteries of the Battenkill for me that I have not, in 8 years been able to do on my own. Again, we will go right back to this house and to Tom next year if both are available.

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Cape Elizabeth, Maine, 04107
5

Perfect Vermont Vacation Home

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I, our baby, and my mom had an outstanding week at this charming home. The location cannot be topped. As a fly-fisherman I enjoyed good fishing right out back. My wife enjoyed sipping a glass of wine in a comfortable chair by the river each evening while I cast for wily brown trout. Walking distance to charming Arlington village. Easy driving to Manchester and its many shops and restaurants. A week was not enough time to even scratch the surface of all this area has to offer. The house itself is comfortable and charming. Plenty of room to spread out when you need some time to yourself (I personally loved the book-lined study for quiet reading). The spacious master bedroom was an oasis. The eclectic decor throughout is fun and stylish. The big expanse of green grass out the door leading down to the river is beautiful. We couldn't have been happier with our week.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

a magical two weeks

  • 5 of 5

We totally fell in love with this cosy Vermont home that is full of charm and character. We were lucky to have good weather and could enjoy breakfasts on the porch or by the stream. Arlington is a short walk away and is surrounded by gorgeous areas, between beautiful, historic Bennington and Manchester. There walked and hiked all around the area, towards covered bridges and lakes, and loved it all. We visited many places in the fall, but no other place was quite like this house in Arlington. It really felt like home. It was quiet, intimate, furnished with taste and practical intentions, very comfortable and close to a town that had everything we needed.

  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
West Hartford, CT
5

Family getaway

  • 5 of 5

This house was perfect for our family, with awesome skiing at Bromley only about 20 minutes away and great shopping and activities in nearby Manchester. Although situated on a main road, you would never know it with the beautiful view of the Battenkill River from most of the windows in the house. We curled up next to the vintage wood stove every night, which provided a nice atmosphere and lots of warmth for board games and movies in the family room. The kitchen is great for making meals and having a glass of wine after skiing. Overall, we had a really nice family getaway at this quaint little home.

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Albany, NY, Rutland, Vt
Nearest Barpub
0.2 Miles
Arlington Inn
Nearest Golf
0.1 Miles
Arlington Recreational Park/Manchester
Nearest Train
40 Miles
Saratoga Springs, NY, Brattelboro, Vt, Albany, NY
Nearest Motorway
0.2 Miles
Rte 7A
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
West River Inn
Nearest Ski
17 Miles
Stratton and Bromley
Car: necessary

Fly-fishing, kayaking, canoeing, hiking, biking from the house to: the red covered bridge: 4 miles, to the NY border: 7 miles, to the Hudson: ca. 21 miles.. Golf across the river (9 holes) and major golf courses in Manchester and Dorset within 7 miles. Bromley Zip-line within 20 minutes. Dorset horse Show: 15 miles, Saratoga Springs race track and SPAC (NY City Ballet + concerts) 35 miles. MASS MOCA: 30 miles.... Lake George 35 miles, Art in Manchester, Williamstown, Amazing bookstore: Northshires Bookstore in Manchester: great books and lectures. Wonderful hikes all around. It's great there, and around!!!!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Arlington House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$450
$1,200
$2,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $75
Property Damage Protection $79
Pet Fee $50
Tax Rate 9.0%

If TENANT CANCELS ONE MONTH PRIO TO RENTAL: $500 will be held back, unless replacement is secured.
Rate: SPECIAL RATE FOR LONGER PERIOD, CONTACT OWNER.
REGULAR RATE + refundable security deposit $500 OR non refundable $89 insurance with VRBO or Homeaway site.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Arlington House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1700 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • River
  • Rural
  • Village ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Parking Off Street
  • Study Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1.5
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1) Antique, cast iron frame: makes it a bit smaller than a regular, modern double., Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Double Futon in the Artist Studio
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Piano
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Boat ...
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing

Partner Offers