check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Property Manager

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english

Walk to Every Where from This Historical Home

9 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Charlevoix Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Historical home in the center of it all. 3 blocks from the public beach and downtown (across the street from the Charlevoix Library). First rented in 2012. Park your car and walk to the grocery store, restaurants, movie theater, beach and more!

** Please note that we do only rent Saturday to Saturday during the summer months.

*** Please also note the home does offer cable tv but does not have Internet or a landline. The public library across the street does offer free internet.

The home has master suite with a king size bed and vaulted ceilings, bathroom includes dueling tubs and a standup shower. Second bedroom has a queen size bed. Third bedroom has 2 full sized beds with a small balcony. Full bathroom also downstairs with a walk-in rain shower.

Newly remodeled kitchen opens up to a large deck and yard. Seperate dining room. Washer and dryer also!

If interested please contact us with available dates. Currently renting Saturday - Saturday. 1/2 of payment is due with a signed rental agreement immediatly in order to guarentee the dates, balance is due 30 days prior to arrival. Reservation deposit is non-refundable if cancelled within 60 days of arrival date. Personal damage insurance is required through VRBO and is non-refundable. $125 Cleaning Fee for any stay regardless of length.

Note: this is a 160+year old home with some quirks and many original features. If you love old homes you will appreciate this one but if you are used to something more current, this may not be for you.

Keywords: Cottage, vacation home, downtown, beach, library, ventian festival, newly renovated, retreat, attached garage, yard, 2 stories, crib

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Property Manager
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english

Why The Owner chose Northern Michigan

I grew up spending my summers in Charlevoix, its a great family get away with a lot of acitivites.

What makes this cottage unique

Walk into town and enjoy live music at the harbor ampitheater, children love playing in the fountain in town, the newly renovated library has an outdoor area, walk to boat rental facility, skate park, and monthly festivals all make Charlevoix a great place to visit.

Reviews

3.8
based on 9 traveler reviews

Walk to Every Where from This Historical Home
average rating of 3.7777777 based on 9 reviews
Beverly Hills, MI, USA
4

Great house, great location!

  • 4 of 5

This house is great. Location is two blocks from MI beach and about three blocks from town. It's peaceful and spacious.

Two gripes:

There is a full bathroom on the lower level, but all the bedrooms are on the upper level. The upper level does have a full bathroom, but it's inside the master bedroom - so if another guest is sleeping in there, you can't really use that bathroom.

The beds were not the most comfortable - which stinks. When you go on vacation you want rest and relaxation. The relaxation is there, but the two other couples that stayed with us had issues with their bed as well.

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great summer home

  • 4 of 5

Beautiful, renovated 1850s home. Tons of character and charm. Perfect location. Well equipped. We loved spending time there for home cooked meals, outdoor showers, nighttime soaks, evening smores, ukulele on the deck, family puzzles and card games, snuggles and snores.

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Madison, WI
4

Charming older home with great location

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay in this charming older home. Some modern amenities along with lots of 160 year old charm. The location was spectacular. Two blocks from the beach and only a few from the quaint downtown area. Only drawbacks were the flannel sheets left out for the master bedroom. Flannel sheets and August are not a good combination. Also there were no dish towels in the kitchen as promised. We ended up buying our own paper towels and toilet paper.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi, Thank you for reviewing the home. I'm very sorry about the towels for the kitchen, as I mentioned in the previous reviews - we can't seem to hold onto towels long. Unfortunately I am told that many renters use kitchen towels to wrap fragile items or view them as disposable. I will look into the sheets as well, there should have been at least 3 sets of king sheets to choose from. Again thank you for the feedback, we will always look for ways to improve.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Beautiful Town, Great Home

  • 4 of 5

The Mason Street house is in a great location, across the street from a fantastic library, two blocks from the Main Street in Charlevoix, and 3 blocks from Lake Michigan Beach. The house is over 100 years old, but is very nicely rehabbed and was a great fit for our family that includes 3 boys between 4 and 10. They liked walking and riding their bikes to/from the beach and downtown. The house was comfortable, the beds, kitchen and bathrooms were nice.

Charlevoix is a great town and a good location for exploring other places in Northern Michigan. We went to 4th of July fireworks in Boyne City, the beach in Petoskey and took the ferry to Mackinac Island. All less than an hour away.

The only complaints are minor. Unlike most places we've rented by the beach, the house doesn't provide towels (even hand towels and wash cloths), and it's kind of a pain to bring enough towels to/from home. With kids in the summer, it would be nice to have a yard for them to play in, but this problem is mitigated by the open space at the library across the street. Lastly, while the house is close to Lake Michigan beach, which has lovely water and sunsets and the kids are fine with it, it's not the most picturesque beach because of its view toward a concrete plant a few miles away. There are lots of nice alternatives, but not in walking distance. So again, the complaints are minor and didn't interfere with us having a great week at this house.

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jeff, thank you for taking time to review our home. I'm glad you enjoyed your week and am sorry for the minor inconveniences. I wish we could resolve the towel issue but because we are private homeowners we don't have the option to stock towels in the quantities we would need. The previous summers when we did offer towels 15-20 would go missing each summer. This would require us to raise our rates as well as I would hate for a renter to come and be promised that towels were there and have nothing for them to use. We'll continue to look at solutions. Thanks! p.s. I couldn't agree more about the cement factory off in the distance at the beach but it has been there since the 1960's.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely home for our end-of-summer stay in Charlevoix

  • 5 of 5

Charlevoix is the perfect locale for a low-key summer vacation with kids. Our boys (8 and 4) loved walking downtown to the toy store, playing with new friends during a summer concert at East Park, and spending hours at the beach finding Petosky stones. On rainy days, the kids' area in Chalrevoix's world class library is a quick dash across the street. It's wonderful to have all the vacation amenities--a grocery store, bookstore, beach, and a fudge shop--within easy walking distance. This house was perfect for all of us. Great location--right across from the library. Lots of historic character (wide wood floors, steep 1850 stairs, interesting little nooks) for my history-minded husband. I loved the rainfall shower for washing off after the beach and the upstairs tub for a long soak with a good book. The kitchen looked like an Ikea catalog page--compact, but perfect for cooking, baking, and eating in the little breakfast nook. We made all our own meals, except for Cousin Jenny's pasties in Traverse City--the one time we used the car! There are puzzles and games for the kids--we spent a rainy morning working on one at the big dining room table--and the kids' room was perfect. There is some outdoor space for running around as well as a deck/table for dinner or a relaxing cup of coffee or glass of wine on a summer evening.

Only recommended additions would be wi-fi and some window air conditioners for the first floor. (There is A/C for the upstairs bedrooms.) We were there the last week of August so it was naturally cool, day and night. Also: for those with little ones not in a crib but likely to wander at night, the stairs are vintage steep! The owners did provide a baby gate, though, which may help nervous parents of toddlers.

Overall: Lovely historic home with great character and some new additions, lots of space, great kid/adult amenities, and excellent location. We'll definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. I will look into your suggestions as well. We'll continue to improve. Hope to have you back again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Location, Location, Location

  • 4 of 5

You will love Charlevoix! It is a charming town and there is not a better location to call home while you are visiting. We didn't need to drive anywhere. Lake Michigan, Round Lake, the food store, the library, the restaurants and shops were all within walking distance. The beds were comfortable and the sheets were great. The owners were very responsive. The house was well set up with many of the incidentals provided - dish soap, toilet paper and laundry detergent.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to review the property. We are glad you enjoyed the house and the convenient location. We'd love to have you back!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Many in town
Nearest Ferry
0.12 Miles
Beaver Island Ferry
Nearest Golf
12 Miles
Dumaglas, Boyne, Charlevoix CC
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
31
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Many in town
Nearest Ski
15 Miles
Boyne Mountain
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Ferry Beach
Car: not necessary

The house is directly across the street from the beautiful city Library. Perfect location, centered 3 blocks from the beach and 3 blocks from town. Can park your car and walk all week.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Charlevoix Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer Peak Rate
May 28 2016 - Sep 3 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,400
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$1,400
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125
Property Damage Protection $79

No pets or smoking, if found the owners will terminate the agreement in which all monies paid will be forfeited. Cancellations less than 60 days prior to arrival will lose 50% deposit.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Charlevoix Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Upstairs Master Bathroom - tub , shower , Dualing bathtubs and stall shower
    Downstairs Full Bathroom - toilet , shower , outdoor shower , Walk in rain shower, outdoor shower off of kitchen deck
    Downstairs Bathroom - toilet , shower , outdoor shower , Walk in rain shower, outdoor shower off of kitchen deck
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king , 1 baby crib , California King bed with attached mater bathroom
    Front Bedroom - 1 queen
    Great Kids Bedroom - 1 queen , 1 double , Door to upstairs balcony in this room
  • Crib is available in the Master.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
Outdoor Shower, Dual bathubs in master bathroom, walk in shower on first floor. No Wifi in the home, public library across the street has it. Charcoal grill.

Partner Offers