check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

ADK Cabin: Family-Friendly, Old-School and Very Cool

Sleeps11
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview


Details
Property
cabin
Sleeps
11
Bedrooms
5
Bathrooms
2
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
2 - 7 nights

About the property

5 Bedrooms, 2.5 Bathrooms --- sleeps 11, both private and convenient

>>> We are relatively new to the HomeAway family of rental sites, and are very proud of our 5-star reviews! And, if you'd like to read reviews by guests who booked via another website, please scroll down to "About Sue Torrey" on the Overview page of this listing and click to see how much other folks have enjoyed their Adirondack vacation at our home! <<<

Enjoy our laid-back Adirondack Tudor-style cabin with a large, rambling floor plan. Old-school Adirondack feeling with the comfort of new, modern conveniences. Perfect for providing lots of room and privacy for two families, or a big bunch of friends. Over 3,000 square feet of "ahhhhh."

*** Please note: in summer season, this is a SUNDAY - SUNDAY rental ***

Just up the lake shore road from the center of Bolton Landing on 3 private acres, with Indian Brook running through the property. This house is close to town, yet a little off the beaten path for privacy and serenity. Spend the day a million fun ways -- rafting, horseback riding, shopping, boating, hiking -- then come back, soak up some sun on a chaise lounge or play a raucous game of ping-pong or foosball in our rec room. Sizzle up a feast on the grill, or roast marshmallows at the fire pit.

Above all, relax, breathe, enjoy!

Room configuration:

First floor: Bunk BR (twins); Full Bath, Rec Room with ping pong, foosball, and board games; TV Room with basic cable and Roku; Sitting area; Laundry Room

Main floor: Main Living Room; Dining Area; Fully Equipped Kitchen; Half Bath; Wrap-around Deck; Music Room (with sleeper sofa); Studio Living Room with TV with basic cable, DVD; "The Dorm" (two twins); Sleeping Loft (double)

Top floor: Vaulted-ceiling Master BR (queen); vaulted-ceiling Guest BR (double) with twin daybed; Full Bath.

AC units in top floor bedrooms (Master and Guest). Studio wing has skylights, ceiling fans, and cool-air convection from the lower floor.

Outside: Wrap-around deck with lots of seating (as well as gates to close off the two stairwells), new gas grill, stone fire pit

Some things to make your stay more enjoyable:

1. We supply daily cleaning products and paper goods. Please see Cleaning Policy and Linen Policy, below, for details.

2. Parking for Bolton Landing town beaches is just $5 a day.

3. We have a brochure basket for a sampling of the local sights, attractions, and activities.

4. Both the main living room and rec rooms have CD player / radio systems.

5. There is a spiral staircase in the main house, with access to the first, main, and top floors. People with small children will want to be aware of this -- we have two baby gates available for use.

More Details

Owner
Sue Torrey
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 16, 2016

About Sue Torrey

We are "creative types" and avid nature lovers who grew up knocking around outdoors in the summer -- Don at the beaches of New England, me (Sue) at Lake George. My family started camping on the islands of the lake in the 50s, when my older brothers were little, so I grew up with LG as the center of my world. I think I have lake water running in my veins! :)

We both grew up and still live in Connecticut, are proud of our two performing artist children, and routinely rescue Siberian Huskies.

Sue Torrey purchased this cabin in 2013

Why Sue Torrey chose Lake George Area

Don and I bought this house about 6 months after my oldest brother sold his house in Bolton Landing. I didn't want to lose my connection to Lake George, so we started looking. But instead of a fussy, fancy "don't touch" house, I wanted something as comfortable as a favorite sweatshirt -- with comfortable beds and hot showers, of course!

Bolton Landing hasn't changed very much since the 60s, and that's a good thing. I still remember having blueberry pancakes at Ida and Audie's Country Diner -- and you still can! Or find a whimsical trinket at the Indian Teepee Shop. And good ol' Ann's Bait Shop -- I wouldn't buy my worms anywhere else! ;)

People are so friendly, laid-back, and down to earth in this neck of the woods. I think we all have a deep love for the mountains, rivers, and lake beauty that's all around us.

What makes this cabin unique

This barefoot-easy home just rambles on and on. We actually got lost -- inside! -- on our first visit. Three levels, different kinds of bedrooms and gathering spaces -- it has so much to offer.

My favorite thing to do in the morning is sit out on the deck in the early sun with my hot coffee, and listen to the boats putting by on the lake. My fave thing to do in the evenings is roast marshmallows at the fire pit and sing camp songs. Badly.

We hope you'll find our home a great place to sing badly, breathe deeply, and make wonderful memories, too.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a large family reunion and this house essentially has 4 living rooms (one is part of a sleeping area but I'm counting it as it's set up as another living room!) plus a game room for people to spread out in! It also has a HUGE deck. The house was very clean and nicely furnished with lovely Adirondack elements and touches and is in a beautiful area in the mountains. The owners are VERY nice to deal with and also accommodating and thoughtful. Highly recommended!
May 2015
  • 1 of 3

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

ADK Cabin: Family-Friendly, Old-School and Very Cool
average rating of 4.888889 based on 12 reviews
Lorton, Virginia
5

Great for a large group or multiple families, responsive owners!

  • 5 of 5

We were a large group of adults in the area for an active weekend in fall. Sue and Don were very friendly and communicative throughout the rental process, and everything in the house was exactly as stated/expected. There was plenty of space for all of us to spread out across the three levels, and the nooks and crannies of the house were really neat. Easy access from Rt. 87 and close to the town. The beach is just minutes away by car. As others have said, the engagement with the owners was top-notch and the guidebook to area restaurants and sights was helpful and up-to-date, not just a big book of menus collected from town. We highly recommend!

  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The property is clearly well-cared for and maintained and looked just like the pictures!

  • 5 of 5

We were thrilled with the cleanliness and comfort that was provided to us by this property. The owners were very friendly, accommodating and helpful throughout the entire process-- from applying to rent their property to providing the details we needed to properly check out at the end of our stay. They were also very informative and knowledgable about the Bolton Landing area both via email and by providing a guidebook at their property, which proved to be very helpful when we needed to find places to eat and fun things to do! It was very evident that the owners cared about our experience and wanted to help ensure that we had the best time possible, which we truly did! I look forward to returning to the area and I hope to rent this property again in the future.

  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Oh my gosh, we are so happy that YOU were so happy! We really do love and enjoy our home, and renting to fabulous people like you and your group help make it possible. We also sincerely enjoy helping people have enough knowledge and information about all that's available in the area so they do have the best time possible. Since you were new to the Lake George, Adirondack, Bolton Landing area I am especially gratified that you appreciated the area so much. Please do come back, we'd love to have you! :D
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very clean, lots of room

  • 4 of 5

Kitchen supplies (knives, pots etc) well stocked, lots of room, beds very comfortable. We had 11 people (4 kids under 12, 8 adults) and there was plenty of room for everyone. The bunk beds were not very sturdy (the bottom one had a broken slot) but we pulled the mattress off the bottom one and the kids slept on the extra cots - no big deal. We went for my mom's 75th and my aunt's 85th birthdays and they were both in heaven. Beach close by, Lake George only 25 minutes away. Everyone had a wonderful time!!

Thank you!!

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Allen clan! Yes, as we know, there was an unknown instability of those bunk beds due to the actions of a previous renters' kids, but we hope our handyman Matt, who arrived on the same day you notified us, took care of the situation and the beds were sturdy the rest of your trip -- in fact, the season! We pride ourselves on being responsive home owners, as well as honest in our representation of the property; I hope you would agree. We're so glad that grandma and great aunt -- and all of you -- had a wonderful time. Family memories are what our cabin home are all about! Best, Sue and Don
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Experience From Start to Finish!

  • 5 of 5

My friends and I had a great time catching up. There's plenty of space (and plenty of beds) for a large group. The kitchen had everything I needed to cook for a crowd. The ping pong table, foosball table, and even the piano (!), were big hits, and the kitchen table is large enough for board games, poker, etc. The owners are responsive and incredibly helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much! I'm really glad you and your friends enjoyed your stay so much and took advantage of all the fun features of our home... even the piano, which does need tuning in a BIG way! Working on that!! Please come again; you were a pleasure to work with! Sue
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Cumberland, RI
5

Fantastic and Perfect Home

  • 5 of 5

There is so much I want to say, so I am going to say that us 8 girls had the most memerable time ever. Sue us remarkable from start to finish. Every conversation with her was amazing and she made me feel that I had known her for a long time. Now for the house....it was awesome. My girlfriends were amazed at how beautiful it was. There was nothing that we needed to bring. It has everything you want and more. The beds were comfortable, the other rooms were great but we spent 90% of our time around the kitchen table laughing and making memories. I would recommend this house to any one. It is centrally located next to everything. I am definately going back for a family vacation. Thank you Sue for letting us stay at your beautifil home. Our motto was "what happens in Lake George stays in Lake George".

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Don and I are SO gratified that The Girlz had such a great time! Memories like you have from your stay are the most powerful reason we bought this house. Thank you for being great, fun guests and I certainly DO hope you'll come stay for a whole week with your family -- and friends!! :) Sue
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great stay in Bolton!

  • 5 of 5

Went up for the Adirondacke Extreme Adventure and in searching for a home came across this gem. Tucked away off a private road with an incredible outside deck & spacious accommodations, this place is definately worth staying! Home owners were nothing but pleasant and made the whole experience easy and informable. Will be looking to stay again in the future.

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much; we're SO happy you enjoyed our home for your "most excellent adventure" (to quote the movie...)!! Thanks for being great, appreciative guests; we do look forward to hosting you again. :) Sue
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Adirondack Extreme Adventure Course LLC
Cate's Italian Garden
"Awesome pizza and atmosphere!"
Up Yonda Farm Environmental Education Center
Fredrick's Restaurant
"Really easy-going restaurant and bar. Locals love it. Great for lunch or dinner, has cover..."
Lake George Kayak Company
Nearest Airport
61 Miles
Albany
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
downtown Bolton Landing
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Interstate 87
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
downtown Bolton Landing
Nearest Beach
1.5 Miles
Bolton Landing's Veterans Memorial Park
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Bolton Landing Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Pre-season 1
May 12 2017 - May 25 2017
2 night minimum stay
$350
$1,800
 
 
Memorial Day Wknd
May 26 2017 - May 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$350
 
 
Pre-season 2
May 30 2017 - Jun 17 2017
2 night minimum stay
$350
$1,800
 
 
Summer Season 2017
Jun 18 2017 - Aug 31 2017
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$2,200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning fee $175

Methods of Payment: Accepted payment methods, in order of preference:
1. bank check
2. Venmo* – use email: sdmtorrey@gmail.com
3. HomeAway.com – credit cards accepted here
>>> When booking, use HomeAway checkout process to pay their booking fee, then choose CHECK option. PLEASE IGNORE THEIR PAYMENT TOTALS; we do it this way: 50% of rent plus $500 security deposit due upon signing agreement/booking, then final 50% rent due 30 days before check-in. Cleaning fee is deducted from your security deposit. These details will be clearly outlined on rental agreement ( and reviewed with us before booking!! ).

* Please make payments thru Venmo via bank account or supported debit card only. Any fees deducted from payments to us via Venmo (e.g. using a credit card) will be deducted from the security deposit.

Cleaning Fee and Policy:
• If paying by check or Venmo, the cleaning fee is deducted from your security deposit.
• If paying by credit card the fee is charged separately through HomeAway.
• A simple check-out process is posted, and is also in our Information Book. It includes things like leaving bedding as you found it, putting all dirty dishes & glassware in the dishwasher and running it, taking kitchen trash and recycling to the outside trash cans, plus a few other routine tasks. Basically, we ask you to leave our home as you found it. For day-to-day cleanup, supplies are located in the bathrooms, kitchen, and maintenance closet.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Bolton Landing Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3200 sq. ft.
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Top Floor Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , Between Master and Guest bedrooms, w/charming ADK touches
    First Floor Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , Near Bunk Room and main TV Room, w/ADK boating touches
    Powder Room - toilet , Near main living area, w/light, airy nature touches
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • "Master" Bedroom - 1 queen , Tempurpedic mattress, sliders to private balcony, 2 closets
    "Guest" Bedroom - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , Beautiful northern woods view; 2 closets
    "The Loft" - 1 double , Sleep under the skylights, with a view of the stars
    "The Bunk Room" - 2 twin/ single , Bunk beds, and close to Rec Room and TV Room
    "The Dorm" - 2 twin/ single , Great for teens, private w/burgundy velvet curtains closed
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • paragliding
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Bolton Landing has two lovely parks with beaches, playgrounds, basketball, tennis, and docks (for fishing!). Park for $5/day and enjoy. To get out on the water ask us about boat rental places, the quaint tour boats out of Lake George Village, or visit the Bolton Landing Chamber of Commerce website: http://www.boltonchamber.com/

Partner Offers