check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Owner

Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

Oahu's Most Spectacular View

28 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

North Shore Oahu Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Oceanfront Beach Cottage, 1 bedroom 1 bath sleeps 2-4

A semi-secluded beach is right out front, with a secret lagoon and sea turtles frolicking in the tide pools ! Enjoy the incredible view from the Lanai which is one of a kind. Newly decorated and furnished, the unique ambiance which we call 'Paradise Found'.

The 1 Bedroom unit upstairs accommodates 2-4, beautiful Balinese decor, spectacular Ocean views.

****Last Minute Specials!!! Additional discounted rates for bookings within 10 days of arrival. Contact us for more details.

Hawaii Paradise Found: Come to Oahu's North Shore to experience this unique Oceanfront property, a one of a kind, with gorgeous Balinese decor in this Imported Bamboo Home. The most Spectacular Ocean Views!! The Mosaic floor is a custom stone and granite masterpiece, with Sea turtles, mermaids and many other amazing designs!

This property was featured in the 1980's movie North Shore, the home of Chandler, the guru surfboard shaper. Rent this movie to see our beach!

A secluded beach with a secret lagoon: This property is a unique location, in the heart of Oahu's North Shore, yet very secluded. A private roadway entrance onto this beautiful property gives the ultimate in privacy and beauty.

****Last Minute Specials!!! Additional discounted rates for bookings within 10 days of arrival. Contact us for more details.

There are many unique features in this custom designed home, not to mention the amazing panoramic view of the Pacific Ocean at your doorsteps. Great snorkeling, scuba, surfing, at one of the the most beautiful beach on the North Shore is at your doorsteps. Large lanai to watch sunsets, sea turtles sunning themselves, winter whale season, and of course the spectacular Big Winter waves.

*** As this is a shared property, we do not allow outside/unregistered guests without prior notification, maximum 2 cars allowed per rental unit. This is to maintain the peaceful atmosphere of the property grounds so the other guests may also have quiet and privacy.

Mahalo for your cooperation.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Owner
Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

Why The Owner chose North Shore Oahu

This is one of the most unique locations on Oahu's North Shore, with a beautiful beach, amazing weather, great surfing.

Now you can also own the dream! Fractional interest available for sale. Contact us for details.

Reviews

4.5
based on 28 traveler reviews

Oahu's Most Spectacular View
average rating of 4.535714 based on 28 reviews
2

Beautiful and convenient location

  • 2 of 5

5 stars for an exceptional view and location. If I was reviewing the stunning views alone, I would give a solid 5 stars.... but lets be honest, Oahu is a gorgeous place and just about anywhere you go you will find a breathtaking view. My review is based off overall experience, which was much less impressive. It is important as a potential renter to know that this particular house is divided into 3 different portions, all of which are rented separately. Although this location is beautiful, the serene "privacy" factor soon escapes when you add other strangers into the mix. The "common" area and the sharing of a hot tub was a little awkward and unexpected.... especially when one of the guests is possesive of the water hose.... anyway, I was unplesantly surprised by this. Renter beware that although it technically "sleeps" a max of 4, the bedroom and bathroom are completely open so there is absolutely no privacy. This should be advertized as a studio for 1 or 2, and it should also be noted that your space is shared with strangers who are equally as annoyed and surprised as you are.

Seondly, cleanliness was an issue. I understad the concept that this is a cottage style laid back type of vibe, but that doesn't mean you should slack on clean sheets or dishes. The furniture and pillows all had a gross amount of stains. There were bed sheets wrapped around the couch cussions which all contained yellow and brown stains. Replacing the sheets and curtains sounds like a good place to start. Also, I'm not sure why they would mindlessly wash and put away the dishes but I think it's also time for either a deep clean or an upgrade.

Overall, this cottage is aesthetically pleasing and we had a good time enjoying the beauty of the North Shore, but there is always room for improvement. As a renter, it would also be appreciated for everything to be more clearly explained as far as the arrangement with the other units and the layout. Beyond that, gorgeous home with a stunning view.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Brooklyn
5

Best Location in Oahu

  • 5 of 5

This is the most incredible location you will ever find for a stay in Oahu. You are at the end of a little road so that you don't have any neighbors on one side & have your own (almost private) beach at your door step. The house next door is not too near either. There is a little protected pool/mini-lagoon right in front and a reef so that you can snorkel around too. Giant sea turtles feed on the rocks in front almost every day. Sharks Cove, Three Tables, Waimea Valley, the shrimp trucks & Haleiwa are almost right around the corner. Great grocery stores, shops & restaurants are near in either direction. Trust me... I have stayed at places all over Hawaii & you can not beat this location (& definitely can not beat this view.) Poke from either grocery store is a must buy. We bought a bunch of prepared food from the grocery stores so we would not have to cook.

By the way... I am dumfounded that the other person who left a review complained about insects & rust. Uh... it is a beach house that opens up to the outdoors. Of course there will be bugs. And... It is right on the water. It's impossible for things not to rust. If you want an immaculate hotel where you have to walk blocks to sit on a crowded beach then, by all means, you should stay at a hotel in Waikiki. If you want your own slice of paradise pretty much all to yourself then you can't do better than this. I have stayed in vacation properties all over the world (including all over Hawaii) & have never found a better location anywhere. All the places by the water had sea spray & some rust. Every place that was even semi-open to the elements had bugs. I think some folks have unreasonable expectations & then try to find every little thing wrong with a place in the hopes they can get some money back. The place was clean, the owners answered every question quickly + they provide a kayak, snorkeling gear, surfboards etc. I paid almost as much for a tiny place nowhere near the beach & not close to restaurants etc. on another part of the island. The location makes this place. I will definitely recommend it to other folks.

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

not so impressed- very dirty.

  • 1 of 5

I will start off by saying that the view from this house is fantastic. If you feel like paying this kind of money to feel like you are camping then go ahead. The location is great and the beach below is stunning and private. But the property is not well maintained. We have stayed at many home rentals and I am not one to complain or feel that I have to be in a 5 star hotel all the time but this place was dirty! The ocean spray gets into everything and the owner is not diligent about cleaning. When we arrived the cleaners were just leaving and the windows were so full of salt water I couldn't even see out. I had to wash them off myself. Everything was dusty and dirty. The shower rod is rusting so badly that when I put my hand on it , my hand was covered in rust. On the deck there is a bbq but it is also full of rust ( and dirty). The kitchen has hardly any dishes or appliances, it is not conducive to cooking a meal. On the rafters above the kitchen sink there is a piece of bamboo that is full of bird poop. Part of the house is also "open" to the outside, but covered in wire mesh. All along the kitchen sink there are strange little bugs? termite dust? every day I would wipe it down and every morning the counter would be full of them. My kids leaned up against the outside railing and the rail fell right off. Doa was quick to get someone to come and get it fixed right away, but the rails are definitely rotting away. All this to say I wasn't super happy to pay that price to stay in a dirty cabin. I feel like he is charging for the view but not putting in the necessary money to keep up with the maintenance. The place has charm and I think the bottom portion of the house is nicer, but don't stay in the Bali house unless you feel like camping.

  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Julie, we are very sorry for the poor cleaning job, our regular cleaning lady had a schedule conflict and we had to find someone else last minute in a pinch. This new cleaning crew clearly did an inferior job and we will not be using them again. Their company has been notified of the poor attention to detail, how they overlooked the windows, the BBQ, etc. We also have just signed a contract for monthly pest control service in order to spray for the various tropical bugs that we occasionally encounter here on the North Shore. Once again, we offer apologies for the inconvenience you experienced, we take these comments very seriously and strive to correct these issues.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1
United States
4

Outstanding View

  • 4 of 5

This house simply has one of the best views we have ever had as we were able to watch surfers from sunrise to sunset and often saw whales. The beach just a few steps from the main house was beautiful to walk on but during the mega waves too dangerous to really swim. The outstanding view overcomes a lot but would point out that the house is very noisy at night (a lot of road sounds) and the mattress is due for an upgrade. The kitchen is also quite small so would not really plan on cooking at this rental. These are all small detractions and we would definitely stay here again during the winter for the amazing views and super relaxing attitude.

  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Due to this feedback, the property owner is now upgrading the windows to offer double insulated (double pane) glass to offer improved sound proofing. We already have these installed in the downstairs larger beach house and thet have proved to block out the road noise. Thank You and Aloha ~
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

The View!

  • 4 of 5

The pictures don't do this view justice. It's beautiful. It's once in a lifetime to be honest. My husband and I tried to take pictures, but couldn't capture exactly how it actually looked with the surf coming in. We only stayed 2 nights, but it was well spent. It's the perfect size for a couple to get away from everything, enjoy some wine on the deck and lay around on the beach, so long as the surf isn't too high.

Some of the areas are shared common areas with the unit below. The people we encountered were very nice, so it was no big deal. It's easy access to Haleiwa, Waimea (and their food trucks!) and Turtle Bay resort. We hit all 3 for meals!

  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Great views and location

  • 4 of 5

Stayed here three nights sun-wed in early Nov as part of our honeymoon.

Owner was very nice and courteous. Quick response in exchange of emails before and throughout our stay.

The place was very nice with an amazing view and your own beach right out front.

Only issue is that there were quite a large amount of bugs that would somehow make it in the place despite all the doors being closed. My wife has a slight phobia to bugs. There was suppose to be a mosquito net but we couldn't find it. When I told the owner about the situation he was so helpful and even let us stay at the downstairs unit the last night since no one was there renting it out! Location was great. Close to everything. You could hear the occasional car on the nearby hwy behind the unit but the ocean usually drowned out the traffic.

  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: recommended

The property is located between Historic Haleiwa town (great shopping, art galleries, fine dining), 5 minutes, and beautiful Waimea Bay, 2 minutes. Cottage is on the ocean facing great snorkeling reefs, winter surfing spots, and calm beaches throughout the summer months.

Other Activities: On the Beach

Golf: Hawaii is a Golf Haven, with many spectacular championship courses nearby.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Haleiwa Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$255
$1,750
$5,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $140 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 13.96%

***DISCOUNTS***

*** Discounted Rate of $250/night, plus taxes, cleaning fee and deposit (if booked within 10 days of arrival).

*** Due to strict Honolulu County rules, typical booking is for 30 Days. Please contact us for more details.

*** Credit Card Charges May apply. E Check payments always preferred.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

North Shore Oahu Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower , Beautiful Travertine Oceanview Show
    Bathroom 3 - outdoor shower , Hot Outdoor Shower for use after beaching
  • An open, suite style bathroom/shower layout with amazing ocean views is what you'll find in this custom architectural design, with a unique marble vanity and bowl sink. An artisan commissioned custom stone and granite floor is found throughout the house and bath as well. You will be love walking on the Giant Honu Turtle, Mermaid, Whale, Sting Ray and Shark among the designs cleverly pieced into this one of a kind artwork/floor! A second, separate enclosed outdoor hot shower is also on the grounds for use after swimming in the Blue Lagoon and shimmering tidepools right in front on this very special locale.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Romantic open style 1 bedroom oceanfront cottage with beautiful Balinese decor and custom features throughout. Upstairs House accommodates 2-4
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Sand Box
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Water Sports Gear
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Shared Hot Tub
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • playground
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Surf Boards available for rent upon request, beach mats provided.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers