check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Jeff and Deanna Wood

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Lakefront Getaway with Southern Exposure and Private Beach

59 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Eden House Rental Photos and Description

2 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms with showers, 1 half bathroom, Sleeps 6

Summer: In the summer you can take the stairway down to your own beach area directly on the water , swim, enjoy fishing, or just relax. The lawn area has 100ft of your own waterfront, dock, fire area and seating. If you are adventures there is a Canoe and a two person Kayak in the boathouse for your use. Up at the house sit out on the porch while Grilling that summer meal with patio seating for six.

Note: As mentioned, there is a stairway down to the water as the house sits above overlooking the lake. The stairs have landings to sit if necessary

Take a nice day hike off the Long Trail with several hive hikes around the area. There is Belvidere with access 10 minutes from the house and enjoy views from the lookout tower.

The house is within 20-30 minutes from several places to eat from a nice local snack bar, pizza, pub atmosphere and high end dining in Stowe. We will be glad to provide information on these places per request.

Activities: There is a Zip line at Smugglers Notch located about 30 minutes from the house. A great afternoon adventure for a couple or the whole family. If that isn't enough excitement and the weather is a little cool or cloudy, take a trip to Jay Peak for a day to play at the New Indoor Waterpark! Excitement for anyone and all ages that has had glowing reviews.

As mentioned, there is local hikes that are moderate in terrain. If you are looking for a good day hike, there is Camels Hump or Mt. Mansfield that are within an hour from the house and have wonderful views with Rocky Mountain tops.

Fall: Overlooking the Lake with afternoon sun exposure, enjoy the fall weather from the front deck or take the stairs down to the Lake and enjoy an evening campfire, or just relax on your own 100ft of lakefront lawn. Take the chill out of the fall air with a nice wood fire in the living room or Jacuzzi bath in the Master bedroom. Enjoy the serenity of private lake front area with surrounding area views not to be missed. Excellent place to drive around Northern Vermont and visit three popular Ski towns, Stowe, Smugglers Notch, and Jay Peak within 30-45minutes.

Winter: If you are a skier, snowmobiler, or just love winter this is a wonderful staging area for fun. There are three ski areas within 50 minutes you can ski one or ski them all. The vast trail is just down the road and there is always winter time adventure in Vermont. House has a wood fireplace for relaxing and unwinding along with the Master bedroom Jacuzzi this is a perfect place to stay and play. We provide enough complimentary firewood for a night or two during your stay, along with a small book selection to choose from for a quiet read or bring your own and relax and unwind.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Jeff and Deanna Wood (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.9
based on 59 traveler reviews

Lakefront Getaway with Southern Exposure and Private Beach
average rating of 4.9322033 based on 59 reviews
5

Relaxing, comfortable, lakeside oasis

  • 5 of 5

We were looking for a place to relax where we would have access to a lake and had a wonderful time here. The house was very clean, comfortable, and spacious with windows and decks looking out onto the water. The kitchen was well-equipped and the patio outside was a lovely place to have breakfast. The host was very responsive, kind, and professional. We enjoyed swimming and hanging out on the dock and spent one afternoon making a trip to nearby Stowe. We would definitely come again. Thank you again to Jeff and Donna!

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful home, relaxing location

  • 5 of 5

This is the second summer I vacationed here with my adult children, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay once again. The home is utterly beautiful and well cared for. The location quiet and gorgeous and the owners very responsive to any questions I had.

We found a few wonderful spots to eat nearby - Wicked Wings & Downtown Pizzeria, the Bijou Cineplex in Morrisville to take in a movie and plenty of places to visit when we felt like getting out - Cabot Creamery Visitors Center, Ben & Jerrys, Fort Ticonderoga for a full day trip.

I would absolutely recommend this home for a vacation stay and look forward to returning.

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A True GetawayVacay

  • 5 of 5

We decided to combine a visit to a college age child with a vacation. After an unsuccessful attempt to book on another site, we discovered this site and this property. We couldn't have been more lucky! We needed some time to decompress from dealing with injury, illness, surgery and general craziness of the world. Our arrival was on a cold June night after a tiring 4 hour drive. Like little kids, the first thing we did was explore the house, joyfully calling out discoveries to each other. Then we settled down to a warm fire, courtesy of the firewood already supplied. For the next four days we retreated into a world where the best show was the one from the living room window overlooking the lake and the mountains. That would have been enough but the full sized kitchen, spacious bedrooms and sound system just pampered us! We appreciated Jeff and Deanna's personal note upon arrival and the tips they gave us regarding local shops. Next time we plan to do more exploring, knowing that we will have our own 5 star place as a base!

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write about our home, as we are often told that the pictures do not do the house or the view justice. We just haven't found a way to capture the beauty of the scenery and the comfort of the home in a photo. We appreciate your coments and hope that feedback like yours will help other travlers in determining that this is the perfect retreat for them while visiting VT. As we have several repeat visitors, we hope to have you stay with us again. Best Wishes!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome!

  • 5 of 5

Absolutely great house! Perfect place for a weekend getaway!

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We agree! 😊
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The most magical week

  • 5 of 5

My new fiancée and I had the pleasure of staying at the Woods family lake Eden home from 12/28/15-1/1/16. Ryan is a Marine so I okay get to see him every four months or so. We booked the trip to spend some time alone after all of the family hustle and bustle at Christmas. Although there was no snow in either RI, where we are from, or VT, I was still so excited. It started snowing the second we pulled into the driveway and didn't stop until after we left! We loved the views (from all THREE floors) and the house was so comfortable. We had fires every night and I cooked dinner 2/4 nights. Love the kitchen setup. We indulged in two fantastic dinners, one at whip and one at Michaels on the Hill (best meal I have ever had) and usually just relaxed and watched movies in the master suite the rest of the time. When it was time for dinner there was a decent amount of snow on the ground. I'm from RI so I wasn't really new to the whole thing so I asked Jeff for a shovel to quickly just get the snow from behind me out. Not even 1 minute and 30 seconds later there was a plow and a cute little shoveling assistant in the driveway! I couldn't believe it. They took such great care of us and even advised us of restaurants and hikes to do. We hiked belvedere mountain (in a foot of snow with barely 5 hours of sunlight left) and we were completely exhausted. The jetted tub was a life saver for our legs and to unfreeze ourselves! The location of the house is amazing. Although there is a sketchy hill to the road, it was so unbelievably quiet. At night you could hear a pin drop and one morning I came out to HUGE wolf prints walking up to the door and then around my car which was so cool. Eden is right outside of stowe which has everything you could need. Ryan and I are snowboarders but we decided against it only because we were afraid of him getting hurt (since he is government property at the moment). The house was stocked with absolutely everything. There were books, (extra) firewood, the comfortable beds, and great views. The kitchen had so many spices that I actually found a spice that I needed for my recipe that I didn't find at Shaws. Trash and recycle were just outside the door and the locking system on the house was so convenient. I think next time we will bring another couple since we didn't step foot in the downstairs the entire time. It would be great for two couples or a family. Thank you guys so much!!!

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Memories are made by many at our Lake House and we enjoy hearing about each and every guests experience. The house is sizeable and for our 2 person parties, there often isn't a need to go to the lower level (though this level has another bedroom, a large TV Room with a futon, and a full bathroom). Thank you for commenting on all of this and for mentioning Michael's on the Hill, as this is one of our FAVORITE restaurants. It is a fine dining experience, but doesn't disappoint (Reservations are recommended). We also appreciated your emails that you sent during your stay and sharing that the pictures do not do our home justice. We haven't found a way to capture the size of the rooms and the feeling of home that it has, but do appreciate you mentioning it again for future guests. Looking forward to having you stay with us again and Best Wishes to you and Ryan!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A true sample of excellent hospitality!

  • 5 of 5

Without doubt it's clear to say that it was our one of the best home to stay during our time in Vermont. The house was nice and clean and was full of all the necessities. The cooking arrangements were too good. More over we were overwhelmed by the hospitality of Jeff and Deanna. We will go back there very soon in summer.

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to create a review and for choosing to stay with us. We know that there are many options to chose from, when coming to Vermont, and appreciate your sharing that this was one of your best experiences. We pride ourselves in the cleanliness of our home and the personal touches that we provide for our guests. We truly feel that each season holds its own beauty on the lake and welcome you back during any of them. Thank you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Burlington International
Nearest Barpub
10 Miles
Morrisville/Stowe/Johnson
Nearest Restaurant
10 Miles
Morrisville/Stowe/Johnson
Nearest Ski
20 Miles
Jay Peak/Stowe/Smugglers Notch
Car: necessary

Located on Lake Eden with direct access to the lake with private 100ft frontage. The drive is a private road and quiet. Located 30 minutes to Stowe, Smugglers notch and Jay Peak Ski Resorts.

During the Summer months there are several activities within 30 minutes of the house.

The Abortrek Zip line at Smugglers notch is a fun afternoon of zipping through the trees. The new Indoor Waterpark at Jay Peak is great day of waterpark fun from the lazy river to the giant slide.

If a little closer to nature is what you are looking for than maybe a Kayak Tour by Umiak Outfitters on the local river. If a little excersice is ok, try our personnel favorites, hiking some of the best terrain anywhere, Camels Hump and Mt. Mansfield not to mention some great 2-4 hr. local hikes on the long trail.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Eden House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$150
From
$175
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning $100 + Tax
Tax Rate 9.0%

No Pets
No Smoking in the Residence
No Parties or gatherings
House and Property are restricted to the guest amount agreed upon in the rental agreement

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Eden House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lake ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Hydronic Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Living Room
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Seperate Jacuzzi
    Bathroom 2 - toilet
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • Master bedroom has the 2 person Jacuzzi and its own shower and bathroom all located on the upper floor. Ground level area has a bathroom with Toilet and sink Lower level area has shower, toilet and sink
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Secondary Bedroom - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Futon located in Living room area
  • Master bedroom overlooks the lake with Views. Two person Jacuzzi Tub is located in the room, along with DirecTV, and stereo. Located on the second floor which includes shower and sink area with separately located toilet and lavatory area for privacy. Look out at the lake and Mountain views from your own private balcony and just relax on your own private floor. The second bedroom is located downstairs in the walkout basement area with its own door to the lower deck area. This room has the queen bed and shares entry to the bathroom with shower. The second entry door can be locked for privacy from the living area. Third bedroom area would be the Double futon that is in the living area with the TV. This can be utilized for a party of six people.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Beach Chairs
  • Binoculars
  • Canoe
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Walkway to Water
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Wood Deck
  • 6 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Jacuzzi
  • Spa Whirlpool
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
We allow smoking on the Property, but smoking inside the house is strickly prohibited. The renter is responsible for anyone that is present during there stay along with cleaning any remains of smoking items outdoors. We also do not allow Pets of any kind - no exceptions.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties