Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Zen-Up Condo 1/2 Block to the Beach- Better than a 5 Star Hotel!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,100 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedrooms, 2 Full Bathrooms, Sleeps 8

Discover the carefree vibe and eco-conscious living of Zen Condo's – the ideal home base for your LA stay. WE HAVE TWO 2-BDRM CONDOS AVAILABLE. If this listing is already booked, please check out our other listing on homeaway: ID 3709254

This property is one of the best kept secrets of South Venice. We're located on a quiet and lovely walk-street, just one block from the ocean and a minute's walk to the Venice Pier, Boardwalk, and iconic Canals, where you can find amazing restaurants and entertaining day/night life. Take advantage of our additional outdoor patio downstairs with BBQ and fireplace for a cozy space to chill and enjoy a fire-side meal with friends.

You will enjoy bicycle and walking paths along the oceanfront with the best people-watching in L.A. Stay active with the world-famous Muscle Beach, beach volleyball courts and surfing in your own backyard. Within walking distance are chakra health spas and yoga studios. Dine at one of the many restaurants just around the corner or enjoy the sunset at one of the rooftop bars. A 5-min bike ride takes you to the many boutique shops, restaurants and galleries on Abbott Kinney Boulevard, and we provide rental bikes for your convenience!

In our ZEN UP condo, enjoy the beautiful and modern beach-inspired furnishings, large windows, local artist designs, luxurious King bed with tempur-pedic bedding in the master with 32” flatscreen TV and 2 Queen beds in the guest suites also outfitted with temper-pedic bedding and organic cotton linens. Take advantage of the full kitchen and wet-bar, high-speed WiFi, 40” LCD flat-screen TV and entertainment system, built-in 'Beyond O2' alkaline water filtration system for drinking/bathing and custom stained rock and bamboo floors.

You’ll have full access to a private deck off the master suite and the BBQ in our Veranda and Zen garden. You can expect all the comforts of home with a true Venice experience.

It's perfect for families and business travelers and we have additional bedding to accommodations up to 8 people.

ADDITIONAL AMENITIES:

Smart 40” LCD Flat-screen TV & Entertainment System w/ Cable, HBO & Showtime

32” LCD Flat-screen TV in Master Suite

DSL Internet & High-Speed Wi-Fi

Full Kitchen & Appliances

In-House, State-of-the-Art Water Filtration System

Walk-In Closet

Shower & Tub

Washer/Dryer on Premises for Use Upon Request

Bikes for Rent

Outdoor Patio with BBQ

Family/Kid Friendly

Additional Bedding Available For Up to 8 People

PARKING: You have 1 spot is included with your stay. An additional spot can be rented for $20 a night.

Please note this unit does NOT have central air conditioning; we have high-power fans in each room.

***The first 3 guests are included in the nightly rate; additional guests up to 8 are allowed with a per night charge of $25-$40 depending on the season. All costs and broken down in the price quote when you inquire about booking.

HOUSE RULES

We ask all our guests to read and agree to the following rules before booking:

*This is a great spot for a vacation or business trip! However, WE ARE NOT A PARTY PAD. Our space is reserved typically for travelers only. We do not host locals within 30 miles, though if you have a special circumstance (such as family visiting or if you are displaced by home repairs, etc.) feel free to inquire.

*SMOKING: We have a no-smoking policy indoors, but guests are free to utilize our communal patio for smoking.

*Strict NO DRUGS policy

*PETS: We have many guests that stay with small pets, however please let us know in advance if you plan to bring a pet. We do have an additional cleaning fee of $100. Typically we do not allow cats.

*We are very eco-conscious hosts and provide both recycling and waste bins. We kindly ask that our guests help us keep our community a clean and environmentally friendly place with these helpful tools.

*NOISE: We aim to offer guests a zen experience and do have other units on our property. Noise must be kept to a respectable level, especially after 10PM. We ask that guests refrain from blaring music and hosting loud parties. Noise complaints may result in a fee of $100.

*You will be asked to pay for any stained towels/lines, etc. or any other damages to the unit

More Details

Property Manager
Jason Dilts
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 14, 2017

About Jason Dilts

We're local Venetians who enjoy health and wellness, surfing, yoga and traveling. We can tell you all about the local spots to check out and we like to greet all guests with keys and a quick tour of the property. There is almost always a property manager nearby if you need anything. We're very responsive to your calls and love to provide local suggestions for your stay in Venice!

Jason Dilts purchased this condo in 2005

Guestbook comments from the manager

Thank you so much for your very generous review and we are very excited to have you come back again soon!



Andrew
Oct 2013
  • 1 of 1

Map

Nearest Airport
6.5 Miles
LAX - Los Angeles International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Venice Whaler
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
90 Freeway and 405 Freeway
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Venice Beach, CA
Car: not necessary

Discover the carefree vibration of the Marina Peninsula – the ideal home base for your LA stay. The 2-bedroom, 2-bathroom upper unit apartment is located 2 blocks from the beach, directly south of the Venice Pier. We are a bottom unit also 2/2 so when inquiring about the place make sure to specify the unit you are interested in (see photos).

We are steps from the Venice boardwalk and the iconic canals. You can enjoy bicycle and walking paths along the oceanfront with some of the best people-watching around. Stay active with the world-famous Muscle Beach, beach volleyball courts and surfing in your own backyard. Within walking distance is a health spa and yoga studio. Dine at one of the many restaurants just around the corner or enjoy the sunset at one of the rooftop bars. You may also tour museums, view Art galleries and/or shop the vintage boutiques on Abbott Kinney Boulevard. Our location is minutes away from LAX, and all of the the excitement happening in Los Angeles and Santa Monica.

Amenities

Venice Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
  • No big parties or loud noise! If you are looking for a party pad, this place is not for you. Dinner parties are of course OK. Events considered.
  • We typically only host travelers. No guests within 30 miles of LA. If you have a special circumstance, though, feel free to inquire. MUST BE APPROVED.
  • We do NOT have central air conditioning/heat. Temps are typically mild so close to the ocean. We provide high powered fans/space heaters in each room.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Near The Ocean
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Backpack
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bathroom - toilet , shower
    Guest Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , With Antique Claw-footed Tub
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king
    Guest Bedroom - 2 queen
  • We have a large sectional sofa in the living room that comfortably sleeps 1 person. Additional bedding can be made available upon request.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch Furniture
  • Small Cooler
  • Walkway to Water
  • Water Sports Gear
  • 6 bicycles
  • 12 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • alternative lifestyle
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Surf lessons available!! The property manager is on site, and will happily arrange any special request.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(24 traveler reviews)

62% Complete
29% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
Zen-Up Condo 1/2 Block to the Beach- Better than a 5 Star Hotel!
average rating of 4.4583335 based on 25 reviews
1

Disappointed

  • 1 of 5

It felt dirty. Couches have a smell the shower head don't work properly and list goes on not a recommended place

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately this guest is not being transparent about the fact that she caused over $700 in damage to our property. We carefully inspect each unit after a guest checks out and address any issues. The shower head has been fixed (the guest did not alert us of this issue but we discovered it after she checked out). The couch only smelled after she checked out because she brought in a pet without permission. It has since been steam cleaned. Future guests can rest assured that we promptly take care of any issues that arise, and always work to have the property up to the highest standard possible.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location!

  • 4 of 5

We had plenty of room!

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Really cute and comfortable great location

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time. Really cute place comfortable and convenient to everything

  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
La Grange, TX
3

Close to Beach but not a great stay

  • 3 of 5

First of all, there is much to like about this place. It was in a good location with an easy walk to the beach. Everything about the place was as described and to our liking with the following two exceptions.

1) The mattress in the master bedroom is really just a thick mattress pad (2"-3" thick) of the Tempurpedic variety. The pad slides around on the "box springs" and I had to get up 2x to push it back up into place. The sheets wrap around the pad which is not substantial enough to hold them in place long term so they started coming off and had to be put back into place. On a personal note, my wife and I find this type of foam mattress to be hot, but not everyone does. The beds in the other bedroom are fine and we took turns sleeping in there.

2) The unit is not temperature controlled. I knew this going into the stay and was not too concerned as it is cool along the beach. It does require leaving the windows and/or doors open to get the cool air and using fans to circulate it. This likely works fine over a long period of time, but the first night I was up and down trying to adjust fan speed and closeness to the bed to achieve a comfort level that worked. The foam mattress made the bottom half of me hot and the fan made the top half of me cold so I found that I turned over a lot. The last night it was very humid with a heavy dew and that made the sheets seem sticky. I think I would have been happier in a climate controlled unit. I do not hold this against the unit and it may be fine for most, but if you have difficulty sleeping it might present a challenge.

Overall we enjoyed the beach, Santa Monica, Abbott Kinney and Venice a great deal. Justin was easy to work with and booking was easy and straight forward.

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very near beech. Condo has all the necessary things for a comfortable stay. Excellent beds.

  • 5 of 5

Jason and Andrew were very helpful and prompt to respond to our requests. Thank you for a memorable vacation!

  • Submitted: May 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location, very comfortable

  • 4 of 5

All the comforts of home & a quick walk to the beach. Enjoyed our stay. Only complaint would be not enough towels & no hot water the last day-too cold to shower!

  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We enjoyed hosting you and thanks for staying with us! Sorry about the hot water; the rain storm took out or tank, but we had it fixed and hot water restored within a day. We do have extra towels in the laundry room that all guests are welcome to during their stay and do mention this in the welcome e-mail that all guests receive.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Administrative Fee $50
Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning Fee $140
Pet Fee $100
Tax Rate 14.0%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties