Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Rustic Cabin Promised Land State Park, Poconos- Walking Distance To Both Lakes

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, 6 Sleeps

We love our rustic cabin at Promised Land State Park. It is a 2 bedroom one full bath cottage at Promised Land State Park. It sleeps 6 with a full size bed, bunk beds, two pull out sofas and a trundle bed. There is a 300 foot screened in porch. It is a short walk to the trout stocked lower lake and the beach and main park are a 2 minute drive. The neighborhood is surrounded by the state game lands. You can find out more about the park at the following websites for the PA Parks Department and Trip advisor.

More Details

Owner
Nancy Keebler
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
August 26, 2017

Amenities

Greentown Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Reviews

3.4/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

23% Complete
30% Complete
23% Complete
7% Complete
15% Complete
Rustic Cabin Promised Land State Park, Poconos- Walking Distance To Both Lakes
average rating of 3.3846154 based on 13 reviews
1

This place is overgrown and has a musty smell

  • 1 of 5

When we looked for the place the address we could not find due to the incorrect address given by owners and no address on the property. A wonderful neighbor helped us and stated this wasnt the first time this happened.

The inside is dated and there are no doors on any of the rooms, there was something like shower curtains and the were ripped.

There was dirty linen left in the closet and old supplies of some sort.

The toilet dripped and you were responsible for making sure you emptied buckets (owner left detailed notes) it was sweat off the tank

You also had to read a detailed note on how to shut off the sinks, it was like opening a safe...

You must take your trash with you when you leave, but the catch is theres no dumpster that you can use in the development. (I was chased away at end of road by business owner) and if you dont take your trash there's a note stating youll be fined 500 dollars by the owner of cabin?

The picture of the cabin makes it look inviting, but this place is actually overgrown on the other 3 sides of the cabin....

This place has alot of potential, but it really needs work done before it reaches that potential....

One positive note is the area is beautiful!!!

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so sorry the cabin did not meet your expectations. We did not know you were unhappy until I read your comments. It is a rustic cabin meant for people who enjoy the outdoors and camping. Promised Land State Park has many similar cabins around both lakes many of which don't have indoor plumbing or a screened in porch. Our cabin is an upgrade from camping but not a timeshare resort. This guest did not honor the terms of the lease.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Horrible!

  • 1 of 5

It was a shack, not a cottage. The only half decent place was the screen in porch. Would never go back.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This guest destroyed our property and has threaten our family. Please disregard the malicious content.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

We loved it

  • 3 of 5

We had a great time it was Back to Basics reminded me of my childhood days with the match lit stove the big screened porch the Lakes all around it was beautiful we had a really nice time thank you

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

The state needs to fix that lake up

  • 3 of 5

Cabin was rustic which I expected was ok not enough room to jockey are boats and vehicles around on the property and promised land lake is so full of weeds and Lilly pads you can't fish screened in porch was nice to have that worked out well. We did have a good time.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Wonderful . Clean.

  • 4 of 5

We all had a great time. Four of us went up last October. We now took two other friends along with us. They loved it. It is quiet and close to everything. Hoping to book in October once again.

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

It was what we expected rustic and peaceful

  • 4 of 5

The cottage was quaint and loved the old fashioned gas stove and it was quiet and friendly owners were great and close to lakes ponds and trails, Resteraunt​s and we enjoyed ourselves

  • Submitted: May 7, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50
Damage Deposit $100

GUEST LICENSE AGREEMENT: PROMISED LAND Cottage, 97
Branch Road, Greentown, PA
CHECK IN TIME IS:2:00PM­6:00PM. CHECK OUT IS AT 10AM
GUESTS AGREE to hold Owners harmless from any and all personal injuries that may
result to the Guest(s), family, or invitees of the Guests when using the property, the
pool, or any other amenities related to the rental property.
DEPOSIT: The owner will hold a $100 security deposit for cleaning, damages, keys
and fobs. Please clean the property prior to departure. This means running the
vacuum, empting trash and taking it with you, and cleaning bathroom and no dishes
in the sink. Also return the keys to me at the address on the last page of the
aggreement. If these conditions are met than the $100.00 cleaning and key deposit
will returned.
LINENS & TOWLS: You will need to bring your own sheets and towels. We have
one full size bed, two bunk beds, and two single beds. I also recommend bringing
groceries and bottled water. The store is about 15 miles away and the well water is
fine but I prefer bottled water. Finally, there are some groceries in the house as it is
our home you are welcome to utilize anything in the house but please replace what
you use.
MAINTANCE: Occasionally equipment malfunctions and cannot be guaranteed 100%
of the time. Problems will be handled in a timely and professional manner. Denying
repair services can result in liability to guest for any additional charges/damages.
The rental rate cannot be adjusted due to malfunction of equipment.
GUESTS MUST BE AT LEAST 21 YEARS OF AGE OR ACCOMPANIED BY AN ADULT.
LIMITATION ON THE NUMBER OF PERSONS permitted to occupy the unit is
restricted to 8 people. The guest understands that they are a Licensee of the Owner
and NOT a tenant and that he/she is not acquiring and interest in the property or
premises.
PETS ARE NOT PERMITTED UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES. This policy is STRICTLY
ENFORCED. Exception being made in this case.
THE GUEST AGREES TO COMPENSATE THE OWNER FOR ANY DAMAGES due

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.