check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Mike Palmer

Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Beautiful Detroit Lake Cabin Rental--Sleeps 12!

16 Reviews
Sleeps15
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Detroit Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 12)

Lovely cabin at Detroit Lake Oregon! 3-Bedrooms, 2-Baths. The two bedrooms on the first floor have queen beds, the upstairs bedroom has three sets of bunk-beds and its own bathroom. There is also a queen futon in the loft area. There is plenty of room on the floor for sleeping bags. This cabin is the perfect getaway for couples, single or multiple families, or church retreats. Potential activities include skiing, sledding, snowboarding, boating, hiking, biking and lake fun. You will find the cabin has a peaceful and restful energy!

The cabin is ideally located just a few minutes walking distance to Kanes marina, Mt. High Grocery store and restaurants. There is plenty of room for parking, including boat and RV trailers. After a day of boating, relax on the covered porch, with mountain and partial lake views. Or, watch the snow fall outside the large picture windows while enjoying a toasty fire in the romantic wood burning fireplace. Only 35 miles from Hoo Doo Ski Resort.

The cabin is 1400 sq ft, has a fully stocked kitchen with all amenities a home-away-from home should have.

Keywords: Mountain cabin, lake cabin, lake view, detroit lake oregon, rental cabin, winter cabin, summer cabin

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Mike Palmer (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Mike Palmer

Our custom-built cabin was completed in 2010. We love spending time here no matter what time of year! There is always something to do, whether it is a long walk on the lakebed in the fall, watching the snow fall in the winter, or BBQs on the porch in the summer. Always a great time in Detroit, with lasting memories of time with friends and family.

Mike Palmer purchased this cabin in 2010

Why Mike Palmer chose Willamette Valley Oregon

We have always loved vacationing at Detroit Lake and feel so blessed to have had the opportunity to build this beautiful cabin. We are happy to share! Besides the summer lake fun, it is close to Hoodoo Ski Resort and Mt. Bachelor, Salem, Sisters and Bend.

What makes this cabin unique

A favorite of the kids is to walk to the store and buy candy! The store is a short and safe walk from our cabin. Early-morning walks and late-night star gazing are also favorites. There is a peaceful energy year-round and a festive energy in summer!

Reviews

4.3
based on 16 traveler reviews

Beautiful Detroit Lake Cabin Rental--Sleeps 12!
average rating of 4.3125 based on 16 reviews
4

Beautiful home and great deck! New furnishings throughout.

  • 4 of 5

Property was beautiful, the home was gorgeous and very new! It's such an easy walk to Kaines marina, great fireput out front, relaxing deck and comfy beds. The only negative would be that it wasn't well stocked (paper towels, toliet paper, dish spunge, dish soap, etc). We ended up buying all these things and leaving them there, but would have been nice not to worry about it. We would stay again in a heartbeat!!

  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Perfect Place to Stay in Detroit Lake

  • 5 of 5

The place is clean, new, and just a perfect place to stay. This was my second time back in the last month. If I had to pick a place to stay in Detroit Lake, this would be it. Owners are very nice, responsive people (I won't hold it against Mike that he's a Raiders fan).

  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Perfect lakeside cabin

  • 4 of 5

We had a lovely stay. There were 12 of us all together, and this property suited us. It was a short walk to the lake and the country store. The owners were very nice and were great at communicating with us. We will definitely consider this for future getaways.

  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

nice but noisy

  • 4 of 5

The house is very nice but sound travels inside. If one person is in the kitchen making breakfast people in the two downstairs bedrooms will get woke up. My only other negative would be that the bed in one of the downstairs bedrooms is very hard. I would recommend you bring a foam pad to put on it.

That said the positives are many. Great location. Nice parking area with fire pit. The upstairs bedroom is set up nicely for children. The kitchen was well stocked with everything we needed. The deck is wonderful.

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Mary and thank you for your review. We have not received feedback regarding the noise before so we will see if something can be done about that. We appreciate you taking time to complete a review and hope you enjoyed the cabin and surrounding area during this amazing weather we are experiencing. Take care.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Beautiful place, but bring own supplies

  • 3 of 5

This is a beautiful home and location. The deck is amazing and the beds are very comfortable. However, we did run out of basic paper items and had to ask for a set of sheets. Therefore, please plan on bringing your own salt, paper towels, garbage bags, etc. Also it would be helpful to know that you have to haul out your own trash and that the futon only works as a couch. The owner was responsive when asked direct questions and did refund our money and work with us on the arrival date.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Francesca, Thank you for your review. Once again, I apologize for the hassle you dealt with during your stay. As I mentioned our normal cleaning crew was away and you should not have had to deal with sheets that did not properly fit or running out of paper products. We had to adjust the futon after it is was broken so that we could still use it as a couch. And yes, unfortunately we do not have garbage service at the cabin. We try to cover these in our instruction details. Again, I am sorry for any inconveniences that you encountered during your stay. Take Care. Mike
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Home

  • 5 of 5

Our family stayed at this home for a relaxing weekend in early May. The weather was perfect, and the home itself was beautiful. There was plenty of room for our family, and our kids loved the large bunk room upstairs. The home is easy walking/wandering distance to the small shops in Detroit, and to the nearby marina (which was high & dry!!). Everything in this home conveyed a feeling of comfort and warmth - from the log furniture, to the open floor-plan, comfy beds, well-equipped kitchen, and lovely views. (We noticed that there are a few comments about the steep driveway... which we did find to be true, however it is quite a short driveway -maybe twice as long as your car- and you could just park at the bottom and walk up, if you'd want. Definitely not a big issue!) The home is amazing, the location is excellent, and the owners are incredibly responsive. Definitely recommend!

  • Submitted: May 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Point of Interest
Kane's Marina

Photos

Rates & Availability

Detroit Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer 2016
May 27 2016 - Sep 5 2016
2 night minimum stay
$250
$1,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 12 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
2016-Fall-Winter
Sep 6 2016 - Dec 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
$150
$900
 
Notes: Rates are based on 12 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
2017-Winter/Spring
Jan 1 2017 - May 25 2017
2 night minimum stay
$200
$1,200
 
Notes: Rates are based on 12 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
2017-Summer 1
May 26 2017 - Aug 16 2017
2 night minimum stay
$300
$1,800
 
Notes: Rates are based on 12 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
2017-Eclipse Rate
Aug 17 2017 - Aug 22 2017
5 night minimum stay
$450
 
Notes: Rates are based on 12 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
2017-Summer 2
Aug 23 2017 - Sep 5 2017
2 night minimum stay
$300
$1,800
 
Notes: Rates are based on 12 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
2017-Fall/Winter
Sep 6 2017 - Dec 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$200
$1,200
 
Notes: Rates are based on 12 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125
Pet Fee $100
Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 9.8%

Holiday/Holiday weekends = 3-night minimum

50% Due at booking and 50% due 60 days prior to check in.

CANCELLATION POLICY: NO REFUNDS WITHIN 60 DAYS OF ARRIVAL DATE; so if booking within 60 days of your arrival date, make sure of your plans. 100% refund if reservation is cancelled prior to 60 days before arrival. When booking, we recommend you purchase the trip insurance policy through VRBO to protect your deposit from unforeseen circumstances that may affect your plans.

$250 refundable security/damage deposit. The individual responsible for booking the stay will be held PERSONALLY liable for damage above and beyond the $250 should such an event occur. This is a family-oriented property; no rowdy parties. Absolutely no smoking of any kind on or around the property.

$125 non-refundable cleaning deposit. Rates do not include 9.8% state and local taxes added. Call for available specials for church groups, single families, or couples. $100 additional non-refundable cleaning fee for pets.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Detroit Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Main Floor Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Upstairs Bathroom - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 15
  • Upstairs Bedroom - 1 double , 5 twin/ single , 3 bunk bed , 3 bunk beds: 5 twins and 1 double
    Loft - 1 sleep sofa /futon , 1 Queen futon mattress
    Main Floor Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Main Floor Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (5 as bunk beds), Full size lower bunk bed, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1),
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • photography
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Notes:
All linens, towels, basic kitchen essentials and coffee filters are provided. We also stock the home with an initial supply of items such as toilet paper, paper towels, laundry soap and dish soap. For most guests, the initial supply is enough however, we have found it helpful for some to bring extra. This is especially recommended for larger groups or guests staying for more than three nights. We do not stock any food items in the home so please bring all food you will need for your stay, including spices (if needed). There is also a picnic table and firepit

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties