Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Very nice house right on Lake Champlain! Nature, fresh air, relaxation await you

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

2 large bedrooms with queen-size bed. Well equipped kitchen. Large living room with smart TV. WI-FI. Large playground space back of the house. Large terrace with BBQ offering a beautiful view of Lake Champlain. Beach, chairs, hammock and small wood-stove on the lake. In addition to swimming, you may bring kayaks, canoes, etc. to fully enjoy your stay. Visit Burlington, petting farm, breweries, etc.


Owner
Owner
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 26, 2017

Amenities

Alburgh House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

55% Complete
33% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
11% Complete
Very nice house right on Lake Champlain! Nature, fresh air, relaxation await you
average rating of 4.2222223 based on 9 reviews
1

Rental house lacks proper maintenance

  • 1 of 5

We stayed at this house for a long weekend in June and unfortunately ran into a few issues. There were several items within the house that did not work properly:

1. Every window screen has multiple holes and therefore the house has a lot of bugs within it.

2. The toilet seat was not screwed down / is broken.

3 The refrigerator door shelves are broken (caused food to fall onto floor)

4. The bed sheets and blankets have holes in them.

5. The house carpets are in terrible condition. Multiple stains of different colors.

6. The porch / deck light bulb was out making use of the deck / grill very difficult.

7. The handle to the stove door was resting in place so that when we opened the door the handle came off (screws missing from one end).

8. The chain pull ceiling fan was also resting in place, when pulled the chain came out.

As a relatively low cost rental I can deal with some items not working however in this case the owner accused us of adding stains to the carpet and breaking the stove door. Apparently the carpet was just cleaned. The fact that the owner would suggest this is very disappointing, the carpet clearly needs to be replaced and the stove handle needs new screws to be reattached.

I will not rent from this person again and do not recommend her to anyone.

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Adam Smith: You and your 3 friends damaged my property during your stay from June 16 to June 19. When I informed you that part of your $100.00 damage deposit would be retained, you promised to retaliate by writing a nasty review on my HomeAway wall. I refused to give in to such blackmail. First of all, I’d like to remind you that you and your friends stayed at my property during the same period last year and wrote and excellent review (5 stars), which everyone is welcomed to read. You enjoyed your stay so much that you rented it again this year! Oven handles, fridge door shelves, chains for fans and lamps, etc. don’t suddenly break on their own. I can provide witnesses who can attest to the fact that everything was working properly prior to you arrival. I also have invoices proving the rug was shampooed in May and also on June 15, the day prior to your arrival. I did take pictures of the stains that were made on the carpet and the couch during your stay. I admit a light bulb can burn out suddenly. I do have additional bulbs that guests may use to replace them and would gladly have told you where to find them if you had contacted me. Your other remarks are so ludicrous, that I refuse to waste any time addressing each and every one of them.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Pleasant Stay on the Water Near Beautiful State Park

  • 5 of 5

I spent a brief stay here off season and found the property very pleasant. The owner is very responsive. This is a lovely home on the water. It has everything you need without being fancy. While it is not in a remote location (cell and wifi service are great) the house is in a quiet neighborhood. It's proximity to the Alburg Dunes State Park (a five minute walk down the street) is a wonderful treat for nature lovers.

  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Property

  • 5 of 5

Very nice property! Thank you!

  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere, well equipped kitchen, lakeside viewing area. Very nice!!

  • 5 of 5

Loved it all! Sweet cottage, had everything we needed to enjoy our stay!

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bristol. VT
4

Lovely, spacious house with lakefront

  • 4 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay at Michele's house on the southern part of Alburg. The location was great, just 6 miles from North Hero State Park for wonderful kayaking and about 7 miles from great bicycling and some swimming on Isle La Motte. The front deck was perfect for sharing a dinner with friends. Bring groceries as places to eat out, etc. are limited. The kitchen was well equipped and the house was spacious and clean. There is also kayaking possible right from the front yard. It is a bit hard to get kayaks down ( and back up) the stones to the lake on the property's lakefront though. At the end of an unusually dry summer, the water right out the front door was not so clear for swimming. I am sure it is clearer at other times.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

A beautiful, charming, quiet place to stay !

  • 4 of 5

My family and I really enjoyed our stay here. It was clean and charming. We loved that the property was spacious, and that it was right by the water. I felt comfortable here. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a quiet and relaxing place to stay. This is just what we needed!

The listing description was very accurate. WIFI included, which was awesome considering we planned most of our activities via use of internet on our phones. No air conditioning. However, there were ceiling fans in every room and a lot of windows. The home had great air circulation. The house temperature was comfortable here.

My family and I visited the surrounding cities such as Burlington, Smuggler's Notch/Stowe, and Underhill where Mt. Mansfield is located. Each of these areas were between 45minutes to hour drive with scenic views.

I gave this property four stars as I wish the beach area was more accessible. To get by the water, you have to climb over rocks. This was not a problem for our family as we hike, and there were only 4 feet of rocks to get over. Overall, a wonderful place to stay.

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Alburgh House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$140
$950
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $100
Tax Rate 9.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties