Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

The Wrens Nest Chalet

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 1,300 sq. ft.
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedrooms 2.5 Bathrooms Seasonal Mountain And Lake Chatuge Views

The Wren's Nest is a beautiful retreat in a very quiet and peaceful neighborhood. The Chalet is brand new and definitely shows the attention to detail throughout from unique twig work, plush white towels, Egyptian cotton sheets. We have created a very cozy atmosphere in our cabin and we're sure you will feel right at home. You can spend sunny days walking in the neighborhood, or read a book on the front porch swing. There are books of all sorts, movies to watch and board games to play! Or you can travel to Hiawassee for antique shopping, or shop at the wide variety of local shops. Hiawassee is only 31/2 miles from your front door. So please come have a visit, we would love for you to be our guest.


Property Manager
Walter, Annette, Gina or Jeff
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
September 19, 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager

We arrived about 6 p.m. on Friday and love your cabin. Many thanks for the gift. We will try to book with you again. Your home is such a peaceful retreat. Hopefully we can return to the Wren's Nest and be able to spend more time in the mountains. Your retreat was a return to the "hills" we love and enjoy.
Jul 2015
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Hiawassee Bungalow Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • bungalow
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1300 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , Two Sinks Granite Counter Tops
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower , Single Sink Granite Counter tops
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
  • Upstairs Master King Bed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(46 traveler reviews)

78% Complete
10% Complete
8% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
The Wrens Nest Chalet
average rating of 4.652174 based on 48 reviews
Vero Beach, FL
5

Lake Chatuge Eclipse

  • 5 of 5

This upscale cottage is in a great location. Easy to get to but very quiet. Just a few miles into town to the east, or to Boundary Waters for boat rentals to the west. Nicely appointed with beautiful wood floors, stacked stone fireplace and accents and jacuzzi tub in the upstairs master suite. KIng bed up and queen down, and no shower in the master suite. Not a problem for us - we just used the downstairs shower. It's not on the lake, but you actually can see water through the trees in summer if you know where to look. We would definitely stay here again. We were in the area for the solar eclipse which we viewed from The Sand Bar, just across the highway from the lake near The Ridges Resort. Great casual tiki bar with light food and often live entertainment or a DJ. Had awesome ribs at Rib Country and breakfast at Mary's Southern Grill. Both good choices.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Chalet!

  • 5 of 5

Had an excellent week at Wren's Nest Chalet, great location, quiet and secluded. Home is decorated very nice, very clean and comfortable. Only suggestion is that some more kitchen items be provided : frying pan, cutting board, kitchen knives. Would highly recommend this rental to anyone who is looking for a quiet and clean home to stay in!

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Your response is welled received and we do hear your suggestions. We will try to make some additions to the kitchen. Excited that you complimented our clean-up crew with your kind comments on our clean house. Also glad you enjoyed the quiet and restful place. Please do make plans to come again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Smiths all.36877
5

Vacation cabin!

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful cabin great jacuzzi! We loved the cabiin. !beautiful and the area was also very pretty water everywhere! Thanks so much! Lots to do such as brasstownball! Fairs ! Vogel park! Mountain drives hiking! !

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thankful you enjoyed your stay in our cabin and that you were able to find plenty to do. The area is indeed beautiful and fun packed for folks that enjoy the mountains. Please do plan to come again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Nice Rental, but not so great checkout process

  • 2 of 5

The cabin/bungalow was located in a convenient location and appeared clean upon arrival. There were no hand towels in the bathrooms and only two bath towels per bathroom. The beds were not very comfortable, the pillows were old, flat and hard. We found other pillows that were also flat that we wanted to use in addition to what was on the beds, but there were no extra pillow cases. There were no paper towels, dish soap or extra trash bags.

The bath accommodations upstairs were a bit strange since there was not a shower and only a bath tub.

However, on our check out day things did not go as expected. We were in town for our daughter’s wedding that took place on Sunday the 9th. We were scheduled to check out on the 10th at 11:00 am. We had most of our belongings packed and in our vehicle except for all of the kitchen items. We had to go to the location that the wedding was held the night before early in the morning on the 10th, but came back to the rental property at approximately 10: 30 am to find a Lexus parked in the parking spot. My fiancé went up to the front door and went into the property to find a lot of the items we left in the kitchen thrown outside in the garbage. All of the unopened items, were moved and it was obvious that the person that was inside the property was planning on taking the unopened items. The person that was inside the property was the cleaning person. My fiancé came back outside and informed me what was going on. I proceeded to go back inside the property, but the cleaning lady locked us out (it was still prior to 11:00 am – check-out time). I knocked on the door and the cleaning lady was clearly aggravated that we were still there. I asked her where the items were and she walked me outside the back door and uncovered the trash can. I told her that we had not finished gathering our belongings and it wasn’t 11:00 am, but she proceeded to argue with me at which point I told her that I would contact the owner of the property.

This was a very disappointing experience. It wasn’t like we only had a few items that we may have forgotten. The cleaning lady should not have been inside the property prior to check out and even if it did appear that we had “checked-out” there should have been some type of precautionary measure to prevent this! I do not plan on renting this property again.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry there was a problem with your check-out. This has NEVER happened before and our cleaning lady assures us that she thought you had already left since it was near the check-out time of 11 A.M. Please do remind of this problem when you make reservations with us again and we will do our best to make it up to you. Again we apologize for any inconvenience on your part. Hope the wedding went well.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Pictures do it justice...

  • 4 of 5

We had a lovely stay at the Wren's Nest. The cabin is beautifully decorated, the covered front porch was a terrific spot to hang out under during an evening thunder storm, and the layout of the cabin is excellent for one or two couples. There were a few issues with kitchen utensils as there were no cutting knives and only two steak knives. We also found only three old mismatched wine glasses. While the kitchen utensils were a bit lacking, the location was extremely quiet at night which lent itself to a good night's sleep. My wife and I will certainly consider returning for another stay. Especially now as we almost have cooking on charcoal down to a science. Thanks for sharing your beautiful property with us...

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Nice cabin, although much smaller than the photos show

  • 3 of 5

The cabin was nice, very easy to get to from both sides of 76. The living room seating and beds were comfortable. We let our kids (18 yr old son and 17 yr old daughter) have the master upstairs because the bed was very big. The bed on the main floor is definitely not a king as it says it is. I'm not a fan of the shower head coming down from the middle of the ceiling but that's just my opinion.

I don't understand why there were no extra trash bags, no laundry detergent, and no knives for food prep.

The dishwasher was full of clean dishes so I had to put those away before I could load it and the dryer had clean towels and sheets that I had to take out to use the dryer.

The pictures posted make the cabin look much bigger than it is.

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry our house was not what you expected. We do aim to please our guests and will always provide more towels etc. if the guest alerts us to their need. Our housekeeper is always available to help out when notified. Sorry again that we didn't meet your needs.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $85

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties