Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Private Winter Sunshine Retreat with Hot Tub, 3.5 Miles to Wimberley Square

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,000 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Secluded 2 Bedroom Cottage Sleeps 6 w/Full Kitchen, Hot Tub, and Pet Friendly

Nestled back on a 200 ace ranch in Wimberley, Star Ranch Cottage is a romantic hill country retreat just minutes from unique shopping, entertainment and multiple Hill Country wineries. This remarkable 2 bedroom cottage with gated entrance is surrounded by the beautiful Texas hill country and home to animal the kids will love including donkeys, deer, and turkeys! A place to relax and enjoy a weekend away from the big city lights with the ones you love.

This adorable cottage features concrete floors, tasteful rustic furnishings, and a spacious layout. The large fully equipped kitchen stocked with dinnerware, cookware, and utensils is just one of the abundant amenities that sets this cottage from the rest. The relaxing living area has a queen size sleeper sofa and flat screen TV. The master suite offers a king size bed, en suite bathroom, and flat screen TV. The second bedroom offers twin size bunk beds.

Enjoy your afternoons kicked back on either one of the two covered porches overlooking the beautiful property. Soak your troubles away in the hot tub with your favorite glass of wine. With Wimberley being only 3.5 miles away, Canyon Lake 20 miles away, and Austin only 45 miles away, Star Ranch Cottage is the perfect destination for guests seeking seclusion or adventure! Take your pick!

Pets welcome, $25 per pet per night.

***Rent 6 nights, get the 7th night FREE***

More Details

Property Manager
Wendy Walker, Hills of Texas Lodging
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
April 24, 2017

About Wendy Walker, Hills of Texas Lodging

Wendy purchased Hills of Texas Lodging in Wimberley, Texas after working independently in the vacation rental industry the two years prior where she built great local relationships and learned first hand what guests are looking for when they come to the area. She is now managing and conducting reservations for a handful of 5 star accommodations located in the Wimberley, Dripping Springs, and Marble Falls areas. Wendy prides herself on GREAT customer service and maintaining all of her rental properties at their highest potential. Hills of Texas Lodging operates out of an office located right off Ranch Road 12 less than 1 mile from the Wimberley town square. Having lived in the Texas Hill Country for the past 20 years, Wendy and her staff are very knowledgeable about the area and all the secret treasures and activities your friends and family will love! We encourage you to call, email, or stop by our office for lodging and tourist information anytime!

Wendy Walker, Hills of Texas Lodging purchased this cottage in 2014

Why Wendy Walker, Hills of Texas Lodging chose Texas Hill Country

This adorable cottage is ideal for a romantic weekend for two or a fun getaway for a small family. Located on a stunning 200 acre ranch, you'll enjoy seeing deer, rabbits, turkey, donkeys, and many other forms of beautiful wildlife. Although you feel as though your a million miles away from civilization, the Wimberley town square is only 3.5 miles away. There you will enjoy shopping, restaurants, and the beautiful Cypress Creek. Come on the 1st weekend of the month to enjoy Market Days, which is the oldest outdoor market in the Texas Hill Country and the second-largest in the state. Market Days features over 475 booths! Listen to live music and shop to your heart's content. There is also numerous vineyards, breweries, distilleries, and an olive farm for those more sophisticated adventures.

Amenities

Wimberley Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bathroom - toilet , shower , En-suite in Master Bedroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Suite - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , Bunk Beds
    Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Sleeper Sofa
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

Private Winter Sunshine Retreat with Hot Tub, 3.5 Miles to Wimberley Square
average rating of 4.285714 based on 7 reviews
5

QUIET, CLEAN HILL COUNTRY GET AWAY

  • 5 of 5

The house is gated on a pretty big lot of land with a big driveway and lots of nature all around. The inside of the house is simple but very clean and nice with all that you would need for a kitchen and a grill on 1 of the large porches. The hot tub is a bit older but works great and they keep it all up very nicely. We enjoyed our stay very much, thank you!

  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great girls get away

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful scenery. Saw deer morning and night. Clean, quiet, comfy and cozy. Jacuzzi was wonderful during the misty and cold 40 degree nights. Plan on returning in the summer.

  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A great little getaway!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed staying at this cabin for a couple of days. The hot tub was really nice and our dog loved running around the area around the cabin. It felt very remote (in a good way) but was so close to fun activities and good restaurants. Also it was very clean and we felt fine letting our 8 month old daughter sit and play.

The kitchen was a little more sparse than other VRBO properties we have stayed at but if you're prepared it's not a problem (bring some paper towels, cooking spray and any seasonings you might want).

Overall this place is great and we would certainly stay there again!

  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Pedro Garza Garcia
4

Holiday Hideaway

  • 4 of 5

My family & I use HomeAway often, and we appreciate detail in the reviews, so I plan to do the same. Overall, we had a wonderful stay in Wimberly! I was there with my husband & toddler son for the Christmas & New Year holidays. The added touch of some small Christmas decorations was definitely appreciated.

The key was left under the mat when we arrived, so we didn't have to stop and check in after traveling all day, which was great. Communication with the office was good; they even arranged for our large amounts of Christmas garbage to be picked up midway through our stay. All of the information given in emails was relevant and helpful. One note, the address DOES work when entered into Google Maps, and we didn't have any trouble with GPS in the area - even with our not so great international data plan.

The house itself is welcoming, and the high ceilings add a feeling of spaciousness. All appliances worked well, and the hot tub was clean and well maintained. If you're planning to bake, buy a cheap baking sheet in advance. There is one there, but it has rust on it that I couldn't clean off. The cooking utensils and pots/pans are old and basic. They worked well for us, other than for baking cookies. My husband grilled everyday, so if you see a new grill utensil set, that was our addition.

The house itself could have used a once over regarding cleaning. While it wasn't "dirty", there were spiders, cobwebs, and a lot of dust on the floors when we arrived. The stove was also not cleaned; it smoked up the first time we used it. I'm not a big complainer, I just bought some cleaner and got the job done. But it would have been nice not to have to clean the place the night we arrived. You also need to consider that you're on a ranch in Texas - and there are some BIG spiders and wasps. We found insect killer under the sink, so they didn't bother us after we sprayed.

We had a really great time running around, playing games in the yard, spending time in the hot tub, and the peacefulness of the property. It truly did start to feel like "home" after a few days, and we were very sad to leave. It's a great location - close enough to both Austin & San Antonio - and also all the small little towns in the area, while still feeling totally remote and secluded. We will absolutely request to stay again when we come back to Texas!

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Past stay & Hopeful to Return!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here in October 2014 but it made me put a date of arrival so I used Jan 2016. Im not sure why I never wrote a review. My only regret is we didn't have ejough time to enjoy the beauty of the property as we came for a wedding and weren't on property much. This place had everything and more! We loved watching the wild turkeys in the morning and this place is just a cozy comfy retreat. Loved that we were able to bring our dog too so she could enjoy family time with us too. So much beauty surrounds this tucked away cottage. Look forward to returning, hopefully sooner than later & maybe even get time to soak in the hot tub!

  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Never given a key to lock the door for the duration of our stay

  • 1 of 5

My husband and I stayed at Star Ranch cottage for our anniversary. We had a fun trip planned with visits to local parks and restaurants. Unfortunately our trip was ruined because the property manager never showed up to give us a key. We were able to get in because someone had left the door unlocked, but not able to lock the door and go out and enjoy town. We were told by Wendy, the property manager, that she had gone home early and that it would be too inconvenient for her to bring us a key the day we arrived. She promised to deliver it first thing in the morning. The next day came and went, and still not key, as did the following day.

We have since spoken to Wendy about the situation with our vacation be ruined, and she first blamed the property owner for being difficult to work with and not allowing a locked key box for guests. In a later conversation she said the property owner would not give us even a partial refund because she didn't feel we really needed a key.

I have never experienced anything like it.... a property manager who can't be bothered to provide a key to the property and an owner who seems to think she has the right to tell us we can't or don't need to lock up our property when we're not there. It's the most bizarre travel experience I have ever had. I would very strongly recommend not staying at this property of any other property managed by Wendy or her management company.

  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Jennifer, I am truely sorry that you were less than satisfied with your stay. We certainly do not expect guests to be keyless during their stay and understand how that is unacceptable. When our employee arrived at 2:00 (check in time is at 4:00) to open the property and set out your key in the agreed upon spot, she noticed that you were already settled into the cottage. Our employee assumed this meant that you had arrived early, when the cleaning staff was still preparing the home and that they had provided you with a key. I understand she should have verified that information and I greatly apologize for the inconvenience that resulted from this mistake. You did give us a call that night and make us aware of the situation, however it was past dark and the weather was VERY bad so we asked if someone could please bring it to you the next morning. This property is fully gated and requires a special access code that we frequently change to ensure safety for our guests. Unfortunately due to the heavy rains we had that night, the employee who was trying to take you the key that next morning could not get across the bridge due to high water levels. Because of this error that was certainly on our end, we credited you back fifty dollars. We would like very much to have you back again and because of your previous frustrations we would like to offer you a stay at a discounted rate. This was a very unfortunate incident that has never happened and we would like to prove that we strive to provide our guests with a most positive experience. I hope you can accept our deepest apologies and consider our offer.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Map

Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Austin Bergstrom International Airport
Nearest Barpub
3.5 Miles
Inoz Brew & Chew
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Quicksand Golf Course
Nearest Train
20 Miles
San Marcos Transit Station
Nearest Motorway
16 Miles
IH 25, Kyle
Nearest Restaurant
3.5 Miles
Several Restaurants in the Town Square
Car: recommended

This property is only 3.5 miles from the Wimberley town square. Wimberley is situated ideally between Austin to the north and San Antonio to the south. Regardless from which direction you arrive, Wimberley is the first place where the terrain markedly changes. The second you arrive in this valley, you instantly realize that you are in the Hill Country. Its location is the essence of the atmosphere that permeates this community. One moment you are driving on a plateau, and suddenly you drop into this beautiful, idyllic little valley where Wimberley is nestled.

Canyon Lake is one of the four premier lakes in Texas. What makes it such a coveted place to enjoy is how it is nestled in the Texas Hill Country, giving it a certain beauty that is all its own. Canyon Lake is only a 30-minute drive from downtown Wimberley.

There are a lot of "must sees" in the area, but here are some of our personal suggestions...

1. Blue Hole is frequently ranked as one of the “10 best Swimming Holes in Texas,” by travel magazines and respected publications like “Texas Monthly,”

2. Jacob’s Well is among the most unique perpetual artesian springs in the world.

3. Wimberley is the Zipline. Participants fasten themselves into a safety harness, complete with protective gear, and the fly 2,600 feet across some of the most beautiful terrain in Texas.

4. Corral Theatre. This unique, small town movie-going experience has been America’s only walk-in, sit-down outdoor movie theatre since 1948. Every Friday, Saturday and Sunday night during the summer, the Corral offers a slate of first run movies for the entire family.

5. And a long list of vineyards including but not limited to Mandola's Estate Winery, Wimberley Valley Winery, The Bella Vista Ranch, and Driftwood Vineyards.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Wimberley Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$165
$990
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $25 + Tax
Tax Rate 15.0%

- Two night minimum stay required
- Three night minimum stay required for all major holidays.
- You can add additional guests and additional nights to your stay at any time but once the final payment is collected you will not be able to decrease guests or nights.
- If a reservation is cancelled more than 30 days before arrival it is fully refundable minus the initial deposit. If a reservation is cancelled within 30 days of arrival, full payment is forfeited.
- Check-in time is 4:00 P.M. and check out time is 11 A.M.
- All guests participating in the reservation will be registered on the rental agreement prior to your arrival date. Should there be unregistered guests at the property, at any time, for any length of time without prior approval, you will be asked to leave and forfeit the remainder of your reservation. No monies will be refunded. No parties, day guests, or events are permitted at any of our properties without written approval (additional fees may apply).
- Guest shall assume all risk of any injury to self and/or their guests. Guest agrees to hold property owner and Hills of Texas Lodging harmless for all injuries incurred while guest is on premises, regardless of how such injuries are sustained.
- Guest shall use the property for residential purposes only and in a careful manner to prevent any damage or loss to the property and keep the property in clean and sanitary condition at all times.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Ask a Question Ask a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties