Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Perfect Downtown Location

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedroom, 1 Bath Apartment- Sleeps 4-5

Charleston is a unique city full of history, charm and hospitality. The next time you visit Charleston, get a personalized experience by living like a local. This 2 bedroom apartment is located off of St. Philip Street in the heart of beautiful and historic downtown Charleston.

Just a block away from upper King Street, the new epicenter of the city's renowned restaurant and nightlife district. Enjoy some of Charleston's best local dining with Hominy Grill, Five Loaves Cafe, Two Boroughs Larder, The Ordinary, and The Grocery all located within 3 blocks of the rental. This wonderful cultural city also offers galleries, museums, gorgeous churches, carriage tours, great shopping, and the beach is just minutes away.

This rental comfortably sleeps 4 people and can sleep 5. There are two bedrooms, one with a King size bed and one with a full size bed. The bedroom with the full size bed is tiny but does have space to put your luggage and has a small closet. In the living area there is a futon that folds out into a full size bed where a fifth person can sleep.

Provided are TWO free OFF-STREET parking spaces that are directly in front of the rental.

When renting a car we suggest reserving an economy size for parking.

Household items/appliances include microwave, coffee maker, coffee filters, fridge, toaster oven, hairdryer, iron and board, dishes, toilet paper, paper towels, trash bags, shampoo, conditioner, and soap.

2 night minimum stay.

Friday and Saturday nights must be reserved together.

Rates are based on time of year and events.

Check in is at 4 PM, Check out is at 11 AM.

Please consider these times when planning your travel as we do not make any exceptions for early check in or late check out.

We do not allow pets.

More Details

Property Manager
Maybre Hodges
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 14, 2017

Amenities

Cannonborough Elliotborough Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 3 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Sleeper Sofa - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Full sleeper sofa
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

3.7/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

20% Complete
40% Complete
30% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
Perfect Downtown Location
average rating of 3.7 based on 10 reviews
4

great location!

  • 4 of 5

we loved the space and location! perfect for a girls weekend away. only reason for 4 stars is because of noisy neighbors above us. fortunately our host took care of it though.

  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Sue! I was happy to host you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Hoboken, NJ, USA
3

Great location, but needs better cleaning service

  • 3 of 5

We loved having our own little nook in historic Charleston. It was easy to get to restaurants, shops, and museums on foot from this place. The space is cozy but really nicely renovated, with very efficient use of the small space, especially in the kitchen and bathroom areas. The owners thoughtfully provided a few guides to the city, and the heat worked well on what became a surprisingly chilly weekend!

However, after paying a $125 cleaning fee, I was surprised to find dead bugs in most of the wine glasses, lots of junk under the pullout couch, and broken glass on the living room rug. (We had a toddler running around, so we were careful to keep his shoes on after that.) I would assume that a professional cleaning service (and not the owners) is responsible for this, in which case, it might be time to try someone new.

  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Good location

  • 3 of 5

Interesting unit with (apparently) hand-laid brick floor...excellent location...one block off King St.

the main drag. Charleston itself was fabulous...great food, lots of live music and, of course, chock-full of American history. We'll be back

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

A miss

  • 2 of 5

I wish I could be more positive, but our stay here was not good. During the time we were in Charleston (early March), the outside temps didn't get out of the 40s. Unfortunately, the inside temps didn't get out of the low 60s. On our first night, we tried raising the thermostat to 75 to see if we could coax out some heat, but although the blower (which is in an alcove in the larger bedroom behind a burlap curtain) ran all night (and made the bedroom sound like the inside of a jet), the temp never got above 63. The next day a maintenance man showed up and diagnosed a faulty thermostat. When we returned that night, there was indeed a new thermostat set to 71 but the temp in the unit was 62. The air coming out of the vents was cold, so after setting the temp to 75 again, waiting a couple of hours while the blower went nonstop, and still getting no heat, we shut the system off. By the next morning, we were down to 59 at which point management offered a full refund, which we readily accepted. Some things to note:

(1) The lights on either side of the entrance door are supposed to come on automatically at night but don't, and since this unit is located under the piazza (veranda), the entryway is dark and it's hard to see the keypad. (In fact, it's impossible at night. Bring a flashlight.)

(2) The kitchen is cute but there is no kitchen knife and no dishrag or sponge for washing dishes (although dishwashing liquid and a dish cloth for drying are provided).

(3) The bathroom is VERY small. If you try to raise your elbows while standing in the shower stall you will hit the walls before you get them fully up. The sink is lilliputian.

(4) The foldout bed in the love seat (it's not a couch) is listed as a full bed but looks more like a twin. If I sat sideways on the love seat, I could not fully extend my legs and I'm about 5' 4". It wouldn't be comfortable for an adult but would be OK for a small child.

(5) As noted by others, the floor is lovely old, old brick—very attractive but also very uneven with sharp ridges that are hard on feet. Bring well-soled slippers.

(6) St Philip Street is noisy and can be heard loudly in the large bedroom.

Finally: our calls to the rental agency never got answered on the first call. That said, they did call back fairly promptly after we left messages and they did refund our money in full for the lack of heat.

  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Anne, I do sincerely apologize for the temperature problems during your stay. As soon as we got the HVAC tech out we were told it was a thermostat issue which we did replace that same day. After further diagnosing after you checked out, it turns out the entire unit needed to be replaced; which we have done. The two exterior lights have been replaced and come on automatically at night and when motion is sensed. There are kitchen knives and dishrags in the kitchen. Perhaps you overlooked them? We assume that our guests will use the dishrag provided to wash dishes (if any are used) and let them air-dry. We do not provide sponges at this time due to their short lived lifespan. You are correct; the bathroom is tiny. We mention that in the listing description and show an accurate picture of the bathroom in the photos. The design of the house just does not allow for a much larger bathroom. The pull-out in the living area folds out into a twin size bed. We have added a chair in the living area for extra seating if there were to be a group of 5 in the unit. Your initial call to us was made after 8 pm and we tell all of our guests that calls made after 8 pm are reserved for emergencies only. We got back to you as quickly as possible the next morning. I hope that you still enjoyed Charleston despite the HVAC issues that you experienced.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing stay

  • 5 of 5

Had a great time in charleston and recommend this convenient and amazing property right off of King street. Cozy, cool, and perfect for a small family or a quick getaway

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Lovely!

  • 3 of 5

My Mom and I stayed here for 3 nights for a short vacation. The location is perfect - close to lots of restaurants and things to do. The neighborhood is nice and quiet. It was great to have off-street parking. The beds were very comfortable! The futon is not very comfortable to sit on. It would have been nice to have some furniture on the front porch and the outside light didn't work. The bathroom is a little tight, especially the shower. We loved the kitchen but there was no ice maker. It was nice to have a washer and dryer. This place is cozy and has lots of character!

  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: not necessary

There are horse and carriage rides, multiple walking tours and historic house tours located just several blocks away. Many local boutiques and restaurants are easily available and walkable to enjoy during your days. Local farmers markets and festivals occur regularly here in our city at Marion Square conveniently located just 4 blocks away.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125 + Tax
Tax Rate 14.0%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties