check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Large Muskoka cottage sleeps 15-20 people

Sleeps20
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview


Details
Property
cottage
Sleeps
20
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
2 nights

Description

Port Carling Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Large Muskoka cottage offers boat access to Lakes Muskoka,Joseph & Rosseau

We take bookings over the phone. The main floor features a towering cathedral ceiling and massive windows that allow a great deal of natural light and tremendous waterfront views of beautiful Port Carling and surrounding area. On the main floor there is a fully equipped kitchen and large dining/ living room area. There are also one bedroom on this level one with a queen size bed, and bunk with a double/single futon combination. There is another sleeping area with a double bed, and a bunk with double /single futon combination and is a closed in room (no window here ) There is also a three-piece bathroom on this level. On the lower level are two more bedrooms, with the another bedroom equipped with a queen-size bed, and double /single futon combination bunk bed.There is a another located in the loft, and has a queen-size bed and a single futon, as well en suite bathroom with two-person Jacuzzi tub and skylights. There is a cable TV in each bedroom. The lower level is where all the entertainment takes place and there is billiards table, TV area , corner bar with fridge and a card table. Outside there is a large wrap around deck on the main floor and walkout patio on the lower level. The waterfront has a gradual entry and is about 6-7 feet deep off the end of the dock. Additionally there is a large deck above the boat port where you can enjoy great views of the surrounding area. Additional fees may apply for any large groups depending on number of adults and children and length of stay (The fireplace in photos is currently not in use ) PLEASE DO NOT BOOK WITHOUT CONTACTING US FIRST. We take bookings over the phone.

Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • pets considered

Property Manager
Brian Webster
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
October 28, 2016
Call Manager

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

Large Muskoka cottage sleeps 15-20 people
average rating of 4.285714 based on 7 reviews
5

Great experience!

  • 5 of 5

We definitely felt welcome! The owner greeted us once we got there. Exceptional lady! I would say this was the best cottage experience I've had up north. As for the site, eventhough the cottage is 30 years old, it was well maintained.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Be Aware!

  • 1 of 5

Our extended family of 18 rented this cottage for 12 days in August and we were all disappointed to say the least. The cottage was misrepresented as a 5 bedroom sleeping 20 to 24 which is not the case. Upon arrival we discovered one bedroom in the basement is actually windowless. We pointed out this misrepresentation to the property manager and the VRBO website has since been updated. This cottage is actually a 3 bedroom plus a loft. In addition to this misrepresentation the condition of the cottage was very poor for several reasons. The railing on the upper boat deck was not secure enough to lean against which posed a serious safety issue. Shirley’s standard of cleanliness is well below other VRBO properties we have rented. The grounds were littered with cigarette butts, geese and dog droppings. We found a dirty plate from previous guests in one bedroom; mouse droppings in the pantry; cobwebs in the cupboards above the fridge, the carpets completely soiled, window screens missing in a bedroom and a bathroom, and the BBQ/outdoor grill was beyond filthy. The furniture in the main living area is in terrible shape and several of the beds have very uncomfortable mattresses where you feel the springs. There was a wasp infestation in one of the bedrooms that was not dealt with properly and two family members were stung in the night while sleeping. Shirley offered to compensate us $100 and a bottle of wine for the inconveniences which we have yet to see. Potential renters should first view this property in person before booking. The only positive this property has to offer is the location.

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Sir or Madam, With one exception, our cottage (VRBO Listing #3955822) has gotten very good reviews from guests. Recently we had a guest who, after completing her full 12-day stay, decided she wanted to get a substantial refund of $1500.00. ..which was never mentioned with this review. During her stay she never mentioned that she would be asking for such a large refund, nor did she alert us to any complaints that she later came up with, except for the one problem with wasps, which we solved as soon as possible. Many cottages (3 ) that I manage faced similar problems with wasps and we had actually taken steps before her arrival to mitigate this. When we learned that the problem had not been entirely eradicated, we took immediate measures to rectify it. After sending back the security deposit ..the guest wrote me "Shirley offered my husband $100.00 for the inconveniences we experienced during our stay. This amount is not enough and we are looking to be refunded $1500.00 for the stress and inconveniences experienced during our stay" Afterward she sent a threatening letter with a list of complaints, including such concerns as finding a paper plate under one of the beds and a demand for a refund of $1500.00, or else. I would also like to mention that the guests arrived well before the 4.00 P.M check in so could explain why the cottage was not ready in time. Other complaints she mentioned in an e mail also included false accusations...for instance. "The kitchen pots had broken handles which made it difficult when cooking dinner. " We found this to be completely untrue as there was just one pot with a loose handle. Homeaway’s policies regarding reviews include this: "Users cannot post a review or response for the direct purpose of forcing the other party to pay or return funds as that is not beneficial to the community as a whole." Unfortunately, they have done nothing. Further We think that her goal of claiming $1500.00 from us (blackmail) distorted the veracity of the review. We discovered that her group had done quite a bit of damage to one of our doors...which is why the $100.00 was never returned. I should point out that Michelle G and Houman G 5 star reviews were directly before and after this review. Thank you
Did you find this review helpful?
2 2
4

Amazing on-the-lake Muskoka Experience!

  • 4 of 5

We had a group of 20 young professionals getting together as a little reunion. The property is right on the lake and is beautiful. We didn't realize the owners were on the same property, but this did not pose a problem whatsoever. Owners were friendly and helpful and very accommodating. The inside is a little worn, but it's exactly what we needed. Main areas had tons of space and the high ceilings prevented it from ever feeling crowded. The cottage comes with paddle boats that you can take right into town. The double level deck on the water was amazing, so you always have access to sun but can also find shade right by the water. All in all this was the perfect place for us.

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

BEST Cottage for a Large group!

  • 5 of 5

We have been renting cottages for about 6 years now for a company saes contest. We have not been successful the past 5 years until now. This property is very clean and well-maintained. I would 100% reccomend this property to anyone. The #1 thing for our group was the water right off the dock. It was very clean and the dock is also well-maintained. We rate our stay a 10/10. Thanks guys we will be back next year!

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Best Weekend Ever!

  • 5 of 5

20 ladies stayed at this cottage for the August long weekend celebrating a bachelorette! We had an incredible time and the cottage was perfect! We spent the majority of the weekend on the upper level of the dock which was so spacious and had a ton of chairs and room for laying out in the sun. The water is deep enough that you can dive right off the dock too. Everyone slept super comfortably and we will definitely be staying here again! One of the nights we were invited to band practice (the cottage owner lives next door and she's awesome - so if you get invited to one of these nights, consider yourself lucky)! Kitchen was spacious, lots of room for sitting and came with pots, pans, bowls, cutlery etc!

THANK YOU for exceeding our expectations! :)

Michelle & the girls.

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Can't get any better than this!

  • 5 of 5

This is our second year in a row of renting this cottage for the weekend and it is absolutely perfect. We came with very large groups both times and it is very comfortable for everybody sleeping wise. The 2 story dock is the main attraction for the whole weekend, having everybody up there with plenty of space enjoying the beautiful Muskoka sun! Also, it being right on the water so you can just jump in when you get to hot is absolutely perfect. Both years we have used the paddle boats and kayaks supplied to get across the lake to the park to play beach volleyball. Just another great thing about this cottage's location. There is also a large grass space at the cottage for plenty of other games, tons of seating for everybody to sit, and when it comes to making meals for a large group it is a breeze here because there are 2 well functioning BBQ's, stoves, microwave, toaster, whatever you need. During the night there is a large firepit and so many seats for everybody to sit, and even if your group wants to stay inside, everyone can fit easily! This place is perfect, we will definitely be yearly guests and I would definitely recommend this cottage to anybody going with 19+ people!!

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
1 Kilometres
Nearest Golf
5 Kilometres
Port Carling Golf & Country--lots of others
Nearest Restaurant
1 Kilometres
Port Carling
Nearest Ski
46 Kilometres
Mt St Louis & Moonstone
Nearest Beach
50 Metres
opposite shore
Car: necessary

Rates & Availability

Port Carling Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$696
 
Notes: Rates are based on 12 guests; add $38 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $752

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Port Carling Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 19 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - shower , lower level 3 pc
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , 3 pc mainfloor
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , jetted tub , Bathroom located in the loft bedroom
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 20
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 double , 2 twin/ single , The double is a double futon and the singles a bunk bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 double , 1 double bed and 1 double futon
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 double , 2 twin/ single , The double is a double futon and the 2 singles a bunk bed
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , the loft is not completely closed..has single futon as well
  • There are 13 beds in total and pull out couches as well. There is a 5th bedroom (no window ) on the first floor with a double and single bunk
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties